Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Teaching of Science And Mathematics back To Bahasa Melayu

Teaching of Science And Mathematics back To Bahasa Melayu PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 17:10

(Malaysian Mirror) - The teaching of Science and Mathematics will revert to Bahasa Melayu while vernacular schools would conduct it in their mother tongue Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin announced. The implementation would take effect in 2012 he added.

As Education Minister Muhyiddin said the cabinet today approved the advice by the ministry to empower the Malay language and strengthen the teaching and learning of the English language at all levels of schooling.

"This strategy was drawn up based on the study and monitoring carried out by the Education Ministry on the teaching and learning of science and mathematics in English since the policy was implemented in 2003," he said when making the announcement at the Education Ministry, here today.

The first group of students who studied science and mathematics in the English language since Year One sat for their Ujian Penilian Sekolah Rendah (UPSR) last year.

Implementation of policy

The implementation of the policy of using the Malay language in the teaching of the two subjects would be carried out in stages in Year One and Year Four in the primary school and Form One and Form Four in the secondary school beginning in 2012 Muhyiddin explained.

However, he said, the change would not involve students in Form Six and matriculation class.

To ensure the implementation of the new strategy did not affect the achievement of students who were taught the two subjects in English, the teaching of and examination for the two subjects would be conducted in both languages until the last batch of students who were taught in English completed in 2014.

He said the government made the decision after scrutinizing the outcome of studies and surveys carried out on the teaching and learning of the two subjects in English which showed it could not be implemented as desired.

"What is implemented is the teaching and learning of science and mathematics in English or Malay languages," he said.

Monitored its usage

Muhyiddin said monitoring by the ministry last year found only a small group of teachers were using English language fully in the teaching of science and mathematics.

"On the average, the percentage of English usage is between 53% to 58% out of the total time allotted for science and mathematics," he said.

In addition, he said, only a small group of mathematics and science teachers in secondary and primary schools who took the English language Proficiency Level Evaluation test last year achieved the proficiency level.

He said the precentage of students who scored grades A, B, and C for the science subject in the UPSR last year dropped from 85.1% to 82.5% for urban schools and from 83.2% to 79.7% for rural schools.

"For mathematics, the achievement of urban schools dropped from 84.8 per cent to 80.9 per cent while the achievement of rural students dropped from 80.9 per cent to 77 per cent," he said.

He said the gap in achievement between urban and rural schools in science and mathematics was becoming wider when the PPSMI (teaching and learning of science and mathematics in English) was implemented.

Not pressured into making a decision

On Tuesday in MUAR the Education Ministry disclosed it submitted its findings on the use of English in the teaching of Science and Mathematics to the Cabinet for its approval. 

tumpat-dabong-tumpat ktmb shuttle.jpgHaving met various groups and non-governmental organisations including former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad Muhyiddin said he compiled their views on the matter.

The Cabinet would not be hasty in making its decision and would give importance to the needs of students and the country’s educational system he explained.

Expected to outline the details of the policy after the Cabinet meeting Muhyiddin said "Whatever the decision, it will not be due to pressure from any party or groups and it should not be viewed as politically inclined.,”

He told reporters here there have been calls from various groups for the policy to revert to before 2003 when the subjects were taught in Bahasa Melayu in national schools and either in Chinese or Tamil in national-type schools.

The issue has seen a rare alliance between Malay and Chinese educationists against the switch although there are  calls by many parents and entrepreneurs for English to be maintained.

Would such alliance amongst educationists having a vision for a better Malaysia benefit the country in the long run when much of technological information in transfer of skills between research institutions and companies is in English?

Three ways to resolve the issue

Meanwhile, The Star quoted a ministry official as saying that Muhyiddin has three ways to resolve the issue.

“First, he could decide to maintain the present system and set another deadline for a further review.

“Second, he could reverse the medium of instruction to that of pre-2003.

“Third, he could make the teaching of Mathematics and Science in primary school in Bahasa Malaysia and the vernacular languages, and in English for secondary schools,” said the official. 

Knowledge first

In an interview with The Star in May Education deputy minister Dr Puad Zarkashi had said that any decision would take into account the ministry’s readiness in manpower and teaching methods.

