Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Court backs Islamic officials in 'bodysnatch' case

Court backs Islamic officials in 'bodysnatch' case PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 14:39

(Malaysian Mirror) - Malaysia's high court has ruled that a Sikh man converted to Islam before his death, over the objections of his family who are demanding the return of his body, his lawyer said Monday.

In the latest "bodysnatching" case in predominantly Muslim Malaysia, the court backed Islamic authorities who said that Mohan Singh, a 41-year-old film director who died of a heart attack last month, was a Muslim.

"The family is very disappointed with the ruling as they wanted to get his body and cremate him under Sikh rites, but it was expected and we are now rushing to appeal," family lawyer Rajesh Kumar told AFP.

Muslim burial today

"We are hoping that the family will be allowed to appeal but the Muslim authorities now have custody of the body and they are expected to rush a Muslim burial by today, which will make the situation worse," he said.

Kumar said that presiding high court judge Rosnaini Saub had refused to grant a stay order on the ruling, which would have allowed the body to be kept at a hospital morgue pending the appeal.

"This makes it very hard because if we win on appeal, it would be difficult to exhume the body from a Muslim graveyard as that would upset Muslims."

A Sikh when he died

Kumar said Islamic authorities claimed that Mohan, who had directed some local films, converted to Islam in 1992, although Kumar's family say he was a practising Sikh when he died and his religion was marked on his identity card.

Conversion rows are common in Muslim-majority Malaysia, and wrangles between relatives and Islamic authorities over the remains of people whose religion is disputed have helped raise ethnic tensions.

The issue has stoked fears of the "Islamisation" of the multicultural country, which is also home to large ethnic Chinese and Indian communities.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by magen, July 06, 2009 14:44:43
What happen to Michael Jackson He also converted too..
written by Oscar Winner, July 06, 2009 14:59:13
"....he was a practising Sikh when he died and his religion was marked on his identity card."

OMG, particulars on IC may be incorrect?? It's up to the courts to decide and you can't challenge it? I better go check every now and then.
written by ksauyong, July 06, 2009 15:04:33
Most people outside Malaysia believe that the body of a dead person must be gvien back to his/her relatives for last rites and burial.
Only in Malaysia do overzealous Islamic officials do 'body-snatching', which only causes headaches and heartaches.
written by by2020, July 06, 2009 15:11:15
The doubt lingering in Non-Muslim's mind is that after he/she die and he/she were declared Muslim and all the asset is taken away. Many would prefer to move their asset oversea early otherwise there is no certainty and security in Malaysia...

I certainly can not see who will benefit..., and whether the God will like to see religion come first, or one's family come first...? But between the family members and the religious authority's staff whom are all the worldly mortal, many non-muslim certainly will have this message for them: Please mind your own business and get lost!
written by by2020, July 06, 2009 15:29:09
Dear Rocky,

I found that you are naive to the core. For someone in the authority and if they want to set you up, they have your photo, they know your signature, is there any guarantee that they can not forge the document?

I seriously doubt that someone may benefit from the exercise of discovering a decease is Muslim, and that is why this cause the body-snatching always happen. Why not they report this before the dead, at least the person is still alive to tell his story.., and the Religious Authority also can take appropriate enforcement to punish the guilty person? When the Religious Authority is taking action only upon dead, then those get punished are the relatives, and the dead person can not defend himself...!

And Malaysian Court...? I thought many people think Kangaroo Court could be better then Malaysia court...?

So sorry to be harsh.., but the Religious Authority certainly grown to be the real devil and monster to many...!
written by Sword of Justice, July 06, 2009 15:29:44
I wonder if i had a big tattoo on my body saying I am a practicing budhist at the time of my death even if the so called body snatchers can prove that I had converted earlier that I had converted to Islam, would JAIS or MAIS still bury me in the muslim faith with my tatoo on my body proving my faith at death knowing very well a tatoo is absolutely haram.
written by Anti Relon, July 06, 2009 15:49:55
The judge is a f...ing Muslim. So would he judge otherwise than that the dead SIKH is a muslim. And muslims believe that if they can snatch a body and bury it as muslim, they will go to heaven immediately. Of course they are also food for worms and fertlizer for grass.
Did the fing jydge have any proof?
So many stupid muslims wnt to buty people of other religions as their own.
written by truthbespoken, July 06, 2009 15:53:51
Why must people fight over someothers' dead bodies in Malaysia and get away with it most of the time? The common rule of the thumb is that it is no other person's business to deal with the dead bodies other than that of the dead person's immediate families!

Commonsense dictate that such actions from unrelated third parties are not correct! Dead-body snatching is disgusting business. It gives an arrogant and bad impression of the religion. It destroys relationships of the living in the name of God! Or is it the prelude to justify killing in the name of God? Fair is fair!

