Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Lim Guan Eng Losing The Kg Buah Pala Battle Because He Is Not Thinking

Lim Guan Eng Losing The Kg Buah Pala Battle Because He Is Not Thinking PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 17:19

By Simon Templar

Lim Guan Eng is a breath of fresh air for Malaysia. But I cannot help but wonder why he screwed up on the Kampung Buah Pala issue. Yes, you read it right, he screwed up.

He is not exactly the typical leader Malaysia has seen in the recent past; well none has been as humble and down to earth as this Chief Minister of Penang. I respect this chap - for his principals and sacrifices made for the people of Malaysia. And of course actions such as his insistence of flying budget airlines or economy only, minimal renovation to his official residence (although some may argue otherwise on his 'new' abode), and his simplicity in having meals among the rakyat, among others, go to show a man who is in touch with the ground.

But I cannot help but wonder why he screwed up on the Kampung Buah Pala issue. Yes, you read it right, he screwed up. He can come up with a thousand reasoning on how the previous BN government is the cause of the issue but that does not matter to the rakyat involved. His duty as the CM is to solve the rakyat's problems and not explain to the rakyat that the problem is that of his predecessor or that of the central government. The Kampung Buah Pala folks are not interested in the truth. They are not interested to be a party of a land scam or whatever it may be. For crying out loud, they just want their lives back - together with the roof they had over their heads all these years.

(By the way, going to the Prime Minister to solve the problem is plain silly. Yes, Lim Guan Eng wants to show that Najib couldn't give a damn but what is he trying to achieve anyway. We already know that BN is bad. Making Najib look "more bad"? Bad is bad la. Period. The episode only got twisted into an "incompetent CM running and crying after the PM for help". I hope Lim Guan Eng is not so naive as to expect Najib to actually resolve the issue.)

How true is the RM200,000 compensation I do not know. But again, that is not the problem. These guys do not want to move and maybe they should not have to. (Actually what's with not accepting the RM200,000? That is a lot of money eh.) Sentimental values maybe. Or maybe they are used to the amenities near the area. Maybe their kids have settled at the nearby schools. Maybe the graves of their ancestors are at the backyard. The list of 'maybe's goes on. The bottom line is - it is their homes.

Lim Guan Eng is a good man. But he is not very savvy. And I don't think that he is very creative is solving problems too. So far, he has definitely not been thinking out of the box. This Kampung Buah Pala issue can be solved and turned into a mega advertisement for Pakatan Rakyat.

Read more at: http://saltpepperandalittlekicap.blogspot.com/2009/07/lim-guan-eng-losing-kg-buah-pala-battle.html

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Bigjoe99, July 08, 2009 17:35:33
This guy is talking crap. He think LGE can lead a million dollar donation drive to help the victims of High Chapparal? Go ask people who raise money for cancer victim, organ failures, orphans and old folks home, its not that easy.
disagree 30
agree 169
written by singam, July 08, 2009 17:38:58
Lim Guan Eng has just made a smart decision in choosing to invoke Section 116 of the National land Code to halt any demolishing of buildings on the disputed land. That buys all parties time to find an equitable solution.

Meanwhile, whoever is advising the residents of Kg Buah Pala has just hanged himself by advicing them to insist that Lawyer Darshan Singh be present at the meeting. As a result, the meeting has not taken place.

The residents have previously given the Bar Council Legal Aid Centre a warrant to act on their behalf and the Centre will continue to do so. Lawyer Darshan Singh has no locus standi to do any such thing.

Let us watch how this drama plays out.
agree 146
written by storm62, July 08, 2009 17:51:20
just 23 families in HC, look at Jelutong and Perak Road, the many chinese kampungs and squatters are willing to settle a just a high rise flat. see the developement and amenities in this area? it's changing and transforming into a modern and clean township.

please don't be greedy, HC folks!

we, Penangites supported this government and we do not expect them to support us right now, as we know they are still young, given time they will pay us back what we deserved. we look futher ahead. we want them to take over the Federal Government for the sake of our future generation.

think about it.
agree 215
written by StevenO, July 08, 2009 18:14:04
Sorry, no support from me!

