Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Dr M: There are corrupt leaders in Najib's Cabinet

Dr M: There are corrupt leaders in Najib's Cabinet PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 13:29

The commission, which started in January this year has already received loads of reports and complaints for investigation and, among them, it is learned, are reports of corruption involving Rafidah and ex- Malacca chief minister Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik.

Shah A Dadameah, Malaysian Mirror

This comes from someone who has been hit umpteen times with accusations of cronyism, nepotism and being a dictator: “There are corrupted leaders in Umno and the current administration.”

Dr Mahathir Mohamad did not mince words when he gauged the first 100 days of the country and Umno under the leadership of Najib Abdul Razak.

He doubts that Najib is fighting corruption effectively.

“Sorry to say that. But, it doesn’t look like he is (fighting corruption),” Dr Mahathir told reporters recently at the Perdana Leadership Foundation during a meeting with the Malaysia-Singapore Vintage Car Register, a club for vintage car owners.

Despite this, however, he commended Najib for implementing the key performance index (KPI) to measure the performance of all ministers and their subordinates in the administration.

Najib took over from Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in April against a backdrop of a worsening economic scenario, unstable political climate and ruptured race relations.

abdullah-badawi-1.pngIn contrast, when Abdullah became prime minister in October 2003, public confidence in the Barisan Nasional was at an all-time high due to a secure economy and a relatively harmonious sense of belonging among the people.

Just a few months after he took over from Dr Mahathir, he gave the BN its biggest election victory in history.

Towards better days under Najib

The euphoria sadly fizzled out over the ensuing four years and Abdullah had also to feel the BN’s greatest defeat, when five state governments fell into the clutches of the opposition alliance, now known as the Pakatan Rakyat.

Dr Mahathir had said once that Abdullah was an incompetent successor and was banking on Najib to show some guts in running the country.

Indeed, when Najib took over, he carried the nation’s hope that under him Malaysia would achieve greater things than it ever accomplished before. In the BN, Umno and its allies are also looking forward to better days under their new leader.

macc.gifNajib sensed that and decided if he is to stay ahead and above his opponents, he has to fight the evils of graft and corruption. Thus, he introduced the KPI, which works as a ‘report book’ to keep his ministers and every civil servant in his administration on their toes.

He also introduced his ‘1Malaysia’ concept, which came with various social and economic reforms.

While approving the KPI, Dr Mahathir is not pleased with some of the reforms, which included the liberalisation of the 30% bumiputra requirement.

“It’s not that the new economic policy has prevented Malaysia from growing faster than other countries.

“But, the fact remains that bumiputras have not achieved the targeted quota.

“Meanwhile, non-bumiputras have exceeded theirs,” he said, adding that he has mixed feelings about Najib’s performance in helming the country during the first 100 days as prime minister.

Khairy, Mukhriz and Khir Toyo

Dr Mahathir’s skepticism of the new team in Umno and the government was clear from the moment the son of the country’s second prime minister, Abdul Razak Hussein, took over the reins of power in Umno and the government.

Najib came to Sri Perdana with a baggage of unanswered questions about his connection to political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda, who was implicated in the sensational murder case of Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu.

While he has repeatedly denied he was ever involved, Najib’s political opponents have never stopped taunting him over the Altantuya specter.

Dr Mahathir has also no trust for Umno Youth leader Khairy Jamaluddin who, he alleged, had interfered in the affairs of the government while Abdullah was prime minister.

mukhriz mahathir 2.jpgDr Mahathir’s son, Mukhriz, had obtained the highest nominations for the movement’s top post but Khairy was elected amid speculations that it had not been a clean fight.

khairy-jamaluddin-2.jpgIronically, Khairy, who had also trailed behind former Selangor mentri besar Dr Khir Toyo in the nominations race, had earlier been found guilty of money politics and given a warning.

On the other hand, deputy president aspirant Mohamed Ali Rustam was also found guilty of the same offence but was barred from contesting. He was, however, allowed to finish his term as Malacca chief minister.

In what later appeared to be a trade-off, Mukhriz was made a deputy minister while Khairy remained just an MP.

On the Wanita side, Mahathir had said during the contest between Rafidah Aziz and her deputy, Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, that whoever won the fight would not be free of corruption.

There is also an irony here. While Shahrizat had lost in the general election, Wanita delegates gave her the votes to be their new chief. She was later made a senator and re-admitted into the Cabinet.

