Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Yes, respect the Role of the Rulers, only if they do the right thing

Yes, respect the Role of the Rulers, only if they do the right thing PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 15:50

My late father too went into conflict with the late Sultan. Because of that he was dropped from the protocol list and practically ‘banned’ from the palace. When he died the late Sultan as well as the present Sultan (who was then the Raja Muda) did not come to his funeral although they could not deny him permission to be buried in the Royal Mausoleum in Kelang. And my father is abang to the late Sultan mind you.

Respect role of Malay Rulers
The Star, 9 July 2009

SHAH ALAM: The notion by certain quarters that the Malay Rulers are just ceremonial emblems for official functions with no vested power needs to be set right immediately.

Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah of Selangor said the royal institution, which protected the sovereignty of the Royalty, Malay people, Islam, Malay language, other races, administration and the governing of the nation, should not be questioned.

“Agreement to accord the Malay Rulers with specific powers was reached between the three main races – the Malays, Chinese and Indians – with the acknowledgement of the Malay Rulers and the accord of the then-British government,” he added.

Sultan Sharafuddin said those who questioned the Malay Rulers not only violated the fundamental provisions in the Federal and state constitutions but also questioned the sovereignty of the Rulers.

He was speaking at the royal banquet here in conjunction with 50th anniversary celebrations of the state assembly yesterday.

“We must understand that the Malay Rulers represent an important institution in the country. Malaysia is a constitutional monarchy.

“I remind all parties to exercise respect and agree with the practice that has become sacred and followed since the Royal institution was formed, as a safeguard to all levels of society,” said the Sultan.

He also reminded assemblymen to be of good behaviour at all times and set an example for the community.

“Of late, there have been a few Yang Berhormats who have shown bad behaviour to the Royal institution and the state assembly. They were voted into office with much trust placed in them, and must exercise a high level of credibility and good manners in dealing with the people,” said Sultan Sharafuddin.

The Sultan added that his late father Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah had, during his reign, ordered that the state assembly be held in the Balairung Seri Istana Alam Shah in Klang until the construction of Selangor’s state assembly building was completed.

“Based on this, we must understand the sacred component that intertwines the dignified element of the state assembly and those who represent it,” said Sultan Sharafuddin.

When Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad annexed Putrajaya, which used to be called Perang Besar, and turned it into Federal Territory, there were many amongst the Selangor royal circle, the present Sultan of Selangor included, who were very upset.

The agreement was that Kuala Lumpur would be handed to the federal government and turned into the nation’s capital. In the interest of the nation, Selangor could not possibly refuse. The late Sultan cried as he signed Kuala Lumpur over to the federal government.

Then they decided to also take Putrajaya. According to what was agreed, Kuala Lumpur would be the nation’s federal capital and if they take Putrajaya to replace Kuala Lumpur as the new federal capital then they would have to return Kuala Lumpur to Selangor.

But the federal government did not return Kuala Lumpur to Selangor. Instead, it named Putrajaya the administrative capital so that Kuala Lumpur could remain as the federal capital and need not be returned to Selangor. In short, Malaysia would have two federal capitals, one named the administrative capital or administrative centre.

The Sultan was told there would be no discussion or negotiation on the matter. The federal government is going to take Putrajaya and pay Selangor a certain amount. But even then the payment would not be in cash. It would be by way of contra against the cost to develop Selangor.

In short, the federal government would develop Selangor at an inflated cost, sometimes two or three times the real cost, and this amount would be deducted from the money Selangor is supposed to receive. The payment is therefore not in cash but in kind. And the ‘in kind’ would be many times over what it should be.

So it would work this way:

The federal government will take Putrajaya ‘by force’. Selangor cannot object. The federal government then decides what it will pay Selangor as the ‘purchase price’. Selangor cannot disagree or demand what it would like to sell Putrajaya for. But the federal government will not pay Selangor cash. The amount would be deducted against the cost to develop Selangor at two or three times what it should actually have cost.