Not that I don't empathise with the residence of Kampong Buah Pala but a swindle by any crook should not be shouldered by other innocents.

The truth should be out in the open and criminal brought to justice/shame. Probably never any justice to be found, but at least let the public know who are those culprits behind the shady deal.
agree 128
written by Steven Ong, July 08, 2009 18:42:59
Yes ,it looks like he is not doing enough to satisfy the KBP folks by the current news and unsatisfied behavior of the folks. He has to do something to calm the folks and find a way to settle the problems. What ever it is, the issue have to be settled. No use to blame the BN or any one now. It looks like the KBP residents are being manipulated by a certain party to humilate the CM and PR.

The settlers have the rights to a better and comfortable life as the developer. Why is it always the developers and third party that gain the most? Is it that they work very hard ? But this is the early settlers land and not the government. They were there first and later the government was formed. Land does not belong to any party untill it is claimed and settled. That is all about the conflict in Palestine. Whose land is it -the Jews or the Palestinians? The Jews claimed they were the first settlers but the Palestinians disagreed otherwise.
Coming back to KBP - whoever solve the problem and every one is happy, is the real hero.
Going back to Palestine again. It is said that a 'man ' called the 'beast' ( the hero )will make the Jews and Palestine happy. And all the whole world will worship him - then the end will come.
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 18:45:49
Do a ****** search on Darshan Singh.
Interesting things. smilies/smiley.gif
written by storm62, July 08, 2009 18:47:15
dear comodo,

you see how long have the tanjong tokong malay fishermen have been staying at the UDA flats and still ply their trade as fishermen. culture? i guess it's up to you at how you look at it! did malay KLites lose their culture? did those malays staying in putrajaya lose their culture?

i know i love to stay in a cowboy country but too bad Penang isn't one. what can i do. i have to earn a living, so putting up in a small flat is what i can afford. of course i love to have a landed kampong house by the sea but circumstances doesn't allow it.

i bet there are people whom are a lot worst off than those HC folks in Penang island and also the mainland. check it out yourself, comodo.

cheers.bro.
written by Ulan Benson, July 08, 2009 20:08:02
LGE is making the right move.

All these High Chapparal craps have made 'Wayang-Moody', Hindraf, Super Stunt Wannabe etc coming in to grab and promote their own personal agenda including this writer. Maybe they think it is the best time to get 'famous'.

Look at the issue carefully, damn it. It is a trap set by KohTK/Gerakan/BNs. Why no one dares to haul 'Sissy KohTK to this Kampong Buah Pala and hang his balls there since he is main crook who sold the land? smilies/angry.gif
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 20:25:46
Dear Just Gan,

The sale is not illegitimate.
The state exco approved the sale.
It is within their right to do so.

The matter had gone to the court, up to the highest level.
The villagers lost.
That's why the developer is returning soon with a "get out of my land" order.

Sad huh?
written by malaysian7, July 08, 2009 20:32:42
"This Kampung Buah Pala issue can be solved and turned into a mega advertisement for Pakatan Rakyat."

Dear Simon,
Everyone knows what the above means and I bet anyone would wanna jump to the opportunities to advertise but then only if it is as simple as ABC.

I am not defending LGE but everything need proper and slow discussion to find a solution. A solution that favours the Kg Buah Pala residents may not be favourable to the state government or to the non-residents of Kg Buah Pala. As a CM he has to be just and fair and look at a solution that would not be at the other Penangites' expense.

