Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Why English should not be taught in Bahasa Malaysia

Why English should not be taught in Bahasa Malaysia PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 15:20

There is currently a brouhaha going on about the proposed teaching of Science and Maths in English. Some would like these two subjects to be taught in Bahasa Malaysia. I am not too concerned about Science and Maths. I am more worried about English. I feel English should no longer be taught in Bahasa Malaysia.

And why do I think that English should not be taught in Bahasa Malaysia? Well, maybe this circular from one of Malaysia’s leading universities would explain everything.

4th UiTM INTERNATIONAL SPORTS FIESTA
19 – 23 November 2009 FUTSAL-RUGBY 7- TENPIN BOWLING-BADMINTON

Dear Sport Friends,

Regarding about the global issue H1N1 happens around the world, sadly to be informing that our UiTM International Sports Fiesta will be postponing to 19-23 November 2009.

For all teams which have been confirm to participate in our events, we have to say sorry for this announcements and our Ministry of Higher Education and Ministry of Health also advise to us to change the date for this current situation.

By the date have been confirm incoming this November hopefully your teams still can participate in our event and don’t hesitate to contact us for further information.

And again, we would like to say sorry about the date change for the sake of our health among us.

See you in this November at UiTM Malaysia!!

Mr. Mustaza Ahmad
Director
Sports Centre
Universiti Teknologi MARA
Malaysia

By the way, I have a friend who ensures that his kids say their prayers every night before they go to bed and one night be peeped into the kids’ room and overheard his seven-year old son utter this prayer:

Oh, and by the way Lord, I also wish our Wakil Rakyat would be struck down by a sickness or knocked down by a car. I know, Lord, it is not very nice to wish for someone’s death but I have been told that it is okay to sacrifice one’s life if it is for the sake of the entire community. I mean, Lord, that is what soldiers do everyday. They die so that the rest of the people can have a good life.

If our Wakil Rakyat were to die then there would be a by-election in our constituency. That would mean the government would spend hundreds of millions to upgrade the roads in our neighbourhood. Yesterday, I hit a huge hole in the road and fell down. I not only hurt my knee and elbow but my bicycle is now destroyed.

I heard my dad say that the residents have been complaining for more than a year but the government still did nothing about the bad roads while our neighbour said that unless there is a by-election then don’t hope for anything to be done. So, if our Wakil Rakyat were to die, then there would be a by-election called and our roads would immediately be upgraded.

My dad said he is not prepared to buy me a new bicycle because the economy is very bad and he does not have the money to spend on such things. But if there is a by-election then the government will give out free bicycles to all the kids and I will then get the new bicycle that my dad can’t afford to buy.

Furthermore, my dad’s car has been stuck in the garage for the last three months because the road tax has expired and he can’t afford to renew it. So we now have to take a bus to go to town. If there is a by-election then the government will hand out RM1,000 ang pows and with this money my dad will be able to renew his road tax. 

Thank you, Lord, and I hope my wish is not too personal. I will talk to you tomorrow night, Lord, but in the meantime maybe you can see what you can do about the Wakil Rakyat thing that I wished for.

Comments (132)Add Comment
written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 15:28:09
Sad to say, I tend to agree with the little girl's wish - the best service that BN wakil rakyat can do for its constituents is TO DIE and then we have a by-election and all sort of "goodies" (bribes) will be showered upon the area by all ministeries - so my dear wakil rakyat, please die, as a compensation, I hope you go to HEaven for one good deed for the people. smilies/grin.gif
agree 430
written by joseph81, July 07, 2009 15:33:28
Haha....his grammer was totally out, luckily he didn't spell english in BM
agree 283
written by Fight4Justice, July 07, 2009 15:33:42
This is the quality of our education system. I have tried to spend my weekends by attending one of our 'Prestigious' Universities courses on a part time basis but had to quit after 3 weeks as I was actually teaching the tutors the answers to the questions they hand out. I did not believe the appalling state of education we have here until I experienced it myself. And it is not very nice being lectured by lecturers looking like they came to work in the backyard. At least use shoes instead of slippers for god's sake!
agree 294
written by chc, July 07, 2009 15:48:51
holy cow....i am a plumber with only a form five SPM education but i am definitely and absolutely sure that i can write a more grammatically correct letter than the so called uitm's director of sports. malaysia boleh
agree 424
written by thegodfather, July 07, 2009 15:50:41
Mr Mustaza Ahmad,

Go learn how to write proper English before you spoil our country's name further. How sad.
agree 329
written by Loh, July 07, 2009 15:51:38
That circular does communicate except that the reader will take longer to understand. That would make those who are used to English grammar slow down their reading, and Malaysians trained in BM grammar can catch up.

The Education ministers since Rahman Yakub had foresight. Isn’t the UMNO policy to make others slow downs so that Malays can catch up. They have succeeded in using the Malaysianized English to achieve the objective.

Malaysian Education system is one-the-fool.
agree 193
written by mick_err_stan, July 07, 2009 15:54:23
En.Mustaza Ahmad is thinking in Bahasa but writing in English. This will be the outcome. I have a colleague who graduated from Uni TAR with the same dilemma of phrasing sentences in Chinese but penned in English.
agree 143
written by Anti Relon, July 07, 2009 15:54:37
Can we have more letters from Mr. Mustaza Ahmad, Director, Sports Centre, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia, please? Please!!!
Can you publish more letters / articles of this kind? It is absolutely fantastic.
One puzzling issue Joseph81. How do you spell English in BM. Universiti Teknologi?
Thank you RPK, you made my day.
agree 128
written by krising1, July 07, 2009 16:02:04
Sorry we cannot let the rural Malays learn English. Then they will become clever and see through the UMNOputra deceits. English education is only for the UMNOputra and rich folks' children in foreign unviversities.
agree 173
written by ibabonma, July 07, 2009 16:04:50
Very soon, Mustaza Ahmad will be sacked or transferred. In the first place, why must you issue the circular letter in English?
written by Milo, July 07, 2009 16:08:51
Maybe the only way left to improve our english is to teach Bahasa Malaysia in English!
written by Wisdom above, July 07, 2009 16:09:01
Many years ago, can you remember a batch of 'government sponsored students' allowed to go to UK to pursue Tertiary education after they failed their minimum requirement in a single English paper for entry to UK Universities ?

