Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M: 75pc favour English

Dr M: 75pc favour English PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 11:07

(NST) KUALA LUMPUR: An online poll on former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's blog showed 75 per cent of votes favouring the teaching of Maths and Science in English. In his latest entry on www.chedet.com, Dr Mahathir posed the question to readers, 8,044 of whom disagreed with the government's decision to revert the teaching of both subjects to Bahasa Malaysia.

As of 9pm yesterday, only 2,719 votes came from those who agreed with the decision.

In his entry, Dr Mahathir said the he felt the government was not listening to the voice of the people.

"Perhaps a blog poll might enlighten the government as to the opinions of the people. I will then try to let the Government know your opinion," he said.

written by Trueandfair, July 10, 2009 11:10:38
Tun M, ask Najib to call a referendum or even better a new General Election, then we will get the REAL PICTURE !! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by gorshan, July 10, 2009 11:17:07
sekarang gua kena kerja lebih kuat cari lebih duit hantar anak anak saya sekolah luar negri. lepas tu gua minta lepas habis sekolah jangan balik. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by shamadz72, July 10, 2009 11:17:54
I am not surprised with that figure considering that mostly those who can access Internet and participate in that poll comes from middle income or high income group. You will be surprised if you extend the poll to include those in rural area.

That is why I agree with Trueandfair, that the right way to do it is to seek a national referendum.

written by uxzee, July 10, 2009 11:34:27
Yes I just saw the poll and 79% favour Maths and Science to be taught in English. This means that the majority do not agree with the government and yet the government is doing the opposite.

I also believe that in every other of the government projects, investments or decision about the same figure of about 75% do not agree with the government. Yet we have this government ruling us.
written by Oscar Winner, July 10, 2009 11:36:19
Dear TDM,

I beg you (I'm on bended knees, typing this comment, too bad you can't see) to do whatever you can to save the future generation of this country. You know their bag of tricks since you have been there, so pls by hook or by crook, get Najis regime to revert to English for M and S for secondary and tertiary levels. If need be, get rid of the whole Najis regime if you have to

written by krising1, July 10, 2009 11:59:29
Tun, I am quite sure that only the urbanites took part in this poll. Those who only know Malay, Chinese or Tamil did not take part. So no fooling please. Get an all round poll. Better still push for a referendum. Can you? Then we shall see and know what the people want. The path will be clear for all to see and there will be no twists and turns in our education policy. It is too important for everyone to take their own poll and come to a decision.
written by Rolling Stone, July 10, 2009 12:06:10
budaktapah, some free English lesson for you :
instead of using -"coz i'm a Malay, and are using BM for the most of my daily life" you should say "coz I am a Malay, and use BM most of the time ". ...see,you get the chance to learn something new today...!!
written by malaysian7, July 10, 2009 12:19:30
I would expect them to AT LEAST maintain the PPSMI in Secondary. Primary may go back to their own language but Secondary it should be a good preparation for those who wants to advance their career in the Science and Maths field.

They can also have bilingual in LOWER SECONDARY while by Upper Secondary they should all be in full-force of English.

The science terms in Secondary are much more simple than those when you study in University. If you still do not brush up your English and I wonder how are you going to cope with the more complicated Science terms in your Degree/Master and so on.

Are you going to start learning only at that time?

written by khoosl11, July 10, 2009 12:20:34
like this...let the subjects be in ENGLISH. But for the rural folks, since their command of ENGLISH is poor, have it in Bahasa...same concept like in Chinese or Tamil schools.
written by Wisdom above, July 10, 2009 12:25:35
This BeEnd Government behave a loose canon?
Just revert back to the English Medium school and Malay Medium school of the 1960s ?

Study in English Medium Schools for those who wish to excel in English .
Study in Malay Medium Schools for those who wish to excel in Malay.
We have a win - win situation.
These problems can be solved only through these ways ,OK !
written by concernedinmalaysia, July 10, 2009 12:38:10
There seems to be a consensus here that if you don't speak english, or are poor, or not an urbanite, or don't have internet access you would vote for BN.

Must be that BN depends on the uneducated and uninformed for their support then.

