Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Najib gaining public approval

Najib gaining public approval PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 10:57

By Wong Chun Wai (The Star)

More and more Malaysians are giving the thumbs-up to the Prime Minister and his moves.

IT’S a ringing endorsement for Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak ahead of his 100 days in office as Prime Minister.

A survey conducted by the Merdeka Centre revealed that Najib’s latest approval rating had gone up to 65%, from 46% in mid-May and 42% when he took over the country’s top post from Tun Abdullah Badawi on April 1.

The respondents were asked to give their input on the Prime Minister’s leadership, performance and their opinions on Najib’s implementation of the government’s policies.

The rating is expected because Najib has worked hard from day one. He is aware that he has come in at a difficult time – when the Barisan Nasional is still recovering from the massive losses of the March 8 polls and the global financial crisis.

With these political and economic burdens staring at him, Najib worked against time, well aware of the huge expectations on him.

The 100-day mark is used by the media as a benchmark and is arguably unfair as the period is too short.

But given the brief period, Najib has certainly done well as the approval ratings have proven.

Without doubt, the biggest score must be Najib’s move on economic liberalisations. His decision to scrap the 30% bumiputra equity requirement for companies seeking public listing showed his courage in making sound economic decisions even if they affect Umno politically.

Najib is surely aware that there would be criticism from the Malay voters who are used to affirmative action, but he must have weighed how the equity rule has affected the country’s economic competitiveness, particularly foreign direct investments.

With an economic slowdown, with jobs being lost and neighbours competing for investments, Najib decided to carry out what is right and responsible and not merely be popular among his Umno members.

Politics is no longer local, particularly on economic issues. His decision was reported in all newspapers in major financial capitals. In short, the nations that matter.

His 1Malaysia concept may have yet to fire the imagination of Malaysians but public acceptance has definitely taken root. No one with a sound mind can dispute the intention of this concept.

Through the Cabinet, he has also rightly decided that no child should be converted when one of the child’s parents has changed religion.

He has set things in motion and now, the various rulers and state religious councils are deliberating on the move.

Najib is aware of the need to win over the Chinese and Indian votes, which went to the Opposition on March 8.

The survey showed that 76% of Malays were satisfied with Najib’s performance while the level of support among Chinese and Indians was 48% and 74% respectively.

His walkabout to touch base with the people has also earned him brownie points. We just hope it would not be a photo opportunity for the 100 days but something he would continue.

So far, the media has found that these outings have been genuine surprise visits with only the national news agency Bernama invited to cover. Occasionally, editors found out about these visits on Najib’s Twitter.

On civil liberties, he has released detainees from the Internal Security Act with the Home Ministry now carrying out a review of the detention law.

He has expressed his readiness to face a critical press and editors have been invited to regular breakfast meetings with him, where they expressed their views on current developments.

The idea is to enable the Prime Minister to hear the news, however unpleasant it may be, and at the same time, let the editors know the rationale for the implementation of certain policies and decisions.

It is still very early days into Najib’s term but he has done remarkably well, given the economic challenges and political burdens he is carrying.

The state of the economy has remained the overriding concern of most Malaysians interviewed and the survey showed that they were fairly optimistic and confident of his ability to steer the country down the right path.

It’s a fair assessment and it shows that Malaysians, being better informed and more critical now, would be less generous of their compliments of politicians. The days of blind adulation are over.

But the bottom line is Malaysians have approved his leadership.

written by cheekymate, July 09, 2009 11:01:11
You again, Mr. Bootlicker?
written by Trueandfair, July 09, 2009 11:02:47
Najib, here is a suggestion that will boost your rating by another 10% overnight - dissolve Perak State Assembly and call for fresh state elections !! Who knows with the extra 10%, you may win some seats instead of getting totally massacred in Perak in next GE. smilies/grin.gif
written by kc respect, July 09, 2009 11:08:09
WOW !!! 'Ringing Endorsement"..... Great........ Let put to the ultimate test. Let have an early General Election 13. And we'll will have the final conclusion, or it is actually someone is licking somebody's something.
written by Democrats, July 09, 2009 11:09:40
It is quite obvious that the Merdeka centre poll survey have been compromised after their last release of finding, or WCW is hallucinating again. Has the pool of survey shrunked from 1000 to 100 people, have the respondent composition consist of 50% of Pekan folks?

