Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Group threatens statewide hartal if Perak assembly is not dissolved

Group threatens statewide hartal if Perak assembly is not dissolved PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 17:33

(The Malaysian Insider) - As Pakatan Rakyat gears up for its final battle for Perak in court tomorrow, calls from the public for the dissolution of the state assembly have resurfaced once again.

The Perak People's Action Committee, a non-governmental organisation, today handed over a memorandum to the Perak Barisan Nasional government urging it to return democracy to the people through state elections or face negative repercussions.

The committee is giving BN until Aug 8 to seek dissolution of the assembly or a statewide hartal would be held.

"During this day, the people of Perak will not engage in any outside activity. We will not go to work, our children would not go to school and we will show BN that the majority of Perak folk want justice returned to them," said committee coordinator R. Mohanarani.

She said the committee was confident it would get the support of the majority of Perak folk. "We will get the help of a number of non-governmental organisations and the PR component parties to mobilise this one-day strike," she said.

Mohanarani said the committee had already embarked on a month-long campaign to call for the dissolution of the state assembly.

"We have been going around to public places like markets to distribute leaflets in order to gain the people's support for the cause.

"So far, the response from the people has been very positive. The rakyat is still unhappy with the power grab done by the BN and want state elections to be called," she said.

written by liny2k88, July 08, 2009 17:55:30
I think it's nice, but last time they do hartal, the British caught all of them
written by eloofk, July 08, 2009 18:12:31
The people of Perak must show that the power lies with them and not be cowed by the unlawful threats from the government of arrests.
written by ibabonma, July 08, 2009 18:37:23
Legally, Perak belongs to Perakians and not the Sultan's by ownership. The rakyat has the right to demand for an early state election.
written by storm62, July 08, 2009 19:58:08
stay away from all Perak state government's office.

show them the people do not recognised them as the ruling government in Perak.
written by BUTEK, July 08, 2009 20:30:57
MESTI BERANI TURUN KEJALAN RUNTUHKAN REGIM ZIONIST UMNO/MCA/MIC!!!!!

ITU SAJA CARANYER... KALAU TIDAK SAMPAI BILA PUN BABI NEGARA AKAN TERUS MEMERINTAH!!
written by nothing less, July 08, 2009 21:55:28
Good News For Bro Pete:
INTERPOL will not issue Red Notice for arrest of President Manuel Zelaya
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LYON, France – The INTERPOL General Secretariat headquarters in Lyon, France has refused a request by the Honduran authorities to issue a Red Notice, or international wanted persons notice for President Manuel Zelaya.

Following a review, INTERPOL’s Office of Legal Affairs concluded that the request is in contravention of Article 3 of INTERPOL’s Constitution under which it is ‘strictly forbidden for the organization to undertake any intervention or activities of a political, military, religious or racial character.’ This prohibition is taken extremely seriously by INTERPOL.

The charges against President Zelaya of ‘misuse of authority; usurpation of public functions; offences against the system of government; and treason’ were assessed as being of a political nature with no ordinary-law crime element.

In addition, an INTERPOL Red Notice is a request to provisionally arrest a person for the purpose of extradition to the country concerned. According to media reports, a plane carrying President Zelaya was turned away from an airport in Tegucigalpa, where Honduran authorities would have been able to directly serve a national arrest warrant.

If the reports are accurate and the national authorities deliberately failed to carry out the arrest on their own soil, this would also attest to the existence of motives other than the promotion of international police co-operation.

INTERPOL’s National Central Bureau in Tegucigalpa has been informed of the decision to refuse their Red Notice request for President Zelaya.

written by InEffective, July 08, 2009 22:15:03

Indonesia's peoples has finally freed itself from a governance of coercion.
Thailand peoples have chosen to force their governance of coercion to change.
Burmese peoples have become completely enslaved and subsumed by the governance of coercion.
Singapore peoples have allowed a governance of coercion as a tradeoff for wealth

What will Perakians choose to do with their governance-of-coercion ?

wonder what choices and futures we shall give our children in Malaysia ???
written by Fat Zorro, July 08, 2009 22:27:34
Yes for Hartal, no for return of the 2 frgs. Pakatan and PKR should never accept them back
written by raven1958, July 08, 2009 23:17:30
No more threats please....JUST DO IT!
written by jalong, July 08, 2009 23:18:28
This is a good idea. In fact, it should be given notice to UMNO and the Perak royalty of a prolonged rakyat's struggle. Such as say every Monday transportation workers don't work, every Tuesday food industry workers don't work, every Wednesday civil servants don't work and so on until our demands are met. We will have NO RIGHTS until we demand and assert our rights. Rights have to be hard fought and won and fight to preserve. No one is going to hand you rights in a silver platter not especially after depriving for over 50 years. Perak is a good start for us to demand our just rights. If the rakyat continue to do nothing, UMNO will do it again and again and we have seen this happen, it is not just conjecture.
written by Hakim Joe, July 08, 2009 23:19:53
Fat Zorro,

Oh, we will accept the frogs back.
After accepting them we will put them on trial for treason.
BTW does frogs taste good after being cooked?

written by penangboi, July 08, 2009 23:37:23
The people of Perak does not and will not accept BN/UMNO. And in the same breath, this should also extend to the royalty, the judiciary and the police who are brothers-in-crime of the most shameful and illegal usurping of power in Perak.

Yes, I fully support this hartal. Folks of Perak: Be united for once and show that you really care about your own destiny instead of being led by the nose.
written by merchant222, July 09, 2009 00:13:20
If these frogs were in my era back then in the early 1900's, I would safely say that I would put them in my pocket; with limbs and private parts scattered all the way to Sungei Kuala Kangsar! Especially so for the Jelapang Prostitute!

Unfortunately, this is the new AGE, where prostitutes are legal! In Perak???
Yes, Jelapang Prostitute is one great example!

written by SiHangChai, July 09, 2009 00:18:00
I support for such state wide action against the thieves of BN.
written by Sutha, July 09, 2009 02:38:41
Good idea........ but won't in this country. Most Malaysians are selfish and for this kind of things happen, only the diehards will do. That is about all.

There is no such think as the silent majority but lallang majority which will take sides with the government.

If we had a thinking majority, PR will be running the federal and most state governments since 2008.
written by temenggong, July 09, 2009 10:30:22
PAPC can threaten. Hindraf cannot.