It was reported in the Main Media but it was later hush up ?
All just pretend it did not happen at all ! Treat it as just another un-questionable policy decision from the top ?
written by nanakassim, July 07, 2009 16:10:17
Dear Mustaza Ahmad,
Here in Elephant Stone, contractors are happy becourse there will have erection after People Agent from BN leave this world yesterday. Government will give contract to build concrete building. So I want to start semen production before erection. Do you have any degree cause or related inter-course for this production? Thank you
agree 124
written by teo siew chin, July 07, 2009 16:15:40
aiyo, this is direct translation from BM to English lah!
it's astounding a university student write as such but i truly sympathise these victims of a crap edu system.
parents should DEMAND a revamp of the system NOW!
written by temenggong, July 07, 2009 16:16:56
nanakassim, smilies/grin.gif
written by varvoom, July 07, 2009 16:17:32
My annoying experience when talking with some Malay acquaintances, especially our servants (little napoleon to them) working in government offices is when I speak to them in English they reply in Malay.
written by Oscar Winner, July 07, 2009 16:17:39
I chuckled when I read the title. After reading the article, i felt sorry for Mr. Mus and the wakil rakyat (must be BN one la), the seven year old boy and his dad. Somehow, I am delighted to learn that even kids know the goodies they will get when there is by-election.

I think nationalists and racist UMNO want BM to be taught, if possible, in English. You see, they want to make BM an international language, haven't you heard?
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 07, 2009 16:27:48
Must be the two Muhammads in his name type of Inglish for he speaky very gud Inglishlah.

Shame to UiTM!

In the 60's Teachers' Training colleges students were taught (or rather) directed to use the direct aural-oral approach method in the teaching of English as a second language. We were told that there should not be any translation method. It simply meant that English should be the medium of instruction when teaching English. It put that into practice and proved successful in uplifting the standard of English in a Chinese school way back in Grik. In the Standard Five Evaluation Examination English overtook Chinese Language in percentages of passes.I was able to communicate with my pupils in English inside and outside school even though sometimes my pupils came with broken English. I remained in an ulu school ( a curfew prone area) for eight years just because of the pleasure of achieving my objectives. I applied for transfer the moment the 'Board of Governors' and the headmaster made me to teach Bahasa Malaysia since I had succeeded in uplifting English. Their argument was logical but I got fed-up.

Nowadays, teachers are told to use the translation method. The argument is why waste time trying to persuade or rather force the pupils to understand English in its own language when it can be done in Malay? Well! The result is perhaps the UiTM's circular.
written by Saint, July 07, 2009 16:30:02
Thanks RPK. I had a good laugh on reading both articles, but for different reasons.
written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 16:34:54
VARVOOM,

Got a trick for you - only speak to civil servants in Malay, no matter how bad/broken your BM - they will automatically switch over to English, even the Ustaz insists on speaking to me in BM when I do that to them !! At least, you understand them and you can watch them cringe when you mutilate BM to talk to them
written by streamleaf, July 07, 2009 16:37:29
Gosh, that is an INTERNATIONAL event.....
That email must have reached the mailbox of our friends in the neighbouring countries....
It will certainly give them a good laugh, but a shame to us... smilies/cry.gif
written by Justice Bao, July 07, 2009 16:40:59
Hey, the problem is that if he write something with good grammar, the UiTM students will not understand. So he has to write something when the student can used direct translation into BM, this way the will understand all the points perfectly.

This is a problem between lecturers and students
written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 16:49:22
My favourite all-time BM-English literal translation is: LET'S GO TOGETHER-GETHER (Mari pergi bersama-sama) when said by the Malay schoolgirls smilies/grin.gif I always smile when I think of it, coz the first time I heard it, it blew my mind !! smilies/grin.gif Malaysia, you are wonderful and unique - don't let anyone change your wonderful MANGLISH !!
written by malgal, July 07, 2009 16:51:49
i think the praying child's english is much higher than the sports director's. maybe he should learn to pray.
written by 1351, July 07, 2009 16:51:51
It is heartwarming the experience you had IbnAbdHalim, staying 8 years to teach in a forsaken locale. Majority of teachers nowadays don't have that in them, uninspired in their methods. Worst still when we consider the many who want to teach, aren't able to while those who want nothing to do with education, are force to make a vocation out of teaching.

Just yesterday I was out in alarm when I found a bloggers posting @ Perakexpress wanting in both BM and English. A new word I came across ie. 'kondisi' for 'condition' had me up in arms.

I asked, what are language purist not doing anything about (I term) fashionable flip flop of English to BM ? Imagine 'kondisi' equates to 'condition', so what next I wonder !

Regards all
written by carribeanking7, July 07, 2009 17:05:27
Dear Pete ,

Hilarious, allow me to share a joke I received by email (author unknown) that also illustrates the point
"Why English should not be taught in Bahasa Malaysia" or for that matter "Why Bahasa Malaysia should not be taught in English"

Breaking up letter.
Timah wanted to break up with her Caucasian boyfriend so she wrote him a letter

Hi,

My motive write dis letter to giv know u something. I want to CUT CONNECTION us. I saw u PLAY WOOD THREE in front my eyes. So, I break connection to PULL MY BODY from dis luv. I hav think about dis very COOK-COOK. I know I CLAP 1 HAND only. I don trust u again! U are really CROCDILE LAND! I don want u to PLAY-PLAY with my LIVER. I hav been crying until no more eye water. I don want BANANA TO FRUIT 2 TIMES. SAFE WALK!

The true,

Timah

Translation of CAPS

CUT CONNECTION - PUTUS HUBUNGAN
PLAY WOOD THREE - MAIN KAYU TIGA
PULL MY BODY - TARIK DIRI
COOK-COOK - MASAK-MASAK
CLAP 1 HAND - TEPUK SEBELAH TANGAN
CROCDILE LAND - BUAYA DARAT
BANANA TO FRUIT 2 TIMES - PISANG MASAK 2 KALI
SAFE WALK - SELAMAT JALAN

We all can forgive Timah I suppose, but I am shocked at the way Mustaza Ahmad ( a sports center Director) writes, and he signs of the letter
as Mr.Mustaza Ahmad, who the heck signs of as "Mr" ? I wonder if he goes around introducing himself " Hello , I am Mister Ahmad".

written by SBennit, July 07, 2009 17:08:53
Actually for Malaysian standard, Mr Mustaza's english is not too bad, I've read worse. With Mr Mustaza's level of english, 30 years ago, he may be qualified to work as a peon.

Pick up any Institute of Engineers Malaysia (IEM) publications, and the standard of english is similar to Mr Mustaza's.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by born2reign, July 07, 2009 17:08:59
Hahahaha!

Didn't Mahathir say something about Malays inbreeding? Now we know where the breeding ground is - UiTM!!