"We will consider the opinions of every party, especially scholars, before making any decision,” he said, adding that most English teachers were based in the cities not in the rural areas.

Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak had stressed that Education is the nation's most important tool in breaking the cycle of poverty the surest route to long-term economic growth. That is why, he said, his administration is forging a new economic model that puts knowledge first.

Individuals writing to the media had urged Muhyiddin to be proactive. One person wrote: “The Minister is doing our nation a great disservice in delaying a decision on the teaching of science and mathematics in English in our schools."

Language difficulties

C CELESTINE of Malaysian Mirror writes: For Malaysia, developing a pragmatic people with a paradoxical character, to attain selfhood is not inconsistent with its belief system.

The ability to reflect and think creatively in the age of the Internet is hindered by the controversy of which language to use in the name of unity and patriotism.

Yet it is a question of whether Malaysians want to attain selfhood; for which investment is in life long education encompassing creative arts and humanities as well as science and technology.

The teaching of core subjects in the national language is not going to erode creative individuality but it may cause them not to interact dynamically with people from other countries.  Language that welds a nation can divide due to the self serving interest in man, to use it to debilitate instead of strengthening. Those using the same language do not necessarily think the same.

Comments (54)Add Comment
written by sorosapril, July 08, 2009 17:15:21
so we are moving back ward to use the language which can not be used internationally.

the failure of using English to teach math and science was because the teachers could not even master proper english and yet that is how we malaysian solve the problem by reverting to the useless language.
disagree 27
agree 157
written by netaddict1, July 08, 2009 17:15:41
The first step in sending all back to the stone age
disagree 19
agree 130
written by Bigjoe99, July 08, 2009 17:22:42
The problem began, was and remain still that these decisions are made by politicians instead of by parents and teachers together. The fact of the matter there is no one solution fits all in this matter which is what the politician especially someone like Muhiyiddin is trapped in their thinking.. They can't figure out its their entire species that screwed things up and they are also the wrong species to fix it..
written by sisa, July 08, 2009 17:25:11
Good,Malaysia have leap frogged back wards after 2012. All our senior position staff can have an interpreter when they travel and more international company will shun the country.
We have nothing extra compared to Sri Lanka or Vietnam or even Burma. All the educated English speaking community will ask their qualified children to migrate.
Only one advantage - keep the stupid -as equally stupid. Only one race will go backward.
A sad day - for Malaysians. A awakening day for stupidity.
disagree 16
written by ABU SAYAB, July 08, 2009 17:33:29
"One step forward,ten steps backward" that's the policy of UMNO.
Can you please draft a law to prevent all the children of the Ministers and Sultans from studying abroad?

The next generation will produce all the'jaguh kampung' ... Malaysia/UMNO boleh!
written by savemalaysia, July 08, 2009 17:47:27
So Mahathir now do you still have anything to say about the benefits of using english to teach?You ignored all the protest from parents and academicians for using english to teach. No wonder Australian ex-prime minister Mr.Paul Keating labelled you "Recalcitrant" more than 10 yrs ago.
written by Urangsabah, July 08, 2009 17:56:39
Wonder who will be making tonnes for this Engish to BM. Aready made tonnes from selling English Science & Maths. Now few more tonnes by selling BM Math and science book to Gov't.

How I wish I got a share...........After all its only the Rakyat Money what spend, after the $12.5 billion PKFZ scandal...
written by Sutha, July 08, 2009 18:00:34
Muhyideen was never a thinker, anyway.

This is a good policy for Umno to remain in power. Their leaders would like the rurals, the backwards, the lazy, the fanatics, etc to keep supporting Umno for "recognition" has been given to Bahasa Melayu in the teaching of science and mathematics. And these leaders have the means to send their children to private colleges and overseas so that they will remain the elite ruling group. The leaders are more interested in self promotion than the future of the citizens. Afterall, an enlightened citizenry will not support Umno for the government.

What a pity for those who wanted mother tongue (chinese and tamil) in teaching of the two subjects. After Year six, it will be in Bahasa Melayu (not mother tongue) and heading heading for the same crap we saw in the eighties and nineties. Well, they get what they unknowlingly asked for.

