Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PKR readies 5,000-people rally tomorrow

PKR readies 5,000-people rally tomorrow PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 16:10

Malaysia's opposition said it will mount a rally of thousands of black-clad supporters Wednesday outside the court where leader Anwar Ibrahim is to go on trial for sodomy.

Shamsul Iskandar Mohammad Akin, youth chief of Anwar's Keadilan party, said he was aiming to gather 5,000 supporters for a march to the court complex, despite warnings from the government against creating a disturbance.

"We want to have a gathering to show our support for Anwar and to tell the world that these allegations made against him are false and baseless," he told AFP Tuesday.

"The government is attacking him because they do not want to see his reform agenda for Malaysia to succeed," he said.

Vendetta against Anwar

Anwar, a former deputy premier who was sacked and jailed on separate sodomy and corruption charges a decade ago, has rejected the new allegations made by a former aide as a conspiracy to derail his plan to topple the government.

anwar-saiful-3.gifIn 2004 the earlier sodomy conviction was overturned, allowing Anwar to go free after six years in jail and build an opposition alliance which won a third of parliamentary seats last year in an unprecedented performance.

"Many of the people who were responsible for what happened to Anwar in 1998 are still in power and are involved in this case and are carrying out their vendetta against him," Shamsul said

Home Minister Hishammuddin Hussein has reportedly warned protesters not to create a disturbance at the Kuala Lumpur court complex where the trial will open on Wednesday.

"If they create chaos and go against the law (to) disrupt security and the judiciary, the authorities will certainly react," he said according to news website Malaysiakini.

Police are ready

Police were tight-lipped on the number of personnel to be deployed at the court, and whether they would draft in the riot police and water cannon which have been deployed at other politically sensitive trials.

"As long as things are peaceful, there should be no issue," deputy national police chief Ismail Omar told AFP.

"We are prepared for the situation," he said, declining to elaborate on the size of the police presence.

However, other officials said police would begin deploying around the building before dawn on Wednesday, and that roadblocks would be set up around the complex.

Anwar's first conviction triggered massive protests and complaints from home and abroad that the trial was politically motivated, after he reputedly fell out of favour with then-premier Mahathir Mohamad. - AFP

written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 16:19:13
Wow, now the police have to be extra careful not to arrest the lawyers and judges who are also wearing BLACK - actually, best camofluge for tomorrow is to dress up as lawyers - confuse the hell out of the "UMNO-enforcers". It would be funny if AG Ghani Patil is "arrested" hahaha .... smilies/grin.gif
written by malsia1206, July 07, 2009 16:21:45
Wear black, yellow or white makes no difference. The CRUCIAL determining factor lies with the hands of all conscious self-righteous Malaysian voters. And now it starts with Manek Urai. It also makes no difference wjether you rae a Malay, Chines or Indian or whatever. Think yourself as a MALAYSIAN. Rally together for a proper cause. Vote out Barisan. Kick out Barisan. They had deceived the rakyat for far too many years. Their style of politics had polluted the Judiciary, AG Chambers, Police, MACC, EC and what-have-you. Even if the Pakatan Government is unstable and inexperienced, let's wipe out Barisan from the Malaysian landscape once and for all.
written by Kathy, July 07, 2009 16:27:55
The same 5000 garnered to applaud an UMNO politician will be given safe passage. smilies/angry.gif
written by fireduck, July 07, 2009 16:42:00
"As long as things are peaceful, there should be no issue," deputy national police chief Ismail Omar told AFP.

So far, whatever rakyat's gathering and marches there were these few years, have all been peaceful. But for this warning (veiled threat) to be issued, the rakyat has to be extra vigilant to plants among them who will be the instigators and the cinders that try to ignite chaos. Do not be tempted by these mobster-like undercover cops into any kind of reaction. Just walk away from them.
written by storm62, July 07, 2009 17:18:33
"As long as things are peaceful, there should be no issue," deputy national police chief Ismail Omar told AFP

can we trust his words?

- arrested for wearing black.
- arrested for having a peaceful breakfast.
- arrested for handing a Raya card.
- arrested for peaceful candle light vigil.

bagi permit, last minute tarik balik. peaceful dinners rejected, what cock is this bugger talking about? they should be protecting the crowd and traffic, so that the people can proceed to court safely. that's what they are paid for. just proof your worth wahai anggota2 polis.
written by Raymond, July 07, 2009 17:53:32
I guess Anwar is going back to jail. In this crayy judiciary when UMNO finds a person guilty via it's own prosection, evidence creation, and write the book on the judgemet, I guess Anwar will not have much of a chance. Maybe Zaid can be a suitable replacement as opposition leader.
written by clarity, July 07, 2009 18:08:11
The govt can say follow the law but they are the first to manipulate the law. Otherwise how can this trial be proceeding when two hospitals have certified that there was no sodomy. And why only now they amend the legislation so that they can force Anwar to give a sample of his blood? If they can manipulate the law tgis way, can you imagine what they can do with the blood sample? It will be great if 10000 protestors turn up!
written by eloofk, July 07, 2009 21:18:40
Be fore-warned that UMNO youth will send infiltrators into the rally ranks n start to inflame a peaceful gathering into provoking the police to use water-cannons to break up the rally.
written by shamadz72, July 07, 2009 21:52:23
3,000 police in Manik Urai, a few thousand more at KL high court, so when are they going to do their work of catching criminals? I guess christmas do comes early for criminals here in Malaysia smilies/smiley.gif

written by Mustapha Kamal, July 07, 2009 21:53:22
I witnessed how an innocent man and his good name were dragged through the septic tanks of Malaysia's judiciary and political leadership ten years ago. Now I am supposed to believe that a 62 year old man, with a dicky back caused by a horrific beating whilst in custody, which could only have been authorised by one person, being accused of committing sodomy against a hulking 20 year old ? I bet this man couldn't even raise a storm in a tea cup even if he wanted to. Ten years ago, the authorities weren't even sure, whether he was a raving sex maniac or a rampant homosexual. Shame on you, all of you, who have stooped to the level of pigs in the cesspit of Malaysian Ringgit, because that's what it's all about.
written by Mustapha Kamal, July 07, 2009 22:00:30
PS-Sorry PIGS for insulting your species. These creatures I am talking about, cannot even hold up their heads when side by side with you guys ! Guess its' Kamunting for me, eh ?
written by malsia1206, July 07, 2009 22:53:51
Why vote for UMNO even if you do not like PAS Youth? The simple solution is just do not cast your vote at all in such a case. Do we want to have another Khir Toyo in the making? Or Ahmad Ismail? Use your head, not your heart.
written by Wakeupmsia, July 07, 2009 23:45:40
Temperature Rising - Either way, the demise of UMNO/BN seems a stonethrow away. UMNO will be scorned by the International communities. Alantuya is bad enough, now this fabrication.
written by InEffective, July 08, 2009 00:46:43

Sham trials discredit this nation, her leadership, and all her peoples.

The malaysian peoples will pay the consequence of this political persecution, and will become enduring long-lasting victims.

investors will never trust their moneys where arbitration and judgments can bought and sold, rakyat will pay for missed employment opportunities, and even worse - our own people have lost their hope and belief in malaysia and their futures.