Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow As expected, Umno guns after Nik Aziz in Manek Urai

As expected, Umno guns after Nik Aziz in Manek Urai PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 13:49

PAS president Hadi Awang earlier said his party would focus on local issues and how best it could service constituents during campaigning. However, given Umno’s tack, PAS may not be allowed to veer much from the prickly issue of “unity talks”.

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

In a telling sign of how heated campaigning in the Manek Urai by-election in Kelantan is set to become, Umno leaders went on all-out offensive against PAS, in particular attacking its revered spiritual adviser Nik Aziz Nik Mat.

“It is Tok Guru who rejected unity,” said the usually mild-mannered Kelantan Umno chief Mustapa Mohamed, referring to Nik Aziz.
“PAS says if you do not vote for them, then you will not go to heaven. But what about people outside Malaysia? Will they all go to hell? This is not according to the scripture.

“They say Umno has rejected Islam but we go to the same mosques and follow the same commandments. These men are trying to deceive us in the search for power.”

Harsh his words may be but they are not unexpected as an emotional campaign filled with fire and brimstone rhetoric has already been predicted.

Also as forecast, Umno has directed its anger at Nik Aziz, whom it blames for rejecting its offer for “unity talks”.

In doing so, the Kelantan Menteri Besar not only embarrassed Prime Minister Najib Razak, who is Umno president, but he also gave voice to the general feeling amongst PAS members that Umno was only out to split their party and destroy the Pakatan Rakyat coalition along the way.

Tok Guru used to want to join Barisan Nasional. He praised the federal constitution but now he says it does not follow Islam,” said another Umno leader Aanuar Musa.

“He called Umno kaffirs (heathens) for working with Chinese and Indians but now PAS has partnered PKR and DAP.”

Unity talks

Annuar and Mustapa were speaking at an Umno ceramah or political lecture at Manek Urai late on Monday night. Nominations were confirmed earlier in the day, paving the way for official campaigning to begin until polling takes place on July 14.

Police too are expecting potential outbursts and have deployed a huge 3,000-strong unit to the quiet town, some two hours drive from the Kelantan capital of Kota Baru.

Representing PAS is 50-year old Mohd Fauzi Abdullah, an affluent self-made trader with a thriving fish wholesaling business.

Umno is represented by Tuan Aziz Tuan Mat, a 39-year old UTM graduate and a former manager at government agency Kesedar.

Both men are local and already active in politics. Mohd Fauzi is PAS Kuala Krai treasurer, while Tuan Aziz is the Umno Kuala Krai Youth chief.

PAS president Hadi Awang earlier said his party would focus on local issues and how best it could service constituents during campaigning. However, given Umno’s tack, PAS may not be allowed to veer much from the prickly issue of “unity talks”.

This subject actually originated from Hadi himself but it was an initial skeletal concept, as in the form of a yet-to-be-fully-filled-out idea. Recently, it was taken over by Najib and pushed as a proposal for a Malay power pact between Umno and PAS.

“PAS hates Umno, but Umno does not hate PAS. If we played politics of hate, as federal government, Umno would have flattened PAS long ago,” Annuar continued to lash out.

“But even if you do not vote for Umno, you are still our citizens and we still care for you. Now is not the time for divide and rule but to think of the future.”

written by Aizad 234, July 07, 2009 13:58:28
Unity talk...
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 14:00:19
“They say Umno has rejected Islam but we go to the same mosques and follow the same commandments. These men are trying to deceive us in the search for power.”

- Man cannot stop the corrupt into the house of God.
Surely God is all knowing.
How can we not reject a party that condone an 8 year MB who can afford a RM24 million (Ok lah take or give a couple of millions) palace ?
written by mountainking, July 07, 2009 14:10:13
“PAS hates Umno, but Umno does not hate PAS. If we played politics of hate, as federal government, Umno would have flattened PAS long ago,” Annuar continued to lash out.

hello doggie Annuar, am i hearing you? You wanna flattened PAS? looks like UMNO was flattened by PAS in Kelantan.

eh, UMNO was also flattened by PR in Semenanjung Malaysia. MCA and Gerakan not only flattened but being shredded into pieces by PR.

You know what, the rakyat want to shred UMNO in particular into pieces and it will be done through the next GE.

