Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Reexamining the Hindraf Memorandum

Reexamining the Hindraf Memorandum PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 11:39

By Hakim Joe

On the 18th of August 2008, Hindraf leaders presented an 18-point Memorandum to the PM. This was a time when militancy has yet to seep into the rank and file of this group of people, but no matter how one look at the demands, it still emanates racism.

Point Number 3 - Call for affirmative action plans for all poor Malaysians especially the ethnic minority Indians.  

Point Number 4 – All 523 Tamil schools in Malaysia to be made fully aided government schools … and a grant amounting to RM100 billion to be allocated (over 5 years) for refurbishing the existing 523 Tamil schools and the rebuilding of 300 Tamil schools demolished over the past 50 years.  

Point Number 8 – 20% of the Government top most level postings (Secretary Generals), middle level management (Directors) and Management level (Managers) postings, and the same for the Private Sectors and positions of District Officers, Foreign and Diplomatic Service positions, civil service positions are reserved for Indians for the next 15 years. 

Point Number 10(b) – Compensation at RM10 million per temple be paid by UMNO controlled Malaysian Government for the 15,000 Hindu temples demolished up to date over the last 50 years. 

Point Number 12 – The UMNO controlled government forms with immediate effect a Royal Commission of Enquiry into the Kampung Medan mini Genocide, condemns the violence thereto, apologizes to the Indian community on this mini genocide, undertakes not to repeat the same in future and pay a compensation of RM1,000,000 for each and every citizen killed, permanently maimed, maimed or injured in this tragedy. 

Point Number 13 – Each and every Indian especially the Indian poor in the aforesaid 70% poor and hardcore poor category is paid compensation which is to be adjudicated and determined by the United Nations Secretary General for the aforesaid 50 years of Constitutional violations by the UMNO controlled government. 

Point Number 15 – A Royal Commission of Inquiry is initiated to report on the aforesaid constitutional violations by the UMNO controlled government and appropriate recommendations for amongst others further affirmative action plans for especially the 70% Indian poor and hardcore poor category. 

Point Number 16 – All forms of religious discrimination, oppression and suppression of the Indians/Hindu in both the public and private sectors are stopped with immediate effect and a Race Relations Commission Act 2007, an Equal Opportunities Commission Act 2007 and a Freedom of Religion Commissions Act 2007 be passed and powerful Commission thereto be put into force to give effect to anti racism, anti Islamic extremism and anti direct discrimination practices by the UMNO controlled government in both the public and private sectors. 

Point Number 17 – The UMNO controlled government passes specific laws to give effect to the Independence of the Judiciary, the Attorney General’s Chambers, Civil service, Police Force, Army, the Malaysian Human Rights Commission and the Malaysian media and for the opposition parties, NGOs’ Civil Society groups, Bar Council and the media not to discriminate and side step Indian issues but instead to voice out the same without fear or favour. The Malaysian media is also to be legislated to report the real happenings especially on the 70% Indian poor and hardcore poor without fear or favor. 

Point Number 18 – A minimum of 20 Opposition members of Parliament are elected exclusively by the Indian community to represent their interest at the highest political level and also as a Parliamentary Democracy check and balance and the same is safeguarded and entrenched into the federal Constitution and which is to be increased proportionally with the increase in parliamentary seats. 

How many MT readers can stand up and truthfully say that the above does not smell of pure racism?

Point Number 3, why use the “especially” word? Are there no poor and hardcore poor Chinese and Malays or Ibans or Kadazans? Why must the entire Malaysian people give special preference to the poor and hardcore poor Indians? 

Point Number 4, are all Chinese schools fully government aided? Same as above, why must all Malaysians cater to the needs of one race? Isn’t it bad already now with the NEP? Why specifically RM100 billion? Look, even the economic stimulus packages are not allocated such budgets. So tell me, should the country bankrupt itself merely to satisfy the minority Indians? 

