Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow A misconceived discount for housebuyers?

A misconceived discount for housebuyers? PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 10:19

By Raslan Sharif (The Star)

Doing away with the bumiputra housing discount, which hardly fits in with the goals of the National Economic Policy, will do more good than harm.

I LIVE in an apartment in Ampang. It’s a decent place, relatively clean, and there are trees all around that make for pleasant surroundings.

The unit is on the first floor, so if you forget stuff on the way down to the car, a return trip is a just a quick few steps away.

There’s also the added bonus of the sundry shop being downstairs from my apartment, making late night runs for cigarettes a breeze.

On weekends, I sometimes go down to the swimming pool with the kids for a dip. It’s a small pool but we have loads of fun.

For my wife, my two children and me, this is home. In a few years, it will be a home that we fully own.

It’s not a big one, with nothing much more than 950 sq ft to play with. Yes, it’s small but not as small as some flats that much larger families live in. My children have practically known no larger home than this, except maybe for my son.

Before we moved into the apartment about six years ago, my wife and I lived in a rented house deep in Sungai Buloh, just 2km from the prison.

It was a spacious, two-storey bungalow, with lots of space all around. The surroundings were quiet and peaceful, and the abundance of greenery made for cool evenings.

The rent was cheap not only because of the location but also because of the owner’s generosity in letting us pay whatever we could afford then for the five years that we lived in the house. (I will forever be grateful, sir)

My son spent the first four years of his life there, although he can’t recall much of it now.

My six-year-old daughter does not know what it’s like to live in a house, let alone a house like the one in Sungai Buloh.

Makes me sad sometimes, as they don’t know what they’re missing.

I still remember the wide open spaces of my childhood. The games my brothers and I used to play in and around the house. The hours spent riding around on our bicycles or playing in the fields. The sheer freedom to roam, to explore and to boldly go where you had not gone before.

It was exhilarating. Nothing beats living in a house located in a neighbourhood with space for children to play and move around in.

So what am I doing living in an apartment?

Well, it is not for a lack of wanting. Like not a few other Malaysians, I regularly peruse the newspapers to see if there’s anything that fits the bill.

I came across this humungous house sitting on a 50,000 sq ft piece of land in a swank area of Shah Alam that is said to cost only RM3.5mil. Too bad it’s not for sale.

Jokes aside, I would rather buy a house in a new development project, as it saves me the trouble and the extra money that would go into the dreaded “R” word – renovation.

I’m still looking, as nothing has really struck my fancy except those that come with price tags from around RM500,000 and upwards.

But I can’t afford them, even with the bumiputra discount.

This, as you might have guessed, is where I get to the point of all my rambling.

The goals of the National Economic Policy are the eradication of poverty regardless of ethnicity and the elimination of the identification of ethnicity with economic function.

I’m not sure where the bumiputra housing discount that we see today fit in.

If we nevertheless argue that we want to make the ownership of homes more affordable to bumiputras, then our initial argument must be that there are not enough homes that most bumiputras can afford.

So how do the housing discounts solve this problem, if the problem exists at all?

A RM200,000 house with a 7% discount for bumiputras will cost RM186,000.

Using the home loan calculator at Bank Negara’s Banking Info website (www.bankinginfo.com.my), the difference in the monthly instalments between a RM200,000 home loan and RM186,000 one, with identical 30-year tenures and 10% interest rate (I’m being conservative here), is about RM123.

If the interest rate is 5%, the difference is even lower – a measly RM75.

Now, before you attack me for describing RM75 as “measly”, please note that the respective monthly instalments are RM1,073.64 and RM998.49.

What’s the difference between someone who can afford a monthly home loan instalment of RM1,073.64 and someone who can afford RM998.49?

This is not a joke or a trick question, as the answer is practically none. For all intents and purposes, we can reasonably say that the person who can afford the lower monthly instalment will also most probably be able to pay RM75 more every month.

Of course, the difference is larger for more expensive houses, at least in absolute terms.

For example, a RM1mil home loan at a 10% interest rate over 30 years will set you back RM8,775.72 a month, while a RM930,000 home loan (the same house after 7% bumiputra discount) will have you paying a monthly instalment of RM8,161.42.

That’s a RM614 difference.

Does RM614 a month make much of a difference to someone who can afford a million ringgit home?

You tell me.

As far as I’m concerned, the discounts that we are giving to people who can afford to buy houses at full price do not make sense.

I dare say that doing away with such discounts will do more good than harm.

