Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib again turns down open debate with Nik Aziz

Najib again turns down open debate with Nik Aziz PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 05:07

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

Prime Minister Najib Razak has again shied away from an invitation to open debate with PAS spiritual adviser Nik Aziz Nik Mat, re-igniting talk that he was fearful of a face-to-face confrontation with the 78-year religious scholar.

“I have said a debate is no use and everybody else thinks so too,” Najib told reporters on Monday.

“If we are to meet, then we should not lash out at each. But we have done that and once that has happened, we cannot have any conducive environment for a meeting.”

Nik Aziz, the senior-most leader in PAS, had issued the debate invitation after Najib criticised him for rejecting an offer for “unity talks” with the ostensible aim of hammering out a Malay power pact between Umno and PAS.

An Umno Youth leader even went to the extent of lodging a police report against Nik Aziz for sedition.

The PAS leader, who is also the Kelantan Menteri Besar, had not minced his words at a recent ceramah, harshly criticising Umno for trying to break up his party and thereby its Pakatan Rakyat coalition with PKR and DAP.

Nik Aziz reiterates no unity talks

Over the weekend, Nik Aziz again issued the invitation.

“I just want to ask two things – why reject Islam and embrace nationalism, and what is wrong with the policy implemented by PAS, especially in Kelantan,” he said.

Despite relentless efforts from Najib’s supporters to drive a wedge amongst PAS members, Nik Aziz has stuck to his guns, refusing to form any political pact with Umno.

The Pakatan and Umno-BN are currently locked in a by-election tussle for the Manik Urai state seat in Kelantan, which fell vacant after the incumbent died in May.

The hot topic of unity talks is likely to dominate campaigning over the next eight days until polling on July 14 .

Najib’s repeated refusals to face off against Nik Aziz and to clarify his intentions is also likely to be scrutinised by the constituents.

“The unity talks proposal is dead. We are united in Pakatan Rakyat. If Umno returns to the true teachings of Islam, everything will be fine,” the MB told reporters at the Manik Urai nomination centre earlier in the day.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by hamid, July 07, 2009 06:19:35
“I have said a debate is no use and everybody else thinks so too,” Najib told reporters on Monday.

Who is this "everybody else" ? I never thing so! Debate is good practice, it's will lead people to a better understanding about the debated issue. Don't be coward, be a real man. smilies/angry.gif
written by StevenO, July 07, 2009 06:34:10
re-igniting talk that he was fearful of a face-to-face confrontation with the 78-year religious scholar.

Of course he's afraid of Nik Aziz!!! An evil swine who mess around with black magic, having bomoh under his payroll. How on earth does he dare to face a righteous man with strong spiritual character. Nik Aziz will exorcise him and show us what kind of evil thrash is hiding behind a sheet of human skin.
written by advocatusdiaboli, July 07, 2009 08:16:56
That fler chicken out already lah. Tok Guru would have exposed him outright.
written by onnetline, July 07, 2009 08:59:12

............ no balls liar ! !
written by asguard, July 07, 2009 09:18:53
The devil ....has his own reason of not wanting a public debate...
written by Kang Mas, July 07, 2009 09:26:55
It was a sheer waste of time to have a debate or dialogue with Najib whose credibility was very questionable. Ameno leaders were renowned as 'back-stabbers'.

How could we trust Najib who engineered and led to the hijacking and snatching of a legally elected PR government of Perak?

PR must be wary of Ameno/BN maneuver. They would grab and capitalise on anything that would help to prop Ameno/BN's sagging popularity.

Jangan buang masa. TGNA should talk to PR leaders how to strategise and strengthen PR to oust Ameno/BN in the 13th GE. PAS dah dakwah, cuba nak bermuzakarah dan nak berdailog. Specie bernama Ameno terutamanya, memang keras kepala. Dah tertutup pintu hati mereka dari dulu, kini dan selama-lamanya.

Lawan tetap lawan.
written by drpolitic, July 07, 2009 09:47:54
Debate is good. I agree with that. What is point having debate with Nik Aziz. The debate should be with Anwar who represents PR rather a person represents PAS.

The debate will just focus on the Islamic issue rather than national issue. No point wasting of time.
written by Ulan Benson, July 07, 2009 10:24:55
My grandma told me that 'Evil always avoid religious places'. smilies/grin.gif
written by ceong2000, July 07, 2009 10:42:28
Is he a Muslim? as you know that Muslim does not corrupted so clear so there is no way he can debate with the Tok Guru.Just a small question and he is dump found right?
written by my oumrie, July 07, 2009 11:00:28

Nope sorry, you didn't ask me too. Oh you mean your kuncu & "yes Men" ke? Then, don't say "everybody" lah. Rakyat not BODOH!
written by scottiebabie, July 07, 2009 11:02:15
when najib says everybody, he means Big Mama Rosie la. who else is 'big' enuff to be everybody?? smilies/grin.gif