Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M claims his opinions on language switch ignored

Dr M claims his opinions on language switch ignored PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 23:10
By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad expressed disappointment with the government’s decision to scrap his policy of teaching mathematics and science in English, saying it will affect future generations.

He said his recommendations were not taken into consideration when deputy prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who is also Education Minister, met him over the policy first introduced in 2003.

“I was only briefed about it, so after the briefing I gave my suggestions, I said even if it could not be implemented at primary level, at least at secondary level it should be maintained, so it was not a consultation only briefing,” Dr Mahathir told reporters here.

“I am saddened because the future of our children will be affected. They will be the victims,” he added.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by apasalahku, July 08, 2009 23:19:32
Too bad Old Man, you selected a bunch of idiots to work for you; and now against you.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 08, 2009 23:30:49
Hmmm..... imagine our graduates can't speak fluent English when meeting foreigners. I thought it can only happen now but the future seems bleak too.

That is OK. The tempurung mentality is good for UMNO because Malays will remain ignorant of the happening around the world and easy to be manipulated. So the colonial mentality of the Malays remain unchanged except the masters now are the very own Malay elites called UMNO.
written by penangboi, July 08, 2009 23:31:28
I have 2 points to make:

1. The decision to give up reflects on the non-existence of will power by the government to see the programme through. It is a case of short sightedness and choosing the easy way out. Let's not kid ourselves: the implementation of the policy was and is never an easy one. But the consequence of abandoning English so foolishly by Mahatahi has resulted in the wiping out of an entire generation of non-English proficient Malaysians.

I am actually quite disgusted at how the stupid government treats the education of the rakyat so flippantly.

2. On the other hand, I am rubbing my hands in glee seeing the old man seething with frustration. He thought that by ousting Pak Lah and reinstating his 'blue-eyed' boy Najis, he can have what he wants. Ha, ha, ha. First no crooked bridge. Now a slap in his face by Najis in totally ignoring his rantings.

To this jurassic creature let me say your days of influence and control are over. You ain't the PM anymore. Your choices of Pak Lah and now Najis is entirely of your own making and the eventual downfall of UMNO will also entirely of your own making too. You shall forever be remembered as the person who caused the downfall of UMNO.
written by Oscar Winner, July 08, 2009 23:36:20
TDM,

Pls do another "Bodowi" act. To redeem yourself, pls help bring down the Najis regime. I support M and S to be taught in English at secondary and tertiary levels. I can't sleep tonight knowing that my kids will study these subjects in BM
written by concernedinmalaysia, July 08, 2009 23:39:15
Who gave the government the right to dictate what language my children are taught? I will decide, not anyone else.

It's that simple.

I will send my children to the school that teaches the language I want them to learn.

And for their future I will choose that they learn English, I wouldn't mind them learning Chinese as a 2nd language either, for me BM doesn't enter the picture and will not change the fact that they are part Malay.

The point is, it is MY choice.
written by lskong, July 08, 2009 23:40:14
what do you mean "claims"? of course the government ignored his opinion. otherwise, would mahathir opines that he was wrong and hence now should be put right? no way jose. poor old fart... knowing that one is right but ignored is worse than realising that one was wrong. serve him right...
written by rocky, July 08, 2009 23:51:45
Flip Flop decision. believe they can train the teachers that they need for english? well good luck. i think they govt rather the malaysians do not know english, so that they can;t access information from other parts of the world. Just check where their children study.
written by Commonsenses, July 08, 2009 23:54:30
How stupid can UMNO be? Very, I agreed this time with mahathir. Muyudin comes from Johor and its near Singapore and he does not think with his brains. So sorry for the rural malays. In future thousands more local varsity malays graduates will be unable to write proper english resume to apply jobs in the private sectors. We can of course get more Indians from Bangalore to work in Cyberjaya IT companies. Brilliant idea from Ketuanan Melayu we move to Ketuanan over the foreign workers. Yes malaysian are bosses in their own country. Yes the 1malaysian boleh spirit! Rahman Yacub will be remembered for killing the english schools during Tun razak tenure now Muyudin during Tun razak's son tenure will be remembered for killing Maths and Science in english. It took 30 years to revert the teaching of maths and science to English because there was inherent failure of BM as medium of instruction. After just 6 years of usage of english which is such a short trial period can we justly said that its not suitable? Only a racial and language bigot would do that. Remember during Tun Razak's time that Najib was sent to London english boarding school, not to learn BM but fully english. So in future all UMNO minister will do likewise too. Let the poor eat cakes!
written by InEffective, July 09, 2009 00:03:10
I just hope our children don't curse us when they grow up - because their world is going to be so different - competition and talents on a scale we can't even imagine.
(imagine 1.5 billion chinese and billion indians unleashed on the world economies)