Anyway you should know that those Chinese teachers with good command of English during those GCE years were not promoted, instead the Mara Malay graduates who speaks broken Inggelis like Mustafa Ahmad were given fat promotions. Soon our corporations will have to hire Phillipinos to take over our managerial jobs! And our Malay students can work as maids in Phillippines. Yeah!
written by thegodfather, July 07, 2009 17:10:34
Someone should collect letters, articles and talks in English by our so-called local intellectuals (cases in point are the hilarious book on law written by 2 law lecturers some time back, the write-up in the papers on some local royalty by a university staff, the teleconversation of our former Home Minister with Al Jazeera TV, etc) and compile them into a book. I'm sure it will be a runaway bestseller on the humour list.
written by sydput, July 07, 2009 17:14:12
Best MP is a dead MP.
UiTM was previously ITM where all the malay rejects ends up. Unlike other universities, ITM was based on US education system(probably based on university of harlem) and religion never caught on with students, unlike say, UKM.
written by qwerty, July 07, 2009 17:26:28
Another sterling example...

ADVERTORIAL
New Straits Times
23 August 2008, page 43

HONORARY DEGREE AWARD
7TH CONVOCATION CEREMONY UNIVERSITY TUN HUSSEIN ONN MALAYSIA
TO
YANG AMAT MULIA RAJA ZARITH SOFIAH BINTI ALMARHUM
SULTAN IDRIS AL-MUTAWAKIL ALALLAHI SHAH
D.K.II, S.P.M.J., S.P.C.M.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah binti Almarhum Sultan Idris Al-Mutawakil Alallahi Shah has born on 14th of August 1959 in Hospital Batu Gajah, Perak. Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith is a third son to Duli Yang Maha Mulia Paduka Seri Sultan Perak Darul Ridzwan and Duli Yang Maha Mulia Raja Mazuwin binti almarhum Raja Arif Shah.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah get early education in Sekolah Rendah Jenis Kebangsaan Datin Khadijah Kuala Kangsar in the state his birthplace namely in Perak. After end of the education in primary school, Yang Amat Mulia continue the education to form one at Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Raja Perempuan Kalsom Kuala Kangsar, Perak.

In the month of September 1972, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah have set forth to England for further education in Chaltenham Ladies College, Gloucestershire to form six. Then, Yang Amat Mulia continue learning it in Davies College London in September 1977 and his following year in receive enter to Somerville College, London after having passed Oxford Entrance Examination.

After graduated at Oxford University with Bachelor of Art in June 1983 and follow the traditional University of Oxford, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith will receive Master of Art after three years in 1986. Yang Amat Mulia also is a linguist follow several courses including language Mandarin at the tertiary level, French and Italy language.

As his father, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah is a person that talented in picture arts. Refinement of soul, Yang Amat Mulia always watching natural beauty environment immortalize in the form photograph and painting to make look and reference. Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith performance become guide to deliver the message education to general public. Yang Amat Mulia concern on women and natural world and it custody aspect in become deep theme in painting.

Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah comply have interest profoundest field documentation. Apart from producing book, Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith doubled up guest writer in the The New Straits Times newspapers and in personal column it “Mind Matters” in The Star newspaper. Besides writing, Yang Amat Mulia comply active presenting a working paper at the conference national level and international.

Education from her father and mother over concern to the people, make Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah likes engaged in voluntary activities about as Deputy President of Majlis Wanita Johor (ROSE), Chief of Persatuan Pandu Puteri Malaysia Johor branch, Chairman of Nationalistic Community Service Red Crescent Malaysia, Patron of Spastic Children School in Johor Bahru, Patron Rotary Club of Tebrau Foundation, Advisor of Traditional Arts School International in London and become Pro Chancellor University Technology Malaysia (UTM) and becomen Royal Felllow Faculty of Language and Linguistic University Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

As the appreciation towards her contributions of ideas and efforts in the development of education in Malaysia, Chancellor of University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Duli Yang Amat Mulia Tunku lbrahim lsmail lbni Sultan lskandar, Tunku Mahkota Johor, has approbation to presented the awards to Yang Amat Mulia Raja Zarith Sofiah binti Almarhum Sultan Idris Al-Mutawakil Alallahi Shah the Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy in Education at 7th Convocation Ceremony of University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia in this year. Congratulation from us, University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia members.
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 17:31:37
Perhaps Mr. Mustaza Ahmad used a Malay->English translation program to come out with that hilarious piece. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by mawi, July 07, 2009 17:36:35
But other than in B. Malaysia, English has also been taught in Japanese, French, Danish and yes, even Mandarin and if you see the way English is presented in these language, the example given above looks superb.

If you ask me. don't worry about it, no big deal, we are not Englishmen, so what is the issue. My worry speaking English , in American. Difficult to understand . My next worry is when the Englishmen speaks English in Bahasa Malaysia. That puts us to the dung level.
written by panca, July 07, 2009 17:49:30
This was related to me by an accountant friend many years ago. One day he was particularly disturbed by his primary 2 kid continuous mantra-like babbling of the adjective comparative and superlative. It started with something like, big bigger and biggest and along came the unimaginable. He was too shocked when he realised one of the adjective was indeed wrong after he went to school to observe the english session class and how they were taught by their 'english language teacher'. Only then he knew it was the teacher that had the students mixed up and they were all having a chorus of "mantra chanting", it went like...'bad badder baddest, good gooder and goodest!

So I guess if this go unchecked, we would have another spikin inglish rehabilitation extra classes to unlearn the kids!

Just like Mustaza wrote 'good' in english, there are others around him probably write gooder english and among all, there will be one writing goodest english!

Goodest me!
written by arazak, July 07, 2009 17:51:44
As you enter the main gate of the extended Shah Alam main campus you will see a huge signboard stating, "YOU ARE IN THE HIGHER ACHIVER TERRITORY".

I was thinking. . ., high achiever my foot!
written by Taufique, July 07, 2009 18:01:12

I thank you for this article. My elderly father had a great laugh as I was reading it out to him. You made his day, and mine. smilies/smiley.gif
written by rocky, July 07, 2009 18:04:01
UiTM is class world ok. smilies/wink.gif Just talk to the VC.
written by johnT, July 07, 2009 18:07:09
I prefer to learn english from Phua Chu Kang, Simple and easy to understand lar.
written by dumbfounded, July 07, 2009 18:16:47
Whoa.. and this is a Director from a university. Tsk tsk tsk..
written by yapsir, July 07, 2009 18:47:10
thanks for making my day easy, thanks for helping me to becareful with my english,
bahasa or english?
written by ATSaari, July 07, 2009 18:59:18
Good God! and this is from UiTM, the Melayu highly and all mighty institution for higher learning.
written by cheemengwong, July 07, 2009 19:25:47
Dear Mustaza Ahamd...

I've a penile malfunction after I read this article by RPK "Do not teach English in Bahasa Malaysia". It became worst after I digested what RPK meant and your England language is just horrible.

If your standard of England qulifies you to be the Sports Director of UiTM, then my 15 years old daughter can be the Director for the English department in UiTM lah.

By the way, my penile malfunction will last for sometime and I hope you do not write anymore because if you do, my penile malfunction will degrade to a total paralysis.