This reminds me of how the whites took land from the American Indians more than 200 years ago by paying the natives mere beads and whisky as the purchase price.

And that was when I went into attack mode. I wrote an article in www.freeanwar.com asking the Sultan and the entire royal council to resign. They are traitors to Selangor, I said, and they should be ousted. If this was 1901 instead of 2001, I wrote, I would lead an army to depose the Sultan and I would place someone else on the throne.

When they detained me under the Internal Security Act in April 2001, the Special Branch officers interrogated me about this article. I asked the Special Branch officers which royal family they come from. They replied they are not from any royal family. Then butt out, I told them. They have no business getting involved in matters concerning the royal family.

They cautioned me and told me that what I wrote was seditious. I responded by saying that unfortunately, since Merdeka, we now have such things called laws. If not I would lead an army to remove the Sultan and grab the Selangor throne.

“You are really pushing your luck,” they replied. “Do you know that such a statement can land you in Kamunting?”

My response to that threat was: “This is a family matter. I don’t interfere in your family and you don’t interfere in mine. You are not a member of the Selangor Royal Family so stay out of our business. Just be grateful that Selangor does not, again, become embroiled in a war like in the time of Sultan Abdul Samad.”

No, I don’t question the institution of the monarchy. I will in fact defend it. But I will oppose any monarch who does not defend our territory. The Selangor palace has treacherously allowed Selangor territory to be annexed by the federal government by force. In my book the Selangor palace has let the people down. The present ruling family should be deposed and replaced with another.

The Sultan told Rosmah Mansor that I am a lunatic. Otak dia tak berapa betul, tiga suku sikit -- according to what one Umno Blogger wrote in his Blog quoting the Sultan. When the Sultan was about to leave for the US to undergo heart surgery, he told the assembly of people sending him off at the airport that he is very upset with me for opposing the Sultan of Perak. In that assembly of people was the IGP, my sworn enemy, who was smiling with delight to see the Sultan whack me in public in front of so many people.

My late father too went into conflict with the late Sultan. Because of that he was dropped from the protocol list and practically ‘banned’ from the palace. When he died the late Sultan as well as the present Sultan (who was then the Raja Muda) did not come to his funeral although they could not deny him permission to be buried in the Royal Mausoleum in Kelang. And my father is abang to the late Sultan mind you.

I have never forgiven the Selangor palace for that and have always carried that in my heart although I have never, thus far, raised that matter. Now I am raising the matter to remind the palace what they did to my father. Tengku Sulaiman, however, came to the funeral and when my mother asked him why the Sultan and Raja Muda were not present he was embarrassed and replied that Tuanku is tied up with a crow-shooting contest.

Yes, my father died and both the late Sultan and present Sultan were too busy shooting crows and could not attend my father’s funeral. Do I need to continue showing loyalty to the Palace?

I was told I would not be given permission to be buried in the Royal Mausoleum. I will therefore have to make sure I do not die in Selangor. Then the question of where I should be buried will not arise. I am sure that would make the IGP very happy knowing that the man who is bent on bringing him down is an outcast. And the IGP personally heard this from the Sultan together with scores of other people the day the Sultan left for the US to undergo heart surgery.

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by aryn, July 09, 2009 16:10:46
Ah, Pete. What goes around comes around.

At least you have a conscience. Your beloved cousin probably is sitting on a throne full of thorns. Owwh! That hurts!.

Me? Come from a state with no Sultan. And never will be.
agree 271
written by Wisdom above, July 09, 2009 16:23:12
Today I learned about REAL History. smilies/smiley.gif
You opened up our EYES wide.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, peace and Tranquility to prevail.
agree 214
written by lampard, July 09, 2009 16:26:00
The first leader fought to become a king. He has to be strong, articulate, full of leadership quality...

The subsequent ones are just bestowed upon them and therefore are lame, lazy, prodigal, selfish....

