Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'My successor is doing a good job'

'My successor is doing a good job' PDF Print
Friday, 10 July 2009 00:41

Honeymah Dylyani, Malaysian Mirror

“Alhamdulillah (Praise be to Allah)! The man I chose is doing a good job.”

This was the spontaneous response of former prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, when asked about the first 100 days of Najib Abdul Razak in office as his successor.

“His approval rating is good; going up from 42% (when Najib first took over from Abdullah on April 1) to 65% (in the latest poll),” Abdullah told reporters after opening an exhibition of mosques in Germany at the Islamic Arts Museum here Thursday.

abdullah-badawi-1.pngThe survey was carried out by the Merdeka Centre, which considered inputs by the public on Najib’s leadership, performance and implementation of government policies.

The people accept Najib's reforms

Abdullah said the people had accepted the reforms that Najib had introduced, which mainly concerns the national economy.

“The people had gauged how he had performed and had approved his implementation of new policies,” he said.

Abdullah said the people understood why the changes had to be made and why the shortcomings of previous policies had to be rectified.

Regarding the revised policy on the teaching of science and mathematics in schools , Abdullah said it was not made in haste and the Government had taken into account various proposals and memorandums that were submitted to it over the past six years.

“Six years..it is fair and provides a good basis for analysis.

muhyiddin-yassin.jpg

If the Government had decided to revise it, say within three years after it was implemented, it would certainly not be adequate for a decision to be made,” he said.

Policy made when Abdullah was PM

Deputy prime minister Muhyiddin Yassin had announced on Wednesday that the teaching of the two subjects would be reverted back to Malay from 2012. Science and mathematics are currently taught in English following a policy change in 2003.

Abdullah, said the current policy was made at the time he was prime minister and Hishammuddin Hussein the Education minister.

“It (the revision)  is not something that we are not doing anything about. It is a decision based on six years of implementation. “Without any analysis over this period, we would not have gauged whether it is necessary or not to change the policy,” he stressed.“The point is, it has the support of the majority,” he said, adding that the English language will continue to be widely promoted so that all Malaysians would be well-versed in both languages .

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by imanj, July 10, 2009 00:47:41
Thanks alot for a good job done....

I'm a big MJ fan and my dear Michael Jackson says in his song...

"THEY DON"T CARE ABOUT US"

Please follow up with MJ's famous scream and....Hee Hee...!!

written by fireduck, July 10, 2009 00:58:33
Ok, let me make clear some of the politispeak.

“Alhamdulillah (Praise be to Allah)! The man I chose is doing a good job.”

"The man I chose" .... means TDM's first choice was right, so I was the one who messed up.

Abdullah said the people had accepted the reforms that Najib had introduced, which mainly concerns the national economy.

Means, again, I have screwed up. Now that he has reversed all my policies, I guess the people are happier. Duh!

Abdullah said the people understood why the changes had to be made and why the shortcomings of previous policies had to be rectified.

Ditto above. Also means 'I didn't have the balls to carry through the reforms, even though I was handed a 92% mandate. Bola dah kejut then and now lah. How?'

If the Government had decided to revise it, say within three years after it was implemented, it would certainly not be adequate for a decision to be made,” he said.
Means, 'You know lah, I was indecisive. Furthermore, I wanted to revise it but I didn't have the luxury of time, as Brutus was waiting to kick me out.'

written by gx27, July 10, 2009 01:13:48
AAB, you are the lowest and worst benchmark for KPI.

no one can be worse than you and your former boss, the senile old man.

if i compare my dogs with you or your former boss, my dog performs 1000 times better!!

you are comparing a rotten durian and a rotten siamese durian.

whats the difference?

can anything be worse than that?

