Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The Kampung Buah Pala Controversy

The Kampung Buah Pala Controversy PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 15:08

Uthayakumar is proficient in manipulating issues and provoking emotions. This time, he could take advantage of the Kampung Buah Pala controversy to promote his new party. It is like a gift falling from the sky!

By TAY TIAN YAN/ Translate by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily

The Kampung Buah Pala dispute is a typical example of urban development contradictions. However, it may turn into a racial issue if it is not carefully handled.

There has been a rumour spreading around the village and even the Indian community: “The Chinese state government and the Malay developer are seizing the Indians’ land.”

Of course it is nonsense. But such simple and sensational logic would easily incite the people.

Kampung Buah Pala is a historical village as it was built 150 years ago when the British East India companies brought in Indian workers. Its villagers were plantation workers and cattlemen.

From the cultural perspective, it is a microcosm of the Indian immigrant community, which has a certain historical value.

However, just like other places, it is facing the development problem. The former state government has given permission to the developer to build apartments here. But the project was opposed by the residents and Indian associations.

The then opposition DAP supported the residents and pleaded to retain the village.

The hardest part of commitments would be how to fulfill them. Perhaps, DAP had never thought of how to fulfil it when they made the commitment.

Several months ago, the developer obtained a court order and the controversy broke out when the developer officials came to the village.

The situation turned tenser when the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) stepped in. Perhaps, Hindraf has its own agenda. Its spiritual leader P. Uthayakumar is soon going to form a political party.

Uthayakumar is proficient in manipulating issues and provoking emotions. This time, he could take advantage of the Kampung Buah Pala controversy to promote his new party. It is like a gift falling from the sky!

It launched a protest asking the state government to forcibly acquire the land for public purpose under the Land Acquisition Act and compensate the developer to get back Kampung Buah Pala for the villagers.

It is imposing a difficult task on the state government. Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said that such a move will bankrupt the state government.

Lim asked the federal government to acquire the land from the cooperative and the developer as it was the former state government that started the issue.

We can imagine that the federal government will say: “What is it to do with me?”

Lim will have to face the reality and find out a feasible way to resolve the problem. Otherwise, he will have to face a counterattack from the Indian community.

In order to resolve the dispute, they should first prevent the issue being racialised and prepare for a balanced plan in terms of the development prospective, the rights and interests of the residents, as well cultural preservation.

For example, as they have to respect the developer’s legal status, they may give the residents reasonable compensations and build a cultural relic. Perhaps, it is an approach acceptable to all the parties.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by drrafick, July 06, 2009 15:30:48
Personally this matter has been taken out of proportion. Uthayakumar despite making seditious comments was not touched by the police...

read my views on the same subject
www.rights2write.*********.com

drrafick
disagree 18
written by rocky, July 06, 2009 15:32:31
Kg Buah Pala residents were screwed by BN and Gerakan and the BN folks are very quiet now. yes PG govt needs to do what they can to help within the boundary of the law. yes they can acquire the land but it comes with a price. PR govt needs to do what they can. also they need to check the wrongdoing if any during the land transfer. if illegal, they can use this to make things right which is the best option.

Hindraf leader who uses his kid to send memo, can't be trusted. he and his bros are moving towards a political party and the only way they can make themselves popular is playing the race card. They are no different than Bn parties.

as for LGE, please check the facts before you speak. Do not say leasehold la then residents show proof it is not. get your facts,go and meet the resident as it is ok to see them and show empathy and hold they hands and say Mansor will look into this. Not send Mansor and then say he represents me. This is is a big issue Ruan LGE. yes you can bar others from coming in. This is a serious matter cos it involves people's house and which they have stayed for couple of hundred years.
The handling of this issue by LGE and his people has been bad.

PR needs to find a solution fast. The developer must remember the govt can make life difficult during the construction if the govt wants to.
written by chin, July 06, 2009 15:35:14
In this country, a man has about as much rights as the government gives it.

