Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib: Acceptance, not mere tolerance, vital

Najib: Acceptance, not mere tolerance, vital PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 09:36

(NST) PUTRAJAYA: The 1Malaysia concept with the "people first, performance now" tagline is all about every single Malaysian having the right place under the Malaysian sun, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

"It is not going to be cast in stone or top down because as we go along, we will improvise it. I am willing to listen to input from all levels of society."

Najib said the people could give their views and ideas towards achieving one dream, one people and one nation.

"This is what 1Malaysia is all about. And if we all can strongly feel and understand it, Malaysia will become a stronger nation, more resilient, peaceful and united because we are really together.

"And I want every single Malaysian to feel they have the right place under the Malaysian sun," he said when he welcomed leaders and members of the Association of Wives of Ministers and Deputy Ministers to 'An Afternoon Session with the Prime Minister here yesterday.

Also present were Bakti president Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor who is also his wife, wives of menteris besar and chief ministers and women representatives of state charity organisations.

Najib said there must be a sense of togetherness and belonging among the people, regardless of their colour scheme or religion "because ultimately, we are 1Malaysia, one nation."

He noted that past prime ministers had always emphasised on national unity and ways to preserve it.

"To me, national unity is of paramount importance and the concept will be more effective and meaningful through the participation of every single Malaysian, regardless of race.

"The concept, based on three thrusts, starts with the question of acceptance or mutual respect we should have for one another. All this while, we have been saying we tolerate each other but to me, tolerance is the minimum and not whole-heartedly accepted."

Najib said acceptance was a balanced concept for the country's plural and diversified society. "If we can accept this as a reality, we will see diversity and the different races as an asset, not liability."

There is no country in the world that is so unique like Malaysia. "For instance, we have strategic values like the Malaysian Chinese, who can link us to countries like China or Taiwan and this can translate into beneficial economic relationship."

Rosmah said 1Malaysia would complement existing approaches to enhance national unity and stability.

"It is one concept that can help in achieving national aspirations under the leadership of the sixth Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abdul Razak."

Rosmah said Bakti's programmes and activities in helping the poor and needy, regardless of race, were in line with the concept.

"I hope other charity and welfare bodies will also implement programmes for all the people, be it at the federal or state levels.

"Bakti and state charity bodies will remain active to fulfil our humble mission to be of help to society.

" Our future programmes will continue to target the people, regardless of their ethnic backgrounds, in line with the concept."

written by Trueandfair, July 08, 2009 09:43:11
Using your own very words So far, your actions have been disappointing
written by densemy, July 08, 2009 09:44:16
You can fool some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time. But you can never fool all of the people all of the time
written by densemy, July 08, 2009 09:47:23
"Najib said the people could give their views and ideas towards achieving one dream, one people and one nation."

Its my impression that the people have been telling you for the last 15 months what is there However, you dont seem to be listening. not that of the people
written by budakindia, July 08, 2009 09:58:02
Najib, you're not trying to create mass murderers group right? smilies/grin.gif 1Malaysia sounds like a criminal group!
written by MMhunter, July 08, 2009 10:10:48
Mr PM We will only take you seriously when the judiciary and the police are fully reformed,made free and is independent.I think its also a good idea if Anwar sodomy case is dropped for good.His presence can only strenghten you.He is the best critic you can have.Its critics like Anwar who will see that check and balances of your governments.We are not against BN only against your action.Let there be a two party system for the good of the country and people.Anwar is the right person to have it set up.
written by asguard, July 08, 2009 10:19:28
Full of lies and manipulation... a fine example land of kampung pala being sold off to scrupulous developer which linked to UMNO link companies .... i wonder how many of this kind transactions being carry out across the country... involved malay lands or non-malay lands? Tell what is use 1Malaysia?
written by Hakim Joe, July 08, 2009 10:36:33
The first line says it all. What does “having the right place under the Malaysian sun” means?

“They oppose our conquest of empire, but breathe never so much as a word against the empire of those who eat five times a day and rule over hundreds of millions of colonial subjects. And not only that: they go so far as to place themselves in the service of the rich imperialists, urging them to act against us who are poor, who have only colonies of sand and who are merely struggling to attain for ourselves our rightful place in the sun.” – Mussolini, 1938.

written by InEffective, July 08, 2009 10:47:19
Very risky (and downright foolish) to allow a politician to define vague and purposefully fluid ideas or concepts.

If history has taught well, no society can have a stable durable platform of governance and existence (rights, liberties, freedoms, rules, laws) based on undefined 'strategically ambiguous' approaches.

Otherwise no nation would need constitutions and laws isn't it. ?

Don't let unscrupulous politicians dangle carrots in front of you that can never ever be reached and last. Use you brain.
written by truthbespoken, July 08, 2009 11:00:52
A rightful place under the Malaysian sun can only come about if the composition of the country's administrative composition and machinery is visibly rationalised! It's about sincere implementation of leaders' visions by the different levels of the civil service. Otherwise, whatever positive visions there are, they will just remain pipe-dreams!

Najib, are you prepared to promptly overhaul the lop-sided public system for the 1Malaysian concept to start in the right direction and succeed?
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 11:07:01
Damn, I still don't understand his meaning of 1Malaysia.
How can there be a 1Malaysia if it's not a Malaysia where everyone is equal before man and God and any policy to help the people should be need based ?

If you are a God fearing person, try preaching to us that God is not colour blind.
written by DreamLady, July 08, 2009 12:06:04
Did you all hear the two salesman and saleswoman, screaming at the top of voices trying to sell some old junk to all Malaysians!!! We are not stupid, we prefer something new and decent with good quality to go with the name, not trashy, filthy goods that are meant for the lorry sampah !!!
written by Bigjoe99, July 08, 2009 13:19:46
Go ask High Chapparal resideent whether they feel accepted OR tolerated...
written by cllim123, July 08, 2009 22:45:25
1Malaysia, but 2 sets of laws, one for Umno and one for us. Performance now but delay on the PKFZ report and VK Lingam case. People first but after Umno has feasted on the main course, please see Syabas, Plus, UE, Perimekar, MISC etc.