Anyway i can't afford the risk to leaving my children without the skills and tools to survive. (i will not let them be a victim of our politicians and the dysfunctional ministry of education)
written by bambolero, July 09, 2009 00:06:16
Oh my god is it corruption again ?
written by raven1958, July 09, 2009 00:06:25
So be it....

The only way these buggers are going to revert to full English is when the oil dries up and all investors pull out and we become penniless like Laos or Vietnam....

This is an attempt to paralyse the nation while Income Tax sapu all the money to feed the NEP....Solution....take away the money
written by wood, July 09, 2009 00:17:13
I really feel sorry for our younger generations !
written by JaguhKampung, July 09, 2009 00:19:58
It is quite obvious Najib is trying very hard to win votes back for BN. Firstly the scrapping of 30% Bumi equity for new listed companies and FIC; now scrapping English medium for Maths and Science.

The first was to win non-Malay votes while the second to win the Malay votes back.

While we laud him to scrap the Bumi equity and FIC we do not think the scrapping of English is good for the country. I hope the Malays realize this is really going a step backwards for our children. BN is sacrificing our children's future for the sake of control.

So typical of them.
written by mansel, July 09, 2009 00:29:57
HAH! Somalia! take that, we are not far behind!
written by mowadoha, July 09, 2009 00:51:41
written by Victory or Death, July 09, 2009 01:08:28
Unless the govt makes English a compulsory pass subject or some other effective initiatives,the standard of English of the future generations will continue to slide.
However, private English teachers will continue to laugh all the way to the banks!

For the majority of the less fortunate populace,their intellectual development may be hampered by their poor command of English.

The simple logic is that if you are not one of the leading technological nations in the world ,you would need to have a good command of the language of one of the leading technological nations to become one.

For example, Germany, Japan or France need not have to have their populace have a good command of English because they themselves are leading technological nations.Of course,it helps a lot if their populace do have a good command of English as they can easily and quickly absorb the technological advancements and discoveries of US and UK without the need for translations.

Perhaps,in 25 to 50 years time, China will be able to be in the same enviable postion.As it is , English remains an extremely popular choice among the Chinese learning a foreign language in China.
written by malaysian7, July 09, 2009 01:19:25
Some people may be right that teaching Maths & Science in English will not make someone's English improve.

However nobody can deny that worldwide informations and knowledge of science/maths are all in English. If you are now so happy that you need not bother your English to learn science then you are just too damn wrong. You will forever be lack behind others as you can only master what others already know.
How do you want to challenge a more competitive world in the future?
written by malaysian7, July 09, 2009 01:20:48
it is all about lagging and lacking. Guess the mentality of the Malaysians must change !!!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, July 09, 2009 01:21:53
Our BN Government is sure good in creating new economic activity in text book publishing. This is a definite improvement for some selected few by the MOE.

Tun M will not hesitate making his views heard and Muhyiddin is now in for more surprises.

