Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow PM denies M’sian banks used by N. Korea for arms trading

PM denies M’sian banks used by N. Korea for arms trading PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 04:54

(The Star) - Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak denied news reports that North Korea is using Malaysian banks to create accounts to finance illegal arms trading.

“No, we don’t indulge in illicit arms trading,” he said when asked to comment on news reports that a US envoy was reportedly meeting Malaysian officials on the matter.

Yonhap quoted an unidentified source in Washington as saying that the US Government may have found several bank accounts in Malaysia suspected of belonging to North Korea and that it might freeze them as part of the crackdown against the communist state.

The United Nations imposed sanctions on North Korea after it detonated a nuclear device and test-fired several ballistic missiles.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by johanssm, July 07, 2009 05:29:41
Issuing a straight denial instead of doing a proper internal investigation.
Something is brewing inside the Malaysian govt.
Anyone here still thinks that Obama simply made a phone call to have a nice chit chat with najis the other day? You must be out of your mind then.
Sooner or later the report will leaks out and we will get to know which bank and who approves it.
As soon as it leaks out , najis can also say good bye to his 'sworn" quran regarding Altantuya.
written by Apache3, July 07, 2009 06:06:29
God..STILL IN DENIAL MODE.
written by Liberian, July 07, 2009 06:32:53
Why should Obama simplly call a PM of a small nation in SEA for chat? Are you (Najib) telling us that Obama have no work? Why do a police call you or a headmaster call a student. To let you know what has happen? So simple denial will not work, just like you denied that you have nothing to do with the Mongolian girl?
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 07:27:35
The right response is "We'll investigate" and not an outright denial.
He is behaving like an all knowing god.
written by ekt tan, July 07, 2009 07:35:18
Obviously the US may have done some homework before they made the statement. The Najis should not blindly deny but launch a thorough investigation to settle the matter. Perhaps UMNO cronies are involved! Will the Najis ever dare to investigate if it involves them? If there is truth in the US claim then Malaysia is a " Terrorist State"
written by Trueandfair, July 07, 2009 09:04:24
NAjib, for your sake, I hope it is NOT YOUR LITTLE BROTHER'S BANK - CIMB, or else, both of you KAPUT !!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Kang Mas, July 07, 2009 09:55:11
NAJIB was again in the spotlight with his 'DENIAL SYNDROME'. Didn't Malaysians and the whole world for that matter, scent and spot any similarity of this event to that of the 'C4 Altantuya's case?

Lies, lies and thousands lies.