This is how you look into the bigger picture.
written by Mirage, July 08, 2009 20:56:55
Simon Templar, apart from your name choosen to sound like the hero of the yester years investigative show, you suck in your reasoning. If you care to read the follow up stories of the High Chapparol, you would have learned that that LGE has shared what he has done to mitigate the situation which included buying time b4 the demolition and finally concluded on the possibility of buying the land and disclosed that the option was not affordable. What else do you want him to do???? In fact pushing the BN was the last option.
This shows that BN will not help as a federal govt for as long as the state is under the care of the opposition. So much for BN to preach "One Malaysia" and preach unity when all they want to do is to punish the citizens who voted for PR. I think its clear the next election that PR can have the total control. But I do not want to echo this too many time unless PR step up in their effort in unity. I certainly VOTE YOU PR if honesty and sincerity that you have shown in Penang under LGE.

The BN govt on the other hand is STILL treating us like stupid dope and the latest being Khir Toyol claiming that the hse he bought for RM3.5 Million and challenged Ng to sell his hse which was suggested to be RM24Million. Well Khir Toyol.....a typical decent double storey bungalow without renovation (abt 5500-6000 sq feet) and bought from developer is already RM2.2 Million and above today. And a bungalow like that is a quarter of your land size or less and without any fixtures or renovation. I would challenge you to sell that at RM3.5 Million to me instead.

And lastly to the BN Govt, if this is how you treat your citizens, I would anytime vote for any opposition who has a desire for change and improvement becoz anyhow our tax money and the country's money has been transacted in bribery and corruption.
written by Mirage, July 08, 2009 21:05:40
Btw to Simon Templar, I hope your mention of LGE not being very sawy implies that he should approach in manner which sounds good to the public But yet nothing is done. I happy his approach was honest in telling the ppl that his hands are already tied after trying all ways and means...
written by aiyomanaboleh, July 08, 2009 21:22:05
By the way, going to the Prime Minister to solve the problem is plain silly. Yes, Lim Guan Eng wants to show that Najib couldn't give a damn but what is he trying to achieve anyway. We already know that BN is bad. Making Najib look "more bad"? Bad is bad la. Period. The episode only got twisted into an "incompetent CM running and crying after the PM for help". I hope Lim Guan Eng is not so naive as to expect Najib to actually resolve the issue.)

Aiyo, Simon Templar, why you so blind?

That is the idea, go to him and everyone know he will fall into the trap and turn in down. Come next GE or any BE, don't you think that is something PR can harp on.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 08, 2009 22:25:33
satu strategi yang amat berkesan yang dipertengahkan oleh LGE dan PR ..
jelas menunjukkan semasa PPinang di bawah genggaman katak berempat mata itu , ramai rakyat PPinang yang diperbodohkan dan dipinggirkan dengan cara paksaan melalui saluran haram kezaliman umno ......
LGE memberi peluang kepada pembantu mamak ( kaki perempuan ) menunjukkan kebolehan anak razak ini menjadi pemimpin 1 Malaysia .....
kini jelaslah .. kandang kezaliman umno tidak pernah mementingkan rakyat Malaysia ..
jelas sudah ..bangsa melayu menjadi modal pertaruhan umno selama ini ..
bodoh dahulu ...... sebodoh lagi sekarang jikalau masih bermimpi ketuanan melayu umno tu ....
ayuh .. jangan biarkan generasi muda kita menjadi anjing jalanan umno lagi ..
kita semua beradat resam mulia dan bermaruah tinggi tu .. bangun dan bersatu ..
written by cllim123, July 08, 2009 22:35:35
Lim Guan Eng cannot unilaterally declare the Federal court order invalid. He must abide by the ruling of the Highest Court whether he likes it or not. It is often that the Pakatan leaders have commented on their lack of faith in these courts but that is about all they can do to maintain one of the basic foundations of our civil society namely the separation of powers. His hand are tied where it comes to allowing Kg Buah Pala residents to stay on the land. He just does not havce the power to do so. He can offer alternative sites for these people to invest in at low prices but on Penang Island, we must be realistic. Maybe across to Seberang Perai.

But we must see that the residents of Buah Pala are also very demanding and wanting their land where it is. That Lim GE just cannot do. and it is not his fault.
written by malaysian7, July 08, 2009 23:40:00
I just feeling this thing becomes a big fuss due to the opportunists. Don't tell me there are only Kg Buah Pala issue landing the people in Malaysia.