You should be glad you are not a KING!
agree 121
written by red1, July 09, 2009 16:32:05
If and when you are up to it again please count me in. I mean about 'raising an army' to defend Selangor.
written by ahmadnavi, July 09, 2009 16:34:53
Hi Pete, As I remember, the ruler, the late Sultan was against the signing away of Putrajaya and it was his wishes that the then MB Tan Sri Abu Hassan did not proceed with the signing over of Putrajaya. His dilly dallying over the procedure forced Tun Mahathir to dismiss the MB on charges that had not been acted upon earlier and replaced him with Dato Sri Khir Toyo, who within two weeks expedited the transfer of Putrajaya to the Federal Government and to the satisfaction of Tun M.
agree 178
written by veseti, July 09, 2009 16:36:50
big bro pete, i ll only accept monarchs tht accept its citizen which were born on their territory not because of race but by birth rights. until then, i m rogue no diff from u. my only sultans are my parents. peace out bro.
agree 128
written by panca, July 09, 2009 16:40:41
Bro Pete,
we all know who is accorded with respect and love.
written by cheehau, July 09, 2009 16:46:59
A rightful monarch will always put the people's interest first and foremost. I shudder at the thought that the monarch was merely 'upset' about the forced annexation of Perang Besar by the Federal Government.

One wonders what would it take for the monarch to stand up to the Federal Government and say "Enough is enough!".

Ampun tuanku, sembah patik harap diampun.
written by mick_err_stan, July 09, 2009 16:47:15

Hmmmm ! I've learned something new today and am disillusioned ! This revelation is a 180 degree u-turn for me.....sigh!

Anak Selangor
written by Running Sardines, July 09, 2009 16:59:23
The Sultan told Rosmah Mansor that I am a lunatic. Otak dia tak berapa betul, tiga suku sikit -- according to what one Umno Blogger wrote in his Blog quoting the Sultan.

IF YM RPK otak is 3 suku sikit, then a lot of those in BeEnd are without otak. At least YM RPK has shown us the truth and how it was manipulated by those 'pentingkan diri sendiri' people. They talk about unity about races but in actual fact they don't hope to see us united, otherwise we can boot them out anytime.

God bless you YM RPK.
written by storm62, July 09, 2009 17:01:27
i'll be shooting crows too whenever any sultan kick the bucket.
agree 115
written by mountainking, July 09, 2009 17:05:30
haha late Sultan Selangor can't even beat Tun Dr Mahathir. Sometimes is nice to see a commoner like Dr M whacked the late Sultan until he cried when he signed off KL.

this is what you called what goes around comes around.

well, in the first place, did the monarch earn its due respect?
written by teo siew chin, July 09, 2009 17:06:55
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

Your HEART is royal-er than any blue-blood's !
written by hellosunshine, July 09, 2009 17:07:52
As the saying goes, history always repeats itself. Look at France's Louis XVI, China's Emperor Puyi, Russia's Tzar Nicholas, Iran's Reza Shah, Portugal's Manuel II etc etc smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by magickriver, July 09, 2009 17:13:03
The Sultans, like Abdullah Badawi, have grown accustomed to their luxurious lifestyles and cme across as desperate to defend their right to live anyhow they like at the public expense. Imagine any "commoner" tellng his mechanic to replace the whole aircon system of his car for RM45k when a simple repair would have fixed the problem and cost no more than RM1k? That's because they have never had to sweat for their money, that's why. How to respect anybody like that, who attempts to portray himself as holier than everybody else (which entitles him to be a "defender of the faith") when everybody can see that not only are they as human as the rest of us, some actually behave like subhumans? Remember the Shah of Iran's solid gold toilet bowl in his private jet? Does this sort of self-serving narcissism inspire spontaneous love and respect from the rakyat... or the complete opposite? Sad that despite our prayers for his well-being, Idris has returned from his heart surgery none the wiser, and apparently unheeding of his own very human mortality - and therefore fallibility.
written by arazak, July 09, 2009 17:18:50

Just concentrate on what you are doing now and just do what you have to do. Don’t worry as to where you will be buried. It doesn’t matter where that place will be as we Malaysians will always remember you. We remember you by your deeds not where you are buried!