What is becoming of the country nowadays? Why are these blocked-heads, stupid and unproductive groups allowed a free reign at the expense of general public? The UMNO government must answer! Or, in the name of religion, are these groups getting even more powerful than the government-of-the-day?
written by varvoom, July 06, 2009 16:02:58
go and snatch micheal jackson body! he converted! U sick so call religious people...go and get a proper job JAIS and the rest of d religious authorities,U lot are parasites..U lot should b exterminated!
written by Sutha, July 06, 2009 16:03:16
All these are expected in Malaysia..... Goes to show how evil the religion and followers are, when they readily snatch the corpses from the relatives and loved ones. See whether they dare bully the family of Michael Jackson over the burial. Whatever the IC may say or the deceased has been practising till the death, all those are immaterial to the corpse-snatchers. All that is important is a conversion certificate (probably a forged one).

Less than two years ago in Seremban, an old chinese man, Gan, became a muslim by "thumbprint conversion". He was so sick that he could not open his eyes, utter a word or even raise his finger. Yet he "miraclously" became a muslim without the family's knowledge. The court held that he was a muslim, despite outstanding discrepancies in the conversion papers. That is the kind of courts found in Malaysia.

I was told that these snatchers do benefit. They are each given 72 permanent vigins (houri)in heaven, to have sexual fun with. Which itchified man would not take up the offer? Probably, that explains all.
written by Bandit, July 06, 2009 16:24:24
From a Sikhs point of view, Mohan lied that he was a sikh and lied to people who trusted him. He was a fake becoming a muslim ( for whatever reasons, probably to get big fat filming contracts by being a muslim) He married a sikhwoman and I dont know if he has any kids by his sikh wife and married according to sikh rites. Now mais wants to be buried in their graveyard.
written by Vivarium, July 06, 2009 16:50:25
If only GOD could speak, He would shake his head in gross disapproval on seeing a bunch of Malaysian JAIS, MAIS and a judge purportedly acting as agent and bouncers of GOD, for HE would never condone another man to cause further pain to the living relatives of the dead. GOD has 99 names,none of which is called " Corpse-snatching ". Islam is truly a peace-loving religion, until Malaysian government spikes it with the flavour of arrogance, hatred, racism and pain-causing to another human being of a different faith. Religion is a very personal thing and noone, not even my parents, could dictate me what I should or should not do. But here in Malaysia, the dirty politicians are just too naughty.
written by Wisdom above, July 06, 2009 17:00:31
I am extremely embarrassed by such incidents.
It is shameful to let it pass by so often.

The appropriate cabinet decision in the late 2008 was set aside 'on self declaration during his or her life-time' . Very sad state of affairs.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, revelation, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.
written by InEffective, July 06, 2009 17:15:50

Now we have religious molestation of the dead. Before religious molestation of children.

I feel sorry for religion - being followed by child molesters and corpse molesters.
These are the type of perverts religion really wants.
written by mikefonz, July 06, 2009 17:19:03
I'm going to be 50 soon. I better make a SD to ensure I'm a chinese and a Christian by fat eand die as one before some smart alec says otherwise. I think everyone should do that. Nobody in the right mind would just convert and not refer to some family members.
written by Proarte, July 06, 2009 17:42:28
We all know this is a rotten charade with no compassion for his loved ones. This is a display of 'Ketuanan Islam' and 'Ketuanan Melayu' in its full glorified ugliness. It is not surprising then that we learn Mohan Singh performed Sikh rituals and to add insult to injury, had his religion was marked on his identity card but clearly this is irrelevant to the presiding idiot judge.

How interesting that Mohan Singh's ID card now becomes 'irrelevant' whereas in the case of Lina Joy, a Christian, her identity card identified her status as Muslim which she was not allowed to change!

Unfortunately there is no logic or morality practised by the Islamic authorities. Their Islam is a Pariah Islam, a Satanic Islam. How is this defined? When it goes against basic human decency and basic notions of Justice.

I leave the final word on this issue to Jesus, regarded as a Muslim Prophet:

"Let the dead bury the dead"

This was in reference to people who prefer to bury the dead rather than to follow the teachings of Allah. These people ( MAIS, JAIS, the presiding Muslim judge ) are 'dead' to Allah and are destined for Hell unless they repent.
written by Joe, July 06, 2009 17:50:22
I think it was right of the religious authorities to take control of the body. Here, the individual registered himself as a Muslim.

Regardless of your life style, once you go to a govt body and register yourself as a muslim, you must expect that the authorities to take action up on it.

And now they have.

Even if you arent a practising muslim, you cant just convert to Islam and then expect no action to be taken upon you or your assets, before or after your death. Onus was on Mr. Mohan Singh to sort out this while alive. Now if he was in the process of deregistering himself as a muslim, or if he had at least applied to the authorities that he was never a muslim, or requesting to reconvert to original religion, that would have been something.