Point Number 8, 20% to be allocated especially to Indians for the next 15 years. Come on, you have got to be kidding. Firstly, the ratio of Indians as compared to the other races are but a mere 8%. Secondly, ever heard of the word “meritocracy”? Thirdly, who makes the final decision as to which Indian is allocated which position? Hindraf perhaps? 

Point Number 10, Compensation of RM10 million per temple for 15,000 temples equals RM150 billion. First you want RM100 billion, now you want another RM150 billion. And who gets to pocket the “compensations”? 

Point Number 12, if I am not mistaken, it was an Indian fella who started it first by kicking the chairs and tables. Just mere misinformation from UMNO again? Tell you what, I happen to know the family whose chairs and tables were kicked around. Nice Malay chap. Okay, he might have told me lies (or not) but Hindraf wants a Royal Commission and an apology and an undertaking and compensation. Tell me something, what is the purpose of a Royal Commission? To investigate the matter, right? How can you force an apology, undertaking and compensation when the Royal Commission you seek has not revealed its investigation findings? Jumping the gun a wee bit, right? An another RM 1 million compensation for each and every individual involved in the fracas? So, if one Indian hits a Malay and the Malay retaliates and hits the Indian, both get compensated RM 1 million for their sakes, right? 

Point Number 13, what gives these poor and hardcore poor Indians the right to make such claims? Malaysia is a land of opportunity. For those who are determined to get an education and to work their butts off, there will be rewards. It is only those that bum around hoping for charity that remains in the “ghetto”. Get that right! 

Point Number 15, affirmative action plan? Isn’t that akin to NEP? So, instead of doing away with any such plans, the Malaysians owe it to the Indians to have an affirmative action plan for them. If this were to happen (which I sincerely doubt), Malaysia will now possess two affirmative action plans, one for Bumiputeras and one for Indians. 

Point Number 16, same as Point Number 3. Why the special treatment for Indians only? Aren’t we all Malaysians? Hindraf speaks of anti racism but attempts to garner special treatment for Indians only. 

Point Number 17, one “favor” is spelt the Americanized way without the “u” and the other is the British way with the “u”. (Gosh, I sure am pedantic!) Anyway, the last sentence smacks of racism again. Why, oh why, the Indians only? 

Point Number 18, that a minimum of 20 parliamentarians must be of Indian ancestry. Hello, this nation supports a democratic system and in a democratic system, parliamentarians are elected by the masses, not appointed. If Hindraf supposes that the Indian community supports them through and through, let them appoint a representative to contest in the elections and if the voters think that this chap is capable, then he 9or she) will be elected. It is as simple as that! 

Okay, now what does much of the 18 points tell you?

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by chrisyong, July 07, 2009 11:53:13
Hindraf should open their eyes bright to see light and not darkness in PR. They do not know the differenc between BN and PR, BN/UMNO loves raising racial issues while PR focuses on Bangsa Malaysia. If they want equal rights then join PR and speak for Bangsa Malaysia which includes Indians (although in minority). Indian leaders in Hindraf must not behave like Samy Vellu. I do have problem with understanding their mentality..........is Samy Vellu a representation of all Indian mentality. They have short memory and don't even care of their fellow Indians who are suffering. When in power, they enriched themselves only!
written by BGs, July 07, 2009 11:57:59
My gosh! thks for sharing the details as this is really an eye opener. I would not empathize with Hindraf from now on. While it deserves recognition for driving the need to see to the needs of the disadvantaged Indian community, this is asking for too much. What it ask for here is even worst than the NEP! Of late, it seems Hindraf had become a victim of itself as its early successes seems to hv gone to an ever swollen head. Sorry to say this as I could be wrong but that's my gut feel that is not easy to shake off. I would not want to be guilty of supporting a racist group!
disagree 21
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 12:08:43
I think Hindraf strategy is to ask for the moon but they would probably be satisfied with the crumbs.
In other words, they would probably accept as far as they can push their luck.
disagree 19
written by kkselvam, July 07, 2009 12:22:50
The demands were made in year 2007 and when it seemed no political party were willing to take up the Malaysian Indian fight to the tyrant UMNO. Indians as a whole was marginalized for so long ( 52 years and counting ) and it was only justified when the Indians felt time was up to stand up and state what they want.
Although its 18 points demands raked of racism if that is the contention now, I for one feel that HINDRAF was right in their demand! Racism is the way of life here in Malaysia.That's how rotten our nation is.The system is full of racism.It is part of our nation's very delicate fabric and cannot be undone by mere days or years.
HINDRAF was right then and right now. People's view change after sometimes.Everyone has his right of expression. We should see the core reason for WHY these demands was made in such a racial underline tone.
For me, I will squarely blame the UMNO racist and BN goons government.Period.
disagree 23
written by danchung, July 07, 2009 12:30:36
Comments ??? no i wont comment... because the demand is more and less need a rocket scientist to figure out... is this HINDRAF demand logic or not????
written by Wisdom above, July 07, 2009 12:33:58
Hakim Joe did the right thing to point out the Hindraf Memorandum.

