Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow M’sian Sikhs dismayed over Mohan Singh’s conversion

M’sian Sikhs dismayed over Mohan Singh’s conversion PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 04:53

(The Star) - The Malaysian Gurdwaras Council expressed their dismay at the High Court’s decision which ruled that deceased art director Mohan Singh was a Muslim convert, and that the matter came under the jurisdiction of the Syariah court.

Council president Jagir Singh said that Mohan’s family members, applicants in the civil case, were non-Muslims and had no locus standi in a Syariah court.

“The applicants, including the wife and child are also affected as the declaration of the deceased as a Muslim would also affect their inheritance rights.

“The council feels that the family members should not be shut out and be without a remedy,” he said in a press statement on Monday.

Mohan married Sarawakian Alice Ajan in 1997 in a civil ceremony and they had a daughter. They separated in 1999.

Jagir added that another unsatisfactory feature was that the state Islamic laws provided that conversion certificates were conclusive proof of conversion and could not be challenged in court.

“In matters of religion and conversion, such provisions are bound to cause injustice to family members, and such deeming clauses which oust the jurisdiction of the court to examine the validity of conversion should be repealed,” he said.

written by SiHangChai, July 07, 2009 07:02:27
Malaysia is a 'Bolehland" of 'Neverland'. We have been told, we don't like it, we should ship-out. When a person dies, let the family decides what it best, and not the idiot religious bodies. Not only a body-snatching, but purposely stealing the wealth of non-muslim away and given to to muslim is totally a SIN. How should we respect Islam if this continues like suka-suka? Syariah court should stay away and let the civil court decides when involving non-muslim. be more civilised.
written by Proarte, July 07, 2009 07:31:19
Well, this is not just. Call it Islam iof you want, but it does not make it right or moral. Islamic bureaucracy cannot override the reality on the ground and the sensitivity of Mohan Singh's loved ones.

This is a clear example of where the letter of the law contradicts the spirit of the law. No rational human being would want to bury a non-Muslim as a Muslim. But in Malaysia because of other issues at stake, namely the unIslamic practise of 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam', we see Satanic practises masquerading as Islam. This is Malay Islam propagated by UMNO.
written by freerpk, July 07, 2009 08:28:03
The solution is so simple and yet it has not been instituted WHY WHY??? When a person converts to Islam the Islamic department should officially inform the rest of the family of his conversion. This will then mean that when something happens to the person in the future his/her family members cannot say thet they were not informed. After all practising a religion is a personal choice & guaranteed by our Constitution. Why should a Muslin need to hide his religion from his family ??? Is he so ashamed?? I thought that a Muslim should be proud of his conviction & announced to the whole world that he is a Muslim.
written by chiongguo, July 07, 2009 09:23:06
I really do not understand the obsession of muslims to get a dead body to be buried according to islamic rites. Jesus observation that the dead should be allowed to bury the dead seems apt. Perhaps someone could help us all understand this rather strange practice. In fact this was also the case during Guru Nanak's time. Guru nanak was the founder of the sikh religion. Just before he died he knew that the muslim and hindus would try to snatch his body to be buried. He was very close to the muslim and a lot of what he taught was also in islam. After he died his body was no where to be found - both muslims and hindus accuse the other of snatching the body.

written by Tan Tan, July 07, 2009 10:28:47
where is Hindaf or Uthayakumar???

why no comment??

well, we know they had been UMNOnized.

You think Umno so nice releasing them, of course, we behind the scene agreement to help UMNO to discredit and creat uproar in Penang.

Look out for these guys....they are dangerous.....
written by oneofthesedays, July 07, 2009 10:46:16
TAN TAN

You should stop badmouthing hindraf and stick to eating your pork.

written by Jit Dharma, July 07, 2009 11:45:37
His blood relatives have no locus standi. His father and mother gave
birth to him but this retarded and cowardly judge says they have no
legal right to him? This is the problem with this unreformed and
illegal government. Do the Sikhs still want to bodek Najib and One
Malaysia? Baru dia orang sedar.
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 14:44:59
Jit,maybe your question should be asked to the so called Dato Daljit singh who was sucking up to Najib. MAIS, JAIS and all those islamic religious bodies should be ashamed of themself. They are snatching bodies of non muslims just to get hold of their property. There is no other reason. If they are only interested in ensuring that a muslim is buried a muslim, then why take his property. His rightful heir should get his property. His wife, children who are his bloody should get everything. But NO, the islamic bodies are just interested in stealing other peoples hard earned money, that is why they encourage them to keep their conversion a secret so that the family will not be able to do anything before he dies to ensure his property is properly given to his own blood. That is why only when the person dies, they come forward to claim their bodies so that they can claim their property as well.

The rulers should be ashamed of themselves for stopping the changes that were recommended to be made in conversion issues. Seems the rulers feel that non muslims are not malaysians and they do not have any rights. Shame on the rulers. If you do not consider us your subjects, then there is no reason why we should consider you our ruler and give any respect for that matter.

As rulers, you all should be just and fair to all subjects and not only to one race or religion.

written by FFT, July 07, 2009 15:09:43
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 14:44:59
They are snatching bodies of non muslims just to get hold of their property. There is no other reason. If they are only interested in ensuring that a muslim is buried a muslim, then why take his property.

You cannot blame MAIS/JAIS/etc for this as they are simply adhering to the most basic of tenets of their religion. This is just the modern-day version of caravan raiding, started 1400 years ago by the cradle-robbing Terrorist-in-Chief.

Its very easy to realize that this is a farce, because in this case, Mohan Singh's MyKad clearly stated he was not Muslim, when he supposedly converted back in 1992 (waaay before MyKad). Anyways, I digress...

The bottomline is this: Islam should be recognized for what it is....a doctrine of terrorism. Today, the unwashed barbarians come for your dead kin; tomorrow they will come for your nubile virgin daughters....and their Hadiths have a precedence for this...be warned.