Also, please do not talk about dying, burial, etc., etc. We need you alive. So stay healthy!

And one more thing, about that IGP. . ., don't you worry about him too. For all you know, maybe he will kick the bucket (that is what most of us have been praying for) earlier than you think.
written by malsia1206, July 09, 2009 17:21:01
The modern Royalties and Monarchy in Malaysia no longer assume the same epitome of revernce like they used to in the old days. They are polluted by politics and undue reliance on the Ringgit to maintain their lifestyles. Between politics and monies, there has been many scandals and negative reports of behavioural incidents committed by their households. Compared with the indispuable and undivided respect the Thais have for their King, Malaysia seems to have lost her soul and sense of direction in this same subject. And do not blame the rakyat for this situation. The Royalties and the Monarchy have to look and reflect on this themselves first before anything else. And you can bet UMNO is one big reason to begin with.
written by 1351, July 09, 2009 17:27:35
Aye Sir ! Which brings me to the essence of what Mat Saman Kati shared with me not too long ago.

The late HRH Sultan Idris was most colourful, much loved by his subjects. There was no need for invites, days of celebration for many a festivity. It seems there was no bigger occasion, people of Perak making arrangements days ahead to celebrate the birthday of the late HRH. He was certainly one who ruled his own head, even proclaiming celebrations of Raya one day ahead even though the moon was not sighted. What a man but how times have changed for Perakians.

I cite the late HRH Sultan Idris because a late uncle of mine used to regale me with tales of his close association with the late monarch. I'm hope they are both watching over me, cards and whiskey in hand as I bang out these few words. Till today, I can't get over the fact an ex-Lord President together with one son of Rasak put personal interest above the welfare of an entire state.

Much has been written about the shenanigans of both Jamaluddin and Osman Jailu. They of the 'sedekah seks' infamy were still in the good grace of Sultan Azlan while others might have dispense with their services immediately, no if's and but's while their marching orders are dished out(thereby forcing a contest on two seats).

I know the latter would be my decision because their conduct is inexcusable from a criminal and moral point of view. The demands of public office calls for conduct exemplary, no !

It is no surprise Jamal and Osman are both corrupt. Malay blogging section would tell of both these 'wakil rakyat' working hard to facilitate logging concessions. Corruption in UMNO and the many ex-UMNO types seems second nature but what I still can't get over is the fact Sultan Azlan paid no notice to the 'sedekah seks' incidence which they admitted to and claim it was a set up by ACA. Going by what Sultan Selangor demands of those serving public office, both Jamaluddin and Osman Jailu would be dead meat, no ?

I agree with most of what Sultan Sharafuddin demands of public officials but it is a slippery slope when UMNO's Malay rights is read in conjunction with the sovereignty of Raja-raja Melayu. Let me be naive to say the speech writer had malicious intend when that was inserted into the speech because UMNO's Malay rights and the sovereignty of monarchs are two separate considerations altogether.

Words coming out of Istana Kayangan, Shah Alam doesn't hold much promise. Is Selangor going to go through what took place in Perak(with turncoats aplenty) ? With my distaste of UMNO (bane to the bumi community, enemies of Islam), do I have to move to either Kedah or Johore if I want shelter from a non-UMNO Sultan ?

written by BennyG, July 09, 2009 17:29:41
At this rate, UMNO is the biggest enemy of the Royal Families. UMNO is the only one who could replace/place all the rulers that is to sit in the "throne".

Therefore the only threat to the Royal Families is UMNO, not any other parties or citizens/bloggers.
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 17:35:57
I am sure his Royal Highness today appreciates the presence of a strong federal opposition and a PR government under his name.