So the banned Hindraf has a " Distorted Ambition ". I was mistaken ! Hindraf is never Color Blind at all !

.. " When they were in Kamunting, Color Blind Malaysians brave the rain & hold countless weekly candle lights Vigils for their release. WE got rough up, arrested & detained for them and their Malaysian comrades. Pakatan Rakyat & Barisan Rakyat also provided moral support and financial assistance to their families .

Disappointed with banned HINDRAF which has lost its bearing.Let' s Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
disagree 18
written by Sutha, July 07, 2009 13:03:59
This is Hakim Joe's crap productions! I have seen the original.
disagree 21
written by Surrhead, July 07, 2009 13:16:31
post it, sutha.......the originals.....i'm sure a lot would like.....but, looking at these, it may be as mikewang's comment OR i am sure not supporting a group that voices out for a particular race.....
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 13:18:43
The leaders of hindraf is just using the indians for their own gain. Even now it seems they have been bought over by BN to discredit Pakatan. I am an indians and in no way I support hindraf as I feel they are a racist group and foolish indians are being brainwashed by the leaders. Its clear neither does whatya nor uthaya care about the indians. They thoughts that by making this rediculous demands, the BN will offer them a high position just to keep them quiet where they themself would gain but not the rest of the indians. When this did not happen, now they are again creating problems and issuing treats. Who the hell do they think they are.

Hindraf leaders are a disgrace to all indians and any intelligent indian can see that. The above demands are rediculous as its clear its all about money and not about anything else. They probably thought if the goverment did give a certain amount of money, they would get control of it and would swindle it just as samy vellu did for allocations meant for indians.

Indians should open their eyes wide and not be fooled by these 2 brothers who are nothing but self serving individuals making use of indians for their own benefit.
disagree 18
written by apa jadi, July 07, 2009 13:36:33
I do agree that HINDRAF's memorandum is only to the benefits of the Indian. Please do note that the acronym stands for HINdu Rights Action Force. So, the names speaks for itself.

However, when interpreting the memorandum, we cannot just take the points to conjure it a racist or not. It is a memorandum just to creat the awareness to those in power that plights of certain group has been neglected. Negotiation follows therein, if those in power are really serious about the plight of the marginalised group. Therefore do not jump the gun and shoot down the HINDRAF from their memorandum.

We judge the organisation or individual racist or not by their/his actions. If HINDRAF continues to play the racial card for their own personal gains, then only we can cast a verdict on them. Meanwhile leave them alone to see what is their next course of action.

P/S I am no HINDRAF supporter, but speak from the view point that each group's entitlement to their basic rights.
written by temenggong, July 07, 2009 13:45:04
Without going into details, I think I can empathise with much of the points. More or less this is what is required to correct the discrimination and marginalisation in this racism reeked country.