And the Penang government need not give it, look through the collection of UMNO inspired laws, I am sure there is one that would allow the government to do just about anything.

written by Wisdom above, July 06, 2009 15:43:48
...Hindraf has its own agenda.
Its spiritual leader P. Uthayakumar is soon going to form a political party.
Uthayakumar is proficient in manipulating issues and provoking emotions.
This time, he could take advantage of the Kampung Buah Pala controversy to promote his new party...

Were these the real reasons why he chose to bash the PR Penang State Government and "refused" to bash the previous BeEnd state Government ?

Did he know 'Hindraf' legal team is in a legal deadlock. Cannot fulfill its promises to obtain the '20 times' monetary values above the goodwill payment of Rm200,000= for the Squatters. Now get zero compensation from the developer.
So push the State Government to the wall to shoulder the BLAME ?

Alternative State leasehold land in Seberang Prai , also do not want to convince the squatters to accept as a Win- Win solutions ?

Very interesting revelation indeed !

Re-gazette Kampung Buah Pala Land as a Forest Reserve will be the best solution to fulfill the legal ' Public Use' requirements.

written by lamakawan, July 06, 2009 15:46:30
Uthayakumar is going to form a political party. What does this mean to the man in the street? He is going to be more powerful once his political party is set up.
What does this mean to responsible right thinking Malaysians?
Here we have a champion for the underdog Indians. And he is going to be more powerful once he has his license for his political party.
What better time to gain the support for his party than this time with the Kg. Buah Pala uncertainties. This man is an opportunist and is taking the advantage of this crisis to further his political end.
If he is sincere in helping the Indians, he should sound out his ideas openly and recommend what should be done by the government to arrive at a win-win situation for both the villagers and the owners. Rather than doing his utmost to run down the state PR government to shoulder all the responsibilities.
He must not stir up the emotions of the villagers to go against the state government for not doing this or that and not doing enough to help the villagers.
A court order is a court order. We live by rule of law in a democracy.
If he is not satisfied, he can file an appeal to the federal authorities and parliament.
disagree 16
written by malsia1206, July 06, 2009 15:54:29
What can the present State Government do when approval was granted by the former Government? Are we not barking at the wrong tree? Granted the present Pakatan Government has a genuine interest to resolve this complex matter in the interests of the residents affected by the project, they do not have many options. Direct the problems at Gerakan. Direct them at the former CM. Direct them at the Federal Barisan Government. Ask them the big question 'WHY'? Expecting the present Government to clean up their shit?
written by Rozlan, July 06, 2009 16:14:16
Many malays had been evicted from the private and goverment lands without any much issues arise after some compensations.The developers had tried to be fair by offering compensations from RM140K - 300K.Even afew cattle rearers ha dbeen offered alternative temporary lands in Balik Pulau.I believe the compensation was quite good.After all the lands did not belong to them.

What are they doing all these years? Why dont they make an effort to azcquire the lands? Are they expecting special treatment or what?

disagree 19
written by MMhunter, July 06, 2009 16:49:16
We do have a serious problem in our hands now.If we are not careful,it can spill into a racial dispute and thats not good for us all.Please settle all issues in the true Malaysian spirit.At the end of it all we still have to live together.Its better to live as friends and a good Malaysian then otherwise.Problems are an opportunity to better ourselves and move forward.Dont let problems split the true Malaysian spirit.
written by ceong2000, July 06, 2009 17:37:21
Uthayakumar why can't you look at the problem as it was there for so long so don't blame the DAP for not doing anything.If you sit on the LGE chair then what can you do,almost the same or even worse as you don;t have that money to buy back and if you can then you must be corrupt right? So think first as the PR government is just 1 year plus not the BN which is 50 years here and cannot even solved this problem.Now this land belong to who you should know and if today the BN still rule then they will pretend not to know.We need to be more mature and understanding.If today the federal government is PR then it's will be another thing as this land will be taken back with lower price.So who to blame?
written by Proarte, July 06, 2009 17:58:50
This piece of land is a living reminder of the connection and contribution of the Indian community with Penang since its foundation as a British colonial trading outpost over 200 years ago. These people were poor and according to reports, Mr Brown, the original owner gave them in writing the right to continue living and farming there. If such generosity of spirit can be exhibited by a colonial trader, it seems inexplicable that the Pakatan government of which DAP is the backbone cannot come up with a permanent solution to safeguard the land for the Indians who have a 2 century association with the land.