written by Oscar Winner, July 10, 2009 01:19:13
When Bodowi opens his mouth, you know something stupid must be coming out from it
written by Ulan Benson, July 10, 2009 01:31:45
I thought this idiot is still sleeping? Who woke him up? smilies/angry.gif
written by toolan, July 10, 2009 01:52:43
Amazed at how he keeps telling lies with such great ease.
written by Hakim Joe, July 10, 2009 02:17:31
Hello AAB, have some dignity-lah!
This is the guy that literally forced you to resign.
Anyway, you are quite right in your assessment.
Compared to you, even my hamster can do a better job.

written by storm62, July 10, 2009 03:36:41
my malay friends are so proud when is salam them and wish them syukur alhamdullilah!

it's just that some fanatics do not agree when i wish them so.

insyaallah, they may one day accept me when i wish them well.

may peace be with you.
written by schizonoid, July 10, 2009 03:39:32
Doing a good job cuz he's the best of the worst.
written by krising1, July 10, 2009 07:36:28
Pak Lah, peace be with you. I hope you will come out and bless Najib more often. Say nice things about him. You should always say that Najib is doing the right thing by mending fences with Singapore. Show that you chose a better successor than the Tun did. This should make Tun sufficiently angry to come out with two guns blazing. We want him to snipe at Najib and Moo-Hee-Din at the same time.
written by Badrol, July 10, 2009 08:34:22
Any fool will do a better job that you Dollah.
written by Trueandfair, July 10, 2009 08:47:42
Someone told me yesterday that Merdeka Centre belongs to MCA or Gerakan? Well, if that is the case, then the poll results MUST BE TRUE AND UNDISPUTED!! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif By the next 100 days, Najib rating will be 110% approval, with the extra 10% coming from the "infamous" phantom and postal voters of Malaysian elections. I mean, if it is a BN think-tank (more like their thinking has tanked !!)
written by Heaven8402, July 10, 2009 09:00:43
What poll? Whose poll? How come the rakyats was not in the poll list??? The real poll shall be the GE13 and that is when Malaysia shall see the sinking of umno/bn dictatorship!
written by asguard, July 10, 2009 09:23:08
It won't makes any different whether is its najis or bodowi... for sure they are from same party that has plunder the nation's wealth into their pockets, racial problem, education screw-up, arms scandals, religion tension...
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 10, 2009 10:16:10
The man I chose is doing a good job.”

This was the spontaneous response of former prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, when asked about the first 100 days of Najib Abdul Razak in office as his successor

BODOWI, U JUST CONFIRMED YOU ARE AN *SSH*L* IN THE EYES OF THE CARTOON
IN BOLEHLAND, EVERYTHING IS DONE AND BOUGHT WITH HARD CURRENCY. WHO U TRYING TO
KID?
written by Ben Nordin, July 10, 2009 10:16:47
He's not your successor la, Pak Lah. He's the usurper. You were forced to go and everbody knows that. Anyway, theres no difference, innit? You slept with your eyes closed. This fella is walking in his sleep. Just ignore everything. Everything's fine. It really sucks.
written by PAKRAK, July 10, 2009 10:17:47
Of course only the Ameno Jerks and Goons who have no other direction believe the statement made by Bodohwi "Najib is doing a good job" and THEY GO AROUND REPEATING IT LIKE A PARROT. BODOHWI, WERE YOU GIVEN THIS CUE BY NAJIS C4 OR ARE YOU BRAINLESS? WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO BULL???
written by Kuku Burung, July 10, 2009 10:33:07
Any block of wood will do a better job than you, AAB.
written by aiyomanaboleh, July 10, 2009 12:17:11
He is seen to be doing a good job because you were sleeping when it was your responsibility.

Why anyone even bother to ask him is puzzling?
written by rams609, July 12, 2009 23:29:33
He's been drinking coffee this morning!!!!!
written by Sutha, July 13, 2009 12:02:46
You (Imam Hardari) severely hurt your dying 1st wife by having affair with your eurasian "sister" who is now your wife. You daughter had caught you both in khalwat.

Whereas your successor had killed his mongolian lover after sharing her with his $$buddy and using her in robbing the malaysian treasury through commission for scorpene submarines.

Surely, your successor is doing a great job..... without being caught.