Just see the discrimination in the public sector (Govt) and in the private sector, and you'll know what I mean. 10% of east malaysians control 56 parliamentary seats, while 8% of Indians have zero control of parliamentary seats. There are areas of gross marginalisation that requires special solutions. It's time for Malaysians to confess to this.

The alternate is removal of Article 153, and, an open economy (open skies) where any foreigner can enter business here with no questions asked.
written by eks, July 07, 2009 14:00:18
Dear fairnessforall,
You the so called ' Indian Crab '.Donno how to see 'things'.What a useless indian ur.If ur mother know about this comment she would kill you while ur small.What a stupid indian ur
written by ganbing, July 07, 2009 14:12:08
I'm shocked by the racism and extremism shown by Hindraf. They are even more racist than Umno!

RM10 million for each of the 15,000 Hindu shrines demolished? Most of them were just an alter under a tree. Do they deserve RM10 million?

All the conditions are just plain extremist, unreasonable and racist.Indians are less than 8% of the pop., and they want 20% of the civil service?

How will promoting Tamil schools advance Indians? Tamil is not used in commerce and industry. Even in India, it's English and Hindi.

All I can say is, "Podah!"
written by singam, July 07, 2009 14:12:59
Hakim Joe, what is your agenda?

At the time of their formation and during the entire period of their existence, Hindraf have not pretended to be anything other than an action force seeking to redress the marginalisation suffered by the Hindu Indian community. Their very name proudly declares that.

Prior to their announced march in Nov 08, many tried to dissuade them from taking a racial stance which was feared would fall nicely into the trap set by the BN. Fortunately for all, the feared engineered clash did not happen. Hindraf went on to wake up a slumbering community, filled them with resolve and they became kingmakers, destroying the BN majority in so many "safe" constituencies that the 2/3 parliamentary stranglehold was broken.

After the Mar 08 tsunami, many have tried to get Hindraf off the racial track. But incidents like Kg Buah Pala continue to give them ammunition and a reason to continue their aggressive and combative stance. Continuing to attack them is not going to drive them into backing down. They will only become more defensive and locked-down.

What we need is to engage them and persuade them to join the mainstream of politics. What Haris Ibrahim did in challenging Uthayakumar to make his proposed new party PAHAM a multiracial one is a positive step. That is the kind of forward thinking action we need.

What are you trying to accomplish with this article?

written by ganbing, July 07, 2009 14:38:43
I don't know where Temenggong is coming from. If these extremist demands are met, they will destroy the country. Is the country just for the 8% Indians only? The Hindraf demands are extreme and have megalomania all over them.

Chinese also work under the SAME laws and restrictions as Indians but Chinese have managed to prosper with hard work. Yes, the there's discrimination but work harder to overcome them instead of crying for handouts.

The way to solve the discrimination problem is not MORE RACISM but replacing discrimination with multi-culturalism. Extreme lopsided affirmative action is not the way to help Indians, it will only cripple them and make them impossible to survive without crutches.

BTW, I'll like to see Uthaya' new party, PAHAM's manifesto. If it's anything like the Hindraf demands, he's history.
written by Dhan, July 07, 2009 15:09:07
First, one has to read the research by Hindraf entitled, "50 Years of Violations of the Federal Constitution by the UMNO controlled Malaysian Government", which traces the submissions to the Reid Commission in 1956 to the theft of political and economic rights leading to discrimination and marginalisation. It is 547 pages. Here it is:

Filename: Public Forum-50 Years of Violations of the Federal Constitution.pdf
File size: 58.27 MB / 10 minutes to download
***** the link: http://www.filefactory.com/file/a00ade2/
***** the "Download with FileFactory Basic" button to download the pdf file.

