Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Murugiah in bid to help High Chaparral folk

Murugiah in bid to help High Chaparral folk PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 11:21

(NST) GEORGE TOWN: The Federal Government is looking at how it can help the residents of Kampung Lorong Buah Pala.

Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Senator Datuk T. Murugiah said: "I will read the memorandum submitted by the residents before working out an amicable solution.

"I will discuss the available options with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak."

He did not rule out the possibility of giving financial assistance but declined to commit himself further.

"The ministry can only decide on providing monetary help after it completes a financial viability study."

Murugiah said Barisan Nasional leaders would do what they could to help the residents of the settlement who have to make way for development.

But he said the issue of the land title came under the state government, so it was difficult for the Federal Government to intervene.

The village residents' association committee said the land on which Kampung Lorong Buah Pala in Bukit Gelugor stands is not freehold, as claimed by Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

Committee assistant secretary C. Tharmaraj, in rebutting Lim's statement reported by Bernama yesterday, said a search at the state Land Office revealed that the land was held on a leasehold.

"Lim does not even know the status of the land. Is he getting accurate facts from his people?

"If he cannot get such details right, I think he should go back to Malacca and leave Penang to someone more capable," he said at a press conference.

Tharmaraj distributed to pressmen copies of the document which showed the 99-year lease on the land expired in March 2107.

He also alleged that the state government had on Saturday instructed one of the village residents, who was a Parti Kedilan Rakyat member, to read out a statement praising its handling of the issue at a press conference.

"The statement read out to the press was prepared for her. Such action does not help us. Instead, it has made matters worse and confused residents.

"Such false remarks have affected the state government's integrity."

Despite all that, Tharmaraj said the residents still wanted to meet Lim to find a solution to their problem.

He said an official letter seeking an appointment to see Lim would be delivered by hand to his secretary today at Komtar.

"We will also bring two cows to Komtar with us to show him we are serious."

Committee chairman M. Sugumaran said what the residents wanted had been made clear to the state government many times.

"We just want to remain on this land. Compensation is an issue that does not arise."

Kampung Lorong Buah Pala residents have until Aug 3 to vacate the land to make way for development.

written by *********, July 06, 2009 11:25:04
One thing is crystal clear here, all those who seem to be championing the rights of the Kampung Buah Pala Villagers are actually doing so to score political points while at the same time do maximum damage to the credibility and reputation of the DAP led Pakatan Rakyat government in Penang. Don't be duped for a moment that the MIC are not doing anything about Kampung Buah Pala. While the PR government has been working hard behind the scenes to help the plight of the Villagers, the MIC has been going around poisoning the minds of the Villagers by telling them not accept any compensation offered. I know for a fact that one household had accepted a compensation of RM 90,000 and a low cost flat as compensation and was willing to move out. Unfortunately, the Villagers with the instigation of MIC created a ruckus until the compensation offer to that particular household was withdrawn...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by technoboy, July 06, 2009 11:28:23
our nation is doomed with such morons.
written by ibnuaiz, July 06, 2009 11:43:51
Hello if we vote for bn instead of kampung buah pala problem arise, later kg lain in this country also might taken over by the government and sold to the developer at cheap price. Just wait n see if u dare to vote back Bee End.
written by Evol, July 06, 2009 11:49:57
to be fair, lets look at how this case started:
The land was sold by previous state govt which was led by BN to Korperasi of Civil Servant. now the problem have to be settle by PR govt, yet u got the guts to ask people to vote for BN.....

ashame of you to be such a educated person but don read properly!
written by temenggong, July 06, 2009 11:58:54
"We will also bring two cows to Komtar with us to show him we are serious."

Better still bring 2 pigs then surely they will recognise the seriousness of the issue and their minds will start working!
written by Wisdom above, July 06, 2009 12:03:33
...Tharmaraj distributed to pressmen copies of the document which showed the 99-year lease on the land expired in March 2107.

1-3-2107 - 99 years = 1-3-2008, alienated & gazetted as leasehold before GE2008 by previous BN state Government before 1-3-2008. Before this 1-3-2008, it was freehold land OK !

Before 1-3-2008, it was FREEHOLD land OK ??

Since it is LEASEHOLD now, the State Government can re-gazette it as FOREST REVERSE since development order was not approved yet.
No need to use LA Act to acquire the land ,OK ?
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 12:28:21
Re-gazette the land to forest reserve after approval had been given for dwelling purposes ?
How do you fancy the chance of victory by a PR state government in an UMNO lined court ?

