Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mohan Singh given Islamic burial

Mohan Singh given Islamic burial PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 04:58

(Bernama) - After over a month-long tussle for his remains, Mohan Singh, 41, was accorded an Islamic burial today.

Selangor Islamic Religious Council (Mais) public relations officer Rohana Hassan said the body of Mohan, whose Muslim name was Mohammad Hazzery Shah Mohan Abdullah, was brought out of the Sungai Buloh Hospital mortuary at 6pm and taken to his mother's house in Selayang Jaya to give an opportunity to his family members to pay their last respects.

His remains were then buried at the Taman Batu Muda Muslim Cemetry in Batu Caves near here at 9pm, she said when contacted by Bernama.

Mohan, an art director, had converted to Islam on Aug 11, 1992, without the knowledge of his family, leading to a tussle between his family and Mais for his remains after he died on May 25 of a heart attack at his home in Damansara Damai, Petaling Jaya.

The Shah Alam Civil High Court today determined that he had indeed converted to Islam and rejected his family’s application to allow him a funeral according to Sikh rites.

The family was allowed to spend 30 minutes with his remains.

The press was barred from the house and security was tight throughout.

written by wongnoball, July 07, 2009 05:13:59
SHAME on You ..JAIS, MAIS, Justice systems....We will continue to fight you to the DEATH. Islam of the Malaysia type is Really a Laughing Stock. malaysia Judicial systems is a Farce now...PAS jangan buat Diam Diam. You support Freedom of Religion or NOT!!??
written by singam, July 07, 2009 06:31:40
Why are these Islamist authorities so obsessed with collecting numbers? Do they think they will get more points for going to heaven? Or are there more earthly reasons for their doing this?

Whether or not one is a Muslim will only be determined when one stands before Allah. Earthly courts don't have the authority to decide this.
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 07:22:40
What Mais got is one dead body and a sea of utterly disappointed and disgusted living family members.
What good is this to Islam, I hope good Muslims will explain to me.
written by slash n burn, July 07, 2009 07:46:29
My deep sympathy to the family.
written by apasalahku, July 07, 2009 10:24:20
in heaven.....
Allah: dei singh! you dropped in on the wrong turf man! I don't want any trouble from Guru Nanak.
Mohan: sorry sir. i oso dunno why. Someone just blindfolded me, put me in cab and drove me here. I told them the address many times. But they wouldn't listen
Allah: What the f-uck are they doing down there? blood idiots.
written by drpolitic, July 07, 2009 10:42:24
dear apasalahku,

Please do not drag Allah or Guru Nanak to what is happening to Mohan Singh. We should respect other religion. As far as I am concerned GOD are the same just the is the angle where we are looking at.

Whatever thing happen is happen...May is soul rest in peace.
written by CitizenBodohland, July 07, 2009 10:46:46
What the fuss with all of you?

You all gaduh gaduh here will not solve the problem. Blame it on Mohan lah for not telling his family and not writing a will in advance stating how he should be buried.

So the solution is simple. Now all moslem converts will need to write a will or SD and don't forget to tell your loved ones or those who can become your witness that you are a Moslem and what ritual you want to follow when you die. JAIS and MAIS should also be responsible to ensure the family knew about the conversion, not snatching bodies only when they died!

The commentors here have demonstrated how stupid, chauvinist and racist can a Malaysian be..... sikit-sikit mau gaduh.... semua mau sensitive.... especially pasal ugama. Solution tarak???????

Mohan is the one who died, not you. The worst part is nobody asked what he wants before he died.

A BIG BODOH FOR Y'ALL.
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 11:22:14
I wonder if anyone had asked what God, in his infinite compassion and mercy, would have wanted.

Coming to terms with their grief for the family or a nicely wrapped body.
written by Sutha, July 07, 2009 12:17:55
Mawi,

Enough of your crap in comparing a burial and a child going overseas for studies, unless you truly believe the buried will return to be with the family for a while before going again the second, third and so times to the burial ground. Compare apples with apples and not with pineapples.

Traditionally in Arabia, the only reason why they have been dutifully burying the dead ones of same faith is because their original families have totally disowned the convertees. These families viewed the group as warfaring outlaws who were nothing but terrorist. These is when the Chief Terrorist insisted that the fellowmen bury the dead to avoid rotting in the hot desert sun, which will become bad publicity in recruiting brainless guerillas. Thus "mualaf", "collecting numbers", "noble duty to bury", "renouncing not allowed", "kill the quitters" as they had information on strategies and next attack, "property cannot be given to original family", etc. It had nothing to do with God, unless their god was equally a terrorist too.