One has to read all to get the picture before one can start talking with a semblance of lucidity. After reading then can talk. Clearly the enemy is defined, and then we begin to see the reasons for their 18 Demands. They did not pull it from between the legs or somewhere.
written by advocatusdiaboli, July 07, 2009 15:18:07
The bashing has started already. I really wonder what is Hakim Joe's agenda. You people criticise that Hindraf manifesto as put up by this Hakim fella, but have any of you read it or seen it yourselves? What about the NEP? That one can is it? So what is wrong if Hindraf ask just the same as what the NEP is giving the malays? To uncleleow, why don't you look at what your MCA did at PKFZ? Better still uncleleow, have you seen the original Hindraf manifesto? Would it suffice if I called you a communist just because Chin Peng is a communist? So don't go saying Terrorist unless u have proof. And to mawi my answer is fcuk you. You have been making racist comments for some time now and this is certainly not the first. When it came to the election bandwagon you fellas used this mileage to the maximum to gain peoples votes. Now, you guys want to brush it aside. If not for what Uthayakumar did will you guys even look to see the Indians problems or know how marginalised they are? slash and burn, you'd better go to India and become a voice for the minority there. Better still why not become the voice of the minority here and show how it should be done then? If Hindraf did not do what they did will you fellow Malaysians actually sit up and notice their problems? If the now defunct website policewatchmalaysia did not publish the pictures of the atrocities committed against innocent Malaysians (majority being Indians) will you Malaysians actually sit up and notice what was going on? Have you so called commentators here gone to the estates and seen how the Indians are actually treated and how they actually live? That fella who commentated about Kampung Medan, so just because someone kicked a few tables is it justified that innocent Indians are killed and maimed then? There is more than meets the eye at Kampung Medan. If you Malaysians have balls or if this Hakim Joe dares, call for a Royal Commission to be held about it. Uthayakumar did as hard as he could to do that. Hakim Joe, you even made some comments about Janice Lee here not too long ago. Whyla, no contracts given to you aa? Next time Hakim Joe, you stand for elections lah and show how it is to be done.
written by hellosunshine, July 07, 2009 15:39:21
You don't have to be a rocket scientist to work out the math. The Indian Malaysians make up only 8% of the population, divide that into Hindus, Buddhists, Christians, Muslims, MIC and others and you'll have only a small fraction of Hindus only backing Hindraf. Yes, the Makkal Sakti phenomenon did awaken and galvanized the rakyat during GE12 but now the rakyat has also awaken to Hindraf's selfish and bigoted racist agenda without a thought for the nation or the other races aka Malaysians. How to support such greedy and racist bigots? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 15:43:57
Sutha,

I am posting the original Hindraf 18-point Memorandum as submitted to AAB.
Maybe the readers can then see if I have distorted it or not.
Thanks for commenting.

written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 15:51:40
eks, the stupid indian is u. And my mother does know about the comments and feels the same way about Hindraf. You must be one of those stupid indians who can get brainwashed so easily by the likes of Uthaya and Wathya. Learn to use your brain if u have one to see what is right and what is wrong.

Just because you are a stupid indian who follows blindly and cant think for himself, does not mean we must all be stupid indians.
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 17:19:12
hellboykl,

Just got home from a Hindraf rally, eh? Lands only given to Chinese in Perak? Care to contribute some evidence? Every project has to be done by Chinese developers? Care to contribute some evidence?

Well...I am waiting...
Still waiting....

written by apa jadi, July 07, 2009 17:25:26
hellboykl,

I read two of your postings. They are none other than riling up racial sentiments. Don't tell me you are one of those employed shi-t stirrer.