The nation will be 10 to 20 years behind real time as far as sains and technology advancement is concerned because of the lack of vital knowledge source - the books.
written by educationist, July 08, 2009 18:02:36
So, the decision is made!
The only surprise is that the government did not retain the teaching of science and mathematics from Form 1 onwards.
For better or for worst, only time will tell.
written by NSTPravda, July 08, 2009 18:04:24
Education Minister Muhyiddin said the cabinet today approved the advice by the ministry to empower the Malay language and strengthen the teaching and learning of the English language at all levels of schooling.

Henceforth:
1. All Science will be taught in Malay
2. All Maths will be taught in Malay
3. All Tamil will be taught in Malay
4. All English will be taught in Malay
5. All Chinese will be taught in Malay
6. All Quran will be taught in Malay
7. All Malay will be taught in Malay

Dollar akbar
written by varvoom, July 08, 2009 18:10:39
Flipperty flippantly FLOB...
English Language was 1st language of choice
Bahasa Malaysia was the national language
Lain2 Languages was mother’s tongue
written by Trueandfair, July 08, 2009 18:18:16
The cause of all these especially since the mid-1980s by the Govt. The reintroduction of English Grammar but if literature is to be reintroduced, it must be in contemporary ENglish not old Shakespearean English (as that will mess up the teaching just like Bahasa Melayu kuno been taught in Form 4 and 5 and screws up every kid). We have to be realistic and practical, all those who wants to study the "ancient" languages (Melayu kuno and old English), please do them as a degree in university.
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 18:19:13
TDM made one of the best and most courageous decisions of his administration, one that would help this country move forward but it is now snuffed out by his preferred successor.
Instead of putting in the leadership, the money and the resources to ensure that teachers are well trained to teach in English, he takes the easy way out by succumbing to political pressures.

The children of the privileged will, nevertheless, thrive on regardless of language policy because their parents would ensure that they are well equipped to be gainfully employable anywhere on this earth.

How about the poor?
Who will give them that chance ?
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 18:29:43
I don't agree that only with the introduction of English Grammar can students learn the English well.

My children went through the national school system until Tingkatan lima.
They never felt inadequate When they entered college in English speaking countries.
In fact they loved learning in English.

That had nothing to do with receiving English grammar lessons.
It was rather the exposure they received from their parents from the day they learnt to listen and speak.
written by Samanyan, July 08, 2009 18:32:46
There are 2 types of political leaders. All that he is interested in is the next election. He and his cabinet collegues are more interested in playing up to the gallery then doing any real service to the country.

In a globalised world we Malaysians are destined to just remain Jaguh Kampongs. 30 years ahead an english proficient China will be forging ahead as a superpower. India will be forging ahead as a superpower. Even Singapore will be far ahead as a regional player of substance, while we here in Malaysia will continue comparing ourselves with Indonesia and the Middle East and telling the world how far ahead of them we are.
written by talk2stop, July 08, 2009 19:10:50
Malaysia will always have problems between English and Bahasa Melayu. Malaysia is well aware that English will that them to the next level but most Malays are not catching up with the language. If the Malays going to suffer may as well others join in. The only way to do it is to revert back to Bahasa Malaysia. It is a honourable thing to do if the boat is going to sink let's go down together. Bear in mind the top brass are not on the boat there on the ship linear watching the boat sink.
written by T Square, July 08, 2009 19:21:42
Here lies the problem.
Up untill the early 80s, we have very good teachers who can teach all those subjects in english. When it was all converted to Malay, in comes a new generation of teachers who can only teach in malay, all part of NEP.
Obviously to then revert back to english, creates further problem, as a new generation of teachers had to be trained to teach in english. The reason for teaching all subjects in malay in the first place was to make it easier for malay teachers and also to give the malay students an advantage.
All part of the NEP philosophy.
The change to english is bad news for UMNO as the majority of teachers affected were malays. The non-malay teachers would be pleased to teach in english again. So it would make sense for UMNO to revert back to Malay as the medium of instruction to make sure the non-malays do not gain an advantage. UMNO is not interested in whether the malays lose out or not but more importantly to continue it's policy to disadvantage the non-malays. In other words, the non-malays loss is construed as a gain for the malays, but we all know this is far from the truth.
After all, the UMNO elite sends all their kids overseas for a western education anyway, so their policies are political.
I would like to hear from MCA, Gerakan and MIC their views on this issue. But then again, they too send their kids overseas for their education. So why do they care. So long as UMNO continue to line their pockets, they see no evil.
written by mrbean, July 08, 2009 19:41:30
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/108090
Am wondering why these idiots must consult TDM for this decision? who the farrk is TDM now?
written by sydput, July 08, 2009 20:31:38
we should thank that sodomite anwar. He started the ball rolling backwards.
Parents and students should choose whatever language they want to learn in. Not arse-hole ministers.
written by mikefonz, July 08, 2009 20:39:27
Majority of them will be donk donk.
Eventually we'll have more astro-not flying over to the moon.
Syabas Malaysia Bull-leh. Keep it up.
written by shiokguy, July 08, 2009 21:01:11
Stupidity and Egoism

