Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No judicial review due to conversion status

No judicial review due to conversion status PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 16:02

(Bernama) - The Shah Alam High Court dismissed judicial review of Mohan Singh because the case was under the jurisdiction of the Selangor Syariah Court.

Since she made the finding based on Mohan's Sijil Akuan Masuk Islam in the 1959 Penang Enactment proved he converted to Islam in 1992, Judge Rosnani Saub said the Syariah Court should have jurisdiction to determine whether he was still a Muslim or otherwise at the time of his death.

“This is provided for under Section 61 (3)(b)(xi) of the Selangor State Enactment and by virtue of Article 121(1A) of the Federal Constitution, this court has no jurisdiction over the matter,” she said when reading her written judgement on the case yesterday.

As such proved sufficient pursuant to Section 113 (2) of the Selangor State Enactment, Mohan Singh was to be treated as a Muslim in this state and subjected to the provisions of the Selangor State Enactment.

Lifestyle and conduct

The fact Mohan’s lifestyle and conduct was inconsistent of a Muslim convert did not alter his status as a Muslim in the eyes of the existing laws added Rosnani.

She said: “In the state of Selangor, a Muslim shall, at all times, be acknowledged and treated as a Muslim until and unless a declaration is made by the Syariah Court that he no longer is a Muslim.”

Rosnani said the application of judicial review was dismissed with costs to the health ministry director-general, Sungai Buloh Hospital director, Selangor Government, Malaysian Government and Selangor Islamic Religious Council (MAIS).

She added the High Court interim order dated June 1, this year, which disallowed the hospital to release the body to any party until disposal of the civil proceedings was quashed

Mohan’s family applied for judicial review to quash a decision by the ministry’s director-general and hospital director for not allowing it (family) to claim his body from the hospital as well as requesting a confirmation from MAIS whether the deceased died a Muslim or otherwise.

The judicial review contained a mandamus order the ministry’s director-general and hospital director release Mohan’s body to the family for cremation, according to Sikh religious rites.

Muslim burial

Rosnani said the decision by the ministry director-general and hospital director not to release the body of the deceased to the applicants was justified and reasonable as the Shah Alam Syariah High Court issued a declaration that Mohan died a Muslim. Therefore MAIS would be the appropriate authority to conduct a Muslim burial for him.

Mohan, whose Muslim name was Mohammad Hazzery Shah Mohan Abdullah, died at an apartment in Damansara Damai on June 25, this year, as a result of heart attack according to a post-mortem at the hospital.

At the proceeding, the applicants comprised the deceased’s sisters Baldi Kaur, J Belvikohr (Belvikohr), Jaswant Kaur and P Nagamuthu.

They were represented by counsel Rajesh Kumar.

One of the respondents, MAIS, was represented by Zainul Rijal Abu Bakar while Mohd Radhi Abbas appeared for the other respondents, Malaysian Government, ministry director-general and hospital director.

Mohd Radhi told reporters after the judgement that MAIS would be responsible in giving a Muslim burial to the deceased.

Meanwhile, MAIS public relations officer Rohana Hassan told reporters the agency would claim the body for burial in the evening at the Muslim cemetery in Sungai Buloh.

However, she said MAIS would allow Mohan’s family to pay their last respects to the deceased before burial.

written by parsona, July 08, 2009 16:12:12
Are any Muslims here proud of this body snatching by your Muslim brothers and sisters? Please speak up! Do you have no shame at all?
written by joeawk, July 08, 2009 16:20:42
The Malaysian Constitution is the supreme law of Malaysia and all other laws are subordinate. Therefore, the constitutional court can review decisions of all other courts and that definitely include the syariah court decision.
written by Wisdom above, July 08, 2009 16:45:41
No more compassion left ?

