Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor exco Ean Yong hits back at Azmin over 'reshuffling' comments

Selangor exco Ean Yong hits back at Azmin over 'reshuffling' comments PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 17:17

Written by Chua Sue-Ann, The Edge 

Selangor state executive council (exco) member Ean Yong Hian Wah today lashed back at Bukit Antarabangsa assemblyman Azmin Ali over the latter's calls for the state cabinet's reshuffle.

Yong, who is the exco member in charge of new villages development and the illegal factory task force, said in a press statement today that he was "surprised" and "regretted (kesal)" Azmin's comments.

"As an experienced politician and Pakatan Rakyat (PR) Backbenchers' Club president, (Azmin) should have been more proactive in understanding the state government's policies if he felt dissatisfied or had doubts on policy implementation.

"I would like to stress that if (Azmin) has the chance to be Selangor menteri besar, he too would follow the same steps in order to defend the rights and interests of the people and the state," said Ean Yong (Seri Kembangan-DAP).

Azmin, who is Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) vice-president, caused controversy yesterday when he called for the Selangor exco to be reorganised, hitting out at several of the state administration's policies.

Ean Yong also sought to counter Azmin's criticism of the Selangor state government's policies during yesterday's debates on the supplementary bill.

Azmin had criticised the State Economic Action Council (MTES), tasked with facilitating licenses approval, for its inefficiency and red tape.

Azmin also said he received many complaints from the business community on excessive delays in approvals, adding that this stifled Selangor's economy.

Responding to that, Ean Yong said the PR-led state government had since reviewed privatisation projects that was "unprofitable to the rakyat and the state".

Ean Yong added that MTES was the most appropriate forum to solve the problems that allegedly occurred during the Barisan Nasional (BN) Selangor administration.

Meanwhile, Ean Yong also sought to defend fellow Selangor exco member Ronnie Liu against Azmin's criticism of the manner in which local council appointments were announced.

According to Ean Yong, Liu could not announce the full line-up of appointed local councillors because a PR component party failed to compile its party list on time, resulting in Liu having to persist with the announcement on the fixed date.

Ean Yong, who is DAP Selangor chief, also maintained that the party wanted to see closer cooperation among the PR parties in Selangor rather than a "culture of accusing each other like the BN".

written by lunas oh lunaih, July 10, 2009 18:17:49
Ini Dap man,kritik sikit sudah melatah. puak2 Umno menunggu sahaja saat perpecahan dlm PR.
written by Adriftboat, July 10, 2009 19:45:21
Sick of DAP quarrelsome streak. When will the internal squabbles end. Give them a little power, they become instant little nepoleans. When will PKR members ever learn to trash out matters behind closed doors and not wash dirty linen in Public. Kapal Singh and Lim Kit Seang should keep your people toe the line and dont act as if they are now in power. Pathethic!!!!!!!!
written by mowadoha, July 10, 2009 20:10:11
written by OilMan, July 10, 2009 20:43:21
Why is it that these PR pricks like to go to the press shpwing their displeasure among themselves and making themselves the laughing stock of BN? I guess maybe it is just to gain popularity and also showing some arrogance in them. smilies/shocked.gif
written by OilMan, July 10, 2009 20:45:58
Why not PR go to the press highlighting their struggles, challenges and also their accomplishments for the rakyat? Now, that would be a positive thingy.
written by michaelT, July 10, 2009 22:37:32
YB Ean Yong, why do you counter and remorse what Azmin put to mention in the DUN. Common there must be good reason for him to utter this. However it is just a mention without naming and the MB will pick this issue up. So why fuss about that. You are in the illegal factory task force. I just want to know if you have gone round Subang 2 industrial place to check. Some business premise dont even display their business name and nature. You know the councillors with political postion should not serve as councillors. They have no tiome to serve the people. feedback is they dont answer peoples outcry for help. They are tired of calling their phone. Be careful this may be the last term. Be productive and talk less. Managed by walking around "MBWA" that is what you and all should do.
written by joeawk, July 10, 2009 23:41:27
We have to get use to Pakatan public spat unless we want to see shit sweep under the carpet. Like it or not, DFAP offer Malaysia te best hope of TRANSPARENCY and ACOUNTABILITY.

Perhaps, Azmin should meet up with his fellow Pakatan colleagues to talk to them about the complaints he has received rather than spew it out in the open. Malaysia cannot continue with the same way businessmen want - short cut n huge profit,leaving shit and cost to us.
written by Wisdom above, July 11, 2009 12:50:21
Is assemblyman Azmin Ali offering himself to be seconded into the Selangor Excos ?
Since he sounds sincere,being very energetic ,just appoint him into the Selangor Excos to give it a positive BOOST !
Let him help clear up the OLD Bureaucracy ?
written by malaysian7, July 11, 2009 23:08:25
PR seems to forget the real enemy that can bring them down are themselves.

BN cannot easily bring you down as long as you stay united. Sad to say that.... the most basic and important thing you guys are still failing to achieve. If you guys keep doing it. Just kiss bye bye and go back continue opposition-ing!!!