At a time when Indians are blatantly marginalised by BN, Pakatan cannot been seen to selling the Indians down the river over this issue. No price can be put on preserving this piece of land with its historical associations, being a symbol of Indian and Hindu presence on the Island. It is also ultimately a moral issue and one of good governance which DAP has been banging on about all these years whilst in the political wilderness. Now that is it in power, it should not allow abuse and exploitation by capitalists to win the order of the day over this issue.

In the same way DAP fought for Bukit China because of its historical importance and as a symbol of Chinese presence and legitimacy, DAP should regard this issue with equal importance. If it does not, the I am afraid DAP will be undermined and will be seen as a 'chauvinist' Chinaman party giving more weight to illegal 30 year old pig abbatoirs than to the livelihood of poor Indians who want to live on land which they have a 200 year connection with.
disagree 21
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 18:20:31
"LGE can acquire the land and then can haggle with the developer for years in the courts, just like BN does! By which time there'll be elections. "

Dear Temenggong,

Remember when it benefits to bankrupt or unseat an opposition held state government, the courts can act really fast !
Remember Nizar, Remember Perak ?
written by smeagrooo, July 06, 2009 18:59:56
today it kg buah pala. and if u guys continue to fight amongst urselves, tmr another village will go and soon enough nothing will be left behind for our children.

let this be a lesson for those who support BN.
written by 1351, July 06, 2009 20:30:51
"The situation turned tenser when the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) stepped in" - Soong Phui Jee.

Not my intention to police the use of English(I'm far from immaculate) but this was a major massacre that yanks my chain.

There is no such word as "tenser". It is plain "tense", more tense or most tense.

I tip my hat to Soong's effort in translation but for the benefit of kids - those engaged in higher education especially - we must set the tone for exacting standards lah, for bad grammar is easily acquired.

written by temenggong, July 06, 2009 21:07:19
Yeah, I remember, mikewang. There is cowdung every step of the way.

But there is no other way out of this mess.
written by Arum, July 06, 2009 21:45:21
Hindraf fought against BN .He is a hero and brave.Now against DAP in Penang he is a spy ,working against PR.Conspiracy etc.What logic.He is fighting for Indian cause.Let it be.
Dap is not doing that,but for abatoir and bukit china they go all out.
written by Stormquest, July 06, 2009 22:01:23

Well said Proarte.

This is an opportunity for the Penang state government to be like the "lotus that rises from the mud and shines in the darkness!”.

After all, DAP has espoused the “Malaysian Malaysia” concept for decades, and this is a chance to show a highly marginalized community who helped vote them in that they can deliver the goods. After all, they did tell everyone, that they should go beyond race and let someone not of their race take care of their problems. Isn’t this what being “Malaysian Malaysia” is all about?

DAP has also espoused meritocracy, and with such superior brains in there, they should be able to find a loophole to solve the problem.

If such things can be delivered, then all that DAP has fought for, will prove that they are in fact a party that is very much capable of leading the nation. Hip hip hooray!

PS: How is it that Sin Chew Daily’s journalistic standards seem to be falling to the same level as Utusan Malaysia's?
written by merchant222, July 06, 2009 22:07:49
I think we rational people need not say any further. The present State Government 'CANNOT' use state funds or tax-payers money to save 20 plus families by paying the present market rate which has ballooned to hundreds of millions.

We as tax-payers just cannot go on paying for corrupt practices of BN agenda of enriching themselves. Tomorrow, if Guan Eng settles this issue with such payments and compensation which they have been forced to do so since taking over with such land scams, the precedence has been set and more land issues will ultimately come about. Do the tax-payers NEED to carry on paying for the BN's misdeeds?

Sorry, HINDRAF should know who are the culprits and don't push the whole scam to Guan Eng and the Pakatan. If Hindraf thinks that they have the ACE card, use it in the proper way; that is against BN and Koh Tsu Koon, not Guan Eng. DAP is not a racist party, Guan Eng went to jail for a MalAY girl, what is there to question of the fight for Indians???