There arent any facts to support Mr. Mohan in the above article. IC stating original religion? Mohan shld have fixed it, did he procastinate because he didnt know he was muslim?? Then what of the papers put in on his request to become one? Are they fake? Who were the witnesses? Were they called in during the trial?

What is the government doing to educate the public on these processes? Like mikefonz said, are all non muslim expected to produce an SD stating they are their religion and not muslim??
written by Malaysiaputra, July 06, 2009 17:50:52
What is this judge talking about ?. How come if he has converted since 1992 (some 17 years), no one in his family has seen him going to the mosque on Friday to pray ?. Why did no one in his family see him praying 5 times a day ?. How about fasting during the puasa month ?. Celebrating Hari Raya ?. etc as muslim normally do ?.

If he has really converted he should have been a practicing muslim since the day of his conversion.

Don't tell me that when he changed his old IC to MYkad, the religion was inserted as Islam ?. this has happened before.
written by carribeanking7, July 06, 2009 18:05:14
The High Court has no choice, because of an ammendment to the Federal Constitution in 1988,to article 121 (1A),

Article 121(1A) states that the High Courts and inferior courts shall have no jurisdiction in respect of any matter within the jurisdiction of the Syariah Courts.

I have called time and again for this article to be amended Body Snatchers strike again http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=5090
so all you MCA, MIC, PPP and other component party supporters, when your party leaders talk all manner of things about championing your rights, ask them why did they sit silently and allow this article to be ammended in 1988.

Malaysian Mirror should also check their facts and not give a wrong picture to the International community by vilifying the judge.

Vijay Kumar Murgavell
written by densemy, July 06, 2009 18:16:35
Since when have the Civil Courts been making decisions based on religious dogma?

Thanks Caribbeanking
written by roggon, July 06, 2009 19:16:33
PENIPU PUNYA AGAMA.......ISLAM MAMPUS!!! BAGUS MAKAN BAQBI JAAAAA
written by cta, July 06, 2009 19:35:35
elo!hindraf where r u??? shout so loud about 1 KG. what about this??????? keep your F***** mouth shut???????????
written by my oumrie, July 06, 2009 20:43:22
A learned Muslim scholar will know not to create disunity amongst people. If true that this person was a Muslim, all they need to do is simply release the remains to the family and just conduct a "solatul jenazah ghraib" or funeral prayer without a body in sight. Simple, no hassle and no one gets upset. Wallah wa'alam.
written by Sabahfan, July 06, 2009 20:53:06
Malaysian judges also really stupid aaaah?

why go after a sikh nobody??

HEUYUYYYYY go and snatch Michael Jackson's body...

He has 500 billion to be shared amongst all the moslem clergies etc... ha ha ha ha
written by khongja, July 06, 2009 21:37:24
NOBODY TO BLAME.WELL ITS A LESSON WE ALL LEARNT IN LIFE! IT SHOWS PEOPLE CAN DO IT SECRETLY BY CONVERTING AND THIS GUY DEFINITELY DID IT FOR A GIRL OF HIS LIFE.THINGS DID'NT WORK OUT AND HE FORGOT TO UNDO IT.HE SHOULD KNOW WE DONT LIVE FOREVER!
WE FEEL SAD FOR HIS FAMILY.A LESSON FOR THOSE WHO INTENDS TO CHANGE THEIR RELIGION.ONCE IN DIFFICULT TO BACK OUT.
written by kawaafi, July 06, 2009 21:49:08
Salam,

I just to correct the notion about those who snatch the body for Islamic burial will go to heaven immediately. and on and on.. there is no such thing. When a Muslim is dead, the responsibility lies on the alive to bury him/her. failing which, every Muslim would have sinned...

If what khongja said is true.. then it is very unfortunate for all of us. just because his 'cinta tak kesampaian' some of you are now calling names on JAIS, MAIS people and some even on ISlam. Am sure the learned lawyer for his family had done his best..

written by Ironman2, July 06, 2009 22:05:24
What the F**k? Let them bury him if they want to, but exhume the body few days later and act blurr when questioned?
This is the way to deal with these bastard.
written by peter, July 06, 2009 22:23:37
What can the courts do in bolehland? The courts in bolehland are there to rubber stamp what the bolehland govt wants.

The body snatching episodes have nothing to do with religion. It's all about little napoleans want to "tunjuk kuasa". That's all.
written by Linda J, July 06, 2009 23:14:14
It truly boggles the mind, case after case after case of body snatching as well as forced conversions in this truly glorious country of ours. And to what avail? Very rarely do these people convert because they believe in the religion, more often than not there is always a hidden agenda, be it for marriage or other purposes which could benefit the converter. And more often than not, they don't even practise the religion. Yet nobody cares one way or the other. It is only when the converter passes on that these religious officials converge like ghouls to snatch the body away for burial leaving behind not only bereaved but hearbroken family members.

