Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Message from Hannah Yeoh

Message from Hannah Yeoh PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 21:38

So many people have been telling me just how frustrated they are with the current political situation in our country. Some have told me that they regretted voting for change because of the political instability now and would prefer returning to their old style of voting - vote for stability and forget about having a stronger opposition and greater check and balance. I shudder at the thought of this!

One needs to remember the reason why we are seeing such great resistance for change is simply because there is much to lose for those who have been in power for so long. For decades there has been so much abuse of power, unchecked misuse of public funds and plain dirty corruption. With a stronger opposition now, they stand to lose their illegal sources of income and some may even be charged and sent to prison if they are found guilty.

With this in mind, they will fight at all costs to reclaim back power and to ensure they can continue to steal public funds from the people for their own enrichment. We are not just dealing with differences in politics; we are combating evil forces who will not rest till they secure back their powers and illegal sources of income.

Sometimes I feel equally frustrated and disillusioned about  the political situation too. Sometimes I lie awake thinking of how to effect change in this land. Some days I cry while driving in between meetings thinking of what's left for the future generation in this land if we give up now.

I have endured much verbal attack from political enemies, accusation after accusation of me not doing anything for my constituents and etc. No one truly understands the resistance we face daily in discharging our duties except for my fellow PR assemblymen.

Robert Kennedy once said ‘*Progress is a nice word. But change is its motivator and change has its enemies.*’ Our enemies are resisting change but we must stand firm and continue to push for a competent, accountable and transparent government.

At the end of each day, as I lay myself to sleep, I ask God for strength, wisdom and protection to face the next. I look forward to the end of the term when I can tell the people of Subang Jaya that I have remained clean and have not stolen any of the taxpayers' funds.

As reminded by Raja Petra in his blog "*Please continue your struggle to make Malaysia a better place for our future generation. This country belongs to them and it is for them that we struggle.*" All hope is not lost. Come the next election, vote out the corrupt once and for all. Hang in there supporters and friends, the best is yet to come!

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by KC Chin, July 09, 2009 21:47:56
Hannah Yeoh,
May God Bless You and give you all the strength. DON'T GIVE UP. We will kick those selohssa BN till kingdom comes.

agree 159
written by Hakim Joe, July 09, 2009 21:52:13
I am going to move to USJ now (if i can afford it, that is!)
At least this MP acknowledges that she has been listening to her constituencies.
Unlike the one I have now...

written by uxzee, July 09, 2009 21:58:45
We have to stay strong and focussed and realise that we stand a realistic chance of putting the final nail in UMNO's and BN's coffin.

In this internet age and with the current strong advantage for truth to be told, every peace loving Malaysian must play their part to create a new Malaysia for our future generation irrespective of their race, religion or colour.
written by yy88, July 09, 2009 21:58:54
Hannah,

You are one principled leader that will be the catalyst for change.
Malaysia has been long overdue for a change for good and honest leadership since TAR.
All PMs after him are thieves and wolves in sheep clothing.
Thieves breed dishonesties and hipocracies.
written by Catharsis, July 09, 2009 22:04:32
For the good of Bolihland" Ali Baba and his 40 thieves" have to go- NO "IF'S NO "BUT'S"
written by ABU SAYAB, July 09, 2009 22:11:28
Hannah,

way to go, have trust in God the day will come true.
cheers!
written by fredyeoh, July 09, 2009 22:19:43
Come rain or shine, no matter what I will still place my bet on opposition to win. I can sense certain things are changing slowly but effectively.
written by Ocassey, July 09, 2009 22:33:05
God is testing all of us all the time. Every member in the family will also be affected whenever one member in the family is tested. It is important for every member to give support to strengthen that member so that the one tested does not waiver but to march on like "ONWARD.. CHRISTIAN SOLDIER....".Look to those in DAP, who spent time in Kamunting for they continue to fight for the great cause,as a shining guide! I salute all of them for their unwaivering JIHAD for a better Malaysia for all of us(includes those who unwittingly continue to vote the KORUP ones ). CONTINUE TO BE STRONG !
written by krising1, July 09, 2009 22:38:00
Lady, this is not the time to give up. Dig in your heels, roll up your sleeves and be ready. I can see the enemy in retreat. They are just behaving irrationally because nothing seems to work for them.
written by hellosunshine, July 09, 2009 22:51:40
Hang in there, Hannah. Rome wasn't built in a day and God knows, Malaysia had been plundered and looted over 50 years especially the last 30 years. Every expose revealed billions of Ringgit being plundered by these pirates. Please keep plugging away and don't give up. We have faith in PR and are firmly behind you and PR all the way. smilies/wink.gif
written by cheekhiaw, July 09, 2009 23:06:25
In the fight against evil, no battle is too long.
And shortcuts is not the way of the virtuous but that of the devils.
Humanity's road to progress is a long, long road.
As we make our little steps forward through darkness, let the great souls of history before us be our torch.

