Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Khir: RM24m? It's absurd

Khir: RM24m? It's absurd PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 11:13

(NST) SHAH ALAM: A DAP state assemblyman yesterday alleged that Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo had bought a RM24 million bungalow here, a charge which the former Selangor menteri besar vehemently denied.

Sekinchan assemblyman Ng Suee Lim asked how the opposition leader in the state assembly could afford such a mansion after being menteri besar for only five years.

He showed reporters a land- search document which indicated that Dr Khir was the owner of the land measuring 0.5ha in Jalan Suasa 7/1L here on which the house had been built.

He said those who had been inside had described it as palatial with granite tiles, huge chandeliers, fine wood carving and furniture and ornate wooden doors.

The house, with furnishings from Bali, also has a huge swimming pool and a children's playhouse.

He estimated that the playhouse cost RM280,000 while the arch at the entrance to the mansion cost RM290,000.

Pictures of the mansion, with aerial shots, have appeared in a blog critical of Dr Khir.

"His income as menteri besar (between August 2000 and March last year) was RM4.6 million. This is not even close to the price of the house. How did he manage to accumulate so much wealth?"

Ng said documents from the land office showed that the plots were transferred to Dr Khir and his wife, Datin Seri Zahrah Kechik, in July and September 2007 respectively from Ditamas.

The first plot measuring about 0.3ha was sold to Dr Khir for RM2.9 million while the 0.2ha plot was sold for RM900,000.

Ng said that while he knew of the existence of the house some time ago, he only managed to get documents recently to prove the plots belonged to Dr Khir.

Dr Khir said he had taken a loan from HSBC to buy the house for RM3.5 million in 2007 and that it did not cost RM20 million.

'I took a bank loan to buy it. (The) RM24 million (quoted by Ng) is ridiculous."

He said he was paying RM15,000 monthly to settle the loan.

"The house was there when I bought it. The RM3.5 million is for the house and land. I only did renovation for about RM500,000 to replace the roof."

He said he had also built a surau in the compound, replaced the front gate and renovated the kitchen.

"There is no children's playhouse or an arch that cost RM290,000. It must be a joke (to suggest) that I would spend such an amount on such things," he said at his office in Glenmarie here.

He said he would give Ng RM12 million if he could sell the house for RM24 million.

"I will choose him as my real estate agent and he can sell the house for me."

He said Ng had a personal agenda as he was angry that he (Dr Khir) was making inroads into the Sekinchan constituency, which lies in the same parliamentary constituency as Sungai Panjang.

"I don't see any problem with having this house. I bought the house after five years of being menteri besar."

He said the contractor doing the renovation had run away and that he was looking for a new one to finish the job.

He added that it had been three years since he bought the house but that he was still unable to move in as he had to save money for the renovation.

"The kitchen is not completed.

"I think I can only shift in after about three months."

Dr Khir said he would sue Ng over the allegations.

written by batsman, July 07, 2009 11:17:06
Haven't you heard? Di Malaysia apa pun Boleh
written by krising1, July 07, 2009 11:18:01
The tukang gigi/pencuri has always threatened everybody with suits. However, he is yet to sue anybody. Hope he carries it out this time. Mr Ng, here is a chance to make some real money. Buy the house from the pencuri for 24 million. Give him only 12 million. Then you can take your time to make the millions. So take his challenge. Then we will know who is bluffing!
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 11:25:18
Look at it this way...Toyol doesn't drink coffee.
And the kopi money has to go somewhere, right?

written by ROBERTNGTG, July 07, 2009 11:33:08
A DAP state assemblyman yesterday alleged that Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo had bought a RM24 million bungalow here, a charge which the former Selangor menteri besar vehemently

ISTANA TOYOL???
written by Jan, July 07, 2009 11:34:04
The Toyo fler must think we are stupid, it's obvious the house cost much much more than RM3.7 mil. How can a MB earning a RM48000/Month salary afford such a house? The irony is this fler can accuse others with cars and cows stories. If BN and MACC don't take some action I don't see them coming back in this state for a long long time.
written by ChandraJ, July 07, 2009 11:34:55
If Toyo only wants RM12m, can YB Ng sell the property for,say, RM13m (or any sum higher than RM12m) and keep the difference? It sure pays to expose BN wrongdoings!!
written by by2020, July 07, 2009 11:35:30
Many of my friends in the construction industry opine that it could even cost more than 24 million depending on the interior decoration!