You ass-holes Hindraf leaders please walk the right path of justice, "NOT WALK THE PATH OF YOUR OWN AGENDA". Tax-payers should not pay for the CORRUPT PRACTICES of BN, PERIOD! DO YOU UBDERSTAND, UTHAYA & WHATAYA-APANAMA-tu!

As professional people and as LAWYER-BURUKs for that, don't smear further what LAWYERs are made up of...STUPID as the jokes of LAWYERs seem credible. If you think you are so great and can get around the law, help Guan Eng get around it; IF NOT, then just SHADDUP! and don't stir SHIT!

If you think Hindraf is so great because of you, YOU can do better than TALKING KOK!
written by merchant222, July 06, 2009 22:17:26
HINDRAF??? you think only Hindus and Indians supported your cause? MIC and their Indian Goons 'DID NOT SUPPORT HINDRAF', and you, UTHAYA and WATHAYA-APANAMA tu, dare say IT WAS ALL HINDRAF that changed the political tsunami of 2008!

Go fly kite la! Live your own life la. You are doing a deal with Najib so that you can return to "OUR" country to complete your INDIAN agenda; AN AGENDA to take over Sammy Value in a different form. A BIGGER MONSTER! Go to HELL! Now you are making a lot of non-indians RACIST! You are no better than BN and Mahathir!
disagree 16
written by ganbing, July 06, 2009 22:27:50
Hindraf is already a spent force. The racists Uthayakumar and Wayhamoorthy are political opportunists jumping on this issue to regain back their popularity. SInce they are not attacking the real culprits BN, they may have an agenda to curry favour with BN. These two racists fits BN like hand and glove because:

1) Like BN, Hindraf's politics is race-based.
2) They play the race card all the time
3) Uthayakumar wants to be the next Samy Vellu.

When I said Hindraf is a spent force (like a limp dick), I'm not making it up. Only 15 Indiands demonstrated in front of DAP HQ in PJ despite Hindraf calling for 10,000. Malulah!
written by merchant222, July 06, 2009 22:34:03
Anyway, Lawyer-Buruks, please read our laws on land matters and land acquisition act before you say CM can do this and that with a stroke of the pen. Mahathir amended this act when the Selangor MB during his time acquired a land from a developer to pass to 'another developer' in Klang.

Acquiring land was then amended to usage for public or national interest, not to pass on to their cronies. However, if the developer was a small timer unknown to Mahathir, the developer's complaints would have been ignored by Mahathir; BUT the developer whose land was acquired was one BIG-GUN...SEE HOY CHAN. If not, Mahathir would not give a damn whose land was acquired.

So, LAWYER-BURUKs THAYA brothers, arm yourselves with such facts and help Penang State Govt with this issue. The way you are going about is TOO obvious of an impending AGENDA! FARK me if you can!
written by DezMalaysia, July 06, 2009 22:49:35
No more Hindraf, just watch out for MNIC which will replaced the MIC Semi Value's gang - Malaysian New Indian Congress headed by Watha & Kutuya ! MIC get kick & banned, MNIC get registered & incorporate into BN as the new racist Indian movement !
written by DezMalaysia, July 06, 2009 22:53:59
Luckily Chauvinist Racist Chinese never sold our butts at whole & continuous to BN for 50years !

Thank you for supporting MIC/BN !
written by johnT, July 06, 2009 23:19:00
LGE have done his best. The only solution is to compensate the 23 indian family a new home. Both party must give and take. LGE cannot oppose the court order or he will be send to jail. We must understand that.
written by borneopeteliew, July 06, 2009 23:25:41
Ha! Ha! should read this piece from my friend Selva a Penangite now exile in Sabah. Buggers from Hindraf... http://selvarajasomiah.*******...haparrall/
written by est, July 06, 2009 23:27:47
The comment by Hindraf leader about seeking UNESCO to withdraw the Penang Heritage status is just the tip of the iceberg what kind of person he is. Penang as a World Heritage site is for the benefit of the entire population. They are willing to spoil it to further their cause. They can't be trusted.
written by harrbm, July 07, 2009 00:02:22
><

What is the real issue? LGE?
Lets say, the buah pala people succeeded in removing LGE and Pakatan Govt. out of Penang, then what? Will the real issue be resolved?