Malaysia should have taken this opportunity to revert back to the Good Old days when our Universities are among the tops in Asia Pacific, some among the world renounce Universities.

We should have annouced that Form 1 student from 2010 onward will be learning in FULL English all the way to UNIVERSITY. What is the problem? Stupidity and Egoism of some narrow minded people!

And Najib is calling for Malaysia to Ensures World Class Education Institutions, how are we going to do that?

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ation.html

Once again Stupidity and Egoism

written by Stech49, July 08, 2009 21:09:13
Happy Days for International Schools in Malaysia!!!
written by temenggong, July 08, 2009 21:15:31
Good news for chinese and tamil schools. Bad news for national (malay) schools.

Somehow umno always succeeds in screwing them incest.
written by Goodbites, July 08, 2009 21:16:51
The decision to teach Math & Science in English was proposed by former PM who had the privilege of receiving an English education and taught by teachers who are very proficient in the language. The education system and the level of proficiency of teachers now are not like those times. I would say the education system we have not is screwed up due to the interference of politics.

For those who truly want their children to have a better proficiency of English they cannot depend on our Education system when the system does not have the teachers proficient in the language. Brain drain is one of the contributing factors of why we do not have talented people around anymore.

So since you cannot be proficient in English, then might as well be proficient in your mother tongue. This is what they are saying. Teaching just Math & Science in English is a half-baked solution and they know it but do not want to admit it.
written by Caesar, July 08, 2009 21:18:19
Even the PRC Chinese are scrambling to master English.So the so-called Chinese 'educationalist' are not deciding what is best for the youngsters but only to 'maintain their relevance' or enhance their positions.
As for the ruling class, they can send their kids overseas early so that when they return with their overseas degrees they can step on the heads of the locally-educated ones. Our politics is not for the good of the people but to maintain a ruling-class which will suck up the country's wealth.
written by imanj, July 08, 2009 21:20:30
This is the most sickening news to hear and read..!!!!!!

I'm screaming as my daughter will start school in 2012 and now the many parents who have more insight for their children are going to see their kids make way for the lame excuses and inefficiency of this country in total which begins with the Education System manned by the most ridiculous of people.

I,as a parent now challenge you the Education Ministry for anything I say or will say in the future,only because you the force in the Education Ministry do not stop to think for the ordinary people and their children's future.

While there are bodies who support the selfish sentiments and excuses with statements that ' we recognise the English Language to be important,but don't let it control us' ????!!!!! What sort of implication does this give any Malaysian?

The Malaysian people in general,be it city,town or rural folks are just as bad,to not,over so many years push themselves to find the need for self-achievements. These are the same people who complain of the Governments lack in thinking for the Nation's progression and still vote them into office.

Vernacular Schools have had their share to encourage the decline in the English Language proficiency as it's just and always been racial based.

The Malaysian attitude is clouded in their judgement and now pave the part for it's self destruction in years to come.While the Ministers/Politicians and rich man spare their children the disasters of the same Education System,the ordinary less fortunate children are made not only guinea pigs but a but of jokes internationally for their continuous inabilities..!!!