Come on Ahmad, no shame kah?
written by Daryl, July 07, 2009 19:44:52
Do they give out Playstation 3 or Wii game console during by election? I don't mind to receive one. Since they don't really care about how they spend the tax money and the Election Commission didn't bother to investigate irregularity we want our money back.
written by diehard, July 07, 2009 19:48:58
since singapore have singlish then malaysia should have bahasaglish......
written by toni, July 07, 2009 20:21:40
We were supposed to be the best in all of Asia , after India !

Now we are a little better than the Eskimo ?
written by lawa88, July 07, 2009 20:21:56
alamak, ini maciam gua punya malu busat; busat kemaluan. Inglish vely ezy languagee.
Aku malu mengaku Melayu jika ini taraf Bahasa Inggeris... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by KKchan, July 07, 2009 20:25:53
UiTM a leading university? Give me a break. That's what you get if you only do not have an open admission policy. Am I surprised at the standard of English? Hardly.
written by Semut Jantan, July 07, 2009 20:38:37
I got a better SPM result than my buddy who went on to UTM (then) based on his Bumi status; I was left out in the cold. My friend even got pocket money "studying" for the 'government', apparently not for his own; he did a favour for the gomen. He got a job 'waiting' for him when he 'graduated', courtesy of gomen. Meanwhile, I struggled on my own, worked part-time, studied part-time. It took me almost 6 years to complete a four-year course.

The rest is history.
written by shiokguy, July 07, 2009 20:48:28
The worst is the teachers in the school are translating directly from BM to English! For example "7 push 4 equal to?"

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...ation.html

I am also a by-product of our education system and sadly my English also suck!

written by sara, July 07, 2009 20:53:07
It is wrong to wish for another human being to die.But like the small girl, it is better to sacrifice a person than a village.So MY PRAYER will go something like this."Almighty God, all loving and merciful, please take and keep these 2 sons of the soil named MUKHRIZ MAHATHIR AND MOKHZANI MAHATHIR with you now and forever.Please have mercy on us the 27 millions people of Malaysia.With these 2 loving sons be with you in your loving care, THE FATHER,who has the ambition to make his son the Prime Minister will stop interfering in the other people's life.Have mercy on us, THE loving god, please spare us from another dictator with Mahathir blood in him.AMEN.
written by alarcarte, July 07, 2009 20:57:07
Heh, Heh, I did not know the English written by Mustaza UiTM is so damn "teruk" !! I failed my English paper in Senior Cambridge "O" levels, but I think I can write that kind of English by Mustaza when I was in Form One!

Nevertheless we should award him a distinction in English Language under the present system.

written by abbey, July 07, 2009 21:02:25
What if Mr Mustaza also teaches English part-time at UiTM. God forbid !
written by Kuku Burung, July 07, 2009 21:21:13
I was told by a friend who did a computer repair for the UiTM,that they actually use a translation software to translate BM to English. He said very few people that he met in UiTM know English or speak English. The only persons that who speak English are English language lecturers.
written by Ocassey, July 07, 2009 21:59:12
Very reflective of the end products of our education system. Even BM remains to be a desired national language after 1963 till now.We had Riau, then we have Baku. Look at the system used to spell out the words in the singular and plural forms...TWIN WORDS WITH A HYPHEN IN BETWEEN. I used to have a good laught with my children whenever so many VVIP ministers used "....mereka-mereka.... " when refering to more than one person like in "they". Anyway all the races in the nation are going to suffer further deterioration in the QUEEN'S ENGLISH on a person to person basis because of the quality of English subtitles used in most pirated DVDs. To those who are already OK in the English Language , well , they can afford to just ignore the subtitles, but to the bigger majority...... well .... KAPUT, right. Look also how our Min. of Edu. and the Cabinet handle the teaching of the English Language....they dare not do the right thing all the time !
written by nubie, July 07, 2009 22:07:16
Saya fikir kalau hendak buat sesuatu perkara biarlah betul betul kalau tidak setengah tong aje atau akhirnya benda yang tidak bermutu saja yang dikeluarkan. Minda penjajah tu kalau baik - saya ikut!!
written by Adrian, July 07, 2009 22:31:27
People,

poke fun at Mustaza Ahmad while you can. He is probably the product of our edu system. There are more Mustaza ahmad in the making from local universities. Check it out yourselves, and experience--- they are around you.

To improve the English standard for Malaysia pupils - for goodness sake, get some AngMo from UK lah.
written by johnT, July 07, 2009 22:38:00
Something is wrong about you Pete. Very very wrong. You did not touch any politic article these few days. Seems like you are tired or very very dissapointed.
written by C360, July 07, 2009 22:43:56
Ha ha .. nice one RPK

By the tone and direction of your article .. soon, these fellas wont be able to tell the difference between English and Bahasa Malaysia ..

And once that is "achieved", Malaysia will accuse the rest of the world (espeically the English/UK) for stealing (pirating) from Bahasa Malaysia to form the English language ..

Hah .. really good one ..
written by trublumalaysian, July 07, 2009 22:47:00
Another sterling example...

adVERTORIAL
New Straits Times
23 August 2008, page 43

HONORARY DEGREE AWARD
7TH CONVOCATION CEREMONY UNIVERSITY TUN HUSSEIN ONN MALAYSIA
TO
YANG AMAT MULIA RAJA ZARITH SOFIAH BINTI ALMARHUM
SULTAN IDRIS AL-MUTAWAKIL ALALLAHI SHAH
D.K.II, S.P.M.J., S.P.C.M.

and following article above referred ...

Wow! I bet this guy Mustaza Ahmad is definitely PSD scholar. Not enuff' qualifications but still went overseas; suck some eggs and became Director of sports.

MALAYSIA BOLEH?

written by Commonsenses, July 07, 2009 23:06:30
Surprising when UitM medium of instruction is english. Our university standard of english has gone to the dogs. Or rather "taraf pengajian bahasa ingeris diuniversiti dah di telan anjing". hahahahah
written by justice6, July 07, 2009 23:18:38
Mr. Mustaza Ahmad used ****** to trans Bahasa to English... and he thought by getting all the spelling right, he is so proud..
written by LFLee, July 07, 2009 23:26:38
This is not new stuff, see horrible story reported in Lim Kit Siang's Blog
some time back:

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/20...h-english/

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/20...on-system/

written by Adrian, July 07, 2009 23:46:25
goto YB LIM KIT SIANG's BLOG - oh my god, they have screwed the English, now they want to screw maths and science.
written by verifunny, July 08, 2009 00:09:01
I would rather work harder and spend more money to get my kids into a private school that teaches proper English.
written by Kampong, July 08, 2009 00:13:13
Bad inglish could get you off the hook like the UMNO man with two Mohamads in his name pulled off in Australia. You could carry millions of cash around, just remember to say "Me no talk Inglish" when caught.
written by 1351, July 08, 2009 00:32:17
Adrian, the solution is not to hire some "ang moh"(org putih) to teach the language. There is talent aplenty, many able minds amongst us who could help elevate the teaching of the English language.