Raslan Sharif suggests that for a start, let’s get rid of bumiputra discounts for houses costing RM500,000 or more.

written by truthbespoken, July 10, 2009 10:29:59
Raslan,

Honest and well said! The country needs more people like you to progress properly!
written by Fight4Justice, July 10, 2009 11:41:31
Was this really published in the Star? Hmm.. Propaganda eh? Lets see if it actually happens..
written by BennyG, July 10, 2009 11:44:54
I wonder if the discount was to be redirected to some charity organisation, it will be better than letting the housing developer enjoying the additional profit.

As long as it is not going to UMNO charity body, I am okay with it.
written by temenggong, July 10, 2009 11:53:02
The entire bumi house discounts as well as low cost houses should be done away with, and replaced by public housing for ALL. The 'discount' is already built into it.

Such a programme would create a new housing boom and invigorate the industry and stimulate the economy. I thought Selangor would start this, but they are sleeping!
written by krising1, July 10, 2009 12:10:32
Raslan, peace be with you. Personally I think we should do away with discounts and subsidies. They are are enjoyed by those who should not get them because they can afford it. They should be given to only the deserving and society owes it to our poorer brothers and sisters. Why should Khir Toyo or those like him get discounts for house purchases? Why should we subsidise fuel for those rich people who drive the gas guzzlers. The poorer ones drive small cars and m/cycles. The money which is wasted giving away to rich should be used to uplift the poor. Is it not the time to include the poor non-Malays into the Felda scheme? Can we be more equitable in how we distribute wealth. I am told a widow with children cannot participate in a Felda scheme. Is it true? The rich can take care of themselves. Let us help the poor. Raslan, I will email you later.
written by aiyomanaboleh, July 10, 2009 12:14:21
Hi Raslan,

that's the way brother.

just remember everyone, the pie can only be cut into so many pieces.
for those who are not hungry, please leave it to those that are.

i feel good after reading the above. fair people actually thinks alike.
written by CL Lee, July 10, 2009 12:27:16
Bravo, I salute you for this good piece of analysis.
I would agree, do away with 5% for Bumiputra (with mote than often benefits those who doesn't need it).
In place, the developers could divert the savings (additional income) from this category to offer the medium or lower cost houses and a cheaper price to all.

This benefits all the poorer category irrespective of race and it's more meaningful.
Let's press the government for this, hurray to people's unity!!!
written by CL Lee, July 10, 2009 12:28:31
Correction to typo:
Bravo, I salute you for this good piece of analysis.
I would agree, do away with 5% for Bumiputra (which more than often benefits those who doesn't need it).
In place, the developers could divert the savings (additional income) from this category to offer the medium or lower cost houses and a cheaper price to all.

This benefits all the poorer category irrespective of race and it's more meaningful.
Let's press the government for this, hurray to people's unity!!!
report abusedisagree 0agree 0
written by merlin2001, July 10, 2009 16:47:33
Raslan, in the first place do you honestly think that developers are really giving
away the 7-10% discount to the Bumis?
I bet not. If the original price and profit is what they intend to make and knowing that they have to give away 7-10% discount, what the developers do is to uplift the selling price by X plus 7-10%. Who is there to verify their intended selling price.
So, what happens is that non Bumis are made to pay the extra PLUS % which is something in the region of 8.5-11% of their original intended selling price.
Thus both Bumis and non Bumis lose. Bumis are not really getting the discount and non Bumis have to pay more due to this discount.
Note also the lots allocated to the Bumis are also the worst areas eg. facing the afternoon sun or the rubbish dumps if any is around the area.
All in all we the public are worst off.
written by Loh, July 10, 2009 19:55:42
///The goals of the National Economic Policy are the eradication of poverty regardless of ethnicity and the elimination of the identification of ethnicity with economic function.

I’m not sure where the bumiputra housing discount that we see today fit in.///--Raslan Sharif

That is why NEP is a dirty word. It allows racial discrimination, and serves to satisfy Malay racists to keep voting for UMNO.

It's kept to show that UMNO is Malay champion.

It says that unity was not the intention of BN government.

TDM said that NEP did not deter FDI, bu the world economic environment. Never did he consider whether NEP was fair. NEP should have ended in 1990 when he was still the PM. But then he saw a Malay driver employed by Chinese, and that was the justification that NEP should stay.

Some Malay home buyers get some discounts, and for tht they allow UMNO leaders to make much more.

There is no UMNO Ministers who are supposed to have only income from government pay and allowance would be able to justify how they could maintain their life style with the officil legal earnings. They do not have to jusify such dfferences because of NEP.