Why? Why the need to bury in a Muslim graveyard? Does it help the deceased to enter heaven? Shouldn't the condition of his soul be attended to while he is still alive? And when it is discovered that the individual only wants to convert for nefarious purport, his application for conversion should be rejected outright?

But then as I see it, Islam is not about saving souls, is it? It is more like having the highest number. If more people can be convinced to convert including children who do not know better, the higher the number. Is that why when you convert, it is next to impossible to get out and why Malays can never get out at all? Does Allah really accept people who has no real belief? Pray tell.
written by Nice n Simple, July 06, 2009 23:15:31
Aiyo Bai, u really play back man.

U die also u go n play your family like that... why la Bai? And u go open ur arse so big the JAIS guys so likey what they see that they can't let you go. Now dey wan to keep u for themselves forever.

How can ur body not go back to ur own family, those that born u and raised u, i really cannot understand. This is soo sad.

But don't worry bro, whether Allah takes u or pass u back 2 ur Sikh God, rest assured ur soul is in better hands. May you rest in peace forever.
written by ssathia, July 06, 2009 23:45:31
Does this happen only in Government hospitals or anywhere else too?
written by Kirdash, July 06, 2009 23:47:35
hello cta...don't talk like an insane bull...What Hndrf got to do with this....

The truth is that maysia is infected with large number of vultures...the scavanger..

written by Daryl, July 06, 2009 23:56:18
How does this benefit anyone? Tell me these Muslims that help him bury this man has closer ties to him than his family who are linked to him by blood. It is not where or how you are buried that will determine who you are but how you live your life. No body benefit from this seriously because Muslim just alienate non-Muslims and give themselves a bad name. For heaven sacks give the body back to his family and advice them to perform Islamic rites not just snatch the body. Sad that this is happening in my beloved country Malaysia.
written by sarawakian, July 07, 2009 00:30:14
cremate or buried? what's the difference? why make such a big issue over the dead?

what's important in life is how we treat the person when they are alive instead of making a lot of fuss over a dead body.
written by mowadoha, July 07, 2009 00:33:27
written by raven1958, July 07, 2009 00:46:24
Yep...only happens in Government Hospitals.....

So dont go dying in Government Hospitals if you can....

Mati kena pukul polis jadi mati sebab sakit jantung...

Mati... IC cakap Punjabi....tapi masuk kubur sebagai orang Islam....Ini IC Malaysia kasi flush dalam jamban.......
written by Tom n Jerry, July 07, 2009 01:16:40
A dead human body has got no monetary value compared to a buffalo or sapi;its nice there are volunteers to offer the dead a decent burial even though its not in their hearts and soul to do so;just their religious obligation to their Allah or God;just go with the flow;a chinese probably will spend tens of thousands for a decent burial;expensive coffins & burial plots with good fengshui;all these could be saved and donated to charity;this world will become a better place for all;LOL
written by Tom n Jerry, July 07, 2009 01:27:45
Perhaps the two million refugees in Sabah wouls stand to benefit whenit come to their final hour;RIP;they can be assured of a decent burial complete with all formalities of entering heaven;all for free;how nice;no wonder they are flocking in by the hour;24 hours everyday;without fail;malaysia definitely heavenly to these pathetic foreigners who steal in broad daylight andcan get to heaven fro FREE;LOL
written by Barking out loud, July 07, 2009 02:07:44
I truly think that the high court decision is flawed.

It is common sense that only the surviving immediate family should have the right to decide how to deal with the body of the dead. The religious department, police, government or whoever else has not business interfering with the body of the deceased unless there is consent from the living family members.

The act of the court and the Religious departments in Malaysia by snatching and condoning such practice is pure arrogance and a total disrespect of human rights and the rights of the immediate family of the deceased. If the authorities sincerely care about doing their jobs well and the citizens of Malaysia then they should leave the body to be dealt with by the immediate family.

No matter if there is proof of any conversion or not. This must be respected.
written by Sutha, July 07, 2009 12:33:23
What Khongja said in true. Probably the girl feared his one and backed out. How to undo the conversion when they later say it is a one way?
written by fairnessforall, July 07, 2009 17:05:39
There is no evidence that Michael JAckson converted to isla. It was just that muslims want to make everyone a muslim and keep making false claims. This lie with fake pictures have been posted over the net. If he really did convert, why not snatching his body as its obvious he is going to be buried according to christian rites. Knowing some muslim organisations, they would make a big hue and cry if really MJ had converted.

Maybe conversion cases should not be judged by muslim judges as they are known to make an unfair ruling. They are obviously not capable judges to deal in such cases in a fair manner