Regardless, WCW and Najis can take this figure as their own benchmark and security blanket of their own performance. Come 2012-13, we shall see.
written by Daryl, July 09, 2009 11:12:33
You have my approval:
1) Insulting te dead in front of the world
2) Insulting the poor in front of the world
3) Ban a certain lady's name during election
4) Make a mockery out of the Perak Parliament
5) Not charging those allegely corrupt ADUN's in Perak
6) Personal scholarship service to a allege victim of the back
7) Going down to the common people. Oh yeah he is a royalty so it is a big deal
smilies/cool.gif Let The Star running the poll of your approval
9) Unclear strategy of 1Malaysia because UMNO Youth attack opposition and not a beep out of our 1Malaysia PM
10) Racist filled report on Utusan Moron but not a beep from our 1Malaysia PM

Hmmmmm wait a second those are all things I as a Malaysian feel insulted. Sorry I thought this is a poll about not so popular our PM is.
written by Wisdom above, July 09, 2009 11:17:37
Please don't bull-shit the color blind Malaysians ?
written by HamChak, July 09, 2009 11:21:34
WCW, no need to lick Najis's boot.
If you want "TanSee" title, just say so, la.
You think , we Malaysians so stupid?
written by Oscar Winner, July 09, 2009 11:26:46
Oh yeah? How about snap elections to regain 2/3 majoirty and all the PR states? Time is ripe, isn't it? But after Manik Urai, rating will drop to below 40%. TDM is a bit sore now because according to him, what Najis has done so far was to be popular. So, you were right, TDM. With the help of WCW and his other MSM colleagues, I'm not surprised the rating has increased. Well done, WCM and the likes
written by Admiral Tojo, July 09, 2009 11:31:10
What approval rating? He still have NOT cleared his name from the implication of being an accessory to a murder. He still have not sued the foreign newspapers that wrote about it. His silence and avoidance is seen as acceptance guilt. Bollocks.

written by malsia1206, July 09, 2009 11:39:25
This guy is back again with his bull and crap. Spinning stories as a puppet for Barisan and especially UMNO. The Malaysian readers all know his credibility depends on where the wind is blowing. You can bet when Anwar gets to become the PM, he will change his tune like the sparrow flying away from winter to look for summer.
written by fairnessforall, July 09, 2009 11:47:25
Total crap. As far as I am concerned, as long as he does not clear his name and involvement from the altantuya case, I will never approve of him. The fact that he has not bothered to clear his name shows he has something to hide, as anyone who is innocent will take action against false accusations, He is afraid if he takes action, it will open up a whole can of worms and he will be doomed forever.

His 1Malaysia concept is just a farce as I do not see any difference in anything. Look at the conversion cases, still the same. Education still the same, scholarships still the same. They can say or claim anything but we are only interested in what is done and not what is said
written by uxzee, July 09, 2009 11:59:53
WCW, how is it that you say that people are giving the 'thumbs up' to Najib when The Star has never reported anything about Najib getting a 'thumbs down' from the people before.

Moving from the 'thumbs up' will reach the middle finger. Is this what you mean
the people are giving Najib?.

written by dzcorleone, July 09, 2009 12:08:37
Wong Chun Wai , who are you kidding, school kids??
written by apasalahku, July 09, 2009 12:19:26
Wong Chun Wai, please wipe that brown spot from your nose before you write.
written by Aizad 234, July 09, 2009 12:39:34
why najib's boot? u should go straight to Rosmah's expensive slippers. She's the one who is ruling Malaysia. smilies/grin.gif
written by onnetline, July 09, 2009 12:41:34
Politics is no longer local, particularly on economic issues. His decision was reported in all newspapers in major financial capitals. In short, the nations that matter.

His 1Malaysia concept may have yet to fire the imagination of Malaysians but public acceptance has definitely taken root. No one with a sound mind can dispute the intention of this concept.

Wong Chun Wai,

Do you actually mean this 1Malaysia corrupted hypocrite and murder suspect ...... Najis C4 ? ? ?