Rafidah, on the other hand, was a winner in the general election but evicted from her ministerial post and voted out as Wanita head.

Papar MP Rosnah Abdul Rashid Sirlin came in as the new Puteri Umno leader untainted. She was, after all, an activist in the Integrity Institute of Malaysia and her image was as clean as a whistle.

Not the first choice

Word has it that Najib was not the first choice to be the deputy when Abdullah took over as prime minister (as he was also not the first choice when Mahathir was looking for a deputy after Anwar Ibrahim was sacked in 1998).

Abdullah took a long while to ponder over the decision until, it was said, he was pressured by Mahathir to take Najib as the Number Two.

At that time, there were still some strong sentiments for Anwar and some Umno people had hoped someone with links to the former deputy prime minister would take a pivotal leadership role in the party. That person was Muhyiddin Yassin.

It turned out later that Muhyiddin was the most vocal and most outspoken about speeding up the transfer of power in Umno, following the tsunami blow to the party and its allies in the March 2008 general elections.

muhyiddin-yassin 2.jpgAbdullah had no choice but to fast-track the transition plans, which saw Muhyiddin stepping into the shoes of the deputy prime minister as Najib moved a notch higher.

While it was a sad exit for Abdullah, it was an insecure entry for Najib. Issues like the Perak leadership crisis had not helped to boost his credibility.

A 6-1 win for Pakatan?

By-election losses in Bukit Gantang (Perak) and Bukit Selambau (Kedah) as well as the BN boycott of the Penanti by-election in Penang did not improve his leadership stature. Only the Batang Ai by-election in Sarawak provided the BN a face-saving win.

The BN is set to face its opponents and voters again on July 14 in Manek Urai, Kelantan. If it loses here, the scoreboard would read 6-1 against the Barisan in seven contests since last year’s general election.

Political observers said Abdullah had been an easy-going prime minister and had unknowingly allowed others to take advantage of his good nature.

It was only towards the tail end of his brief term that he showed a bit of his fangs; particularly in the setting up of the economic corridors, the handling of judiciary issues and the formation of the anti-corruption commission.

The commission, which started in January this year has already received loads of reports and complaints for investigation and, among them, it is learned, are reports of corruption involving Rafidah and ex- Malacca chief minister Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik.

There are also reports against Abdullah and Mahathir as well as their family members and alleged cronies in the corporate sector, the civil service and the judiciary.

After 100 days in office, Najib appears to be still struggling in getting the people to understand what he intends to do for the country.

His vision of ‘1Malaysia’ is as vague as Abdullah’s ‘Islam Hadhari’ concept. And neither has the strength nor the character of mass appeal as Dr Mahathir’s ‘Malaysia Boleh’ clarion call, which was clear, direct and easily understood by all Malaysians.

On the plus side, Najib’s popularity rating has moved up in recent months, according to a street poll by think-tank group Merdeka Centre. There’s hope yet for Najib.

SHAH A DADAMEAH is News Editor of the Malaysian Mirror

written by Trueandfair, July 09, 2009 13:38:46
Tun M, you must be joking smilies/grin.gif - corrupt leaders in Najib's cabinet ??? Impossible, I thought the whole BN leadership is corrupt - you mean, there are innocent, uncorrupted leaders ??? Who? Who ? I want to praise him or her smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 175
written by asguard, July 09, 2009 13:47:46
Not a few corrupted leaders but a hand full of them...still in their various posts!
written by Fight4Justice, July 09, 2009 13:47:51
Pot calling the kettle black?
written by storm62, July 09, 2009 13:51:49
oh really? mamak kutty, you mean there no corrupted leaders in your cabinet?

ha ha ha, what a joke? are you trying to be funny at this old age?

melayu umno mudah lupa, tapi Rakyat tak!
written by 1351, July 09, 2009 14:11:51
The blackest pot in all of Malaysia calling the kettle black !

The old man knows no bound, I'll give him that. Funny how he couldn't win nomination from his own division when Dollah Badawi was on the helm but is now an unofficial policy maker in Najib's administration. Even with Badawi gone I think the old man would still be hard pressed to win the lowest office in UMNO.

No person has done more damage to M'sia than s/o Kutty. To me, he is like a HIV carrier knowingly spreading the virus and now that Najib has given a voice, let's hope his meddling hands sends UMNO down the road of self implosion.

