Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr Mahathir unhappy with decision

Dr Mahathir unhappy with decision PDF Print
Thursday, 09 July 2009 02:41

(Malaysian Mirror) - Former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad regrets that his views had not been taken into account when the Cabinet decided on the issue of teaching science and mathematics in schools.

The government announced today that the two subjects would be taught in Malay effective 2012.

Writing in his blog, chedet.co.cc/chedetblog Dr Mahathir said Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin and officials from the Education Ministry had met him to brief on what the government had already decided to do.

“Although my views were sought, they are not reflected in the decision,” he said, adding that his views to the issue are written in his blog.

Wrong perception

Dr Mahathir said he was not pleased with reports that some Malay literary figures had opposed the policy of teaching science and mathematics in English.

“It is as if the policy would displace the Malay language as the language for knowledge and reduces its development as the national language.

mahathir-4.png“We must remember that education is not just a matter of advancing or developing a certain language. Education is about acquiring knowledge, all kinds of knowledge.

“The thing that can upgrade the position and advancement of language is the subject of the language itself and, at a higher level, the subject of literature.”

Dr Mahathir said science and mathematics, on their own, cannot help to develop any language, particularly the Malay language.

This is because the terms in science and mathematics were not originally Malay, he said, adding that a large portion of the words were Latin and later Anglicised.

“While we can (create words), there are not one or two but hundreds (of words) to think about. And some words are often the root words for others,” he said, giving ‘oxygen’ as an example.

“From the word ‘oxygen’, you get the derivatives like ‘oxygenation’, ‘oxidation’, ‘oxide’, ‘oxidants’ and others, among some 120 elements.’

Dr Mahathir said if all words were to be given Malay spellings, the Malay language would change to English. The spellings are different but they sound the same. Eventually, the Malay language would be no more.

He said science and mathematics are not static. They evolve continuously through research, discoveries, inventions and expansion through hundreds of working papers.

“Almost all of that is written in English. To translate them, we need people who are well-versed in Malay, English and the subject to be translated,” he said, adding that there were only a handful of people in just two or three areas of interest who have such capability at the moment.

Don't gamble on chidren's future

Dr Mahathir said it was unlikely that a person could acquire a PhD in science and mathematics by just studying in Malay and without an understanding of English.

He asked: “How many specialists are there in medical services who only learned in Malay, without any reference book in English?

“Is is true that students living in the rural areas cannot be proficient in English?”

He added that those who oppose the teaching of science and mathematics in English were also from the rural areas and often spoke in English.

In other fields, such as in the diplomatic corps and in the civil service, it is pertinent to be well-versed in English as they are expected to speak at international forums.

“It is important to acquire knowledge for the sake of advancing in the future. Let us not gamble on the future of our children just to show we are a nationalist and so protective of our language.

“The love for the language should not surpass the love for one’s nation,” said Dr Mahathir, adding that speaking in one’s own language does not necessarily makes one’s nation well-respected and admired by others.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Richfyf, July 09, 2009 02:59:05
Since when the government ever listen to the views or request of the Rakyat or those out of UMNO????

Tun you being their leader for more then 2 decades should know better then that!!! You are the one who teach them not to listen to others and do as they wish when they RULE, Have you forgotten how you ignore Tunku A. Rahman when you were PM and UMNO president.

Its bitter and painful to have a taste of your own medicine huh TUN????