Grow up boy, argue with facts, not ranting and raving.
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 17:32:51
advocatusdiaboli,

Two wrongs does not make a right. I am against NEP just as I am against the 18-point Memorandum. As you said about my commenting about Jenice, well it answers hellboykl's comments, doesn't it? Not only do I hit Hindraf, I hit the Chinese as well. You'll also be glad that know that I hit the Malays as well.

written by The Prophessor, July 07, 2009 18:44:07
The Chinese in Malaysia have had racially-defined business practices and business ethics since ... god knows when. If anyone needs credible evidence about this fact, refer to RPK's writings about his motorcycle business. So Ganbing, you are correct when you say the Chinese prospered through hard work, but you are wrong to state that the Chinese, Indians and Malays work under the same laws.

Then the Malays realized this fact and drew their boundaries along racial lines soon after 13 May 1969. This boundary was manifested in the form of the NEP and other affirmative action policies.

This Hindraf 18-point thingy seems to be an attempt to establish a similar socio-economic boundary by the Indians. This realization came to its height in Nov 2007.

It used to be 2 boundaries that we needed to dismantle, but now it seems like we have three.

That being said ... let he who is without sin cast the first stone!
written by hellosunshine, July 07, 2009 20:37:34
Wah lau eh! How about the other races especially the natives who are the original and not pendatangs like the rest of us? If every Semang, Senoi, Kadazan, Iban, Penan, Dayak etc and his dog were to demand for their God given rights that was monopolized by the Malays, then the country is fcuked. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ganbing, July 07, 2009 20:42:10
Look, being marginalized is one thing but making outrageous demands is another. Just take one example, asking for RM100 billion over 5 years for Tamil schools. That's RM20 billion a year. Tell me, can the country afford to spend that huge amount on Tamil schools which are all very lightly populated? How to spend that amount, get solid gold taps and gold plated tables and chairs and change them every year?

On top of that, they are asking for RM150 billion as compensation for destroyed Hindu shrines. Does the country have that money?

Anybody who thinks thinks these demands are not ridiculous is so blinded by support for Hindraf that they can't think logically. The country will be bankrupted 10 times over with these demands.
written by temenggong, July 07, 2009 20:51:23
Even many Malays and Chinese apologetically admit to the marginalisation of the Indians, and yet, surprisingly, many urban Indians seemed so ashamed to admit that. Their psyche cannot seem to come to terms with it. They do not want to admit that many of them are themselves victims of discrimination and now serve as flower pots, window dressings in the private corporate world, but go out of the way to pronounce an egalitarian soceity. Their pride cannot absorb this. This is called the Stockholm Syndrome. They are too ashamed to say so, that they are nobodies in this malay-chinese politico-economic fraticidal society, who only view them as 'political nuisances to be tolerated' so as to meet the demands of a politically correct society. I have heard fisherman and court of appeal judges say this, way back in the mid-eighties!