In case Khir Toyo want to argue, however, let's engage one property valuer to establish whether it is 24 million or not? The Selangor Government should volunteer footing the bill of the valuer's fee to find out the true!

written by Counterpointer, July 07, 2009 11:36:35

Here's your broom Toyol, go sweep your 24 Mil bungalow or stick it up your private orifice.
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 07, 2009 11:39:34
Is Khir an exception? No. There are many more mansions and semi-palaces owned by UMNO politicians and ex-ministers. The amount of wealth they acquired is beyond our beliefs. The only option left is the overthrow of the current government through the ballots. Then only can they be 'skinned alive' for what they have done.
written by by2020, July 07, 2009 11:45:29
This case serve as one glaring example of the dark side of this country:

1. Khir Toyo is said to be borne in Indonesia, so he is the first generation immigrant Malaysian.

2. However, he enjoys Bumiputera status! And he has been calling others "pendatang" so many times.

3. Based on the available information, he makes more than 30 million in fortune! And he accumulated this in a short span of 8 years as MB? (He could not make so much as dentist? I think)

4. Dr M stated more than 90% of the taxes contributed by Chinese, and almost all of the Malaysian Chinese are third generation immigrant, at least!

5. And UMNO goon still label the Chinese as Pendatang, when sucking hte country's coffer dry!

And this is the country that we all have!

So all Malaysian brothers and sisters, you be the judge! We deserve this country?
written by Jan, July 07, 2009 11:51:47
...So all Malaysian brothers and sisters, you be the judge! We deserve this country?
-----------------
Yes we do because we are borned here and we will defend her to the death. But first we get rid of this corrupt regime.
written by chrisyong, July 07, 2009 11:58:56
What is so difficult for MACC to move their butts quick and fast about this guy. If they are short handed they should ask for volunteers to do this job. Many QUALIFIED public would love to do this job for free!!!!!!!!!!! MACC is another bunch of RUBBISH, taxpayers are not getting their side of bargain. I am sure these bunch of ppl are paid handsome salary sitting in air con room, having meetings to stragegise how to help TOYOL out with this case instead of investigating him.
written by shamadz72, July 07, 2009 12:02:35
Compare the house of this immigrant ex-MB house and the existing Kelantan MB for the past 20 years. Now you know why we want to bury UMNO in the next election!

agree 127
written by BGs, July 07, 2009 12:04:04
Go after him, YB Ng! Toyol Kindsir should be the first big fish that the Selangor PR govt should bring to justice! Cheers!
written by fromamovingtrain, July 07, 2009 12:19:01
24m absurd? sorry yb khir, it should be 22.75m ONLY. our mistake
written by 1st2stay, July 07, 2009 12:24:35
Hmm. From what I have seen, aerial pictures, and the size, 0.5 ha and the location, I guess I'll fork out RM 3.8 Million easily any day for the property.
Beautiful isn't it!? Maybe Khir Toyo did actually pay that amount. But then I'd like to know why and how and by whom a property was sold at one tenth of its market value.
As I wrote above: Call me any time for similar projects!
written by Bigjoe99, July 07, 2009 12:29:16
Can I buy it for RM3.5 mil then?

Wonder what HSBC loan documentation says about his ability to service the 30 year loan....
written by smalluncle, July 07, 2009 12:34:14
Ya lah! ABSURD.

With todays prices it is at least 50% more! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by pinsysu, July 07, 2009 12:39:23
the house costs RM3.5 mil ... the rest of the items come as freebies. u never go supermart meh? like u buy some toothpaste & they bundled it with a nice looking walt disney mug or power-puff girl rice bowl. tsk tsk tsk !!
written by Krepot, July 07, 2009 12:45:32
Just get the HSBC valuation report,
you need that to get a loan anyway!
written by raven1958, July 07, 2009 13:10:40
Could 24 million been used for that long lost bridge that Klang needs so badly....

Toyol will go the Zakaria Deros way....dying in mysterious circumstances....
written by denkoh, July 07, 2009 13:37:11
toyol = construction worker from indon
Zahrah Kecik = runaway maid

together they met at sungai ara and plot to go big time as thieves.
written by Sagaladoola, July 07, 2009 13:44:19
Don't make me laugh lah Toyol. We know what kind of house RM3.5 mil can buy and also what RM24 Mil is capable of .......
written by edwardh, July 07, 2009 16:09:05
RM12,000,000 for the land and house. Hmmm...

0.5ha = 53500 sq feet.

RM224/ sq. feet.

Is this a good buy?

But if we use RM3,500,000 for it, then we know it cost
RM65/ sq feet.

That is a super good buy.
written by MalaysianFirst, July 07, 2009 16:46:27
"Khir: RM24m? It's absurd".

Of course it's absurd. It should be more than that.

written by max_crazy, July 07, 2009 20:47:13
Mana itu...MACC..masih kat kandang tidor lagi ke,siasat lembu selangor ini macam cepat,siasat orang tak tau ke..ptui..ptui..bazir tax payer money ..oni.
written by Adrian, July 08, 2009 00:08:55
ini mesti tarik gigi orang sekampung baru boleh untung ini wang.....
written by asiana888, July 08, 2009 00:16:31
Aiyah! Khir, you think we all bodoh, meh? Of course your palace doesn;t cost tht much to be built nor the land worth so much as RM24 million. YB Ng is saying the whole damn corrupted pig-sty you have built including furnishing costs RM 24 million.

A piece of carpet in your palace already cost RM 50,000 ... so surely you cannot stay in the place with no furnishing, right?