Very SAD indeed !
written by JJays, July 08, 2009 17:01:50
Bravo 1malaysia,

I think Mais is doing a Great job for Mohan Singh. Mais knew that, if he were to be cremation by sikh way, Mohan Singh will be dump into HELL. So, by taking away Mohan Singh for Muslim burial, he will be in the Heaven now. This is how the concept all about. If Mais don't take it, the Mais team will be thrown in to the HELL. They know all this, they have no any option. No matter how you scream or cry. Mais will parcel the body to Heaven right away.

They are paid to do such Job.

written by bn haramjadah, July 08, 2009 17:03:35
Well this happened in SELANGOR- A PAKATAN STATE, no need to talk some more Pakatan you just lost me and my family's vote, come PRU13, We vote for independent candidate, either you follow the federal constitution of secular Malaysia, or become the next droupouts in the rubbish bin of history- You are given a chance but Pakatan selangor seems to be following the BN policies, I never supported Mahathir but we didn't have this rubbish body snatching casses. Today we have too many zeolets running around dictating policies. This is not a anti islam or muslim statement- you want to pray its between You and your maker, but when religion is shoved down our throats than beware, we vote you out.
Surprise surprise Here's news for you,

PETALING JAYA, 8 July 2009: There is no avenue for a deceased Muslim convert's next-of-kin to lay claim to his or her estate, as civil laws like the Distribution Act 1958 do not apply to the Muslim deceased, lawyers said.
Instead, the estate goes to the Muslim treasury, Baitulmal, which is meant to distribute the assets among poor Muslims, hence denying the right to inheritance among non-Muslim family members.

SO how does this affect you, well what is there to stop anybody from declaring you converted- you are already dead- Is this the start of an agenda to strip dead people of their properties, forget the claptrap about all the compassion- you talk about compassion but practise none.
written by bn haramjadah, July 08, 2009 17:05:02
Cont'd
http://www.thenutgraph.com/no-right-to-inheritance
written by budakindia, July 08, 2009 18:44:06
They must be proud of robbing his family in broad daylight! Bravo to the judiciary and Majlis Agama Islam. smilies/angry.gif
written by Sutha, July 08, 2009 18:48:36
This is partly why the rest of the world hates terrorists.

They grab the corpse from the family, relatices and loved ones, which they are really not interested in. They want the assets first but had to use the corpse as the excuse.

Even if Mohan Singh wanted to denounce, it not possible because U-TURN NOT ALLOWED "divine" policy. Good trap but not told at time of conversion. Quite a number of people leave for overseas to avoid the sick jabatan and majlis. Not surprising, these god's agents strike when the man is dead and he cannot give the true picture or defend himself. My guess is..... Mohan had tried his level best to renounce but not allowed. Otherwise, why would he have not declared his new faith, practised the muslim way of living, put the muslim name to use. Instead, he lived a sikh throughout. Did he not know that he should be living a muslim if he converted?