Going by your suggestion, MARA administrators did indeed try to recruit "ang moh's" to teach the language but I believe response was lukewarm when the quintessential determinant(wages) was not up to par. Imagine the revolt from existing teaching staff when they find out there is a premium being offered to the "orang putih" while local staff live on fresh air.

apasalahku, Raja Petra hanya menyuarakan pendapat. Itu pun utk kebaikan budak-budak kat sekolah. Hari demi hari, penggunaan dan penguasaan BI dikalangan budak sekolah semakin teruk. Anihnya, semua lulus BI tahap SPM tetapi apabila disuruh tulis CV, langsung berkecai ragam bahasa - tak dapat kerja - salahkan org lain.

My point, the use of the English language is essential to one's upward mobility. The market place demand certain standards that needs to be adhere to and it is no surprise we have a yearly tally of grads who can't find their place in the private sector solely because they don't have the requisite language skill. And of course the nationalist, the UMNO scums, whole cabal of bodoh's choose to lay blame else where and claim DISCRIMINATION.

The solution in the teaching of English as a language can easily be overcome but policy makers are more interested in shadow play. Not hard to see it is UMNO that is solely to blame.

Let's not beat around the bush to say it serves UMNO's purpose to have Malays kept in check(apasalahku, memang matlamat UMNO utk memperbodohkan Melayu) and the alarming yearly figures of grads who fail to find employment shows that UMNO has been highly successful with their sinister intervention in *enslaving big numbers of the Malay community.

* Ponder the moment. UMNO claims credit for education when it should be a given of any responsible govt. UMNO then acts high and mighty, drumming it into the Malay community that they should be beholden/thankful to UMNO.

I hope my Malay brethren wake up soon and realise that they are borrowing money to pay for a third rate education. It is amazing the string of A's many undergoing Matriculation would attest they possess BUT proof of the puddin' says otherwise when the market place can't place a value on those string of A's. The irony, good money gone to waste all because education today has been politicised.

And while on the topic of education, the problem with the teaching of Math and Science has a solution in sight but as usual UMNO tends to do everything but to arrest the problem.

Just last week, Singapore came out tops in a poll of 49 nations for the effective teaching of Math and Science. Simply termed "The S'pore Way", the module developed by the govt in collaboration with NUS has been adopted/use/implemented by schools in the UK/US. It is a concise module (differs from conventional teaching of yesteryear) that starts from elementary school right up to high school and beyond.

The West started to see the success of S'pore students who never fail to come out first winning honours(coming out tops 8 times for the last 10 years) amongst their peers or within age group.

Now, if S'pore students BOLEH, I'm certain M'sians lagi BOLEH. If our dunggu's in the Min of Edu were to approach their Sing counterpart, I'm certain they would be more than helpful to accommodate us but instead our dunggu Minister look towards UNESCO for an assessment to the problem !!! Help is right there south of the border but UMNO as usual chooses to look the other way. Time to VOTE THEM OUT, the lot in UMNO/BN.

written by apa jadi, July 08, 2009 00:32:32
ROTFLMAO! INTERNATIONAL SPORTS FIESTA!

what do they have for the fiesta? rugby ball, bowling ball, bowling pin?

I presume it was done through a translating machine? And the poor Mr. Mustaza does not know a word of English. He was just at the mercy of the translating software. That reminds me of a smart-alek in China trying to give his restaurant an English name......it came out with the name "Server Error"(or something like that).

Well! that's what the narrow minded UMNO politicians have done to the education system! Don't blame Mr. Mustaza.
written by clusco, July 08, 2009 00:37:45

Totally funny!
written by Huador, July 08, 2009 00:57:27
Mustapa,

Home go cut rubber. Rubber milk more good than Director pay day.
You big boss at UiTM good at sucking ball..
written by DontPlayGod, July 08, 2009 01:04:12
Back in my times, a Form 5 student can definitely write better English than this guy. BTW, don't be too hard on him folks, after its UiTM, a university for Malays only, and in UiTM nobody speaks or write in English. UiTM is meant to protect the Malays, the Malay language and culture, and to churn out graduates for Government service. So English is practically non-existent.
written by Badaksumbu, July 08, 2009 01:41:51
Someone must be made responsible which made the standard English language in UITM is so appaling these days! I was one of the students studying in this institutions in the late 70s, and all I can remember of, students I knew of in those days were equally competent to write and talk in English languge- many now professors, scientiest and lawyers alike. Likewise , Mustaza Ahmad can also be found in most of our public Ubiversity isn't just confined to UITM-
written by Ho Lee Man, July 08, 2009 01:56:30
Of the 74 comments made about English ,UiTM and murdering that language, only Casper or 1351 makes that most sense and probably the most honest analogy among all.
Syabas Casper.
written by gundohing, July 08, 2009 07:02:27

At least the spellings were all correct and everybody could understand the message. Our English are now at par with advance countries like Japan, China and Taiwan.

The UMNO Goment.
written by Fairminded, July 08, 2009 08:48:10
This announcement by an elite of UTM is a showcase ,which is easy to understand, how the level of education in our Universities had fallen. For those who are not trained in Science and Technology, I can assure you that it is not much better. Now the Rakyat understands why the BN and UMNOPUTERAS send all their children overseas to study after screwing up the local universities in order to win votes playing the racial card. The Malays should realize it does not only benefit the non Malays by maintaining a certain standard in our local universities, it will benefit them too. Also, in the name of NEP, professors and chancellors are not appointed by merit. It is fine that 30% of them are like this gentlemen but if almost 100% of the teaching and administrative staff are appointed mainly on racial qualifications what do you expect? And students are admitted based on racial qualifications alone. Only the Malays can save Malaysia being the majority in a "democratic" country. So stop blaming the non Malays if you guys keep voting in UMNO mainly for the NEP and Ketuanan Melayu platform. Remember that Malays are competing with non Malays in this globalized world. It is Malaysians competing with the rest of the world.
written by teo siew chin, July 08, 2009 08:59:56
Do it the spore way - if it works for them, surely it can work for us.
and btw, malay is spore's NATIONAL language. smilies/wink.gif
written by EUGTAN, July 08, 2009 09:01:27
It is not only the English grammar that is bad but the orginization of the letter and the tone. Shocking!