If the opposition had been as strong in the early 90s, Putra Jaya would have to be traded for Kuala Lumpur if it were to be established an administrative capital of Malaysia.
written by hiiijack, July 09, 2009 17:45:23
know i know,by rigth you is actually the real 'SULTAN OF SELANGOR'rigth guys.You're the elder son in your family and your late farther is elder bro.of late Sultan of Selangor.
Daulat Tuanku.
Note: i wonder what will happen to BN dogs ahh if RPK is the 'SULTAN OF SELANGOR'?
i'M A Selangorian too,i was born in PK,Daulat Tuanku.
written by hiiijack, July 09, 2009 17:46:56
Sorry,corection. ''now i know''
written by orangdunia, July 09, 2009 17:48:14
“Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah of Selangor said the royal institution, ... protected ..., …,, Islam, …. ….”

“He also reminded assemblymen to be of good behaviour at all times and set an example for the community.”

Based on the statements above, I conclude that the best way for someone to uphold Islam or be of good behaviour is to emulate the behaviours of the Royalties.

For sure their actions would be completely within Islamic teachings and their behaviour would be immaculate.
written by eeyaw, July 09, 2009 17:55:04
At least your heart is with Selangor unlike some people but I wonder why you are not angry with Chedet, the culprit to all these fiasco. The whole game of transferring both KL and Putrajaya is for obvious reasons, which is $$$ and diluting Opposition votes.
written by miwaki, July 09, 2009 18:06:29
Pete,lets die in Tahiti,What is Malaysia or Kelang compare to Tahiti ? I'm sure God doesn't mind where we are buried,God knows where is Tahiti but I doubt God knows where is Klang.
written by eagle22, July 09, 2009 18:38:41
"Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah of Selangor said the royal institution, which protected the sovereignty of the Royalty, Malay people, Islam, MALAY LANGUAGE, other races, administration and the governing of the nation, should not be questioned."

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I don't want to question, but just want to know which sekolah kebangsaan the sultans children / grand children currently studying.
written by Super Admin, July 09, 2009 18:44:57
hiiijack, RPK's grandmother is the elder SISTER to the present Sultan's grandfather. He has told us this before. Therefore his family DOES NOT get to sit on the throne. And that is why RPK's father is abang sepupu to the late Sultan.
written by Bandit, July 09, 2009 18:49:35
Sultan of Selangor can have a bottle of whisky every night just like his predesessor..... something everybody knows....and whose otak tak betul sikit?. He cannot even trust Doctors in his own country that he had to go overseas for treatment and that too from our hard earned money....LOL talk about someone demanding respect.....cheers!!! YH smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Fat Zorro, July 09, 2009 18:51:38
We the supporter of RPK are all tiga suku like him also.
written by PRman, July 09, 2009 19:05:10
My school or elders always told me respect must be earned rather than demand. :-)
written by hiiijack, July 09, 2009 19:10:08
O i see,sorry lah my MT membership not even six month old.ever wonder if RPK is our Sultan..bagus punya.Thanks Super admin.
written by densemy, July 09, 2009 19:10:45
"the royal institution, which protected the sovereignty of the Royalty, Malay people, Islam, Malay language, other races, administration and the governing of the nation, should not be questioned."

Seems to me the country would be a lot better off without any of those functions.

But how come he managed to sneak in the bit about "other races"
written by mypanida, July 09, 2009 19:11:34
Sultan sudah murka, but oh, oh, oh....Who the fcuk cares ?