Do not blame it on the courts. The Judges are the same kind of muslims. Just take a look at the other earlier cases as to who had dissented. Non muslim judges.
written by Anti Relon, July 08, 2009 19:59:06
Stupif judge!
Stupid mais!
written by Old Man, July 08, 2009 20:02:54
It's very obvious that the living beings are more dangerous than the dead!
written by sara, July 08, 2009 22:33:11
heh. heh muslim won again. I am very happy.The mohan has been open to embrace the holiest of holiest religion,sorry, sorry, 1 and the only one true religion in this world.Have a safe trip to heaven Mohan.BYE bye and thank you for putting your family in such a fantastic and happy moment at your departure.At least i am happy.
to 1six5 and others, I have two stories to tell and a question to ask.
1. I have a lawyer friend who had converted to certain rreligion, so that his firm can escape from some rules by governments that require a partner mustr be a bumi/and of certain religion.He met the day he converted at a bar.He told me over a glass of brandy,the good news(He was enlightened, truly)When I ask him about it, his answer is very straight forward."Who care about what happened to my body, after I die.Let the VULTURE come and take my body and do what ever they want.He added with a chuckle 'hey I get a free burial and my family can save some money'.He lived his life as he was,his new religion existed only in his ID card.
2.You might have heard of this cases when the government make it a policy to change old ID to MYcard.a) a friend showed me his mycard info using ASTRO decoder.He is a pastor but his mycard said differently.b) my own case, when I check, mycard my religion: TIADA AGAMA.aFTER THAT, i started to scan the info in my card and others and I came across many such cases.I still scan mycard until now especially after i hand over mycard to any authorities, I do.In add, I did a SD stating my religion and I never converted and renewing it every 3 years and thinking of making it annually.See all the trouble we have to go through?
my question is:
Do you know the first malaysian that reach the peak of Everest,if you do then you will know what happened to him.He was crippled and depended on his wife.He even needed his wife's assistance to go the loo/toilet.His wife had been taking care of him fulltime.My question is how can he, in his condition, go all the way to the religious office to embrace the new religion as claimed by the authority.While his wife who had been with him denied it.Given the situation, who do you think is right?But all the honorable judge with honor declare that the religious is right . YES in Mlaysia everything boleh! MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!
written by Bandit, July 08, 2009 23:28:00
I being a sikh fully agree with Mais. Bastard Mohan cheated his family. Bastard deserve to be buried and his body eaten by worms rather then to be cremated which is clean and environmentally friendly way for disposing a dead shell. Pick up your 72 virgins and enjoy the rivers of wine in the muslim heaven you ******* Mohan Abdullah.
written by InEffective, July 09, 2009 00:16:11
3rd party man-made laws for religion the defining standard for justice ?
(how about stoning, how about honor killing - justice ?)

Human needs of family and their dignity and beliefs takes precedence over religion.

no judge and no constitution is and should never be above human justice.
(illegitimate authorities making illegitimate judgments on humans)
written by 1six5, July 09, 2009 00:59:36
to sara...
1. who doesnt drink in MALAYSIA? u trying to exclude muslims or just trying to alleviate the whole notion of muslims drinking? nother thing...whoever changes their religion ARE OF THEIR OWN CONSCIENCE AND THEIR OWN ACCORD...how they choose to live life after that has none of our concern may they be crooks to professionals. Its a ruling from its respective laws...respect that...If by permission of uncle zorro, uncle Boom...i might tell u lots more sara. but confidentiality is what we respect...

2. who doesnt have problems with their MYKAD? my grandmother died with its MYKAD stated as TIADA AGAMA....so??? had a proper chinese funerel and no muslim authority came to kacau...yeah...we been bangin on the "dead ppl's musicals" for many a night...yah burning those paraphenalias middle of a road cymbals clanging, etc etc...i think u are too paranoid dear. I'm really disappointed on how ppl think about issues like this...look if u have frens working in hospitals - private or public - look out for the informants (they may be ambulance drivers, morgue receptionists, admins, doctors too - informants get paid too u know that?) of muslim authorities whilst the dead arrive...be frens with them...they wont bite dear...just doin their jobs to inform the muslim authority that a convert just "expired". YES...when grandma died...some relatives were gonna flip knowing TIADA AGAMA was imprinted in the IC....so u dont need SD's for that i can personally assure u.

Still continuing ur last part of ur "CHEONG HEI/beating the bush" question...yes dat guy climbed EVEREST...too bad...let me reflect u that my grandfather passed away in 1985 in KL...he was so scared to meet YAMA that he called in a priest to get christened...n lo n behold...he died as william ingrained on his tombstone in Cheras n we still visit him with his favorite Kopi-O n "yau char Kwey" on All Soul's Day (psst...his neighbors families n kin started bringing in Indian delish the next year till now - so when All Soul's Day remind me to take u pics ya dear sara). No need to crawl as dramatic as described, they just needed to pick up the phone....WOW...i find it hard to buy your story in both ya questions dear sara.