HAHA that explains why all the BN MPs are various BN youth organisations are treating everyone as stupid and why alot of them are messing up this country so badly.
written by AlwaysFair, July 10, 2009 12:51:23
This is a really flip-flop decision even though it is bad for the nation the govt will do it for political mileage, they themselves are not affected because they just send their children overseas. This is real bodoh-land with bodoh leaders!!!
written by temenggong, July 10, 2009 13:39:10
It is 82% now, that favours english in maths and science.
written by NEP, July 10, 2009 13:44:21
Let's do pole here. Do you agree Science and Maths teach in English? ***** "agree" or "disagree".
written by slash n burn, July 10, 2009 13:51:24
Mahatahi, 100% of your kin in Kerala want you to go back.
written by Nick Chong, July 10, 2009 14:51:56
That is our gov trying to control our future child destination - the next election will tell the story of BN fate. VOTE BN out....
written by born2reign, July 10, 2009 15:09:34
Mahatahi,
You chosed to discard English
You chosed Badawi.
You chosed Khir Toyol
You chosed Najib and gave him your blessings.

Anyway, you have amnesia or Alzheimer I'm not sure, maybe both. Let's not ignore the possibility that one day Phillipines or Vietnam or Indonesia will be hiring Malaysians as domestic maids, coz Malaysians failed English oral tests to work as domestic maids in Japan/Singapore/HK.

Can start from UiTM, big pool of talented Malay speaking no English speaking graduates with no jobs. Unless they are willing to follow the Saiful-ass-plunging career path, they should start looking for maid agency for employment.
written by sydput, July 10, 2009 15:56:03
Give autonomy for all schools and let the PTA decide which language they want to teach in. We cannot allow the progress of our children and the country be decided by a few people.
written by latihanQ, July 10, 2009 17:04:05
Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad,
It is time. Somehow, your words seems hollow considering you had 22 years plus more, including the time you were the Edu Minister and then DPM. If you had put in as much effort when you were then in power compared to what you are attempting to do now, Malaysia and Malaysians would be celebrating your success instead of still quarreling over how much or how little each ethnic group is entitled to.
The damage you have wrought on this nation is immeasurable and will probably take forever to repair, if at all.
Najib's 100 days is a litany of abject failure and disappointment. He is one of your student, so what hope do we have, until a true Malaysian emerges? For sure it is not the like of him nor his deputy, that insidious Muhydin!
written by Dreamlander, July 10, 2009 21:38:18
What has English got to do with these?
In MATHEMATICS
2 2 = 4
two plus 2 equals four
2² 3³-√16 = 8 27-4=31
two to the power of two plus three to the power of three minus the square-root of sixteen equals eight plus twenty seven minus four equals thirty one

In SCIENCE (Chemistry)
H2 O = H2O
2 molecules of hydrogen combine with one molecule of oxygen will yield one molecule of water
H2SO4
Sulphuric acid?
E=mc2
How to express this equation in English? Someone please help me out.

WE ARE ALL BARKING AT THE WRONG TREE.
In mathematics and science (except psychology), we learn by recognizing symbols and their inter-relationships. In examinations, most questions were the objective type where they test the students' breadth of knowledge of the underlying principles rather than their ability to express themselves (as required in English literature). If English were so overbearingly predominant in maths and science, then we should not expect to find many scientists in China, France, Germany, Japan or Russia. And since computer programming language is basically English, there should be very little non-English literate programmers as well. In reality, scientists and programmers are found in large numbers in all nationalities. We can all learn maths and science in whatever language (with mother tongue preferred) as long as the person possesses the IQ and aptitude. An illustrative example is the ex-President of Indonesia, Habibie. He was born and grew up in South Sulawesi (ulu place in 1936) and after graduating from Institut Teknologi Bandung obtained a scholarship to Germany and became a trained aeronautical engineer who was honoured to have a term (Habibie Factor) named after him. His major languages are Indonesian and German!!!

The real problem is the teaching standard of English in our schools. Rather, we should focus on improving the competency and teaching skills of teachers who will be assigned to teach English (as a subject with emphasis on its grammar) in schools.