Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Trust — a forgotten word

Trust — a forgotten word PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 11:09

By Art Harun

I have come to a conclusion. That much of the malaise that Malaysia is afflicted with nowadays is caused by, or at the very least related to, the word “trust”.

Let’s face it. There is an obvious non-appreciation of the word “trust” in our country. That leads to a misunderstanding of the concept of trust. Which in turn results in an almost total lack of respect for the concept. Ultimately, that leads us to where we are now. A state where “trust” is almost a dirty word and trustworthiness is a virtue so underrated that nobody even pays attention to what it means and what it entails and demands from us.

Legend has it that the former Chief Justice of India, the Honourable Justice Bhagwati, had two cars. One was his privately-owned car and the other one his official car provided by the state by virtue of his position. He was also provided a driver. His complete appreciation of the concept of trust ensured that his official car, and driver, would only be used for the purpose of undertaking and performing his official duties and functions. That would mean his official car, and driver, would never be used to fetch his wife from the hair saloon; to send his kid to the school or to send his cat to the vet, for example. For those, he would use his privately-owned car. But of course, that was Chief Justice Bhagwati.

Try telling that to our so-called leaders. I could just imagine the incredulous look which would ensue after you had softly and ever so gently articulated that kind of concept to them. And I have been careful to say “our so-called leaders” as opposed to just “the BN leaders”. I am sure those so-called leaders from the Pakatan Rakyat are just the same. Except for one or two, I suppose.

I was trying to make an appointment with an Exco member of a PR-governed state the other day. I was told that he was busy with Manek Urai. Which makes me wonder, is it taken as a God-given right for these people to abuse the position which they are in and the trust which is burdened upon them by the people through the ballot box?

During every by-election, and also the time preceding a general election, we would see hot-shot leaders from the government, including members of Cabinet, descending upon the constituency like some Valkaries from heaven. They will shower good words, hug some babies, throw free laptops, school uniforms, Class F contracts and what-have-you. It is like Zeus has suddenly wakened up and realised that the world needs feeding. It is like we are all peasants who need to be fed and humoured during certain season of the year. It is like all of them, the bourgeoisie and royals, must be amused by the spectacle of us, the peasants, tussling for food and gifts in a Peasants Banquet at a nominated time and place.

Sometimes I wonder whether we have consigned our conscience to the deepest recesses of our soul. To a place where we store everything which we do not want and which we do not hold dear. But the thing is — and this is an inexplicable paradox — we talk, shout and scream about religion and being religious all the time. And being religious would of course bring with it the notion of being good. And being good of course entails the concept of fulfilling one’s trust and avoiding a breach of the trust. In Islam, as far as I know, breach of trust is one of the big sins. But do we actually care?

Read more at: http://art-harun.blogspot.com/2009/07/trust-forgotten-word.html

written by Trueandfair, July 09, 2009 11:22:25
Trust is not forgotten in Malaysia - it was abused and raped by UMNO/BN smilies/angry.gif We have to wait for the demise of UMNO/BN before trust can be restored to Malaysia.
written by asguard, July 09, 2009 11:29:26
Trust is word that does not existed any more in bodohland, gilaland or even bolehland. Since rule by ever dinosaur umno... you won't one at all....
written by Ayoyo, July 09, 2009 11:37:16
many of the PR's leaders are just like BN's ones. It is just that no one from PR has ever bothered to take the time out to "filter-thru" these people. After the GE 2008, I sent an email to Lim Kit Siang about a certain MP that was elected and told him that the MP's background is highly undesirable. So far, don't know what they going to do about it ???

In all honesty the qualities of our MP still has a far way to go.
written by densemy, July 09, 2009 11:37:22
You talk as tho trust used to exist once-upon-a-time in Malaysia. I think you are dreaming... and as usual you want to blame UMNO/BN for your own shortcomings

A nation so obsessed with money, greed and selfishness cannot ever have been trustworthy

One of the first impressions I got on arriving in Malaysia was that nobody trusts anyone. And I have learnt not to trust anyone in Malaysia

Imagine the reaction of my Malay friend on a recent visit to Australia where drivers fill their cars with fuel then pay for it later
written by hitam had, July 09, 2009 11:41:42

"a breach of trust is one of the big sins...(in the context of Islam?)" very true, aah but is it criminal???

Malaysians are generally a trusting lot, and so we should be as a civilised society. But unfortunately in Malaysia, I have to abide by the motto "In God we trust, all others pay cash".

Pax.
written by ordinary citizen, July 09, 2009 11:50:12
One does not have to look far for a respected person who would not mix official business with unofficial business. I remember I was told by someone that the late Tun Dr. Ismail will never let any of the family members sit in his official car at anytime. Even to official function, they are allowed to follow in his private car. Such an honorable man. Where are these iconic people nowadays. You get dentist who claims he can make RM150,000 per month income. wow.. anyone with a claculator can count that is impossible. At 25 day and 8 hours a day, he will be charging a client at RM750 per hour.. 8 hours straight per day no break...
written by teo siew chin, July 09, 2009 12:02:04
dude, a lot of words are forgotten in this nation.
honesty, integrity, accountability, fairness, justice....even something as simple as decency !!! smilies/grin.gif
written by lampard, July 09, 2009 12:02:47
I always enjoy your article!!! How I wish I can have a by-election at my constituent. I need to complain about some huge telecommunication anttenas built over my commercial property!
written by *********, July 09, 2009 13:00:26
Trust is not a word in the BN/Umno dictionary. Just ask the villagers of Kampung Buah Pala...More http://*********.********.com
written by NSTPravda, July 09, 2009 13:32:54
Trust — a forgotten word

You kidding? This 5 letter word has got us 4 letter worded many times over... smilies/cry.gif
How can we forget?
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif

Dollar Akbar!