Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The untold MAS story: part 1

The untold MAS story: part 1 PDF Print
Tuesday, 07 July 2009 04:34

But it was not Tajudin Ramli who was arrested and charged for fraud and abuse of power. Instead, Ramli Yusuff, the head of the CCD, was arrested and charged for abuse of power and for not declaring his assets.

In 1994, when Tan Sri Tajudin Ramli took control of MAS through his company, Naluri Berhad, Malaysia’s national airline had a cash reserve in excess of RM600 million. Seven years later, in 2001, when the government bought back MAS for the same price that Tajudin paid, the national airline had accumulated losses in excess of RM8 billion.

What happened to the RM600 million in cash? How did MAS lose as much as RM8 billion over just seven years after showing a profit before that? And why did the government buy back an almost bankrupt airline for the same price that it was sold to Tajudin?

We are talking about a plus of RM600 million down to a minus RM8 billion. Yet there was no discount on the share price. Tajudin got back every cent he paid after ‘bleeding’ the national airline to the tune of almost RM9 billion.

One man decided to launch an investigation into the affairs of MAS to get to the bottom of the whole thing. This man is Datuk Ramli Bin Yusuff, the Director of the Commercial Crime Division (CCD). And this man is now on trial after getting arrested for allegedly abusing his authority and for not declaring his assets.

The basis for launching the investigation was because MAS had earlier made two police reports. The police reports are Dang Wangi Report No. 347/02 dated 4 January 2002 and Dang Wangi Report No. 12532/05 dated 4 May 2005.

The police investigation revealed that MAS had been the victim of fraudulent transactions, breaches of fiduciary duties, and breaches of various statutory duties. And the people guilty of these crimes are Tajudin, his business associates, as well as his family members.

But it was not Tajudin who was arrested and charged for fraud and abuse of power. Instead, Ramli, the head of the CCD, was arrested and charged for abuse of power and for not declaring his assets.

Even before the investigation against Ramli could be launched to establish whether he really did commit any crime as alleged, the Anti-Corruption Agency leaked information to the media that Ramli is guilty of not declaring RM27 million in assets.

Corruption investigations and information related to it come under the Official Secrets Act. How, therefore, could this information be made public when the investigation was still ongoing and nothing had been established yet? It was not known yet whether Ramli had really committed any crime and if so whether the assets he was alleged to have not declared does come to RM27 million. Nevertheless, the details of the investigation were made public as if he had already been proven guilty.

Ramli then engaged a lawyer, Rosli Dahlan, to handle his case and the lawyer submitted a set of accounts to prove that not only does Ramli’s assets not come to RM27 million but also that he had properly declared everything he owns. Furthermore, all his assets had been acquired in the proper and legal way and not through fraud or corruption.

And that was when they also arrested and charged the lawyer for allegedly also not declaring his assets.

Why do they want to shut the lid on the MAS investigation? Why does the government wish to protect Tajudin? Is it maybe because it is not Tajudin who is behind the shady dealings but that he is merely acting as the nominee or front man for those who walk in the corridors of power?

There is more in this series of revelations about how the police officer ends up behind bars while the criminal with links to Putrajaya walks free with billions in his pocket. In the next episode, Malaysia Today will show the confidential reports related to the police investigation.

Invariably, all these confidential reports come under the ambit of the Official Secrets Act. So this means they can now arrest me and send me to jail for the so-called crime of violating the Official Secrets Act. But what choice do I have? I can write my story and be accused of spinning, lying, or of making wild allegations without any evidence to support that allegation. Or I can publish copies of those reports and run the risk of getting hauled in for committing a crime under the Official Secrets Act.

I choose to do the latter.

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by lunas oh lunaih, July 07, 2009 04:46:39
Datuk Ramli will reveal all when they bring him to court. ermm sure the case will be delayed...haha
agree 166
written by educationist, July 07, 2009 05:04:47
Ah! Finally RPK has gone on record to publish those confidential reports.
Let the fireworks begin!!
agree 190
written by wongnoball, July 07, 2009 05:08:05
Take no prisoners....Don't forget the Leaders in power then...Tun Dr. Munafik Mohammed and Anwar Ibrahim. One can say Anwar took orders from Tun but did so reluctantly and the Rift developed. Fast forward 15 years, one can say Anwar had be dealt cruely, while Tun Dr Munafik still enjoying the high life with all his UMNO children and crony leaders....Worst thing is Malaysia have gone from Bad to Worst.
Just take a look at all those Judicial cases from Perak Fiasco to more body snatching conversion cases, sedition cases and murder cases ala Altan (and when are those UTK culprits going to be HUNG??)....Malaysia make History and Wear Black on this merdeka 09. That is the Rakyat Silent Cry!!
agree 131
written by JinJangJoe, July 07, 2009 05:16:55
Dear YM, amazing....how we rakyaat get swindled, in every aspect, we go left or right, front or back, we get whacked by people who walk on the corridors of power.