Its all Karma, What goes around comes around, How funny it seems that way down south LKY still commands respect from his government while you have to go around being a cry baby!!!
written by schizonoid, July 09, 2009 03:08:35
While the majority of rakyat study the kampung language,the BN's children master the international language.And their families rules this country forever.
Bangsa melayu kena tipu lagi.
written by goman2k3, July 09, 2009 03:12:30
Credit must be given when credit is due. This is one serious and very important matter that I support him and not DSAI. For the future of our children and grand children we have to think in Global sense not just Malaysia, Melayu ,Chinese or Indian. What Mahathir mentioned above is right and with our limited resources and the need to compete internationally, the english language is the key. Stop pretending we are similar to Japan, Korea or China. We are not.We are competing with our neighbour and fluent in English Language is the ADVANTAGE.
Why do we send thousands or majority of our students on scholarship to UK, USA, CANADA, AUSTRALIA and NEW ZEALAND, all english speaking countries. BLIND ME!!
We can be nationalistic in many ways but please do not put our country future and future generations in such a disadvantage.
Don't be like Mohammad x2 who can't speak English. I do not mind the lah! cos it is very malaysian.
written by educationist, July 09, 2009 05:42:24
Once Anwar and the PKR plus PAS threw their weight behind the opponents of the policy, the death knell has been sounded!
Dr M has a point, if political expediency dictates that the policy must be modified, why not continue the policy from secondary school onwards?
I do not doubt the MOE's figures about the proficiency of the teachers in English.
Why can one expect? They are all products of the KBSR/KBSM where the language of instruction has been BM or the vernacular language!
As a teacher trainer, I saw my trainees struggle with using English to teach. It's true they use BM as well. But they are not penalised as all of us know these are the growing pains.
But 6 years of implementation and RM 3.4 billion(?) spent! Yet this government do not have the guts to bite the bullet and do what will be more educationally sound: As that grand old man suggested, implement the policy from secondary school onwards!!
Yes, the teachers needs more training and not two weeks courses , please!!
But this is now academic.
So, in time we'll see a new class of citizens - those whose families or background enable them to master the English language in addition to BM and/or vernacular language and the majority of the rakyat content with their proficiency in BM and/or vernacular language.
Perhaps this is the government's objective!"
written by yuenthiam, July 09, 2009 06:25:20
I agree with goman2k3's views above. Tun Dr. Mahathir is right! Some students don't do well in Maths and Science because they are weak in the English language, not that they are necessarily weak in those subjects. We can't solve the problem if we don't know what the real problem is, but since we do shouldn't the authorities know better and be more firm and pragmatic in fixing it than to give in to the demands of the narrow, parochial views of a section of the community while ignoring those of the majority? Think about it, our children can do great not only in English but also in Maths and Science if the authorities are serious and committed enough in wanting to tackle the issue properly. Go find and recruit qualified and experienced English language teachers to do the job for you. We don't expect to see results tomorrow, but for the sake of our future generations, regardless of race, color, or creed, that's the way to go!
written by JJFoo, July 09, 2009 07:38:28
People, forget not, Mahathir was the Education minister in the year 1975. It was during that era that the standard Malaysian Education which was fully thought in English (with only one Malay subject, Bahasa Malaysia) being systematically converted to half and finally fully into Bahasa Malaysia (with only one subject in English, that is English itself).

During this reign as PM for 22 years, Mahathir made no effort to rectify this mistake. Now he is saying “Don’t gamble on the children’s future”. He gambled and the nation lost. He played with fire and the nation is still burning.

High time for Mahathir to sincerely rectifies his past mistake which I am quite doubtful, as I need to associate the word “sincere” with “Mahathir”.

Mahathir, please prove me wrong.
written by Braino, July 09, 2009 07:45:16
Yeah, keep the people under the coconut shell, while the children of politicians continue to excel in their overseas education! And rule Malaysia forever...what a wonderful strategy!

If they are so sincere about this decision, all children of politicians should be made compulsory to study loacally! Overseas education for children of politicians must be banned with immediate effect!
written by docselva, July 09, 2009 08:01:19
Question:in Brunei,what is the language used for teaching science and mathematics?
written by freerpk, July 09, 2009 08:23:42
Tun M unhappy with decision??? Well, he is unhappy because he is not the one making it, not becos' Maths & Science is now going to be taught in BM. He was the one that changed Maths & Science into BM when he was the Education Minister so why should he be unhappy. The cabinet is just reverting back to what he wanted 2 decades ago.
written by NSTPravda, July 09, 2009 08:31:19
“We must remember that education is not just a matter of advancing or developing a certain language. Education is about acquiring knowledge, all kinds of knowledge.

