Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 'Banks will not be allowed to violate UN sanctions'

'Banks will not be allowed to violate UN sanctions' PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 20:03

(Bernama) - Malaysia is looking into claims that one of its banks has been used to channel payment in an arms sale transaction between North Korea and Myanmar.

The country would also assist the US in its investigations into the matter, Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak told reporters after chairing the National Small and Medium Enterprise Development Council meeting here on Thursday.

According to reports from South Korea, North Korea had sought payment through an unnamed Malaysian bank for a suspected shipment of weapons bound for Myanmar, which was being tracked by the US Navy.

On Monday, US envoy Philip Goldberg, who is coordinating financial, arms and other sanctions against North Korea under a recent United Nations (UN) resolution, came to Malaysia for talks.

He had told reporters that his delegation had a very good meeting at Bank Negara with Malaysian officials but did not say whether the suspected violation of the UN sanction by a local bank had been discussed.

The US would share information with other countries on any abuse of the international banking system particularly with regard to the UN sanction against North Korea to make sure that whatever trade and financial activities that took place were legal and did not violate the UN Security Council Resolution, he had said.

"We are looking at the details on it," said Najib, who is also Finance Minister when asked about the allegation.

"We don't want to be accused of doing things against the United Nations’ resolutions or international norms. We don't want Malaysia, including its banking system, to be used for those purposes," he added.

He said Malaysia would not allow the country or its banking system to be used for transactions involving the proliferation of nuclear weapons as it did not support the proliferation of nuclear weapons.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by *********, July 09, 2009 20:12:03
When we have a corrupt government, judiciary and civil service, what can you expect from our banks...More http://*********.********.com
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 21:27:57
The tone today is different from that a few days earlier when denial after denial were issued.

Notice the "show us proof" cry has slowly evolved to "We are looking at the details on it."

I guess the US state department will soon be announcing the name of the bank.

Malaysia Boleh !
written by Prem, July 09, 2009 21:35:35
Malaysia is a haven for Drug traffickers.Human Traffickers,harbouring Terrorists,hihe-out of corrupted Ex-Thai PM, ect, You name it you get it in Malaysia Bolehland!!!!Now Banks are involved in this corrupt business.IT IS TURNED INTO A COUNTRY OF COMEDY OF TRAGDY!!!!! My heart bleeds for this beautiful country,which is being pawned off by Thieves.
written by SiHangChai, July 09, 2009 22:17:34
Is Najib hinting something about this bank in Malaysia?
written by justice6, July 09, 2009 22:44:53
already got caught, then only said won't allow any Malaysia bank to violate UN sanction... else now already calling North Korea to collect their cash..
written by Ron, July 09, 2009 23:42:46
911 was planned in bolehland.All talk of fighting terror is bullshit.Bolehland is apartheid country and a banana republic pretending to be a democratic country,just because they have a rigged elections every 5 years.
written by imanj, July 10, 2009 00:41:04
Last entry,HUMAN TRAFFICKING... now probably numbered for yet another entry to list on violation brought on the United Nations..

Like most Malaysian in this country who vote this Government and their policies,don't want to speak English and maybe just accidently do business with the wrong people?! So people of Malaysia,if you thought is to go on like this,I'm quite sure you would be please to shut your doors to the world..

So go back to native ways,while you allow this Government to suck us dry..!! This is how they say For the unity of people [Demi perpaduan Rakyat}.We live in a Country with many jabs to our image and this isn't Malaysia anymore.My heart bleeds for you Malaysia,for I don't se you will progress with any sincerity with this Government.I am a taxpaying citizen,whose opinions and needs don't matter.

Like Michael Jackson says 'THEY DON"T CARE ABOUT US'....