How long more YM, we have to bear their draconian deeds? Exposing the crimes, taking place in this beloved Nation, causing you, EVERYTHING. Your freedom, staying far away from your beloved friends, most of all, You can't set your foot in the country, you loved so much.

YM, always remember, DAVID and GOLIATH.
written by johanssm, July 07, 2009 05:22:47
RPK , please do not give a damn.
Gives them what you got. Fires them upside down.

written by Apache3, July 07, 2009 05:34:15
Bro RPK please do what you have decided that is to reveal all so that the truth prevails.
May GOD bless you and your family.
written by Pakyeh, July 07, 2009 06:19:17
Who is behind Tajudin Ramli ??? Who else ? Mahathief Muhammad is the guilty one !!!
Time to sing the "Aiiyoyo Mamak Kutty " song at ..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by sandokan, July 07, 2009 06:47:35
Ramli Yusuff should be the police chief.
written by mick_err_stan, July 07, 2009 07:57:06
There are much injustice in Malaysia. The guilty walks will the innocent are prosecuted. The irony of it, these corrupt people behave as if nothing is wrong and Rakyat must kowtow to them. When they walk into a function, everybody must stand up as a sign of respect. On the road they have out riders to guide them through traffic while ordinary Rakyat are stuck in a jam after paying toll. Their sons and daughters study overseas while Rakyat have to save and sacrifice to ensure a good education that don't come cheap. After 51 yrs, we have moved backward instead of forward. Instead of Ketuanan Rakyat it racial politics.

Infrastructure built by the government is falling apart with billion spent on shoddy work. Non Malays that contributed 90% of income tax are called "Pendatang" while the 'Dah Sampai' wave Keris and threatens. Where is the dignity and pride of being be a Malaysian.......SHAMEFUL !!!!!
written by Counterpointer, July 07, 2009 08:36:39
All this as highlighted by RPK just makes it absolutely imperative that we must all not be deviated by whatever diversions or distractions like the Kampung Buah Pala issue and Kedah's state gomen tiff, and to be steadfast in mindset to kick the BN gomen out in 2013 and save our country from these people who think they have the license to rob and rape the country.

written by sydput, July 07, 2009 08:53:17
Pete, why didn't you ask him what happened to the MAS money? He was the PM and Daim was in finance.Tajuddin, meanwhile, is having a perpetual vacation in Dubai and London spending our money. Daim, he is also seating on billions of our money. Even LKY was wary of this guy.
written by raven1958, July 07, 2009 09:22:22
Shoudnt the rakyat hire Somalian mercernaries to go after Daim, Halim, Tajuddin, Mahathir, Najib, Baginda, etc etc and clean up Malaysia once and for all.....
written by tenang, July 07, 2009 09:39:46
9Billion/27Million population = RM333 per person.

Opp! Every one of us just get robbed of RM333. That includes also infants.

written by Tan Tan, July 07, 2009 10:06:34
Thanks RPK for enlighting Malaysian about MAS.

Actually, I am damn surprise why MAS could make losses when Malaysian are only able to take MAS for most of their flight.

After winning numerous awards for services which I am proud to tell my friends that my country airline is one of the best airline in term of service.

But when in 2001, they announce MAS is in trouble and need bailout, honestly, dun make sense.
written by dumbfounded, July 07, 2009 10:14:49
Safety first, RPK. If you're outside Malaysia, then let it loose. Otherwise, watchout for yourself. Ain't no one is able to save you. God bless you.
written by my oumrie, July 07, 2009 10:37:46
Hey Tan Tan, why so surprised? MAS making losses cos they cannot sell seats on certain flights. Why? Cos we have fatty Losmah using them to carry her shopping back from wherever she's been in the world lah! Apparently, if manager won't allow such "privilege", he will be moved back to HQ or forced retirement. That fatty's "abuse of power" and she's not even a minister. PTUI!
written by malgal, July 07, 2009 11:02:39
i am so geram. misdeeds that have gone unpunished. good guys kena kuat kuat. what does tajuddin ramli have to say in defence? RPK you put us to shame.
written by IbnAbdHalim, July 07, 2009 11:10:04
In order to get to the bottom of the matter, first and foremost must topple the current government through the ballots. Then haul in Mahathir Momamed, Abdullah Badawi and Najib. Only then Daim and gang can be exposed and finally Tajudin be charged.
written by Sutha, July 07, 2009 11:28:46
If MAS had been financially bleeding, surely the Cash Sucker Mahathief would have been the main and only cause. He must have been sucking up all and quietly leaving the scene without anyone knowing or noticing.