written by billykbk, July 09, 2009 23:07:46
I'm touched by this simple but yet intruiging message. It reminds me of ppl like Mahatma Gandhi, Ted Kennedy & Nelson Mendela who unyieldingly championed for equality, righteousness & moral goodness. At a time of degeneration of moral values, I find this simple sharing of virtue, an inspirational wake-up call to all virtuous M'sians to stand up against the EVIL, BAD & UGLY. May we STAND UP & BE COUNTED!
written by Kuku Burung, July 09, 2009 23:11:29
There are times that some people will criticize the PR leaders as young and inexperience. But young and inexperience they may be, they have the honest and sincere motivation to bring about positive change in this long suffering country. Frankly, I do not admire your job, Hannah. This is a kind of job that will only bring criticism and cruel false accusations. For the person like you, I have full confidence that you will go through these with courage and integrity. Will continue to see you after next GE.
written by khoosl11, July 09, 2009 23:12:20
To Hannah Yeoh and fellow PR assemblymen (and Assemblywomen),

Yes I am frustrated with the political situation. Why is there no peace after more than 1 year of election. Looks like 2 groups of kids fighting over candies. However, on the other hand...if we keep on letting the same group of kids having the candies, then what is left. I know it is hard..I know it is frustrating...I know it is not easy..but hey, if it is easy, I would have been in politics long ago. The thing is this...continue the fight and stay strong. I'm sure there are thousands of us behind you and supporting you. The other party just wants us to think that the country is not stable now bcos of your guys...DO NOT FALL INTO THIS TRAP.
written by joeawk, July 09, 2009 23:21:03
People who complained of instability are expressing their political apathy. They want everything handed to them on a platter. They are selfish and if they get sucked in by UMNO, they deserve it. People like them are useless and they cannot be any good for the nation.

We must fight on to establish a two party system and there will be no let up. If we fail, Malaysia will go to the dogs. The complainants must be made to understand that. There is no question of instability. I am a Malaysian and Malaysia is all I have to live in. There is no other country where I can go. If we do not change, we will not progress but we will fall behind.

We have way to go but with the continued support of all, we will reach our destination much faster.
written by Daryl, July 09, 2009 23:28:01
Stability is useless if we become a third world country.
Stability is useless if we have to spend 90% of our hard earned money to send our children overseas for a better future.
Stability is useless if we spend 30% of our investment to bribe our civil servant or government officials to get things done
Stability is useless if we don't have a future and no one can provide us safety and government we can go too

To hell with you all that have the 'cari makan' mentality.
written by StevenO, July 09, 2009 23:33:04
Dear Hannah,

Yes, most of us die hard opposition supporter can feel your pain and frustration at the rate of change. But, I am quiet happy with the way politics are developing right now.

You and your colleagues in the opposition have done a good job, at least those in power won't dare to take the rakyat for granted these days. The opposition is getting more vocal, more skeletons are being drag out into the open. That's good!!

Just hang in there, just disregard the nej sayers! They don't know what are at stake here. If we give up now, we may not get another chance again! In order to be rid of any serious ailment or cancer, one will have to go through an operation and the operation will definitely be dangerous and painful but there are no other choice...unless one wants to meet his maker earlier.

Even good medicine bring a bad taste to the mouth. There's not going to be any achievement without sacrifice! A big thanks to you for caring for your voters!

written by 3nity, July 09, 2009 23:53:16
To all the politicians out there regardless of which ever party they represent, you are there to serve the public first and not yourself or your friends. Who ever holds this as their calling will get my vote regardless of which flag they fly under. As for those who abuse their position for whatever reason other than doing the right thing, all I can say is that they brought the rain down on themselves and we the public have a duty to change this.
written by fireduck, July 09, 2009 23:58:39
YB Hannah, I like your message.

And guys, this is not about YB Hannah being frustrated and giving up. It is actually meant for all those who voted for change during PRU12, to stay the course. YB Hannah is urging you guys not to give in so easily to the frustrations. It's part of the process of change.