Why chose UNESCO when the US and UK schopols are using the Singapore method? Apart from the anti Singapore "thing" , there are the US trips for the officers!
written by son of soil, July 08, 2009 09:57:17
Dear Sports Director,
Please go to kindergarten,that's where you belong.Its a bloody waste of tax payers money,to have such people in such a high position in our universities.
written by sukinong, July 08, 2009 09:59:44
Then, could it be better to teacher Bahasa Malaysia in Ingrish?
written by sukinong, July 08, 2009 10:03:07
Is UiTM a leading universiti? Bila? Leading the Malays obviously but to where?
written by sukinong, July 08, 2009 10:04:54
Sorry, "teach Bahasa Malaysia" typo error. Even my typing oso deteriorate. Sigh...
written by miwaki, July 08, 2009 10:32:23
Pete,you are right,not only English is taught in BM,it is also taught in chinese and Tamil.I always maintain that Malaysia is a weird country under BN.How can you teach English in BM,Chinese and Tami ? You have to teach English in English-lah !
written by Urangsabah, July 08, 2009 10:44:14
Whereas but only in Malaysia.......ingeris is taught in Bahasa Malayu by Educationist aka UMNOed Politikus............

Only in Malaysia....
written by eeyaw, July 08, 2009 10:44:20
Spelling is Ok which is the easy part with the in-built spelling program but not the grammar. Back to Year 6!
written by budakindia, July 08, 2009 10:51:19
This is too funny until I almost cried! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Admiral Tojo, July 08, 2009 11:03:48
Tuan Director Mustaza, besar kemaluan. In English, besar kemaluan - big dick.

written by teo siew chin, July 08, 2009 11:39:46
HAHAHAHA admiral Tojo - it has been said the best way to learn a language is to be 'colorful' smilies/grin.gif

written by Adrian, July 08, 2009 12:44:49
Dear 1351, casper,

the reason why i proposed ang mo to teach english in this bolehland is simply because theere is not many good english teachers in malaysia already due to the vicious cycle effect. most of the english teachers are also product of a bad edu system, so how can a teacher with bad command of english produce students better then him?? HENce to break the vicious cycle, introduce the angmo - a quick jab in the arm to solve a messy problem. hopefully, after 10-20 years we can have local talent to take over.

of course, we need to address the "revolt" reaction from the locals. that is what the govmen should handle, not just to please the rakyat for volts and pawn the future of malaysias forever.
written by Durnfordi, July 08, 2009 13:14:40
Mr. Mustaza Ahmad,

Get yourself an English tutor lah! Buat malu Malaysia saja! Balik kampung tanam jagung lagi baik lah! Bodoh kayu punya Sports Director!
written by by2020, July 08, 2009 13:44:44
Please convey my secret formula suggestion to Mr. Mustaza Ahmad in order to improve his English:

"GO READ MALAYSIA TODAY EVERYDAY!"
written by guruyahya, July 08, 2009 13:52:00
Deer Pipel,

If yu kenot andesten, wat tu du? Is yor folt. I get mai phd in uk yu kno? Tru biasiswa laa. Afte bodeking the boss, den ai get tu go tu uk. Yu ol donno hau mac ai spen tu bodek the boss... Ai tel yu. Ai go to his haus, bring udang galah, Ai acting gut-gut in frant of him en meni mor.
Wen Ai go for ferder stadi in the uk, Ai bring mai fameli along tu. So mai chidren ken liv overc wan. Den we ken eksyen tu awer neyber. Awer status olso go up in di ai of the taman komuniti. Mai waif den ken eksyen tu her frens bikos wi get to liv in de inglen.

Tengkyu agen. Sports frens.
written by guruyahya, July 08, 2009 14:46:52
Yu see pipel, wai du yu tink UITM hev de spot senter? Bikos meni-meni studen det is aktif in spot in the skul, fel diar spm. so wi nit to gif dem digri so det dey can get werk. so wi kriate der spot senter fo dis kos. Ai olso wen ai wos yang, I aktif in spot. So wen ai em ol i bekam spot direkter laa.

ai em rili-rili gut at spot. oldo ai em not gut at inglis, ai hef lif in inglen.
written by Mapel101, July 08, 2009 15:00:54
Oh boy..This article really make my day. Thank you.. guruyahya, you are so funny..smilies/cheesy.gif
written by guruyahya, July 08, 2009 15:01:32
Yu si pipel, dont laa tinking det UITM is etical ples. meni studen get in tru koneksion. menteri besar sapot laa, adun sapot laa, amno sapot laa. Mos of dis student kenot stadi wan. diar maind is not tu buks en dey fel spm. so wi put dis kaind of studen in spot senter.
written by chin, July 08, 2009 15:23:21
Ahhhhh....... its so cute

You know kids are so perceptive and honest.
written by thegodfather, July 08, 2009 15:25:56
I bet Mustaza Ahmad has at least a Masters degree, since he is holding a Director's position. He may even be an Assoc Prof or a full Prof. Sigh ... now you know why our universities are at the bottom of the rankings.

By the way, the NRD's FAQ page as reproduced in Lim Kit Siang's blog is hilarious ... I never laughed so much in a long time.
written by chin, July 08, 2009 15:32:02
An english circular from UiTM ??????

From the guardians of Malay rights, Malay language and Malay this and that. The official and only approved street demonstrators.

Who in the world would such a proud institution need to communicate with, in such a lowly, irrelevant language, as English.

RPK, you must have made this up. Shame on you to ridicule such a revered institution.

written by jaz, July 08, 2009 15:51:55
Raw and honest piece of mind. Children are that innocent...*sigh*
written by Thundercat Pink, July 08, 2009 18:47:25
It's amazing to read comments from some readers who actually think this is alright.
Yes it is if we are to be katak di bawah tempurung. Yes, then you are argue and go shout around kampung how great we are with English compared to how poor American/ British are with Bahasa Malaysia. Come one people.. get real. We are need to master English. If you cannot realize this, then you are doomed.
written by Aria, July 08, 2009 20:02:22
There are some who find it hard to learn another language and would prefer to use only their mother tongue. Malay as a language must be taught in all school because it is our national language. We should have Chinese, Tamil, Malay and English medium schools in Malaysia. All national exams must cater for all these languages in Maths, science. This way everyone will be happy.
written by imanj, July 08, 2009 21:57:45
My entry comes in pretty late..Have not been tuned on MT for awhile.Been absolutely busy with chores,my girl,hubby and recently with the taking care of a mentally-ill sibling who has 2 school going chidren.

My daughter celebrated her birthday just this 1st and I'm been sad over MJ's death.
Now to hear of the Education System,where 2012 is 1st year for my daughter and if I'm not mistaken,my neice and nephew that I'm taking care of who have their subjects for Science/Maths in English now,would probably be affected with the change to Bahasa Malaysia in these two subjects.

While this happens,they would probably be teaching sudstandard English and of course in Malay which can happen in our idiotic Boleh Malaysia.! All hopes for any child to maintain or be better proficient in English Language is gone..

