Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M not happy with liberalisation policy

Dr M not happy with liberalisation policy PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 10:51

(Bernama) PUTRAJAYA: Former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has admitted he is not happy with the liberalisation policy introduced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak as it will erode bumiputera interests.

He said while the New Economic Policy would not in any way hamper Malaysia’s development vis-a-vis other developing countries, the liberalisation process would stifle the progress of bumiputeras in the country.

“The fact is that the bumiputera quota has not been met, while that of non-bumiputeras has been increasing, and the new policy introduced will only worsen the situation,” he said yesterday when asked to comment on Najib’s administration.

Dr Mahathir, however, admitted that there were some good policies under Najib’s administration, for instance, the key performance indicators aimed at improving the performance of government leaders.
“This (current administration) is better than the previous administration,” he further said.

Dr Mahathir had earlier received a visit from a delegation of the Malaysia and Singapore Vintage Car Register (MSVCR) at the Perdana Leadership Foundation office.

The MSCVR was formed in 1955 by a group of vintage car buffs in Melaka and is still active throughout the country.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by Hakim Joe, July 07, 2009 11:08:49
According to TDM, even the Somalian rebels' administration is better than the previous administration.

written by Jan, July 07, 2009 11:22:25
Can the Tun pls explain why we started out the same as Singapore but now lag so far behind? Did the NEP policies benefit ALL Malays or just some, like that Indon MB who owned a RM24 MIL bungalow? Tun, the people are not blind.
written by apasalahku, July 07, 2009 11:26:21
Love it when two dictators are at each other throats.
written by Jan, July 07, 2009 11:27:49
Tun, your NEP policies can fool some people some of the time but NOT all the people all the time.
Najib is seen to be doing the necessary to get us out of difficult times, the least you could do is belt up and let him do his work.
written by Navigator, July 07, 2009 11:29:21
See what I say about mamaks wanting money without having to work for it and without competition?
written by krising1, July 07, 2009 11:46:44
Any new policy means dismantling Tun's previous policies. Tun of courser will not be happy because it will show that Tun's policies held back progress, only helped the rich UMNOputras and the cronies. Woundn't that be a slap on the Unn's face and show that he was not an economist of any merit?
written by Counterpointer, July 07, 2009 12:03:02
The first UMNO Ultra/warlord to speak his displeasure. Let's see how many servings of liberalisation that Najis could serve before these people really cannot tahan anymore.
written by Arubin, July 07, 2009 12:43:16
Half-blood immigrants should not be talking about bumiputera rights. You are not one. You are only pretending to be one.
written by malaysian7, July 07, 2009 13:41:10
Dear Tun,

As much as I respect you but I do not really agree to what you said. I might be wrong thou but I am just giving you my view as well.

I have quite a number of Malay friends who are hardworking and ambitious. They don't need the NEP to become what they can now. In fact, they succeeded now is because of their own hardworks. Not all Malay brothers & sisters need NEP. If they willing to work hard, they will have the same opportunities like everyone.

Regards

If you are saying the poor Malays, then how about the other poor Malaysians? They too need help like the poor Malays.

It is all about the poor Malaysians and not a single race.
written by allmenarebrothers, July 07, 2009 16:13:17
Dear Koya Kutty Kaka
You are no longer in touch with the realities of the times. You are no longer relevant in this age of globalisation. As you are irreversibly senile you should euthanised yourself immediately & spare Malaysia from your venom & poison.
Unlike Michael Jackson who is being missed & mourned by millions you will be happily missed & forgotten.
written by Kampong, July 08, 2009 00:21:15
So mamak, who's son got more contracts from the government? Yours or Pak Lah's?

It's interesting that when it comes to Bumiputra's interests, it invariably translates into the personal coffer of these crooks.