You keep selling us out and look us down !
written by *********, July 09, 2009 20:10:20
The Malay Rulers can't just take the Rakyat for granted. If they want to be respected by the Rakyat, they better earn it...More http://*********.********.com
written by Anti Relon, July 09, 2009 20:30:02
I used to know a member of the Selangor family. He said he was a brother to the Sultan of Selangor (present rulers' father). He only said he was a brother of the sultan once. And he used to come to London annually. It was many years ago. He had a flat in Edgware Road, near Marble Arch. Suddenly he stopped coming. I wonder if he was your father. Since you brought up this issue, I just wonder. He was a perfect gentleman.
Best Reagrds
written by Fuminari, July 09, 2009 20:30:13
now,with the pakatan rakyat at the helm in selangor after the 308 tsunami.....there's no way umno thieves n bandits can sign anything out from selangor anymore!but,but does the sultan appreciate it??umno definitely could not be able to hav grabbed KL n perang besar in such an easy manner,not even war of words; without provision of personal rewards,could they????
written by Taiping60, July 09, 2009 21:11:38
In this time and era, it is undemocratic to tell the people of Malaysia that you cannot question the rulers regardless of what they did. Rulers should be respected if they rule honourably. They should not be involved in business to ensure impartiality. They should not just be fair but seen to be fair. Respect has to be earned and not demand. If Rulers want to be respected by all Malaysians then they have to neutral and stay above all. They should not and must behave as if they are looking after only once race.

Based on what reported in the media, with exception of a few, majority were big dissapointment to Malaysians.

written by asguard, July 09, 2009 21:46:26
Hope that RPK will have his freedom day ....when Pakatan takes over...
written by tanwi, July 09, 2009 23:04:59
Its weird to hear the statemet 'must not be questioned' be utterred so many times. So what if anyone questions the existence or importance of the royal family? or Malay rights? or whatever? Whats important is whether the question have substance.

if ppl should be locked up bcos of questioning, than u have something worse than the ISA. Everyone will have and are entitled to their views on this matters.
written by johnT, July 09, 2009 23:16:51
Dear Pete. You are a royal family blood. When you were detained in ISA did the monarchy do anything or just a small word to free you?

Forget about the past. Forget about Monarchy. Upgrade your self. is not a time to become a blogger anymore. You should involve in politic arena. You should join DAP. Because you are the only Malay that respect by all the non Malay and Malay. You should become a leader not a blogger. Example: when you slam the Chinese few month ago I can see no Chinese angry at you and hate you. If you join DAP I believe LGE will step up his chair for you to sit in.
written by wongnoball, July 09, 2009 23:29:56

Do you agree that when Selangor can become a most advanced state of Malaysia is mainly because of the Federal capital is located in Selangor ?
written by Khan, July 10, 2009 00:01:48
Royal family or Ordinary family, when death occurrs, as muslim, one shd forget whatever issues he had wt the dead n visit the deceased's house. When this was not done, how cld RPK forgive these persons. Long live RPK! Perempuaka Rosma go to hell!
written by sydput, July 10, 2009 00:03:49
Very noble and gallant indeed.
But I still cannot figure out why RPK had to kiss mahathir's arse (oops! sorry again, should be hands), the architect behind putrajaya takeover by federal government. during his reign, mahathir was The absolute agung of malaysia! All the other rulers pale in comparison. They may look regal, but they pee in their pants whenever mahathir is around.
written by raven1958, July 10, 2009 00:04:26
The Sultan of Selangor didnt have the balls to stand up to Mahathir to save Prang Besar...lembek because of his cushy upbringing...

But, RPK...I wouldnt worry about it...he had his valve repaired by of all people Craig Miller...it will leak again within 3 to 5 years....he will make it to the Royal Mausoleum way before you....you should start building bridges with his kids and Sulaiman....
written by Daryl, July 10, 2009 00:15:07
Dear RPK

You do not need to be buried in the Royal Mausoleum but I know how you wish that could be the case. Your life and leadership is forever enshrined in million of rakyat Malaysia's mind and heart which I believe is a much better place than a piece of land that goes six feet deep in the ground. A better Malaysia is million times better than a place in Royal Mausoleum even though there is a sentimental reason for you to be there in faraway future.

God bless you and your family.
written by gondrong, July 10, 2009 00:22:31
If someone want to start a revolution now, I'll give 100% support, haha.
written by harrbm, July 10, 2009 00:38:03

><

dear YM RPK,

I have great respect for you.

I'm in the same boat as you are.