IN SUMMARY
What i'm beginning to pick up from ur lines are not both of your questions...u know what...me thinks its the very 1st sentence u wrote thats what u are trying to convey? (or ur reply to me was distorted as admin tampered with it like mine eh ADMIN???) smilies/grin.gif

I wud like to propose a stand up comedian named RUSSELL PETERS - Red, White and Brown since everyone is so tensed up about all this issue of dead man walking...he takes a jibe at all skins n religion, Jews included!! Go have a download and make full use of our TMNET/Celcom/Maxis Broadbands that we pay n gettin crap services for FREE torrent downloads!!! Better still...those who can withstand heavy religious insults MUST watch Bill Maher's Religulous...May i rest my case now sara?

regards and take care dear
written by Sutha, July 10, 2009 00:50:21
Bn Haramjadah,

Do not blame the pakatan Government. They are insignificant to the strength of the jabatan, majlis, institut, etc. The culprits are the federal government and the usual extremists (social terrorists).

Even the rulers bend in bow.
written by Sutha, July 10, 2009 01:15:53
R020998,

Basically, there is no such thing as moderate muslims. Muslims are basically fundamentalists. If they are not, then they are religious ignorants - ones who do not know their religion well. Very often, we hear that the religion is okay but only the people. If the majority's conduct and the authority's confirmation are the same, can't we take it that that is the religion in practise.

More often than not, it is the strength of the numbers that count. What they did to Mohan Singh could not be done to Mikhail Jackson Abdullah, right? Is somebody going to tell me that Islam in the East is different from Islam in the West?f Mohan Singh wanted to be buried as a Muslim, chances are that he would have told at least one family member or a close relative. His silence from 1992 till death in 2009 shows more likely he did not want to be buried a muslim. His practising of sikh faith is more than evident of Islam's position in his life. He was not a little kid who didn't know what to worship, if he knew to convert.

Even if god appeared to correct the current muslim perception, the muslims will reject it and still preferring the confortable stone-age thinking as they are not capable of change...... except for routine blaring on the loudspeakers which never existed 1400 years ago.
written by parsona, July 10, 2009 14:30:11
165, Jay, r029998,

You only hear what you want to hear. HIS OWN FAMILY SAYS HE HAS NEVER PRACTICED BEING A MUSLIM! Who knows him better than his own family? Do you think JAIS/MAIS knows him better than his own fuggin family? Why are you so freaking desperate to put people into your own concept of heaven? Have you ever thought that you are actually robbing him of a place in sikh heaven (there may or may not be such a thing, but thats besides the point)? If he actually did practise Islam, definately people would realize, like you fasting, going to friday prayers etc. The fact is that he never practiced Islam, so why the heck do you still want to put him into muslim heaven?

Even if he did die a muslim and he was a totally devout muslim, what if he died in a plane crash in the sea? Would your god deny him entry in his heaven just because he wasn't buried right? If your god would really be so anal about that, then I would think twice about revering him. You fanatics do great injustice to the name of Islam. You always want to be perceived as holier than everyone else. You ignore common sense when interpreting laws. You say you respect other religions but yet you outright refuse to listen to other views but your own perverted and corrupted view of your religion. It is you narrow minded fanatics that make people hate your religion. I really hope Allah never forgives you for corrupting his name.
written by Sutha, July 11, 2009 16:22:32
Persona,

I agree to everything you just said.... except one. The part about fanatics doing great injustice to the name of Islam.... Islam itself is about INJUSTICE. So fanatics are doing exactly word for word what that religion preaches. That is why these executives are fan..a..tics !

Even people whom we classify as moderate muslims behave the same when it comes to body snatching. Muslims who are not religious at all in their outlook, support these sick majlis and jabatan. I have learnt of the muslims' conduct in this country and also of the OIC member countries. And I describe them as terrorists, just like their paedophile chief who was terrorising, womanising about 1400 years ago.