There are many but why the heck this become like a crisis and yet nobody bothers the other people also having *home/land* problems
written by merchant222, July 08, 2009 23:58:22
Mr. Simon Templar,

If you think a CM can do things with a stroke of a pen like the Hindraf Brothers thinks so, please help him. The ruling party of Penang is not BN Devil and the Devil wants the Angel to look bad.

If the Hindraf and you think there is a way out of this without the state government being held at ransom; please provide and propose concrete ways of a solution and not talk kok! Unfortunately, they are fighting against the BN government using you stupid ass as their trump card.

See things in a macro view, not micro like you stupid fellas do. I re-iterate, Tax payers should not pay for the BN misdeeds and no government should negotiate with "terrorist", especially for the benefit of cronies of the BN GOONs. Is this clear to you STUPID IDIOTs?
written by SiHangChai, July 09, 2009 00:14:38
The Penang CM is losing battle because of constant sabotages from BN bastards. There is no ill-feeling is he fails in the Buah Pala case. Not his fault as it all started from Koh Tsu Koon and the greedy residents of Buah Pala. To me, let the developer takeover the Kg and re-develop it. No pint to deal with greedy and selfish Penangites.
written by Ben, July 09, 2009 00:25:56
It is true, LGE is no Donald Trump and of course the truth is important. If HC is to stay STATUS QUO, then the you will need the financial wizardry and persuasion prowess of Trump to revert the volatile situation back to what it was before the land was given to the co-op and rights sold. Maybe Chi Chang can suggest how this can be done with his invaluable experience as a banker. But I certainly agree that running to the gomen does little to improve PR's erosion of confidence. Please use your intelligence not emotions. And until you have a game plan to champion the people's cause, shut up for your political image sake.
written by apa jadi, July 09, 2009 01:11:21
a ***** to this site will tell u the location and story about Kg. Buah Pala.
http://www.penang-traveltips.c...h-pala.htm

Take a special note to the information provided:
Unaware to them, the Executive Council of the then Chief Minister of Penang, Tan Sri Koh Tsu Koon, approved the sale of the land of Kampung Buah Pala to the Koperasi Pegawai Kerajaan Pulau Pinang on 18 August 2004 and a second time on 8 June 2005, for RM6.42 million, or RM20 per square feet. On the recommendation of the then Deputy Chief Minister, the premium of the land was halved to RM3.21 million or RM10 per square foot.

I question whose jurisdiction the DCM then had to advice for the reduction.

-----------------------------------------

I have just watched the aborted meeting today between LGE and the residents on TV3 nightline. I think LGE did the right move to barring their legal broker. He had mentioned he wanted a heart to heart talk with the residents. The presence of these representatives will definitely complicate issues at this stage. I believe LGE is not going to con them to sign any agreement during the talk. I think LGE and partners know very well what this Darshan Singh's back ground is. For as long as these third part not willing to back down to let the residents a chance for just a talk, I do not see any point proceeding with the conversation.

The whole issue I see is that these lawyers want a certain percentage of the compensation. Any increase in the compensation means extra commission for them. Tell me if I am wrong about this and the lawyer works for free.

TV3 nightline also reported that LGE has invoked section 116, part?(i forgot)to freeze any development. It is a way of buying time to solve the issue. I think LGE is right here again.

written by freerpk, July 09, 2009 08:46:45
Yah, yah....the last person to trust are the lawyers....do you think lawyers work for free????....Nooooo
written by ohuat, July 09, 2009 09:48:50
Indian in Malaysia will always behind others if they keep thinking they are the only victim and need special privilage. If LGE acquired this piece of HC land for sake of popularity vote, will that means in future all squatters expect the same from him?
written by ohuat, July 09, 2009 10:01:19
The only way to go now is takeover the federal government on nect GE. The people's hand are tied because this BN is still control this country Juristriction, Security, Finance. The tops are corruptted, we need to chop them off at the top NOW !!