But the question of improving Maths and Science strangely never surfaced. That's even more important.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...e-by-2012/
written by Ho Lee Man, July 09, 2009 02:06:09
In the 70s there was English medium schools ,until TDM changed them to Malay ,when he became the education minister.
We have dedicated teachers and headmasters in English medium schools preparing students for the future.
My father chose English medium for his children instead of Chinese vernacular,even though our mum is a Chinese school teacher.
He knew what was best for his children
With our MCE and HSC ,me and my siblings entered the London School of Economics ,Melbourne Uni and a sister in MIT.
Not Mara Institute of Technology.The better one in Boston ,Massachusettes
My brother is a renown cardiac surgeon in Australia.
Another brother works in the Bank of England.
My sister is teaching in Yale,New Haven,Connecticut.
We were from Malaysian English medium schools.
We were products of the Malaysian education system in the 70s
My siblings have became Australian ,British and American ,except me.
Why debate about what language to teach science and mathematics?
Reintroduce English medium schools together with Malay ,Chinese or Tamil schools.
Let parents and not politicians make the choice for their children's education.
written by roadbarra, July 09, 2009 02:27:25
All it takes ia a clown to employ another bunch of clowns to assist him.
written by chronos, July 09, 2009 02:30:58
They are only interested in robbing the nation for their own selfish wealth. For the Malays or BUMIPUTERAs, I hope you really understand the implications of not being able to understand English and not being able to integrate with the rest of the world in Science and Mathematics?
written by Loh, July 09, 2009 02:46:31
1. Blame it on TDM for not specifying in 2002 that the teaching of English for mathematics and science should begin only in secondary schools. If it was meant to be for primary schools then he should have brought back the English medium schools of the pre 1970 days.

2. Blame it on the former Education Minister who did not use his head to start the teaching of English and science in secondary schools. He should know that it would not work in primary schools, and he had been told by educationalists of the vernacular schools. Instead, kerismuddin wanted to use it to weaken the capability of students in Chinese and Tamil school, in the standards in their mother tongues, and mathematics and science.

3. The Malaysians students have suffered for six years, and fortuitously the Kerisman had been replaced.

4. TDM is still making waves. The future of Malaysian Education is still subject to change.
written by Richfyf, July 09, 2009 03:36:13
Very soon The Star and NST will go bust because there will be no more people in this country who can read and understand english.

Maybe The Star and NST should consider publication in Jawa or Myanmar since we have so many foreigners who will be hungry to read news of their country in their own language.

Why talk about the medium of instruction, for Maths and Science. Be it English or Bahasa, sorry to say that out Ministry of education cant even train and produced proper language teachers.... You think the MOE is capable of producing high caliber maths and science teachers?? You got to be kidding.

written by goman2k3, July 09, 2009 03:37:21
Ho Lee Man,
May be English education is too good for your family resulting in "brain drain". If I were umno I will use you as an example not to have english in our education system. Just a laugh!
It just shows that we have smart Malaysians who can compete anyway in the world given the right education and opportunities. English is a global language and if we want to compete we must be fluent in the language and use it to our advantage. Just like the US dollars, whether we like it or not we still have to trade in US dollars. We can't trade internationally in RINGGIT lah.
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 07:19:09
TDM's most courageous parting gift to future generations of Malaysians .... GONE!

I hope he'll help the opposition to bring down those short sighted creatures in the next general election.
written by JJFoo, July 09, 2009 07:46:09
People, forget not, Mahathir was the Education minister in the year 1975. It was during that era that the standard Malaysian Education which was fully thought in English (with only one Malay subject, Bahasa Malaysia) being systematically converted to half and finally fully into Bahasa Malaysia ((with only one subject in English, that is English).

During this reign as PM for 22 years, Mahathir made no effort to rectifies this mistake. Now he is saying “Don’t gamble on the children’s future”. He gambled and the nation lost. He played with fire and the nation is still burning.

High time for Mahathir to sincerely rectifies his past mistake which I am quite doubtful, as I need to associate the word “sincere” with “Mahathir”.

Mahathir, please prove me wrong.
written by Bigjoe99, July 09, 2009 09:10:50
Ignoring him was THE SMART Decision.
written by Rhan, July 09, 2009 12:01:59
“Ignoring him was THE SMART Decision. “

Of course. Only the dumb listen to him and tell he make a wise suggestion. All the Chinese school is prepare for a reverse of policy six years back when it was first implemented. Hey, this is our blood and sweat experience in the past 50 years.

The “english is everything” ba$tard with a dumb brain is the reason why we waste another six years and put millions into the pocket of the corrupted crony without looking at the reality of Malaysia political scenario.

This stupids are now still barking like a ignoramus praising the old man, what a depressing kind of humour.