>
written by jonestation, July 10, 2009 01:04:45
have you guys ever wonder why the Thai people respect and love their King so much? They call their king "father", because the king, look after them like his own children.
written by educationist, July 10, 2009 05:28:38
Respect those who are worthy of respect!!
written by KotaDamansara73, July 10, 2009 06:51:26
I only agree with Mahathir on 2 things.

1) A countries need an opposition party to check and balance the goverment.

2) He tries to destroy the feudalistic mindset of the Malays. He almost do away with the monarchy.
written by Apache3, July 10, 2009 07:03:12
Have patience Pete. No matter what "YOU ARE OF ROYAL STOCK AND WILL ALWAYS BE A ROYAL". GOD will always bless and protect you.
Take care wherever you are with Marina.
written by slash n burn, July 10, 2009 08:24:34
Sultans, I'm the 'other races' category. Rakyat can live without you but you can not live without rakyat. Yes bunch of waste of taxpayers money, so I DON'T NEED YOUR PROTECTION!
written by wongnoball, July 10, 2009 09:31:11
Normally I would not care about family problem but since it does affect my life, the Democracy I want, my well being and people in General, it is my business. Just like those Islamic conversion issues.

Is is no suprise that while I criticize Many Royalty and Sultan, we just need to be careful here in this Despotic Regim Ganas Kejam UMNO Led law and order country. After Perak, one by one of the Sultans is becoming part of the Furniture. We who wants to progress will continue our attack, criticism. lets hope the Coming Devastating Economic Depression we see not only wealth transfer but also Paradigm Shift......Thailand is only holding on to its Monarchy barely if those children of current King don't Behave....it will be Nepal soon. There is good and bad but today People are asking WHAT IS IT FOR ME??? After 52 Year of UMNO Rubbish ...is this English-BM-English_BM thing the last straw.....Wear Black Merdeka 09 for that too.....
written by mentora, July 10, 2009 11:41:21
“If once the people become inattentive to the public affairs, you and I, and Congress and Assemblies, Judges and Governors, shall all become wolves. It seems to be the law of our general nature, in spite of individual exceptions.”
- Thomas Jefferson
written by clarity, July 10, 2009 15:14:25
RPK, under the circumstances of your predicament with the Selangor royal family I just think that you should now do something to restore their dignity. Call upon all of us to take back K.l. and return it to the Sultan. The crooks not satisfied with taking everything even take away the dignity of the Dultan. This is too much.
written by MyBUDAK, July 10, 2009 16:55:59
i just wish to have People Elected Sultan... smilies/wink.gif

dunno when my dream will come true... smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif

if then i'll vote Pete to be Sultan of Perak... smilies/cool.gif
at least he wont sell Perakian to BN brothel... smilies/cry.gif
written by Rozlan, July 11, 2009 15:53:25
The Malaysian Monarchies had increasingly made known their biasness.As far as they are concern their sole subjects are UMNo.Aven though UMNo many time had pissed them.

So the HRHs shouldnt wondering why non UMNo people lost respect on them.As far as the Sultans are concern as long UMNo "stay loyal" to them,it is enough..
written by iMac, July 11, 2009 16:45:39
Pete.

I am not surprised to read what you had written about Tengku Sulaiman here.

I have known him for nearly 40 years now.

Very decent guy for those who know him really well. And most of all, a very principled person.

Hope you are well brother and my regards to Marina.

I am the guy who fought Moses Chin... ha ha ha ha!!!
written by Steven Ong, July 11, 2009 22:33:31
If one wants to be respected, then one should be worhty of respect. Respect cannot be demanded, but must be earned. A good ruler must be open to criticism , humble and shows respect to all. But most of all full of wisdom and knowledge and kindness. There is no need to remind others if you are worthy to be respected. If there are Yang Berhormats ( YB ) showing disrespect to you, then perhaps you should take a look at yourself in the mirrror.
written by Nick Chong, July 14, 2009 11:13:33
RPK
Very good statement you made and daring one. You just open a can of worm to the Sultan and pretty sure they will not take it easy.