By the way, how many years has a cop to work in order to save RM 27,000,000 ?
written by clusco, July 07, 2009 12:08:06
Do it RPK, do it!!! Yeah!
written by BGs, July 07, 2009 12:12:47
It hurts to see how the nation's millions are plundered & the pirates are living a life of luxury & privilege. Go! go! go after these blood suckers! God willing, these leeches would be brought one after another when PR wins the day....eventually.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 07, 2009 12:36:33
you seem to support Mahathir.fine.Now you ask where the MAS 600 million went. There was a big furore in the coffee shops at that time but we were silenced by the papers.The rakyat ended up paying for the difference.And what did Mahathir say when asked? go did the papers? I just asked a simple mathematical question and I got called a racist by your guys editing my comments. (all are in US dollars) Petronas gave Mahathir at least 50% of its profits. No one knows really how much Petronas makes does not matter but what really beffuddles the mind is even if it is say a conservative figure of 10 billion a year that will come up to 220 billion for the Mahathir's years. He built the twin towers.it cost 1.3 billion.never mind give him 5 billion KLIA cost 3.5 billion never mind.give him 7 billion Putra Jaya give him 20 billion The Penang bridge 3 billion.give him 6 billion( we are paying for it)

Highways and byways? No way.it is our tax money and we are paying for it.

so where is the rest of the money? and during the financial crisis he still put his hand in the kitty EPF,Tabung Haji, socso and unclaimed moneys.and I do hope that whatever you reveal from the OSA exonerates the man I believe is the cause of the massive cancer of corruption in the Malay society today.

tell us where is our money.I mean the balance the rest of it? or Am I racist if I say it was was given only to Malays and his cronies? and if it was given to Malays.I do not mind it but which Malay?the one who is really poor or the one who is building a 24 million palace today?
written by Amzek, July 07, 2009 12:37:00
All this leaks will go back to Mahathir. After all Daim was under him, he thought he could use Daim and not the other way round.

Mahathir created all those monsters who capitalised on Mahathir's MY WAY...
written by kkselvam, July 07, 2009 12:38:29
Ali Baba scheme of highest order. UMNO pariah leaders!
written by MNor, July 07, 2009 12:50:57
Well, all are saying, do it RPK espose them, knowing that it will not hurt them at all. What then, well as voters remember this till next election, to all Malaysian especially the Malays "MELAYU" bring down those corrupted leaders NOW and dont wait till kingdom come!!! TV1 to TV9 will always show them the good side of it now it is up to us. Use whatever means (blogs, sms, family meets etc) to bring those suckers down.
written by shamadz72, July 07, 2009 12:51:06
SiHangChai,

Ramli didn't have 27 million. His asset is only worth around RM 1 Million and that amount of money is within his reach lah for the number of years his service. Considering that he is the 3rd highest ranking officer in PDRM. So his pay must be quite lucrative.
written by notsosmart, July 07, 2009 12:52:21
Malaysian's OSA primariry is nothing more than protecting the Corruptor-in-Power while they drain out the national monies. We are no different to what some of the African countries are doing today. The only different is those African's rules by the guns. And we, the more professional, rules by rubbish OSA.

Time for the Rakyat to stand-up and stop the abuse of OSA.
written by Dominic, July 07, 2009 12:59:01
If there is a need to know how MAS incurred so much loses under Tajuddin,check around with those excutive especially those involved with tender awards supplying thru the subsidiary companies of which there were at least 5 of them. One item that speak for itself is the supply of eggs to MAS kitchen. Egg was quoted at 80cent when the retailed price was around 15cents per pc and we are talking about hundreds of thousand a month. Anything that MAS required, the supply must be through those subsidiaries .
written by confuseus, July 07, 2009 13:09:44
Yes, people.
MAS scandals make PKFZ looks like kacang putih... and the bleeding still continues !!
Do remember, we are responsible for what we do and for what WE DID NOT DO !!!

http://masliberators2009.********.com/
written by confuseus, July 07, 2009 13:10:22
http://masliberators2009.********.com/
written by Raja Petra, July 07, 2009 13:40:01
We have some readers who think they are above the intelligence level of others who complain when I rehash old reports and articles (they are too good for the old reports and articles). Yet when I repeat, again and again, the same issue we still have people who don't understand what they have read (or never bother to read properly). Who said Ramli has RM27 million in assets? Read the previous reports or do I do need to, again, run a flashback article?
written by malsia1206, July 07, 2009 14:21:44
I've said it before and I'm saying it again. It all started with Tun M. His legacy carries on thick and thin with UMNO and Barisan. He champions for the welfare of selected individuals and the remaining 99.5% Malaysian rakyat had been sucked high and dry. And they say it's all in the 'Malaysian Boleh' concept. Oh yeah.
written by Conan Chung, July 07, 2009 14:22:54
Pete... You're the MAN!

I was hoping to see some "big stuff" from you... and i was thinking MT was losing its edge. So it was the "calm before the storm"!

