Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Folk to finally meet CM

Folk to finally meet CM PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 10:55

(The Star) GEORGE TOWN: After more than two weeks of acrimony, the committee members of the Kampung Buah Pala Residents Association will finally get to meet Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng over the impending demolition of the village, popularly known as High Chaparral.

Association assistant secretary C. Tharmaraj said the meeting, scheduled for tomorrow, was arranged by Bukit Gelugor MP Karpal Singh.

He said about 11 of them would meet Lim at his office at 11am.

“We hope to sort things out during the meeting,” he said yesterday.

On another matter, Tharmaraj said Hindraf legal adviser P. Uthayakumar will help the villagers if a demolition exercise were to take place on Aug 3 at the village.

He said Uthayakumar would be standing in the front line facing those coming to demolish the village on that day.

“He told us he wanted to see with his own eyes how the village could be torn down even though the state government had promised villagers that the issue would be resolved,” he said.

Association chairman M. Sugumaran said villagers hope to continue staying in the village, adding that the ball was in the state government’s court.

“They have the authority to help us,” he said.

Meanwhile, state Land and Mines director Arifin Awang admitted to providing inaccurate information on the land title status of Kampung Buah Pala to Lim.

Arifin said he was the “officer” who had provided inaccurate information to Lim leading him to believe that Kampung Buah Pala was sited on freehold land.

“I would like to clarify that the said inaccuracy and oversight was a mistake of the Land and Mines Office and not the Chief Minister.

“I hereby take full responsibility of the inaccurate information given. I admit my guilt and would like to express my request for forgiveness,” he said in a statement.

Arifin also confirmed that Kampung Buah Pala was sited on state leasehold land for 99 years, encompassed an area of 24,683.96 sq m (6.59 acres) and was earmarked for residential development.

Based on the ‘misinformation’ he received from Arifin, Lim had earlier told the residents there that the land was freehold and was too expensive to be bought back.

written by san amin, July 07, 2009 11:25:34
LGE IS GOING TO MEET THE ASSOCIATION BUT THIS UTHAYAKUMAR'S TRYING TO SHOW HIS 'TAMIL MOVIE SUPERPOWER' BY STANDING IN FRONT OF THE LINE. HEY UTHAYAKUMAR! TRY TO DO THAT IN FRONT OF PDRM TRUCKS AND YOUL BE CRUSHED LIKE A MURTABAK.
written by Kuku Burung, July 07, 2009 11:35:41
Meeting with CM LGE is planned. So will all the "heroes" please stay out. Until workable solution is worked out, every Tom & Harry please keep your mouth shut. Do not complicate the issue for your own political benefits.
written by drpolitic, July 07, 2009 11:49:01
This Uthayakumar must be chased out from this country...He is the one that exploiting the poor Indians for his political gains.

what he is trying to do...Tamil film hero scene??? He is planning to have unwanted scene in Kg Buah pala so that he can get famous again...

Now I am wondering how come he can released from ISA so fast....he must have agreed to agreements so that he can be released. And what is he doing is sacrificing the Indians for his gains.....
written by singam, July 07, 2009 11:50:22
Good for you, CM Lim. Meet the people, listen to their views, understand their predicament. Then talk to your advisors and explore every available avenue to resolve this unfortunate situation. You are a creative person, capable of finding a solution where others fail.

But if you try your level best and still cannot save Kg Buah Pala, then what more can anyone ask of you.

Let public debate on this matter cease for now, while you set yourself to the task.

All the best.

SV Singam.
written by asguard, July 07, 2009 11:50:52
At least ...the CM of Penang...willing even to meet the ordinary folks...
written by MMhunter, July 07, 2009 12:16:41
I think thats real sweet of the cm to meet the residence.He is someone who can be trusted and truely respected.CM please look at problems as an opportunity to foster and promote the ideals on which DAP is formed.Dont see it negatively.Good luck CM.As for Uthayakumar, all i want to say is there are many ways to solve problems.Dont just take extreme steps.When this is all over we still have to live together in the true spirit as Malaysian.Try not to make it too difficult for us all.
written by HCK23, July 07, 2009 12:20:47
LGE, good for you, meeting this people will be like breaking an iceberg. Once you break it, all the goodies coming to your way. Don't worry about BN, they will try others mean to tear you all apart, be cool, be patience. BN YOU ARE DEAD MEAT. hahaha smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 12:30:11
Talking to each other is a good sign.
Looks like Hindraf people are kept out of this dialogue to find a solution.

I hope no more wrong advices from the civil servants.
written by Bigjoe99, July 07, 2009 14:03:50
How the hell can you make a mistake like that??
written by Proarte, July 07, 2009 21:26:12
Finally!!!!

Sad that it took an 'Indian' Karpal Singh to give Guan Eng a clip around the ear and force him to meet with the Kg Buah Pala representatives. The racial connotations do not go amiss.

Well, better late than never.

Guan Eng should tone down on his arrogance. He must realise that if Karpal and Kit Siang had fought for State seats in Penang, they would have been more eligible to be CM than him. Guan Eng is Penang's CM by default and he must remind himself of that on a daily basis.
written by Stupid me, July 07, 2009 23:09:23
From the way he said things the former CM appears to be glad that he lost power to the PR. Lucky for him to be able to enjoy seeing others having to sort out the mess created by him & co.
written by thirdeye, July 07, 2009 23:26:46
LGE is to meet the folks of Kg Buah Pala. Leave it at that. Comments positive or negative on Uthayakumar not appreciated. Just complicate issue. Stop racist remarks for the benefit of the potential victims of BN's trail of terror.