I now hope to find the resources and finances to maybe start a school for better learning.That would be my prayer and I hope I find a way...!

written by rams609, July 08, 2009 22:36:57
written by DanielYahya, July 08, 2009 14:33:34

written by cheemengwong, July 07, 2009 19:25:47
Dear Mustaza Ahamd...

I've a penile malfunction after I read this article by RPK "Do not teach English in Bahasa Malaysia". It became worst after I digested what RPK meant and your England language is just horrible.

I don't know if that was supposed to be sarcasm, but in that context it should be WORSE my friend.

But, yeah, Mr Mustaza's English is horrible. He should hire a competent proof reader or something. Having said that, lacking English capabilities, does not make him a bad director of sports. If he still excels in his main function, than that can make up for whatever weakness that he has. Unless he sucks at his job too, then the Sports department are in deep shit. Regardless of his fluency in English.

Signed
UiTM Student

DANIEL YAHYA,

THIS MT FORUM IS BI-LINGUAL.

I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU WERE TRYING TO SAY OR DEFEND. TRY TRANSLATING YOUR ENGLISH INTO MALAY HERE, MAYBE WE WILL UNDERSTAND YOUR POINTS BETTER. OR YOU MIGHT WANT TO "HIRE A COMPETENT PROOF READER OR SOMETHING".

HAVEN'T YOU HEARD 'YOU'LL FLY HIGHER IF AND WHEN YOU HAVE WINGS'?

YOU MAY DEFEND HIM, BUT COME PREPARED LITTLE BOY.

OTHERWISE, GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND ASK YOUR DAD TO SEND YOU TO A PROPER ENGLISH CLASS/TUITION.

FOR MUSTAZA, DON'T BE DISHEARTENED; NOW YOU KNOW YOUR SHORTCOMINGS AND TRY TO BE ONE BETTER. THERE ARE WORSE ENGLISH SPEAKING MELAYUS AROUND, SOME MINISTERS FOR EXAMPLE.

SIGNED,
AN EX-ITM STUDENT
written by cheekhiaw, July 08, 2009 23:59:28
Aiyah, let idiots teach everything any which way they like lah. Just as long as non-idiots retain their rights not to follow idiots. In fact, it is best that way. Let idiots wallow in idiothood. Easier for the others.

In addition, if the teachers are idiots does it matter how the teaching is done?

written by southallman, July 09, 2009 00:42:45
Prayer bit of RPK's article, I propose every man/women/child in Malaysia do the prayer RPK's friend's child is doing, instead they should wish that it is the Minister of EDUCATION instead of simply the Wakil Rakyat. In the Indian community, they have a prayer (17 days or so after the death). I will PERSONALLY PAY and have such a prayer performed for the soul of the ex Minister of Education to rest. I rest my case.
written by antisupp, July 09, 2009 09:52:19
Read this signboard on the new Sultan Iskandar CIQ @ JB. (I've no idea how to upload the pix i took in here)

"Please Fillup Immi.26 Card Before Proceed To The Immigration Counter. Thank You."

Grotesque English!!!! and we have millions of tourists reading such notices on our Malaysian gateway...
written by redkelah, July 09, 2009 10:53:27
TO HELL WITH POLITICIANS!
LET PARENTS DECIDE WHAT'S BEST FOR OUR CHILDREN.
written by thegodfather, July 09, 2009 11:24:10
Teaching maths in English means something like "Twenty push twelve equal what?" That is the competency of our teachers (I use the term loosely) who are supposed to teach in English.
So does it really matter whether it is taught in English or BM?
written by red1, July 09, 2009 11:54:56
I think its very unpatriotic to disgrace and poke fun at our people's poor command of english. It is not our govt or its policies that resulted in such pathetic poverty in knowledge, skills and language. It is our own lazy skulls.
written by red1, July 09, 2009 11:59:59
Instead of criticising unceasingly of the govt pathetic performance in anything and everything why don't we form an organised well managed special english language classes for our populace? I think we can even get government grants for that. Any takers, anyone? You see?
written by Milo, July 09, 2009 22:14:59
The way to go is to teach bahasa malaysia in english, maths in mandarin, and science in japanese. With our schools and universities going down the drain, what is the difference anyway?
written by denkoh, July 10, 2009 00:20:36
who cares...english like shit also can go UK ma...
tiu, most of uitm students get sent oversea isn't it?
so hai...it's not about whether you know enlish, it's about whose money you are using...
mr mustaza will be studying in london soon....hahahaha...screew all of you
written by 1eyecls, July 10, 2009 09:08:20
yes,those stupid GAPENA leaders were saying if Koreans,Japanese or French ppl could progress without mastering english,Malaysia shouldn't be so stubborn to the use of the language,didnt they know that it will be an advantage for us to master more than one languages???

what kind of leaders do we have nowadays?

even russians have started to learn chinese languages 15 years ago,why are we so short sighted?
written by DanielYahya, July 10, 2009 12:09:01
DANIEL YAHYA,

THIS MT FORUM IS BI-LINGUAL.

I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU WERE TRYING TO SAY OR DEFEND. TRY TRANSLATING YOUR ENGLISH INTO MALAY HERE, MAYBE WE WILL UNDERSTAND YOUR POINTS BETTER. OR YOU MIGHT WANT TO "HIRE A COMPETENT PROOF REadER OR SOMETHING".

HAVEN'T YOU HEARD 'YOU'LL FLY HIGHER IF AND WHEN YOU HAVE WINGS'?

YOU MAY DEFEND HIM, BUT COME PREPARED LITTLE BOY.

OTHERWISE, GO BACK TO SCHOOL AND ASK YOUR Dad TO SEND YOU TO A PROPER ENGLISH CLASS/TUITION.

FOR MUSTAZA, DON'T BE DISHEARTENED; NOW YOU KNOW YOUR SHORTCOMINGS AND TRY TO BE ONE BETTER. THERE ARE WORSE ENGLISH SPEAKING MELAYUS AROUND, SOME MINISTERS FOR EXAMPLE.

SIGNED,
AN EX-ITM STUDENT

"Little boy"? No need for name calling lah...

I thought I was clear on my points.

1. There's nothing wrong with being weak in English as long as you can still function well in your job.
(Tiada apa kekurangannya sekiranya anda mampu menjalankan tugas anda dengan lancar, walaupun anda tidak mampu berbhasa Inggeris dengan betul)

2. If you are weak in English and need to come out with an English circular, get somebody with competent English proficiency to do it for you. It is not weak to admit that you have a weakness.
(Sekiranya anda lemah dalam bahasa Inggeris, dan perlu menggunakan bahasa itu, dapatkan seseorang yang mampu berbahasa Inggeris dengan betul untuk membantu anda. Tidak menjadi suatu kelemahan bagi seseorang mengakui bahawa dia lemah dalam sesuatu perkara)

Faham?