Now can you understand the scarecely contained derision of uncleleow? The ole fcuk has absurd hallucinations everytime he wakes up! Go to sleep lah, old man! Lan chow, hardwork!
written by sara, July 07, 2009 21:23:50
DEAR HAKIM.
I HAVE QUESTIONS FOR YOU.
1. WHY YOU PICK ONLY 10 POINTS.WHAT HAPPEN TO THE REST.
2. DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH BEING SPEND IN BUILDING MALAY SCHOOL.JUST GO THROUGH THE ANNUAL BUDGET AND SEE HOW MUCH IS ALLOCATED TO EDUCATION MINISTERY AND HOW MUCH OF IT FOR INFRASTRUCTURE.
3. IF I AM NOT MISTAKEN,THERE WAS A DISCLOSURE IN PARLIAMENT ,ABOUT 450 MILLION WERE SPEND TO BUILD MOSQUE AND SURAUS FROM 2004-MARCH 2008.WHILE ABOUT 11 MILLIONS WERE SPEND ON OTHER PLACES OF WORSHIP(CHURCH, TEMPLE, GUDWARA,TOKONG AND ETC).DO YOU THINK IT IS FAIR,55% PEOPLE GET 450 MILLION, WHILE THE REST 45 GOT 11 MILLIONS?
4.GOVERNMENT JOB. BEFORE INDEPENDENCE, MANY CHINESE AND INDIAN WERE HOLDING MANY IMPORTANT JOB IN GOVERNMENT INCLUDING THE POST OF CHIEF JUDGE, ADMIRAL OF NAVY , ARMY. AIR FORCE AND ETC,CHIEF SUERGEON, FROM KINDEWRGARTEN TO U, AT THAT TIME MALAYSIA WERE FAMOUS AS LAND OF INTELLIGENTS.NOW AFTER 50 YEARS, YOU CAN HARDLY SEE ANY CHINESE OR INDINS IN ANY IMPORTANT POST( MINUS THE RELIGIOUS PROSTITUTE WHO HAD CONVERTED).DO YOU THINK THIS FAIR? MY RELIGION NEVER SAY THIS BEING FAIR, I DON'T KNOW ABOUT YOURS.E.G. DO YOU KNOW,IN INDIA,A HINDU MAJORITY COUNTRY,THE MUSLIMS BEING THE MINORITY BUT IS BEING SUBSIDIZE TO PERFORM HAJ.tHAT WHAT I CALL FAIRNESS.
5. LAST BUT NOT LEAST, CAN YOU COME OUT STRONGLY AND SAY, WE BUMIPUTERAS DON'T WANR ANY SPECIAL PRIVILEAGES AND DO AWAY WITH ALL POLICIES THAT ARE DISCRIMINATE?
OPEN CHALLENGE, ACCEPT IT AND WALK THE TALK.
written by Changes, July 07, 2009 22:25:47
Point Number 19,
When a Stupid Indian Goes to Jail and when he comes out, HE SO BLADY DAM PROUD OF IT.
This is the JACKASS to be blamed for us INDIANS. What have you done with jackasses like this?
I do support you, but if you bother the Pakatan Rakyat with this small issues, I"M OUT OF YOUR SITE AND AGAINTS YOU
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 23:45:36
Sara,

Why the 10 points out of the eighteen? Well, these 10 points are racially motivated, right? I have asked MT to publish the original version of the memorandum as submitted to AAB. Look at the other 8 points and you will see that they are what P. Waytha Moorthy has always said as a human rights activist. What he did was however mixing himself up both as a human rights activist and an Indian rights activist.

Okay about the schools and like what you wrote, RM450 million were spent for the building of mosques and suraus between 2004 and 2008. Now look at what Hindraf demands. A whooping RM150 billion. Is that reasonable?

As for the important jobs within the administration, can one actually demand that it be given to them because they deem themselves marginalized? Look, UMNO is looking after the Malay Muslims and that’s a fact. That is why we support Pakatan. However, supporting Pakatan does not automatically mean that we have to support Hindraf as well, get it? You people seem to thin that “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”. It doesn’t work that way. Pakatan will never accept Hindraf until they drop the “Indians Only” mentality.

Pakatan is fighting for Bangsa Malaysia not Bangsa India only or Bangsa Melayu only or Bangsa Cina only or Bangsa Iban only etc.

written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 23:49:12
thirdeye,

Hindraf is asking for what the Hindraf leaders want. Get that right.

written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 23:53:27
batsman, if you are reading this....STOP LAUGHING!!! (he..he..he..)
Seems like we two are getting Hell for writing some controversial pieces, eh?
Enjoying this so far?

written by Hakim Joe, July 08, 2009 00:00:29
advocatusdiaboli,

What's my Agenda? Information, more precisely information to the MT readers. Not everybody has seen or read the original text of this memorandum and I am merely providing the service (plus my opinion of it lah!). Some might agree with me and some might not. That’s democracy. You are free to form your own opinion after reading it, just as I am free to form mine.

No doubt that the Malaysian-Indians have been marginalized for a long time, just as the Malaysian-Chinese has been marginalized for the same period of time. Even the poor indigenous population of Malaysia has been marginalized and that is with their Bumiputera status. That’s the plain truth and the Malaysian-Indians do not possess a monopoly over it. Just as there exist Indian beggars on the road, there are both Malay and Chinese beggars there as well.