Way to go, YB Hannah!
written by myke, July 10, 2009 00:01:15
Keep it going no matter what, its for the good of the future..
written by confuseus, July 10, 2009 00:02:22
http://masliberators2009.********.com

Well said, Hannah. I am ex Bersih strg comm. Just before the GE, I have disengaged myself and I am now above politics.
We, the knowledge empowered citizens are now on a mission to "Hentikan kebocoran, elakkan pembaziran" but sadly PR has not shown a good example.
Then again, what can we expect from polticians in a secular environment but hannah, you can change that perception. This and the Telekom issue are a good start.

Keep up the good job and maybe we shall join forces soon.

written by zarms97, July 10, 2009 00:25:03
Mahathir mati negara aman sikit smilies/cool.gif
written by thumb, July 10, 2009 00:31:48
Dear Hannah, Perfection dose not exist in reality,only in people's expectation.Trying to do everything flawlessly is impossible. Nobody can win all the time no matter how good they are. You simply do your best and hope for the best.
written by zarms97, July 10, 2009 00:37:45
Hannah,
Could you suggest MPSJ to reduce their signboard fees to those who includes their address on their company signboard too and further discount if they use the signboard with light?Outsider will not lost their way and our night will be brighter and better.
Remove those useless trees in SJ/USJ.Replace it with Rambutan,Mangga,etc as long as not durian.Make MPSJ the fruits rich municipal.

from your voter USJ2
written by Wisdom above, July 10, 2009 01:27:13
By remaining clean, you get to sleep very peaceful every night.
Voting for change has fulfilled a PROPHECY.

The steps of a good man (woman) are always ordered by the LORD.
MALAYSIA need more MPs & ADUNs to follow your footsteps.

We color blind MALAYSIANS salute you and your fellow MPs & ADUNs for all the sacrifices made now & in Future.

RPK is our Modern Day Living Warrior.
.."*Please continue your struggle to make Malaysia a better place for our future generation. This country belongs to them and it is for them that we struggle.*"

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by gx27, July 10, 2009 01:28:23
Dear Adun,

i stay in usj and i see the improvement you did to this lovely place.

and the least is, YOUR HANDS ARE NOT TIED!!!!

keep it up and we will make sure you represent us in the assembly.

you cant please everybody but at least we know what somebody is sacrificing her youth for this community and we trulky appreciate your selfless efforts make this place a better if not a model place to live in this country.

congtrats and we will support you all the way.

may god bless you.
written by rocky, July 10, 2009 01:42:23
there is no perfect world and it is full of ups and down. as for politics, I think things are good nor for the rakyat. we have two groups that are both capable and want our support and this way we can make them work for us instead of them getting elected and after that just ignore us and o what they like. Competition is great and monopoly is bad for us rakyat.

as for hannah, need to learn to be more patient and more calm in dealing with the many demands, not everything will go your way and need to keep emotions in check at times, do not show anger when dealing with the every demanding Subang Jaya folks. yes you are not corrupt and we like it that way. Just hang in there, more to learn and do.
written by ceong2000, July 10, 2009 06:45:10
Hannah,thanks for you stuggle and just look at Penang where the opposition(BN) is trying all ways to get raid of LGE out of the office but with the help of the Penangites he will goes thru no matter what as we can sense what the 50 years BN doing all around.Yes come the next election it will be 80-20 for the PR.Let's keep the flag flying...Remember that it's start will all the PR members to send the message down the raod.Let's do it!!!....
written by Apache3, July 10, 2009 07:29:04
YB Hanna, thank you for this article. But also we have to have patience as the opposition is still young and it will take time for the people to understand. Things have been in place for 52 years and it will take time to undo these things.
GOD bless.
written by thirdeye, July 10, 2009 09:00:51
Hannah came to our USJ4/11 "Gated and Guarded" meeting. The meeting would have been an absolute waste of time had it not been for her. She was clear and logical. I personally do not like any politician of both divide of the spectrum BUT this young woman seems very different. She was precise to the point and factually ready to address the crowd meaning she respected my (and all else) time and intelligence.

This article is absolutely 100% TRUE. It will get very very hard to go against the grain. In fact 2010 to 2013 will be very challenging. All those who voted PR in, will be wondering why there is no "evident" change. I believe the change will come. Just have to be patient. Remember we are doing this for our future. We are doing this for our kids.