Here, Mohan Singh had a loving family who fought till the last, a losing battle against the heartless group. Does the muslim scriptures require snatching the corpse from a loving family? If Mohan Singh was buried a sikh, couldn't the same God do its part as It would do to a dead Muslim? Common la, Sikhs also pray to Allah but wear a larger turban instead of a small serban.

If Mohan had felt that Islam was important to him, he would have adopted a muslim name in daily use, declared his faith, led/lived a muslim life and probably converted his wife, etc. Here, he was still the original man. If renouncing the faith had been possible or made easier, we would have seen the clearer truth.
written by FFT, July 07, 2009 12:57:47
written by mawi, July 07, 2009 09:42:27
Muslim burial is of upmost importance to a Muslim.

Yes, quite so. We can never expect anything less from the adherents of the Arabian cult of death and terrorism.

Stealing dead bodies from grieving families is just the modern day version of caravan raiding popularized some 1400 years ago by a notable desert-dwelling pedophile.

This is precisely why we need to support the Western world when they butcher and colonize Muslim nations. Savages deserve no quarter. If they're so obsessed with death and burials, the least the civilized world can do is to help them along on their way smilies/grin.gif
written by Sutha, July 07, 2009 13:22:46
CitizenBodohland, you are truly what you profess to be.
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 14:34:08
Mawi, if Mohan had really converted, why was he a practising sikh. Does that not make him a non muslim anymore. Maybe u should answer that. If Muslims have so much of confidence in their faith then why afraid to allow muslims to convert and then see what happens. You people are just interested in snatching bodies. Why didnt MAIS inform the family that he has converted. Why should it be kept a secret. He was living with his sikh family, did he pray 5 times a day, did he eat halal food. Im sure being sikhs, they eat chinese food, which means he obviously eats pork. Dont you think burying him in a muslim cemetary would contaminate the whole cemetary since he eats pork. Use your brain. Why is MAIS and JAIS so desperate for dead bodies. Or is it they just want to get their hands on the persons property and assets.
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 16:04:06
Mawi, if islam was so important to him as u claim, why did he not practice it and why did he not claim to be a muslim but instead hid his coversion from everyone and continued praticing sikhism. He must have been ashamed of it. People only hide what they are ashamed of revealing.
written by mawi, July 07, 2009 17:14:50
fairnessforall,

As I has said, if you can prove that he had prayed the way a sikh prays, openly and publicly denounce Islam and declared he is no longer a Muslim,by the act itself would already deem him as non Muslim, leave aside the lagilities involved. But if it is merely going to the Gurdwara, then its as good as me visiting a friend in a church.

Back to the legal viewpoint, if the family had indeed have proof that he is a practsing sikh, then why is the evidence not credible. By the way, since you are such as expert to determine who is a Muslim and who is not, oh do tell me what is your basis ? Ireally would like to know. My friend Ahmad is a compulsive alcoholic. But that only makes him a sinner not a murtad.
written by advocatusdiaboli, July 07, 2009 19:23:13
Dey, Mawi! Did Mohan Singh come and tell you that he is a Muslim? Then what are you talking lah? Even his Identity Card says clearly he is not a Warganegara Islam. You really need to have your head checked.
written by Sutha, July 09, 2009 02:17:49
Mawi,

Are you saying if Mohan has been praying the Sikh way, publicly denounced Islam and declared that he is no longer a Muslim, then he is a non Muslim and therefore the Corpse snatchers will not snatch his body? Don't talk Kok! Crawl out of the tiny coconut shell and first check with the sick Jabatan and Majlis before you open your stupid mouth.

Are you sure the word should be "denounce" and not "renounce"? Don't get people into Kamunting detention by giving the wrong advice. Anyway, what does "publicly" mean? Market place?.... in newspapers?..... In front of mosque on a Friday....

How could it be utterly ridiculous burial to you when my dead family members are cremated? Muslims never understood right about any religions, including own.

Also, go and find out how the dead muslims in Arabia during haj are buried. Then, you will know what is ridiculous burial.

That is the problem of being indoctrined at age four/five when unable to think. It sticks lifelong.