Penang government will fall if they go bankrupt.
written by Stupid me, July 06, 2009 12:51:33
How can the former CM Koh wash his hands entirely of the problem created by him. The least he could do is to convince his present boss to untie the mess created by him when he was in office and stop blaming the present CM. He should advise that a Commission of Inquiry be set up to study into how the FC could decide the case the way it did. Was there some breach of trust in selling the land to the coop ?
written by merchant222, July 06, 2009 13:03:04
There are a lot of Idiotic Politicians including self-claimed apolitical parties trying to be heroes. However so, please be rational and reasonable before jumping the gun, accusing good people for misdeeds done during BN's rule.

These hippocrates are merely giving 'BULLETS' to BN to shoot down Pakatan Rakyat government, and Murugiah is jumping on the band-wagon in the midst of chaos. Hindraf Leaders!, don't go overboard with your political rhetoric, spewing hate without reasoning. Looks like you guys are no better than BN goons.

No, I am not a DAP member (if you think you want to accuse me of being aligned to DAP or Pakatan), nor am I linked to any political party. We just want justice for all, and supporting the cause of the good over bad is the ideal objective. If you are really true and professional in your fight for Kg. Buah Pala, train your 'BULLETS' at the right source.

As taxpayers, we should not be paying to acquire Kg.Buah Pala land even if
Guan Eng wants to, unless it can be done at the same price from the Koperatif!
I think that would be what Nusmetro would like; making hundred over million without lifting a finger. Should we taxpayers be burdened and give our hard earned money to BN perpetrators and play along their corrupt ways??? NO WAY! So Hindraf Leaders, stop your nonsense.
written by Jan, July 06, 2009 13:16:03
If the federal govt provides financial assistance to the residents it's going to make the residents happy but at the expense of all taxpayers. Why should we pay for a shady deal perpetrated by a crony company and approved by a BN state govt?
The rakyat is totally fed-up of land scams like these and our perception now is such scams are synonymous with the BN govt. This is one of the reasons why BN lost big time in GE12.
written by panca, July 06, 2009 13:20:28
Points to ponder? Having had his Ass(this donkey) moved from the island to putrajaya (some have rightly called it "back door entrance politician-minister") and how would it not be a liaison of a bad and ill intent of two cahoots? Surely the master on top of him or behind his back all the time(though if not physically yet) there appear too good an opportunity to protect its own fur and with great tendencies to exchange a canine's past sick record of the island for blatant use by the devil master to deliver its venom and play blame game on the new government other than being in the master kennel to serve the cuntry.

If this is not called "Dangerous Liaison", then what is?
written by malaysian7, July 06, 2009 13:27:58
Everyone has been keep blaming LGE for all these. Yes even if state government have power on this but it is not a so called 1-day process or an easier 1-stroke of pen process to change all things.

It is not wrong to make noise but a lot of opportunists are trying to take advantage of this situation and keep pushing the PR government for more.

And to be honest for all the commentators here, please do not forever just pin point at a BN person if he is trying to help. Be fair to everyone, if the BN guy intends to really help out then I will not bother where is he from. Be it UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP etc.

I do really like Murugiah and he has been helping a lot of people from where I have seen. He is daring to criticise his own BN colleagues if he found something. I don't want to look it in a political view to determine if somebody is helping the rakyat or not.
written by 1351, July 06, 2009 19:51:55
"The ministry can only decide on providing monetary help after it completes a financial viability study." - Senator Murugiah

That was always the game plan with money interest on the fore front. To all detractors with your myopic commentary about LGE and Penang exco, this 'projek curi duit rakyat' is taking place right before your eyes ie. UMNO/BN comes across as saviors to the residents of Kg.Buah Pala. But wait a minute .... this was a problem of UMNO creations, a land scam with transfer of title facilitated three days after Gerakan fell in Penang.

Now, the Federal govt steps in to provide a solution. I wonder how much is it going to take to 'buy out' the interest of the developer. Just like that Murugiah steps in to mediate while millions of taxpayers money is funneled into the hands of UMNO.

Shame on the lot of you detractors happy to see UMNO screw you over while you smile and say thank you. Damn bodohs, the lot of you first rate idiots.