So as a hefty taxpayer,where personal taxes are going to fund stranger's kids for higher education with all the privileges of better foreign systems,I will not send my child to the substandard system of this country.And should I be able to afford anything else,heck I would tutor her myself...!!! For this I know not to vote this Government..!!!!

written by Caesar, July 08, 2009 21:33:33
Foreign investors are watching closely especially on our Education policies as this will make or break the country's future.
Also,it exposes the hollowness of the recent & recurrent pronouncements by the govt. that we offer a skilled & educated workforce for high tech industries, etc.(now that other emerging countries -Thailand, Indonesia,Vietnam-have 'stolen' the foreign investments $$$ from us).
This change in the education policy will only keep the majority down and subservient to the ruling elite i.e.the raison d'etre of Malaysian politics.
written by elmo world, July 08, 2009 21:57:37
am speechless!!!!!!!!

i can only say: F you m'sia education ministry
written by coolandy, July 08, 2009 22:05:27
Stupid is as stupid does!

Instead of facing the problems head on by investing more in improving the English language, our leaders found it easier to sweep the problems under the carpet and come out with policies to make themselves popular.

Do our leaders act in the best interest of our country?

Really, it is high time to vote out this BN government.
written by rams609, July 08, 2009 22:06:22
No English, no more space participant!!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by gorshan, July 08, 2009 22:31:51
walk the talk, my dear ministers whoever you are who made this decision. i want to see your kids mastering Science and Mathematics in BM,too. if any of you ministers in govt sends your kids to international school or overseas then you certified otak lembu. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kavidibaku, July 08, 2009 22:36:56
My kid will b in Form 4 in 2012. Ever since from the beginning he learned math and sains in english. if they revert back to BM, meaning he has to learn in BM? Bloodyshit.
written by Malaysiaputra, July 08, 2009 22:50:58
written by rams609, July 08, 2009 22:06:22
No English, no more space participant!!!!

======

Ha, ha, ha, why no more ?. Malaysia bolih, bring along an interpreter !.
written by NEP, July 08, 2009 22:50:59
I absolutely disagree teaching maths and sciences in Bahasa in secondary school because the students will have many difficulties to adapt and learn sciences and maths in Form 6 and university!!!

I am one of the examples for this education system, using Malay language to teach science and maths. Now I don't use Malay at all in oversea for doing scientific research and writing publication! English is better. Now my english is cukup makan saja lah!

For primary school, yes I agree mother language is more appropriate.
written by shissun, July 08, 2009 22:53:34
Either decision to maintain or to abolish. My comment still the same : Go to hell with BN education system and education policies.

Flip-flop here and there. Cowards!
written by Bandit, July 08, 2009 23:16:28
written by Trueandfair, July 08, 2009 17:51:35

On this one issue, I tend to agree to revert back for the simple reasons such as:
.............further trueandfair says....
Lastly, I am product of Science and Maths taught in Malay and have good English teacher in school back in the 1970s. My experience has shown that a strong foundation in science and maths is universal irrespective of language.

LOL trueandfair seems to suggest English is not really important. Do you use "back" when you already used the word "revert"... and still say that you have "good english"? Sounds like rojak to me. Malaysia reverting back (LOL) to stoneage. I had a good laugh....thank you. smilies/grin.gif
written by Commonsenses, July 08, 2009 23:38:05
How stupid can UMNO be? Very, I agreed this time with mahathir. Muyudin comes from Johor and its near Singapore and he does not think with his brains. So sorry for the rural malays. In future thousands more local varsity malays graduates will be unable to write proper english resume to apply jobs in the private sectors. We can of course get more Indians from Bangalore to work in Cyberjaya IT companies. Brilliant idea from Ketuanan Melayu we move to Ketuanan over the foreign workers. Yes malaysian are bosses in their own country. Yes the 1malaysian boleh spirit! Rahman Yacub will be remembered for killing the english schools during Tun razak tenure now Muyudin during Tun razak's son tenure will be remembered for killing Maths and Science in english. It took 30 years to revert the teaching of maths and science to English because there was inherent failure of BM as medium of instruction. After just 6 years of usage of english which is such a short trial period can we justly said that its not suitable? Only a racial and language bigot would do that. Remember during Tun Razak's time that Najib was sent to London english boarding school, not to learn BM but fully english. So in future all UMNO minister will do likewise too. Let the poor eat cakes!
written by ssathia, July 08, 2009 23:39:42
...""while vernacular schools would conduct it (the teaching of Science and Mathematics) in their mother tongue, Deputy Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin announced".