Suspect that you must have been given free ' najis ' to eat, right ? ?
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 12:50:01
Appear to us like Wong wanting to add a Tan Sri to his Datoship.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 09, 2009 12:54:57
By Wong Chun Wai (The Star)

More and more Malaysians are giving the thumbs-up to the Prime Minister and his moves.

IT’S a ringing endorsement for Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak ahead of his 100 days in office as Prime Minister.

A survey conducted by the Merdeka Centre revealed that Najib’s latest approval rating had gone up to 65%, from 46% in mid-May and 42% when he took over the country’s top post from Tun Abdullah Badawi on April 1.

The respondents were asked to give their input on the Prime Minister’s leadership, performance and their opinions on Najib’s implementation of the government’s policies.

AH WAI, WHAT ELSE HV U BEEN LICKING?? U SHOULD BE UP FOR AN AWARD
AND EVEN A PROMO/INCREMENT AFTER THIS LAH. BLOODY SCOUNDREL.
FOR EVERY RESPONDENT WHO SAID YES TO NAJIS, WE CAN GIVE 5 WHO SAID NO.
written by clarity, July 09, 2009 12:56:30
How come you don't praise him for curbing corruption and how many big fishes has been caught and charged?
written by jayenjr, July 09, 2009 12:56:33
written by tenang, July 09, 2009 13:03:41
Guys and gals,

WCW might be licking as he is known for, but the poll should pause us a little. Merdeka Center is known for its independent. Check out the reuter report: http://www.merdeka.org/media/151-090709.html.

That might mean Malaysians are swayed, for better or worse. That means the PR strategy might need some adjustment, unless we are blind with the reality.

What can we do with the real change that we want, not just that quota thing. I think this article worth re-read for figuring what are the most important change we want for the nation politic: http://www.thenutgraph.com/ten-kpis-for-najib (by Wong Chin Huat, not that Wong).

written by macakmy, July 09, 2009 13:16:29
Hah??!!! Ha ha ha ha ha... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by jayenjr, July 09, 2009 13:54:58
written by tenang, July 09, 2009 13:03:41
Guys and gals,
WCW might be licking as he is known for, but the poll should pause us a little. Merdeka Center is known for its independent.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

Yes. Agreed with you Tenang.

However, I also intepret the results of the polls this way:- Are Malaysians so forgetful - and forgiving - that they seemed to have "ignored" Najib's baggage? The only reason why Jibby seems to have a "high" approval rating has to be cos of the apparent economic "re-structuring" he has implented....right? Cos besides that, I don't see anything worthwhile from Jib, to shout about.

Unless of course, we think that his meanderings on 1Malaysia is delightful...not?!?

So, what does this mean? Ok, perhaps ppl are also presently frustrated at the on-going drama within the PR circle. But is that so bad, when compared to the Master-Sifoo relationship in the UMNO/BN? At worst, I see the tiffs in PR coalition as labor pains moving towards a new & cleaner system.

Bear in mind that, at the end of the day, it's not the politicians who will change the system; it will be us - civil society. We will keep pushing until we see the maturity of a at least a 2 party system in Malaysia. That is the only way to rehabilitate the politics of this nation.

But what worries me, based on this poll, is that its sampling indicate that Malaysian are willing to put up with corruption, tainted civil service, ISA/OSA, non-performing Cabinet ministers, illegal sodomy charges, illegal power grab, VK Lingam/PKFZ fiasco - as long as there's food on the table.

I hope that this is not true.

That attitude is the thing that got us to where we are today.
written by MAMR, July 09, 2009 14:30:39
I am not sure of how accurate is the outcome of the survey as I strongly believed most Malaysian cannot have a coward No 1 man who wouldnt sue Foreign Media who reported about his link with Altantuya.
written by mob1900, July 09, 2009 15:40:18

pew! pew! pew!
written by hiiijack, July 09, 2009 16:52:47
Ini semua tipu punya lah, if they he really want to know about the actual rating ask our PM to call for GE.Then the'll know that Malaysians hates him and the rest of his dogs, vote them out please.
written by mob1900, July 09, 2009 16:53:38

We can also sing 'Praises' for the first unelected PM, in our way!

"Syabas! and congratulations on work well done!
From the initial 4 Billion loss, he managed to increase it to 12 Billion losses!
Now, That's an Achievement, really!"

*clap clap clap smilies/cheesy.gif