Aiyah! Education is about acquiring votes for UMNO, all kinds of votes, lah. Advancing the language is a good way of advancing UMNO lah.

“From the word ‘oxygen’, you get the derivatives like ‘oxygenation’, ‘oxidation’, ‘oxide’, ‘oxidants’ and others, among some 120 elements.’

AiyaH! You are getting senile lah. There are only two elements in this country.
The subversive element and the pro-UMNO element... all other elements are just confusing the real issues.

He said science and mathematics are not static. They evolve continuously through research, discoveries, inventions and expansion through hundreds of working papers.

Aiyah! Why do so much work? Our NEP already covered that... and the target has evolved continously... Now we have New New Economic Model... Our discoveries and invention can be seen in our creative prosecutions in our court systems where our creativity and inventions really flower... lah.

Dr Mahathir said it was unlikely that a person could acquire a PhD in science and mathematics by just studying in Malay and without an understanding of English.

What lah? There is abundance of evidence to show that our universities consistently acquire PhDs in all manner of things without the infidel English..
These are the best PhDs that money can buy...

“Is is true that students living in the rural areas cannot be proficient in English?”

Wrong question lah. Why they need Anglish when they need only to tick the UMNO symbol?

In other fields, such as in the diplomatic corps and in the civil service, it is pertinent to be well-versed in English as they are expected to speak at international forums.

Aiyah... in diplomatic corps... Anifahkers will do lah.

“The love for the language should not surpass the love for one’s nation,” said Dr Mahathir, adding that speaking in one’s own language does not necessarily makes one’s nation well-respected and admired by others.

Aiyah! You cakap banyak lah... in Ingerris... we don't love you juga!

Rasuah-sayang eh!
Dollar Akbar!
Semua-nya OK lah!
written by Fairminded, July 09, 2009 08:46:54
The Malay language chauvinists do not understand that Bahasa Malaysia and the Malay civilization is too young and did not develop until way in the 1950's after Merdeka. The scientific revolution and pass by it. Together with the mullahs backward looking extremist Islam, the Malay Language is just incapable of grasping even the fundamentals of science let alone do the catch up game of an ever speeding up of science and technology. These language chauvinist do not understand that learning a foreign language is just a tool and will not lose your identity if one is confident enough. It does not make Malays any less Malay just by learning one more language. If the Malays now become unemployable because advertisement for job vaccancies stipulates the knowledge of languages like English, Chinese, German etc please dont blame others for racism. You are just not qualified with the right tools. Do come out of the well and see the globalized world.
written by budakindia, July 09, 2009 08:59:21
Maybe we shall wait for another 500 years? smilies/grin.gif It's just hilarious to see this. We can't stop people from being outright stupid right? smilies/grin.gif
written by Rhan, July 09, 2009 09:01:19
Who cares if Mahathir happy or not? To me, Chinese vernacular school mean to teach all the non-language subject in Mandarin / mother tongue. If you are not happy, set up your own version of “Hindraf” like Malaysia English / Whiteman Association to struggle for your rights.
written by Old Man, July 09, 2009 09:14:41
Dr M, you've both my support and sympathy on this issue....
Despite the wealth accumulated by you for your children, grandchildren and great-grand children... sad to see that our country is even going to fall behind Zimbawe and other failed Nations who used Race and Religion in their political agendas.
Unfortunately, time is not on your side. The dye has been cast even before you know the colour of the dye... Sad, sad, sad............
smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by wongnoball, July 09, 2009 09:18:12
Aisay all this Wedge Politics lah...2012.....all games to spilt Pakatan.....so if DAP, PAS, Pakatan is smart...they will PLAY along the line of need Bahasa and also need English. You see all this games are for election soon....We Break UMNO-BN next time we revert back to English.....Meanwhile continue to say UMNO-BN Failing the education systems but agree the bahasa Crap, melayu Crap, Sultan Crap to appease the small minded nature of the Racist race!!

Anway Anwar is one up and DAP ned to SAY need to set up more English Sekolah Kebagsaan and Chinese Kebangsaan and Indian Kebangsaan..........and PAS - Melayu Kebangsaan....