That is good news indeed, if by the term "vernacular schools" includes Tamil schools. It was a bad idea to teach science and maths in English in Tamil Primary Schools. That damage and injustice will now be corrected. Thanks to the DPM for having the courage to correct the past mistake of Barisan Government.

However, please by all means retain teaching of science and mathematics in English for all secondary schools and above. If Malay teachers are not proficient in teaching the subject in English, get Non-Malay teachers to do it. Why can't the Malays teach and learn in English?
written by raven1958, July 08, 2009 23:53:32
So be it....

The only way these buggers are going to revert to full English is when the oil dries up and all investors pull out and we become penniless like Laos or Vietnam....

This is an attempt to paralyse the nation while Income Tax sapu all the money to feed the NEP....Solution....take away the money...
written by shiokguy, July 09, 2009 00:39:08
written by Pakyeh, July 08, 2009 22:38:26
I believe that a Malay to understands Maths and Science better if it is taught taught in their mother tongue.Japanese people speak very little English,yet English or American owned Corporations still employ them as engineers and scientist.

Dear Pakyeh, you arguement using Japanese is basically does not hold water because Japanese Langauge and writing can represent all English spoken woman (Sound or Vocal wise). They have document and technical paper translated not into japanese but into sound/vocal translation using the character to represent it. SO in Japanese, the english word ORANGE is pronounce the same in Japanese writing as "ORANGE". Just with Japanese Accent

Secondly, they compete in Merit!

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ation.html

written by merchant222, July 09, 2009 00:40:39
Ha! Ha! Ha!, thank you very much I say to you from myself, a Cina-kui!

The Malays will further deteriorate in this world. If the government thinks that is best, then the non-malays will have a better edge over them when getting employment cos the non-malays speak to their children in English, except for some 40% cina-kui families chow kow MCA one la! Tok chinese oni one lah. Write letter in English oso like my self write one la. OK, steal ass-ceptable!

But, Malay don learn England, how??? I oso don no how to tease dem to write la. Interview time, boss ass dem in the application what is your gender?, dey unser, "I want to become Miniskit of Edusexycation"
What is your salary expected?, "I god no salary" Who is our PM? PM I no no, I no BM!

Screw up the country, yes! Who suffers most? MUMI-PUTAR! YES! Just Do IT!
written by merchant222, July 09, 2009 00:50:53
I think that is what Ketuala-an Merayu is all about. Impede the Malays so the present set of UMNO melayus got better chance to rule and corrupt their government.

You UMNO Bastards are damn bloody selfish. But, can't blame you also lah, because your students like those from UiTM already so Stupid and Brain-washed by you BN UMNO goons that they think UMNO is GOD. Other than that, being stupid and don't know English is okay cos UMNO GOD will provide for them.

UMNO, please impede your own Malays so that none of them can take over yours and your children's position in government. Kill their future for your selfish gains!
BYE! BYE!
written by mowadoha, July 09, 2009 00:52:57
written by tumbledore, July 09, 2009 00:56:56
why the REVERSION is scheduled for 2012??
because the GE is around the corner and they can use this theme
to demonstrate that they are fighting for the Malays!

I should rather say it is time that the Education Ministry
declare bankruptcy and close its doors.

by the way it is false to say that using English means that one
is pro-british.
under the English speakers the Brits are a minority.
in many free countries English is the official language.

in the 70's medium of instruction was changed to BM because
the politicians believed that the malays could only achieve
equality with the other races through learning in their own mother tongue.
they BELIEVED that the malays are incapable mastering English (I don't!)and
competing with the others who are well known for their language proficiencies
long before Malaysia came into existance.

what kind of survey, if at all, was undertaken to determine the effect of teaching
maths and science in English?

p.s., 'revert back' is commonly used to put emphasis on the word although it is
grammatically wrong.
don't worry lah! English is a very patient language, she won't be angry with yousmilies/wink.gif!

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, July 09, 2009 01:32:47
Sad indeed. But why isn't anyone championing the improvement of Maths and Science but the language they are being taught?