You go dude, let it rip... just like what you wrote about Atlantuya... show me what you're made of!
written by Khan, July 07, 2009 14:53:38
YM RPK, keep them coming....We wait for the revelations with bated breadth...Whoever guily ..be it Mahathir, Badawi, Daim, or the latest najis...show them to the world as to who they are...
written by Kathy, July 07, 2009 16:30:07
Typical BN tactic - shoot the messenger but not the perpetrator of bad deeds. smilies/angry.gif
written by born2reign, July 07, 2009 17:21:25
Thanks RPK. Great expose of UMNO's old tricks.
written by mypanida, July 07, 2009 17:25:40
Now I really feared for Datuk Ramli's and his lawyer Rosli Dahlan's lives. They are targets since they are not in cahoot with the powers that be and in due time they will be exterminated, C4 or other methods. We just cannot sit still and let them perish. What are the ways open for us, the Rakyat biasa to help them ??? If there are ways to help them, we must !!!
written by Dreamlander, July 07, 2009 17:31:01
Maybe the puppeteer is Diam?
Diam hoodwinked Mahathir?
written by Howie ng, July 07, 2009 18:36:35
Each time when RPK exposed those in the corridor of power involvement in corruption cases and provided proofs with SDs and police reports etc. there seem to be nothing we can do except get mad and frustrated. Does anybody knows what we can do that will make a different other than come GE13.
written by Caretaker_y, July 07, 2009 21:50:33
Dear YM Raja Petra

After all the untold stories are told, let us believe that those who are clean & strong in the ranks would be brave & stand tall to take to task ALL those crooks, the Politicians, IGP, Anti corruption Head(MACC), and All who are involved & covered-up the these crooked deals & swindling.

May God have mercy upon them.

Thank you for standing tall once again & revealing the truths covered-up by these so-called trustees for the Malaysian Rakyats who are actually crooks & criminals.

God be with you & your Family. In God We Trust.
written by Loh, July 07, 2009 22:02:43
///Ramli then engaged a lawyer, Rosli Dahlan, to handle his case and the lawyer submitted a set of accounts to prove that not only does Ramli’s assets not come to RM27 million but also that he had properly declared everything he owns. Furthermore, all his assets had been acquired in the proper and legal way and not through fraud or corruption.///--RPK

How does one report things that he does not own, and yet be charged for not reporting? It is risky to be employed in the place where one is required to make assets declaration. It is safer to be politicians. They can build palace financed by lottery gains, since their official income will take centuries to pay off the loan, even at interest free. Yet we do not hear about investigation on politicians.
written by Pakyeh, July 08, 2009 11:59:52
This is an example of srealing by the peoples elected government which Mahathief Mohammad wants to put under wraps via the OSA.Privatization is another name for Piratization and robbing the governments assets.

Read more "Yo Mahathief" and "Revolution pt2: Reject Kafirnomics"
written by tino_chan1988, July 08, 2009 14:14:57
Another can of worms unleashed.

So, where are the justice???.... so proclaimed by our former and present PM?
written by Caesar, July 08, 2009 14:21:05
Somehow, somewhere UMNO was a part-beneficiary of MAS's generosity hence Badawi could not 'expose' Mahathir. Similar encore in the submarine/fighter jet affairs. Ramli must have decamped to PKR before his troubles started.

Anwar, you have to utilise your international 'contacts and stature' to'expose' the Saiful/Najib/Baginda/Altantuya quartet if you want to clear your name, if you are innocent! (Hint: get the French authorities to investigate that the French company really did give the multiillion kickback)Once exposed, the next GE is surely won.If not, the cycle of money-political power-economic disaster will endure.)

written by thor, July 08, 2009 15:45:34
I guess Tun Apanama and the guy with investments in Africa are not involved huh? smilies/grin.gif

Well, some they say have children who r very very very successful in their businesses whatever they may be, right? smilies/grin.gif

Real joke lah. So where is the RAKYAT's interest and the RAKYAT's children interest being protected as the national wealth is being depleted by those "elites"?

Mr Broom man mansion or mansions pales compare to this right?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES

written by Francis, July 11, 2009 15:58:36
I am not a racist but compelled to write.

Malaysian public are duped into appointing seemingly educated persons who are dishonest, incapable of leading public companies and the government is abetting them to squander millions and billions of peoples money. Only bumiputeras are appointed to such positions.

How is that Tun Mahathir was not aware nor advised of all happenings in MAS. MAS is public enterprise. Why are family members involved in the day to day running of such businesses entrusted to family members? How is that proxies and nominees identified?

Another one more in the making - 24 million palatial mansion is being duped as a 3.85 million 'house' and the MACC, Majlis Bandaraya Shah Alam, the tax department and other relevant department are all mum over it - behaving as if nothing concerns them.