Marginalization is a word commonly utilized here. Both the Chinese and the Indians do not have the opportunities and privileges accorded the Bumiputeras and hence both are being marginalized. However, do tell me why is it that the hardcore poor mainly consist of both Malays and Indians? This is not a racial thing; it has everything to do with the sheer effort to lift oneself from the discrimination through education and hard work. From one generation to the other, we try to provide for our children so that they will get a good head start, just as what they will do for their children and so forth.

written by mawi, July 08, 2009 13:28:07
To all the tamby's like proarte, Temenggong , Singam, get this through your thick head. Get your own money to buy over the land and then talk. If you can raise that money, wGuan Eng would be more than glad to exercise his powers to acquire the property the very next second. What PR promised before the election was that , the folks plight will be looked into and they will get a legitimate property to stay for good. But that was not enough. Greed took over and they wanted more. A reasonablecompensation and relocation to a legitimate property , just like other squatters all over Malaysia, was not good enough. They wanted special preferentials. They wanted to be filthy rich or a title over propety worth millions which they can immediately sell and become instant millionaires and innocently hiding behind pathetic sob stories and sheer innocence. Sudah lah , your melodramatic is too over realistic and people know your real intentions.Its not just about money but money that can make those filthy snakes instant millionaires. I can bet you that if ever Guan Eng try a diplomatic approach, he will be reprimanded if he does come with the right amount $$$$$$$$$$$. This is what a snake is all about.And you know what will happen after that. The Indians in Selangor, Kedah and Perak will make thier move to become backdoor millionaires with our money by more threats, more ransom and endless ridiculous demands.

Generally, the whole public understands Guan Eng's predicament and is abhorred with the racist Hindraf people. They just looked at Indians and not everyone else. What a shame.

Dear Mr Lim Guan Eng, don't bow to these scumbags. We are willing to lose their votes rather than heeding to this ransom.What can they do? Join BN and get back to licking the valueless butthole and continue being donkeys again. If they think that is what is good for them , so be it.
written by mawi, July 08, 2009 13:31:19
Bte, if you replace the word Indians in the memorandum with Malays. Hell would break loose within the Indian communities but ironically, most of the bashing would be in English. I wonder why?
written by sara, July 08, 2009 21:50:57
Dear Hakim,
Why you still choose to pick what you wanted to answer?I asked 5 questions but you only answered 2.on the other hand you mentioned that hindraf is demanding 150 billion but just consider this the gov. spend average 90 million a year for ONE cause...building mosques.Try to calculate 90m X 50 years=4500 million.mind you that'only for ONE cause and that doesn't include the moneyfor the PA system(RM50,000)/mosque, the latest number.The carpets. the electicity bills, water bills and money other expenses.
2.Can you mention how much, the gov. spend on MARA, MRSM and itm(UiTM)since it started and more important where the money come from?
3. Recently, mahathir enguired what happen to about 250 billion petronas money since 2003? I have the same doubt but not since 2003 but since 1970 and especially from 1980-2003.
4.By now i think you have read the letter in RPK's column(If it is genuine).Do you in all your honesty think the Mustafa is really qualified for the post.And by the way, why no judgesfrom Malaysia never been invited to sit in internatinal tribunal.The last judge,was, Tun Salleh if I am not mistaken.ANd you are talking about qualification.
ANd i really hope you can answer my other questions especially q5.
written by sara, July 08, 2009 21:57:17
Hakim,
Since you did mention many people never read the 18 points and you took all the trouble to enlighten us.TQ.In the same spirit, can you publish the ORIGINAL CONSTITUTION that was drafted approved by all races back in 1950s?And please enlighten us of the differences of the original constitution and the watered down constitution that we have now(2009).I really hope you will do that.