What do Malaysian EXPECT when they keep voting in Regim Ganas Kejam UMNO-BN for 52 years and counting?? Their ideology is to build their elite family and base while Making slavery of the rest of you and Live in Fear!!

Rather than getting worked up with No Hope UMNO-BN Racist Games at the expense of your children...Just Wear Black at Merdeka 09......it a WE HATE YOU UMNO-BN, Judges, Police and Sultan Zero.....Sultan Pedofile, Raja Munafik....and those Body Snatchers of munafik Jais MAIS.....
written by bikerzon, July 09, 2009 09:30:09
For once, I support TDM.

English for Science and Math!!!
written by asguard, July 09, 2009 09:30:54
Well, in ten years....malaysia will like indonesia...where all most only will be able malay...and don't understand english at all... See what i mean... just try it on any indonesian worker ...try to speak with them in english ...for sure they don't understand. Sorry... to say this ...this what will happen in future when most of the population within malaysia will never be able to speak and proper english! See indonesia ....and you will get the picture.
written by chiongguo, July 09, 2009 09:32:31
Education is about acquiring knowledge, all kinds of knowledge

Education came from the root word "educare" which means "to draw out from".

Education is to bring out the best from the person. It is about cultivating good sense for himself, his family, the society at large and the environment.

written by Fat Zorro, July 09, 2009 09:37:18
Why is it students, even those from Malay school pre-1963 are proficient in English? Check out the civil servants aged 47 above in the government departments. They speak and write in English very well. And how is it that teachers after 1962 had no problem teaching all subjects in malay?

But since Dr M impelemented English for Science and Mathematics, there has been screams that students are not able to catch up? I dont understand what seem to be an easy transition in the 60s is blowing into such a major issue today. Can someone enlighten. BTW, I was one of those from the last year of the English medium. I speak and write in bahasa malaysia/melayu quite well. It was compulsory for us tp pass BM (although we studied Mathematics/Science/Commerce/Accounting in English). We fail either English language or Malay, we fail MCE. Maybe that is the reason why we are proficient in both languages.
written by POKKU, July 09, 2009 09:57:47
How interesting it is to experiment by being neutral and read both argument pro and contra objectively. Both sides have valid points.

We may read a lot of argument in support of teaching in English though because this blog is in English and rural people who are farmers, Fisherman, rubber tapper and whatnots did not blog. But they want their children to excel too. However if the teacher in school cannot teach their children, there is very little that they can do because they themselves does not know English. Kampong folk who know a little bit of English had all migrated to work in town or city.

Looking at the many millions of school children now, how many of them do we expect to be a specialist in medical service, who need to refer to english reference book, or who will grow up to be a diplomatic corp or dealing in global business. Assuming 50% of them will eventually be so ( I doubt it is that high, 30% maybe ), do we want to sacrifice the other 50% for the benefit of this 50%.

Wouldn't it be more accomodative and in line with everyone wish if we revert back to reintroduce English medium school as it was before in the 60's and 70's. then, some parents who want their children future to be medical specialists, diplomatic corps, etc can send teir children to an English school and some Kampung folk can still provide good education to their children at Malay school. Thus U happy, I happy and everybody happy. End of story, no argument.
written by temenggong, July 09, 2009 10:05:40
He should have stuck with Badawi!
written by temenggong, July 09, 2009 10:07:30
Aiyah... in diplomatic corps... Anifahkers will do lah.

The Best!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Oscar Winner, July 09, 2009 10:10:23
TDM,

The only thing worthy to be called a legacy left behind by you after 22 years, which I sighed with relief after learning it, was English for S and M. You have been called many names, from recalcitrant to tyrant to racist mamak, and whatnot, I seriously hope that before you breath your last and to redeem yourself, you help make things right for the nation to be proud of, and grateful to, you. It's all about politics, you know that very well. You know the next thing UMNO will repeat to the malay folks is that they want to turn BM into an international language, which, when you were PM, it was already widely reported about such move. It's indeed laughable. So, no translators is not a problem. You see, once BM becomes international (say, it happens after 100 years lah, long enough for the current UMNO leaders and their next 3 generations to stay in power), the mat sallehs will have to translate S&M textbooks and reference books BM to English instead. I tell you, this is what UMNO would like the malays to believe, and sadly the malays folks are so gullible.

