Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Maids made in Malaysia

Maids made in Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 08 July 2009 08:42

By Resident Wangsa Maju

Both Indonesia and Malaysia will emerge as losers from this maid deal. It is not a win-lose situation nor a win-win situation but a lose-lose situation in the long run.

This overblown maid-abuse issue has shown Indonesia the fast-track to bang Malaysia for the buck. We are really getting banged, being poorly represented by Human Resources Minister Datuk Dr S. Subramaniam who continuously fail to leverage up with Indonesia's Manpower and Trans-migration Minister Erman Suparno in the series of negotiations taking place at the present moment. Both ministers are doing a bad job- one banging, banging and banging; the other receiving to the pulp, both not thinking right. Dr Subra, are you sore already.

1) The results of the Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC) survey on Malaysians willing to pay RM700 monthly salary for a maid- which part of the population did the MTUC survey which represented the Malaysian people? RM700 is 155% of the current monthly salary of an average maid from Indonesia. To the reader I would like to pose a question- if you are a salaried worker and if your boss increases your salary by 50% today would his expectations on your work performance increase too? What is Subra trying to say here.

2) Mr. Erman Suparno mentions that “Being trained or untrained is irrelevant. The question is what are the qualifications required by employers for a domestic servant?"
Of course training matters la. Training is essential in every job ladey.
Being trained is the utmost qualification a domestic maid could have (whoops, the word 'servant' is kinda degrading) and nothing else. It does matter when coming to doing the job right and some training ensures that accidents do not happen. Even in factories employers prevent industrial accidents by repetitive safety training, so what about our homes. You wouldn't want cooking gas explosions nor hot-water scalded babies do you.

3)Eh, we are talking about minimum maid wages, but what about minimum productivity and efficiency levels? If expectations do not match up, coupled with higher wages, will this frustrate potential employers even more and lead to increased maid abuse cases?

Read more at: http://wangsamajuformalaysia.blogspot.com/2009/07/maids-made-in-malaysia.html

written by PRman, July 08, 2009 08:48:34
I would say just import the Thailand or China maids/workers instead of Indonesia should they continue to push us to this extent. The Indonesia maid's quality in Malaysia are mostly nothing to shout about. They need to be trained and monitored constantly, yet we hear horror stories of what they did to the employers. I would not be willing to pay a RM700 per month for Indon maid, unless the quality is GUARANTEED!
written by freerpk, July 08, 2009 08:52:00
Hi yah, the 50% is for the "hardship" like waking up at 3 am to wash boss car, then take dog for morning walk, sleep on the floor......
written by NSTPravda, July 08, 2009 08:53:49
Maids made in Malaysia

... and at the rate we are progressing backward, we'd soon all be maids made in Malaysia for export.
Semua-nya OK!
Rasuah sayang eh!
written by Trueandfair, July 08, 2009 08:58:09
If possible, it is best to do without maids, it will help our future generations to learn and grow - I have seen many children in SIngapore and Malaysia who don't even know how to wipe their asses or flush the toilets without the maid - come on ... !!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Proarte, July 08, 2009 09:06:08
Resident Wangsa Maju represents the 'Ugly Malaysian'. If this poor excuse of a human being is reflective of the mindset of the middle classes in Malaysia, no wonder Malaysia is in such a state of moral decrepitude!.

It is not BN but US who is the problem. We get the government we deserve.
written by ksauyong, July 08, 2009 09:24:43
Training is a must.
I have had a maid who defecated in the drainage hole in the bathroom, because she did not know how to use the toilet.
Most maids that I have employed do not have any training at all. But the last one had some training and there is a whole lot of difference. I would not mind paying RM700/- per month for such a maid and I did.
written by mikewang, July 08, 2009 09:31:38
RM700 does not include other charges to bring the maids over and to send them back.
Not included too, are the room and board charges which can add another RM400~500 to the bill.

Employers bringing Asean workers to work in factories here are getting a better deal.
They need not pay anything out front to get those workers.
Even the levy paid to the government for those workers may be deducted from their pay.
Why is required of them is to prepare a ticket to return the workers to their home country after the completion of contract which is what a foreign maid in this country gets anyway.
written by talk2stop, July 08, 2009 09:32:38
Whatever the problem, the way Malaysia is going very soon Malaysians will be heading to Indonesia for jobs. Indonesia and Vietnam are catching up to Malaysia's standard for the last 3 years and appear accelerating if not stalling. Malaysia need to look for maids elsewhere or worse be a maid. Time will tell.
written by budakindia, July 08, 2009 10:06:16
How about antagonizing Ng Yen Yen by importing maids from China? smilies/grin.gif I'm sure she felt threatened! Ahahahaha! smilies/grin.gif
written by Jos, July 08, 2009 16:04:32
Please hire Monkey in the forest If you want to recruit maids with lower salary .. Hehehehe

Malaysia Boleh!
written by cheekhiaw, July 09, 2009 00:06:23
Malaysian maids will not work out not because their salary will be much higher.

But some maid may just end up claiming that they are bumiputeris and should be the tuans of the house of their employers, and the latter are just squatters!!

written by asiana888, July 09, 2009 00:12:01
WHAT???!!! RM 700 per month for Indonesian maids. Hmmmm ..... what;s the rationale for the huge increase. Like that we better ask for Chinese maids from China. Millions will come to work in Malaysia for RM 500 per month!!!!