UMNO, want to talk big, please look yourself into mirror to see whether you are fit to do it or not.
written by storm62, July 07, 2009 14:37:05
Tuan Rasuah vs Tok Guru...(Tuan) Aziz Mat vs (Nik) Aziz Mat

So M.U voters...show umno the exit!!!
written by asguard, July 07, 2009 14:52:43
Well i think UMNO must be humble when their lost again in malay heartland of kelantan
written by technoboy, July 07, 2009 14:55:48
Let's watch how this is going to backfire on UMNO crooks.
written by Oscar Winner, July 07, 2009 15:24:35
UMNO, I challenge you to say out loud the following:-

- Tok guru is not a good muslim. He not only cares for malay muslims, he also cares for non-muslilms

- Tok guru is not a good muslim. He rejected unity govt which is for Malay race and religion

- We are not corrupted. UMNO is very clean. IN fact, every one in BN is clean

- We treat everyone equal. We do not shout "pendatang"
written by ceong2000, July 07, 2009 15:56:12
Mustapa Mohamed,do you think you can vacant your sit for Tok Guru if not then don't talk about unity as you are coward that your BN will lose the seat.I do hope that your people also don't lost his deposit.BN will lose any by-election unless BN can changed or the raykat will changed you in the next election.
written by fireduck, July 07, 2009 16:15:41

Normally, the one who gets screwed are the ones who hates it. And the screwer would of course, have enjoyed it, and would do it again, if given another chance. So, why would the screwee give the screwer another chance?

“But even if you do not vote for Umno, you are still our citizens and we still care for you. Now is not the time for divide and rule but to think of the future.”

Thanks for confirming that Divide & Rule has been the policy all these while, and that such policies as espoused, had never been for the future of the nation. But just to be sure, please vote for PAS so that UMNO does not get another chance to screw you guys again.
written by SamSan, July 07, 2009 16:52:56
We all need to put up photos of the simple life style of our noble ulama Tok Guru Nik Aziz side by side with those plush and pompous life style of the evil, greedy and power crazy AMENO / BN leaders. Then the rakyat can decide whether they want to follow our noble PAS ulamas who abhor aggrandizing wealth bountifully bestowed by Allah Allmighty for the meek rakyat or continue suffering under the evil rapacious sodomite syaitan BN / AMENO regime that belongs to the dark forces. The voters in Manek Urai need to send a strong message of support for PAS under our eminent, pure hearted and noble Tok Guru Nik Aziz as he is one of the few leaders who is truly treading on the exact footsteps of our noble Prophet Nabi Muhammad (p.b.u.h) by abstaining from all evil influences of massive wealth aggrandizement and unfettered power, lust and greed. Long live PAS and may Allah Allmighty continue giving strength and blessings to our Tok Guru to lead Pakatan Rakyat and the majority peace loving and compassionate people of Malaysia to the true path of Islam which is ever compassionate and exists only on the platform of undivided love.
written by ROBERTNGTG, July 07, 2009 17:28:55
“It is Tok Guru who rejected unity,” said the usually mild-mannered Kelantan Umno chief Mustapa Mohamed, referring to Nik Aziz.

ASK YR WIFE IF SHE WOULD VEHEMENTLY REJECT, REPEL AND EVEN DRIVE AWAY WHORES,
PROSTITUTES AND IMMORAL WOMEN FROM ENTERING YR HOME??? SO, WTF ARE U BLAMING
TOK GURU WHO IS DOING HIS UTMOST TO PROTECT HIS MEMBERS FROM CROOKS, MARAUDERS AND
THIEVES FROM CORRUPTING THE MINDS OF THE INOCCENT AND IGNORANT PAS MEMBERS??
written by clarity, July 07, 2009 17:57:33
Dear Mustapha Mohd, it is sad to see the horrible change that has taken change in you. The people in Sirim had a lot of respect for you when you were the CEO. But now, you talk and behave like the crooks you associate. You have lost all the respect rhose people had for you.
By the way, all people can go to heacen whether they are inside or outside the country. The point you missed is that only corrupted people in BN cannot go to heaven.
written by thor, July 07, 2009 19:21:40

Sure or not? Thought Ameno and its Insignificant Others in Be End have been doing that so that the rich so call "leaders" and their families get richer, isn't it so?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by my oumrie, July 07, 2009 20:21:09
Tok Musmad said “They say Umno has rejected Islam but we go to the same mosques and follow the same commandments. These men are trying to deceive us in the search for power.”

Same mosques, same commandments, but PAS practise what they've learned. No corruption, no racism, no cronysm, no thieving, no killing, no covetting, no hidden agenda, no vendetta. Bee end on the other hand leaves all lessons behind in same mosques., after all they believe religion & politics don't mix.... Roll on GE13!
written by uxzee, July 07, 2009 22:16:05
“PAS says if you do not vote for them, then you will not go to heaven. But what about people outside Malaysia? Will they all go to hell?
======================================================= =====

Don't worry about the people outside Malaysia. But the UMNO Muslims who has stolen the Rakyat's money will go to hell. They include mahathir & Family, Pak Lah & Family, najib & Family, Toyo & wife, Muhyidin, infact 90% of UMNO leaders.
written by StevenO, July 08, 2009 00:59:00

Vote UMno and you get this!!!

Vote PAS you only get this.

written by mowadoha, July 08, 2009 01:27:27
written by PAKRAK, July 08, 2009 02:07:20
Spiritual adviser Nik Aziz Nik Mat has that 'certain power' to have the UMNO guns twisted and backfired.
written by Urangsabah, July 08, 2009 10:52:05
One is a Tok Guru, whereas UMNo Top guns are rotten to the core is where u find the difference....