Those in power have raped the country blind AND we the voters have allowed this to happen by being indifferent. The plundering MUST be stopped. The powers that be MUST be stopped and only than can we see Malaysia progress to a first world kind of situation. BUT first the pain for the next 3 years..... folks stay the course.

written by teo siew chin, July 10, 2009 11:37:02
"....Our enemies are resisting change.....
---------------------------------

and the enemy is strong, very strong...built up strength over the years smilies/wink.gif
and of course they dont play fair, would you simply lay down and give up immense wealth and power?

so LAWAN, TETAP LAWAN ! smilies/grin.gif
written by NanoNano, July 10, 2009 13:01:39
Those who says we want change and want BN to give up power, ***** AGREE
Those who want status quo and let BN remain in power, ***** DISAGREE

Hannah, Jenise, Teresa and all the other PR ADUNs and MPs, you are our unsung heroes/heroines! Hang in there. When the going gets tough, the tough gets going!
written by SCOng, July 10, 2009 13:36:42
On one hand, BeEnd always shooting down PR saying they not doing anything good but only making a lot of noise.
Then on the other hand, PR is giving us all the inside info about how BeEnd had swindled all the rakyat's money in the past 52 years.

Well, I personally have this strong believe that,
1) Though PR had not shown any big achievement to the rakyat yet but can come clean at all times;
2) Sure BeEnd had many "showcase" result but mostly half cooked and end up no where plus depleting the national cash reserves like nobody's business.

I will definitely choose (1) for the next round, at least we still have $$ to do something when PR is ready, as compare to BeEnd keep on swindling more funds to patch up "bottomless pit" which might bring the country to bankruptcy...
written by Sinewy, July 10, 2009 14:32:39
"vote for stability and forget about having a stronger opposition and greater check and balance"
Sure this is the type of statement made by those who have made their fortune from the malaysian society and ever ready to send their children overseas and migrate to another country for all their selfish intent. They can afford and willing to accept the shortcomings of the government as long as they can still make their money from the malaysian public where many have seen difficult life because of the biased policies of the government and the rampant corruption. Their voice of support for stability is very self-serving and they have no right to represent the masses who have suffered enough from the stupid government now. By all mean, vote for whoever you want but keep it to yourself because you are a selfish opportunist like the corrupted government. No gain no vote....
written by HHKim, July 10, 2009 14:40:57
Dear YB Hannah,

Congratulate you for being very highly self-motivated person in the way you go about your political career. I do agree that political situations in this country is absolutely disappointing in the sense that there are too much politiking in daily affairs. But again we must face up to reality that this is going to stay for unknown length of time.

To survive in today's political arena, one has to be strong-willed and persevere in all dealings. It is a long battle to upkeep democratic principles and ideology. One can never stay long if one has lower level of tolerance and ability to face the onslaughts from the unreasonable characters around the politics.

As I have told many of my friends that I have yet to come to term who is capable of leading our nation today. We need leaders of high integrity, absolute transparency and total love for the nation and its people. The day will come when this person is born to save the nation.

All the infightings, political hammerings, too much wayang-wayang etc are killing the people and the country. Only honesty and sincerity can a leader leads this nation. Otherwise it is only a wishy-washy type of politics.

All Malaysians love this nation, and it pains all Malaysians when we see these things happening daily. Say one thing and doing another thing really sicken all of us the raayat.

However, we still pray for the best, hope for the best and will vote with our heart comes next GE.
written by Kathy, July 10, 2009 17:06:37
I haven't given up hope and I will give my vote to the Opposition come the next General Election. To those doubters who say our votes will not make any difference just think of 1 1 1 and on and on........... It all adds up. We have good people in the Opposition alliance who reflect the views of the people in general. They are the voice of moderation and reason and unity as opposed to BN who stands for extremism, unreasonableness and divisiveness. Let's give PR a chance. We have nothing to lose.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 11, 2009 02:50:26
politicians have stolen our children's future..period..
written by homemakers, July 11, 2009 06:50:22
Pakatan Rakyat has our support all the way , through and through !!! Keep up your good work, Hannah . God Bless all of you smilies/grin.gif
written by michaelT, July 11, 2009 15:09:56
YB Hannah, You must be strong to withstand the opposition politician or supporters in this township. You can lsten to them but you decide and call the shot. You are given the mandate to administer the township and we are for you. Learn to be witty and cool handling them and you may have to be adamant sometimes. Learn from your many mentors the like of YB Teresa, YB Teng YB Guan Eng and many more. You have perfromed extre,mely well as a first timer of that age. Make sure all issue of discriminatory, mismanagement. conflict of interest, anti trust laws and ethic policy must be upheld all times. You are our representative and we stand by you in good times and bad times. God bless you and keep you safe.