Regards all.
written by densemy, July 09, 2009 14:51:07
Tell us something we dont already know.

written by pinsysu, July 09, 2009 15:02:12
corrupt leaders in Najib's Cabinet? got meh? Dr M must be joking ... juz like RPK a grandfather of 5 is still a virgin ...
written by raven1958, July 09, 2009 15:15:57
OK..let me guess...you are pissed off with the English thingy...which you created in the first place...and now will sling more mud to get Najib out even quicker....

Hello TDM...what corruption....your boy who is PM today is a murderer....
written by cheemengwong, July 09, 2009 15:30:03
Dr. M,

Bumi's not achieving target but Chinese exeeding theirs...????

Have you look at the Indians? They are far behind the Malays and Chinese lah! Why you don't make some noise to help the Indians?

They have in fact fell further. You must be joking!
written by SCM, July 09, 2009 16:00:40
There are corrupt leaders in Najib's cabinet. That's like saying, "there are people in Singapore". This old coot's mind is fast deteriorating. Ask this senile old man and he will definitely tell you that Mukhriz is not corrupt and is not a racist.
written by Vivarium, July 09, 2009 16:02:04
Mahathir, you knew all along who were the corrupted leaders. They too knew inside out how corrupted you and those who borrow your name as their family name were. The world over knew all that. While you had earned yourself a title called " 10% Man ", they have not had that rotten feathers on their caps. Therefore, in order to even out your score agaist them, you can still report them to the anti-corruption agency. If the ACA is reluctant to act, you are advised to report the Agency to Najib. If Najib refuses to act because of his past submarine stunt, you are then back to square one. What's next ? You can still sue those by bribing the judges. Khir is planning to do just that over the uncovering of his $24 million palace.
If you are unwilling to set the motion going, you are bound to share the same torture chamber with them in the after world. That bloody place will be overcrowded with those you once worked with, I can assure you that. See what I mean.
written by joeawk, July 09, 2009 16:23:50
Haha.Isn't he a joke. Was there no corruption in Mahatir's administration? When yiou hv a share it is alright and there is no corruption and when you don't have a share, it is corruption.

Just wonder how your children have come to be so rich? What about Daim, the old snake? You got back you share from him?
written by red1, July 09, 2009 16:38:16
To accuse anyone of been corrupt without evidence is malicious and cunning. Show the proof first.
written by DontPlayGod, July 09, 2009 17:04:05
Sometimes I get the feeling that our Tun's main reasons for not completely retiring from commenting on the politics in this country is that he wants to defend his rule/policies, and ensure his legacy as a great leader is intact.
But the fact is that the country saw the greatest amount of corruption, making billionaires and millionaire out of nobodies, rampant land scams, and racial polarisation was the greatest under his PMship. Race discrimination, under the guise of NEP, and other special privileges, was the worst under his PMship.
For many years, scholarships, licences for imports of vehicles, government contracts for major projects, was almost always given out to Malays only. It was only during the beginning of AAB's PMship, that the non-Malays began to make noise about federal government scholarships being denied to highly qualified non-Malays that some minor changes began to creep in. Still, more than 90% of scholarships are still being given out to Malays only.

Tun, you cannot deny that racial polarisation and race discrimination was the worst under your PMship. You are only now trying to justify that you did no wrong.
written by Fairminded, July 09, 2009 17:49:32
Dr. Marmite is the father of all corruption. Under his watch, in order to perpetuate his power and to build a dynasty, he use the NEP effectively to buy power and play money politics in UMNO. Now he is out of power he starts to accuse UMNO being full of corrupted politicians? Of course he is for the 30% because only by this his cronies in UMNO (half baked Malays) can enrich themselves. Geez, he is either a stand up comic or a hypocrite. How is son, not even an elected UMNO official, can be a minister boggles the mind. To paraphrase General McAuthur's quote "Old Generals dont die, they just fade away" I suggest old corrupted politicians like him dont die, just go to hell.
written by Vivarium, July 09, 2009 17:50:34
The definition of corruption extends to include " abuse of power ", and if we apply this definition on Mahathir, he is then a big time corruptor in all fields throughout his tenure as PM.
Talking about Daim, I wonder if anyone of you still recall how he robbed the shareholdings in UMBC from the Chinese-controlled Multipurpose Holdings Ltd, in exchange for French Bank. Mahathir was masterminding the robbery.
written by miwaki, July 09, 2009 19:48:23
No-lah,where got corrupt leaders in UMNO/BN government.Our ministers are the cleanest in this region.Even our ex-menteri besar of selangor is clean.His wife would agree with me that Toyo is so clean that he wouldn't be infected with "Demam Babi Hutan".In Malaysia,there is no corrupt minister.
written by Namolos, July 09, 2009 21:04:12
Dear Tun Dr M...for once you are absolutely correct that there are corrupt leaders in Najib's Team.