To my malay borthers and sisters,

Pls wake up! UMNO leaders send their kids overseas to master English, while you and your kids remain in the kampongs. Do you deserve such treatment??
written by Wisdom above, July 09, 2009 10:26:09
...Let us not gamble on the future of our children just to show we are a nationalist and so protective of our language.

Before Cabinet decision you chose to keep silent? Now only you protest ?
Now those who want to study at MMU & local Private Universities offering 3 0 , 2 1,2 2 programs are having difficulty to get admission because they cannot understand their english speaking lecturers ?

Johor Baru residents are lucky to send their children across the cause-way to do GCE O Level & GCE A Level ? Better & Higher Standards
Politicians still send their children to UK for GCE O Levels & GCE A levels as usual .
written by ohuat, July 09, 2009 10:33:58
Everytime we changed a Minister, all policy changed. Maybe he wants to show he's actually working?
written by Loh, July 09, 2009 11:02:02

1. Blame it on TDM for not specifying in 2002 that the teaching of English for mathematics and science should begin only in secondary schools. If it was meant to be for primary schools then he should have brought back the English medium schools of the pre 1970 days.

2. Blame it on the former Education Minister who did not use his head to start the teaching of English and science in secondary schools. He should know that it would not work in primary schools, and he had been told by educationalists of the vernacular schools. Instead, kerismuddin wanted to use it to weaken the capability of students in Chinese and Tamil school, in the standards in their mother tongues, and mathematics and science.

3. The Malaysians students have suffered for six years, and fortuitously the Kerisman had been replaced.

4. TDM is still making waves. The future of Malaysian Education is still subject to change.
written by HamChak, July 09, 2009 11:13:01
Mahathir, Mahathir, high time you realise that
you are no longer relevant. Your view means so
little to most of us now. Though you may be correct
this round but your mistakes over the years over
shadowed your current view. Sad? Anyway, this is
BODOHLAND, you created.
written by emg385, July 09, 2009 12:29:46
Welcome to this BODOHLAND called Malaysia!!!Now Najib's 1Malaysia has officially become 1StupidMalaysia!!! Let us all rejoice,play DUMB and like the Proverbial Frogs, hide under our Coconut Shells!!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 09, 2009 14:22:12
BOO! OOOOh!! bOOOh oOOH!
CRY CRY CRY...............

muhuddin and najib now have backstabbed..you
tikam dari belakang...

history is repeating it self..and all for political mileage to please the Ultra Malay group which you once belonged to....booo!! hoooo!!! hOOO!
I said it earlier...last week...I was damn sure another goon will change the policy....I was right...

and the children suffer.......WHO CARES...ANYWAY..
written by tino_chan1988, July 09, 2009 14:30:04
For once, I am with TDM.

Just imagine this scenario.

You study every subject in school from Primary One to Form Five in BM and when you you want to further pursue your education to be a doctor at some oversea countries, you have to re-educate yourself with all the English definitions, nouns, verbs, jargons, cliches, etc in order to complete your studies. Do you think that is possible???

This country and its political and socio-economic policies are mentality challenged indeed. Practically a joke.
written by truthbespoken, July 09, 2009 16:04:40
Now that a decision has been made, all is not lost with the leaders' promise of a new and more logical approach. Let's hope Najib and Muhyiddin, who were both from English medium schools, will see through their commitment to improve English through teaching of the language from primary level!

The future on the nation should not continue to be forever based on half-baked policies and short-term political expediencies at the expense of future generations! Better still, promptly import foreign teachers and allow private English medium schools to sprout and compete with local International schools!!
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 21:20:34
On many issues, I may not agree with Dr M.
However, on the teaching of Science and Maths in English, I am in complete agreement with him.

Those who agree with Dr M, please vote agree.