What buah pala people want? does it come with a price? what price? who pay for it?

u know what, in my personal unqualified opinion, LGE is correct.

Let look at the clear picture below.

Muthu has a home ( that means his family, house and land).

Ah Kow is not the owner of Muthu's home.

but Ah Kow sold Muthu's home to Ali.

Ah Kow and Ali is the same person but different name.

Ali is the new legal owner of Muthu's home.

Muthu found out his home has been legally sold. Muthu cannot do anything.

Muthu got angry. Muthu scold LGE. Muthu want LGE to give back his home by paying Ah Kow also known as Ali.

smilies/smiley.gif

><

written by sarawakian, July 07, 2009 00:20:14
just last week or thereabouts, a historical part of Kuching was demolished to make way for a waterfront extension. buildings built by the British dating more than 100 years were destroyed. there was an effort to stop the demolition by way of appeals but it was in vain.

i don't see Hindraf making any noise about this issue in the spirit of "preserving history" ???

Ibans in this state are living on NCR land where their forefathers have toiled on the land for centuries. they have no rights to the land at all in the eyes of the gov't. it is all being swallowed up by plantations now and they are fighting back and also in vain.

i don't see Hindraf making any noise about fighting for the citizen's right to the land. and this is not about just 20 odd families and a few cows??

Kpg Buah Pala is just a publicity stunt by Hindraf.
written by Zeroed, July 07, 2009 04:08:31
Aiyohhh.....wooii!...all balik lah. Cina balik China. India balik india. Melayu balik Indonesia.

Leave this forsaken land and leave the orang asli alone in peace!!!!

So susah for what?!
written by johanssm, July 07, 2009 05:08:43
Hindraf of today is no longer the Hindraf of yesterday.
Seems like they all went separate ways and are at odds at each another.
No longer interested to serve Malaysians ( or even their own kind ) but are doing things on personal reasons and for own gains.

PR is not a single entity but PR was united against their ISA imprisonment.
We dont expect gratitude from Hindraf.
We just need Hindraf to be sensible , reasonable and barks at the right tree.
At the moment they are peeing all over the place .
Without a real leader , without any sense of direction.
A group which went "nuts".
written by Apache3, July 07, 2009 05:19:42
I agree with many comments here that states that Mr. LGE and his administration are NOT to be held responsible for what is happening at KBP as it was a baby created by TSK/Gerakan and BN in cohorts. The losers are the poor people of KBP. Then I have a question to the HINDRAF leaders PWM and UKumar where were you when the land was first sold to the Pegawai Kerajaan Assn. Being loyars you should have been aware of the facts from the beginning and NOT now making a lot of noise upon a case that cannot be undone in any way. You people should be helping the State Govt to overcome this issue in a acceptable manner to all those involved rather than making uncalled for ultimatums which may result in HINDRAF being INSIGNIFICANT sooner than later.
Anyway what is your real agenda PWM and UK...may I ask?
written by oneofthesedays, July 07, 2009 10:58:40
Well well well.

We finally see what a chinese party and its chinese supporters really think and do when in power.

DAP go save pork for your people.

You had your chance. You failed.

PKR is the only way.
written by Mirage, July 07, 2009 12:25:30
Uthayakumar would want to claim that DAP is racist (in not helping the Kampung Buah Pala) and a close look at Hindraf earlier objective getting the rural Indians to support it with the claim of getting the money from the Queen of England. And later to gain more support claiming that Indians were sideline. And now he wants the state govt to bail out the Kampung.

It sounds like they want everything for free for the Indians. If you look at the disabled, what they want to be self efficient in running their daily lifes and not handouts. In the case of Hindraf they are asking for everything free for the Indians and made it sound as if they are fighting for this minority but are in effort of gaining support for???? Political? Are we going to hear a Political Party called Hindraf. I doubt it as their support will never rally much outside the Indian community.