For one... because sabah Chief Minister got a [Money Lundrying] case in HK [ caught at HK international Airport]also now no case.( KOUTIAM liao ICAC by MACC )

$$$$$$$$$ 160,000,000,000.00 i also don,t know how to write the figure. Can help many many poor rakyat di-SABAH . HOPE PM CAN TAKE NOTE ON THIS CASE....if not, his ''1 Msia''solgan will be a ''F'' Off finger to the rest of all Malaysians and not ''1'' as intended..
written by Taiping60, July 09, 2009 21:19:28
Good Tun Mahathir. You should name all those corrupted leaders in BN Government. Not just Federal government but all state government. You have rule for for about quarter of century, you should know who are they. Don't just name them but also tell us why you believe they are corrupt. To be fair to all, we need evident. Personally, I don't think it should be hard. Just look at Khir Toyo's case. Earn less than you, work shorter period than you, but he own a mansion which will probably take a army of workers to maintain the place not mentioning how much it cost to build the structure, to renovate and to furnish. Remember, he has yet to shift in. This means he is now living in another house.

If you do that, you are not only helping BN but also Malaysia.
written by uxzee, July 09, 2009 21:38:04
Corrupt leaders in Najib's cabinet ??

What do you expect when Najib himself is probably the most corrupted there and followed by Rosmah. And Mahathir dare not even mention this.
written by ABU SAYAB, July 09, 2009 21:42:28
Phew...! the father of the most corrupt is doing the talking!
written by Just Gan, July 09, 2009 22:08:03
Mahathir is right. There are many corrupt leaders in the cabinet and one of the most corrupt members of the cabinet is someone called Mukhriz. Mahathir, do you know this corrupt character and his father, the ex-PM and the most corrupt and evil Malaysian in the country's history?
written by mowadoha, July 09, 2009 23:09:41
written by bexe, July 09, 2009 23:56:20
TDM finally has enough guts to make some serious accusations against the corrupt? Strange because all this while he (living in a glass house)has not dare cast the first stone, so why now?
Be as it may, if he is serious about helping to clean up corruption then he should attack those at the very top. He has access to some damning evidence. He should table that!
If he does that than he will have carved a deep legacy for himself.
written by Sutha, July 10, 2009 00:39:03
Yes, there are plenty of corrupted ones in the cabinet, including the mongolia head. Because BN is ruling the cabinet. Some corrupted ones fell outside the cabinet. Some were heads of these cabinets. For the PR, some corrupted cockroaches creapt into the little state cabinets, in the silves state leading to change in government and cabinet. All these corrupted ones have hides thicker than dinasaur's and one has thick tongues to say that the RM24 Million Resort Home costs only RM8 Million. Probably this tukang gigi forgot to clean his own mouth while busy cleaning elsewhere.

The best part is: The Chief Corrupt Mahathief knows who are the corrupted ones in the present cabinet. We too know........ ALL ARE!
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 10, 2009 10:25:21
Dr M: There are corrupt leaders in Najib's Cabinet

WHY NOT START OUT BY FIRST NAMING THOSE THAT ARE SQUEEKY CLEAN??
U WILL PROBABLY FIND THE WHOLE BUNCH TRYING TO HIDE BEHIND
MAYBE ONE BLOKE WHO MAY EVEN BE QUESTIONABLE.
written by tanwi, July 10, 2009 14:57:34
I suppose all the ministers in your cabinet than were clean. dont make me puke.
written by 1eyecls, July 11, 2009 09:07:39
dirty old man,you cannot simply make judgement by seeing result!

why,why after 3 decades the mentality of malays still the same?

i think there are 3 main reasons why,

1.UMNO employs 2 million malays to be gomen staff which promote lazism,

2.UMNO robs 30% equity wealth,keep 25% to their elites,and 5% to be distributed by 3 million grass-root members!(accordung to najib,it was rm50 billion)

3.the non-malays spending time working,but the malays spending most of their time teh tarik,worshipping,chasing for second,third or forth wives.......

so,end of the day,old mamak,when the target is not achievable,you cant blame others,right kutty?