Will teaching these 2 subjects in Malay bring about SIGNIFICANT improvement when teaching them in English didn't? What is significant, how is it measured, etc.? All very nebulous talk with no metric substance.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...e-by-2012/
written by Sutha, July 09, 2009 02:48:39
Let the teaching of Science and mathematics be in Bahasa Melayu. They will realise (hopefully) after a generation's time that those who asked for it were the greatest fools. If the people could think better, they would never be endlessly asking for crutches and wheelchairs or asking the japanese and koreans to build Malaysia's national cars.

The national cultural philosopy of BIAR MATI ANAK, JANGAN MATI ADAT is never more apt.
written by Samanyan, July 09, 2009 03:44:59
The thing about being the ruling government is this:

You have all the information regarding a particular subject matter, as compared to any other entity in the country.

And as chosen representatives of the people, you have an inherent duty to use that information for the benefit of the people. In other words, you are virtually 'god' in the sense that you have absolute right to decide on a wide range of subject matters with extra ordinary and life changing implications to the man on the street. By right, if you are a person true to your conscience and if you are truly religiously inclined as you project yourself to be, you should do the right thing for the people.

But, is that what happens? In the name of expediency, for the sake of votes in the next election you virtually sell the future of your coming generations. And you give all sorts of stories to back your decision.

May the lord have mercy on your soul.
written by AsamLaksa, July 09, 2009 04:28:11
I generally agree with reversion of teaching Science and Maths in mother tongues. It's the fundamental understanding that is vital.

However the issue should not end there. What I find very very annoying is the over reliance on a quick magic bullet to sort out a very complex problem, that is declining standards in English, Science and Maths. To sort it all out, there need to be a major policy overhaul which would include targeting policies concerning primary, secondary and tertiary education, and also those that affect social and economic development. The problems will not be sorted just by either using English or BM as medium of instruction.

One major step would be to seriously tackle the brain drain. There are many capable Malaysians overseas. Ever wondered why they do not want to return to Malaysia? Ever wondered why Singapore can better retain their scholars and also attract graduates from all over South East Asia? The various expertise out there should be retained so that their knowledge and skills can be passed on. One way would be to provide economic opportunities to them, and for this to happen discriminatory policies and practices should be removed.

Anyway, my point is that all of you should think about it in a wider context. There are more suggestions I can provide but that's not the issue here. Stop wasting time in this English vs BM nonsense because you can teach Science and Maths in any language, as long as the students can comprehend the fundamentals, it will work. Don't be noisy fools. The solutions required is much wider than just the language choices.
written by mikewang, July 09, 2009 08:55:03
Almost every private college going Chinese kid has to learn 3 languages proficiently and he/she has to pass one stage before moving on to another.
Chinese in primary school, Malay in secondary school and English in a tertiary institution.

Given the enormous resources at the disposal of the education ministry, why can't teachers be taught to teach Science and Mathematics in English ?
Are they very much worse than the students they teach?
Or rather that the ministry had been sleeping the during the past 6 years like their big boss often did?
written by c53k, July 09, 2009 09:55:43
Dont be too happy for now!

It's ONE step forward TWO steps back - typical umno mentality.

Why?

Here's a twist;

The teaching of Science/Maths in English will be maintained in all matriculation classes & MRSM!

Meanwhile, all OTHERS seconadary schools will revert to teaching of Science/Maths in English in Bahasa M'sia.

See the catch???? No!

Let me put it like this;

1)Who r the people mostly enrolled in matriculation & MRSM?

2)Why the double standard of one group in teaching of Science/Maths in English while the others group using B M'sia?

3)Bearing in mind, after the foundation of Science/Maths in vernacular languages (Chinese & Tamil) in primary, the poor guinea-pigs will have to relearn those technical terms in B M'sia. Moreover, what about the availability of the reference books in B M'sia for new foundings & researches?

4)Reading more into (3), the numbers of top scorers in these subjects will be reduced due to this new language obstacles, at least initially. The problem of scholarship solved?

5)No no. Those who have preservalence will find new way & work harder, then the scholarship problems will re-surface. Those in independent schools will still be ok as they have a separate Unified Examination Certificate (UEC), which is recognised by almost all the top universities, with the exception of those in M'sia! The zero-sum game is once again a lost cause!

6)The ultimate losers will once again be their own - those at the lower strata of their grouping, who needs the most help. Perhaps this is the way of creating pseudo-slaves to serve their ends.

Am I reading too much into this hp6 decision? Time will tell!