Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Why PPSMI had to go

Why PPSMI had to go PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 00:56

Before I start, let me ask you does anybody know what the General Dynamics Electric Boat Division was up to on Oct 31, 1994. Probably you'll have no idea, and have no idea why is this relevant. It will be revealed later on.

Teaching Science and Mathematics in English is not a good idea - its a great idea.

My background is in engineering and finance. In either case, the technology changes rapidly, in the case for finance, not all change is for the better. Anyhow, the new opportunities are always where the new changes are. The old technology and way of doing things will always lead people in a disadvantage. Without the new technology and knowledge we will be left behind.

And most of the material is in English. In fact English is so well supported on the Internet that you can even translate a German, Arabic or French website into English. And if you are not sure of any word, all you have to do is type: define "the word" in Google's web browser. And if you follow the links provided, not only would you find a very clear explanation, can even hear how to pronounce the word correctly. In fact, things are so easy, that if you were to highlight a word on the New York Times electronic edition and double click it, you go straight to its meaning.

So with a firm grounding on English, students can learn a lot of new stuff very fast. In fact, for science, a whole vast of material is already available on line in websites like

How Stuff Works

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by schizonoid, July 10, 2009 04:32:14
The govt. has decided M'sians studies math n science in BM, while the ministers n their families, royalties, cronies n V.I.Piss continues sending their children abroad to study english.
And there will be 1st n 2nd class citizens in the future.

Can the so called 'Pejuang Bahasa Melayu' fanatics also implement BM till the Ph.D level ?
And how can learning math n science in BM,upgrade or uplift M'sians in the world of today, when we are already 50 years behind.

This is what we get from a narrow n kampung minded ministers.
Billions of RM wasted experimenting with our children future.
And who started this mess. Well.............u know who.

Remember India, which threw everything ENGLISH but kept their language intact.
And today we know why.

And Mr. Moo breaking news really make me need a 20mg Domicum or 40mg Vallium.
Or.......... I'll just squeeze hard the nearest Moo's supporters.

written by educationist, July 10, 2009 05:11:45
Sorry, maybe I got the drift of the article wrongly, but otherwise the more appropriate title may be : Why PPSMI should not go but had to go!!
written by shamadz72, July 10, 2009 10:58:08
The writer is missing the point here. Maths & Science teaching need to be in their mother's tongue language during the early period of child learning just as to ensure that the kids can grasp and absorb the subject better. Rather than the kids will first have to learn and understand what the question is all about (in a language they don't understand) than only after converting the question in their head, that they can try to figure out what is the mathematical answer to it.

The right way to introduce English in Mathematics and Science subject is perhaps once the student reach the secondary schools. Subjected to a condition that by that time, the kids already have 6 years of proper English lesson in the primary school. Also it is important for the ministry of education to ensure that more English language classes such as (grammar & composition) is been introduce in the primary school or perhaps adding more number of hours for English lesson during that period. Than only introducing English in Mathematics & Science can be implemented in Secondary school.

written by chin, July 10, 2009 12:37:38
Hey dude,

It not about education or economics.

It is politics, the idiots and the ignorant unfortunately shouts the loudest. And they lead the largest population in this country.

And I don't mean any particular race. There is racism and narrow mindedness in every culture. And in Malaysia, these sentiment are conspiring to reject English as the universal language of knowledge.

Racism and institutionalized discrimination will forever feed racial segregation and ethnic insecurities.

We may believe in choice but politicians believe in consolidating their support base.