By the way, just because you don't agree with what I have to say, you don't have the right to insult me. Stop being an *******. You'll live happier actually.
written by DanielYahya, July 10, 2009 12:25:31
By the way if you want to discuss this further email me @ scumgrief at rocketmail dot com
written by denkoh, July 10, 2009 13:46:11
Daniel Yahya,

The topic is the guy's proficiency in English and not about his capabilities in getting his job done. i believe ex-itm is purely referring to his language and not questioning his capabilities.
so, Mr daniel, what are you defending? smilies/grin.gif
written by denkoh, July 10, 2009 14:00:19
tak pe la...look at sami value,

hisap dadah sudah jadi hisap dada

cement price sudah jadi semen price

english and bahasa also cannot la deh...itu macam pun minister for so many freakin years...

another one, liin leon sick kasi speech serupa baca buku...itu macam pun boleh jadi minister...

malaysia boleh my friend!!! hahaha
written by TWOG, July 10, 2009 17:33:09
Written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 16:49:22
My favourite all-time BM-English literal translation is: LET'S GO TOGETHER-GETHER (Mari pergi bersama-sama)

Trueandfair, I very much prefer LET'S GO TOGETHER-GET HER
written by rams609, July 11, 2009 09:34:50
Denkoh,

This is just a sample of the so-called our future generation. We are talking about one thing and he was discussing another.

Why little boy? Anda termakan cili dan terasa pedas ker??

That's why I said come prepared silly.

I was from ITM and you Uitm. We can tell the quality of teaching is lower now than then. Need I translate this line for you?
written by rams609, July 11, 2009 09:55:45

Said daniel yahya :

1. There's nothing wrong with being weak in English as long as you can still function well in your job.

2. If you are weak in English and need to come out with an English circular, get somebody with competent English proficiency to do it for you. It is not weak to admit that you have a weakness.

By the way, just because you don't agree with what I have to say, you don't have the right to insult me. Stop being an *******. You'll live happier actually.

A BIT OF ENGLISH LESSON FOR A uitm STUDENT:

1. A direct Malay thought translated to English right?
2. Did you mean someone proficient in English?
3. I disagreed with what you have SAID, not with what you have to say.

"It is not weak to admit that you have a weakness."
Good. Now stand in front of the mirror and tell that to yourself.

Next time you write, try running through your scribbles with your English lecturer little boy.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 11, 2009 12:28:56
Its just sheer egoism to bring BM back into the scenario;all humans are imperfect anyway;we try to live near perfection;when it comes to language itis indisputable that english is the leading international language followed by french & mandarin;whatever you say does not change the scenario;English is and will be the leading language for the next century;come what may;unless a miracle happens and we all speak Pali or Sanskrit;the leading language of the Heavens;Sadhu3!
written by guruyahya, July 12, 2009 10:41:44
Dier Piple en spot frens,

I sajes u ol mek piss aje lah. No point laa difending mi, de spot direkter. Uitm studen kaa.. Itm studen kaa... yu ol ar sukking on de piples tax. So, stadi wel en kontribiut laa tu de sosieti afte yu geraduet. ok? en don laa being kedekut ilmu en ol det, bikos yor ilmu is jas a drop in di osean. if yu go aot tu werking envirenmen yu tink wat yu stadi in de uitm is epplaid kaa?

ps. spot direkter olso sukking on piples tax.
written by Commonsenses, July 12, 2009 15:52:26
Why computer science shou1d be taught in BM.

The whole world uses the language as an information and/or technology language. How dangerous it will be if we try to use Bahasa, especially in school. See example below:-

Hardware = barangkeras
Software = baranglembut
Joystick = batang gembira
Plug and Play = cucuk dan main
Port = lubang
Server = pelayan
Client = pelanggan

Try to translate this:
ENGLISH:
That server gives a plug and play service to the client using either hardware or software joystick. The joystick goes into the port of the client.

Now in BAHASA:
Pelayan itu memberi pelanggannya layanan cucuk dan main dengan menggunakan batang gembira jenis keras atau lembut. Batang gembira itu akan dimasukkan ke dalam lubang pelanggan..

written by rams609, July 12, 2009 19:17:23
Adrian,Casper,1351 and all....

I've come across AngMos with BAD English osso you know.

And many great Indian writers, better than the Mat Sallehs...
written by anon, July 13, 2009 09:40:55

It is with great sadness that I write this. Back to teaching Math and Science in Bahasa. But of course it was not politically motivated.
These morons do not realize that it's the Malays who will fall further behind. The people who walk through the Corridors of Power have no problems - their children are on their way to Britain, Australia, U.S, Canada etc.

Let me tell you this - I personally know of kampong folks who want Math and Science to be taught in ENGLISH. They spoke to me and told me why. I was at that time teaching at a school in a kampong. They are prepared to send their kids to tuition classes - they are prepared to spend what they find very difficult to get - money.

It's sad, instead of progressing, we are yet again regressing.

Many urban parents like their counterparts in the kampong are now in a dilemma - the Form 1s and 4s will be hit badly.

Then it's English again in Form 6!

Then English again when the Bumis make it to Matriculation course. An from there on to Medical course ( or any other Science based diploma/degree ) - all in English.

It can't be. I must have this all wrong. How can any right thinking person have it all in BM - and no more bilingual-based exams - and then make learn everything in English at tertiary level?

Nah, I guess I am wrong. Then again, I wonder in what position ...lets say , Universiti Malaya, will be? The last I heard it was 265 ( give or take ) - and in a few years where will it stand?

Not to worry, we have a "think tank" - they will certainly come up with some brilliant plan for the future of this country and its citizens.

p/s If a kampong parent knows the importance of English - and wants English to be emphasized - what does that tell you about the people who came up with this ... this ...

And with a wry smile, I now am planning my own idea - simple - make a pile, giving English tuition - Sports Directors are welcome - any directors are welcome - actually anyone is welcome. I shall not fleece you. Just give me what I want that's all.

Those interested, please contact me. No guarantees. But I guarantte you all one thing for sure - you will certainly write better than a sports director and speak better than some uncouth morons in Parliament.

peace my brothers and sisters.
written by anon, July 13, 2009 09:44:53
Aiya, look at that anon ah, cannot even spell guarantee and want to give English tuition!
written by denkoh, July 13, 2009 12:17:46
Daniel Yahya
I thought I was clear on my points.

(Sekiranya anda lemah dalam bahasa Inggeris, dan perlu menggunakan bahasa itu, dapatkan seseorang yang mampu berbahasa Inggeris dengan betul untuk membantu anda. Tidak menjadi suatu kelemahan bagi seseorang mengakui bahawa dia lemah dalam sesuatu perkara)

Ini macam serupa 1 orang punya kerja, tapi 2 orang buat... tak boleh lo...boss marah nanti?? sangkut siul...