Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow We have to save Kampung Buah Pala

We have to save Kampung Buah Pala PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 10:50

By Antares (Magick River)

Yesterday I received an email from Deena Saravanan who lives in Kg Buah Pala:

Greetings Antares,

Firstly let me apologize for intruding upon your life like this. Let me introduce myself. My name is Deena and I am a big fan of the writings that you post on your blog. Right now, I need your help. I am a resident of Kampung Buah Pala which is in Penang. I hope that you have heard about the particularly unfortunate circumstance surrounding this village. If you have not, then please know that the village is going to be demolished for the building of some ghastly apartments. Cecil Rajendra has taken up our case but unfortunately the federal court has kicked us out of our homes. Before the verdict was passed, Lim Guan Eng could have put a stop to this but he did not and even now after knowing that we are going to lose our home he is not doing a single thing to alleviate what we are going through. In this event, I am hoping that you could write a word or two in your blog to let the people know the injustice that has fallen upon us.

Sometimes i wish that you were the prime minister. I thank you for your time.

Deena Saravanan

(I am currently a student in the University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus doing Electrical and Electronic Engineering.)

Read more at: http://magickriver.blogspot.com/2009/07/we-have-to-save-kg-buah-pala.html

written by *********, July 06, 2009 10:55:47
One thing is crystal clear here, all those who seem to be championing the rights of the Kampung Buah Pala Villagers are actually doing so to score political points while at the same time do maximum damage to the credibility and reputation of the DAP led Pakatan Rakyat government in Penang. Don't be duped for a moment that the MIC are not doing anything about Kampung Buah Pala. While the PR government has been working hard behind the scenes to help the plight of the Villagers, the MIC has been going around poisoning the minds of the Villagers by telling them not accept any compensation offered. I know for a fact that one household had accepted a compensation of RM 90,000 and a low cost flat as compensation and was willing to move out. Unfortunately, the Villagers with the instigation of MIC created a ruckus until the compensation offer to that particular household was withdrawn.

In my opinion, it is no point retaining the Village as these problems will never go away. You can't change the mentality of the Villagers whether Kampung Buah Pala is made a Heritage Village or not. I suggest that the Penang State Government gazette the Kampung Buah Pala site as a public park and give a decent compensation to the Villagers which must include alternative housing accomodations. The Penang State Government, the MACC and all relevant parties must make sure a thorough investigation is carried out in what appears to be an illegal act commited by the BN government of of Tan Sri Dr. Koh who appears to have washed his hands on this issue. There is no doubt in my mind that if Penang were to be under BN rule today, Kampung Buah Pala would have been demolished by now and the Villagers would have been tear gassed and water cannoned by the Police...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by lamakawan, July 06, 2009 11:11:40
People must understand that the PR gomen happen to come into the picture when Kg. Buah Pala is in the limelight. If the BN were still in gomen, would these people dare to say a thing? demonstrate in the streets like they do today? They will be immediately rounded up by the police as they themselves rounded up their herd of cows in the evenings!!
People must be rational and cannot simply raise their anger on DAP just because they are in gomen.
What the villagers have to do now is to get the 3 parties to sit together to work out a win=win situation for the villagers and the owners. The 3 parties are,
1) the villagers' representative,
2) the owner of the land and
3) the authorities, i.e. the state government.
In the final analysis, what has been brought down by the federal court, will stay.
This is what we mean by rule of law and parliamentary democracy.
written by technoboy, July 06, 2009 11:15:44
As a result of this situation, DAP have a good opportunity to open their eyes and identify the "real" political opportunists from PAS, PKR and Hindraf. You think these opportunists care a damn about the villagers welfare, "NO" all they care to to score political points and for those in PAS and PKR to settle some score with DAP. At the end it is the naive rakyat who will suffer the consequences of such manipulation. Uthaya is fast losing his credibility as a principled leader, he seems another racially motivated opportunist whipping up Indian emotion, beginning not to trust such people.
written by Kuku Burung, July 06, 2009 12:22:09
he is not doing a single thing to alleviate what we are going through

This statement is rather pathetic. What do mean LGE has done nothing? I am no worshiper of LGE, but the statement is utterly unfair and unjustified. The expectation for the state government is to buy the land off the developer, which, everyone knows is ridiculous and does not solve the core problem of corruption and mismanagement by the previous BN government.
written by yellowwoman, July 06, 2009 12:45:10
Honeylemon,
What are you trying to prove?
If you have no idea what to do or say to solve the problem, at least give some constructive criticisms. If not, just shut up. When you cannot make a situation better, just don't do anything at all to make it worse.
We are all trying to build a better Malaysia and when inherited shit (from the previous admin) like this surfaces, let's try to say or do something that can help the situation not worsen it. Come on!

written by Wisdom above, July 06, 2009 13:00:15
Hindraf legal minds dare not question the Federal Court decision on eviction for fear of Contempt of Court proceedings ?

Using LA Act to frustrate the Federal Court eviction ruling may not be a wise move. It also recklessly exposed the PR Penang State Government to "CONTEMPT of COURT " punitive actions ?

Just cancel the development Order and re- gazette the disputed Land and as a
" Forest Reserve " under Public Use requirement.

We have a Win - Win situation ,Ok ?

written by hckit, July 06, 2009 13:07:05
Lim was arrested by Malaysian police in 1994, following his criticism of the government's handling of allegations of statutory rape of one of his constituents by former Chief Minister of the state of Melaka, Tan Sri Abdul Rahim Thamby Chik. Consequently, while the Attorney General decided not to charge Rahim Thamby Chik, Lim was charged under Section 4(1) (b) of the Sedition Act 1948 for causing 'disaffection with the administration of justice in Malaysia'. Lim was also charged under Section 8A (1) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act 1984 for 'maliciously printing' a pamphlet containing allegedly 'false information' because he had described the alleged rape victim as an 'imprisoned victim' because she was initially detained by Malaysian police without parental consent for 10 days. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lim_Guan_Eng
written by Jan, July 06, 2009 13:39:32
There had been many such shady land transactions such as this Kg Buah Pala in the last ten, twenny years. If the state or federal govt is going to spend taxpayers money to solve this what about other questionable land transactions? Should all taxpayers shut up and let the govt pay for each and every land scam that comes up? Why don't the residents accept the compensation offered by the developer and move on? Why be manipulated by politicians who wants to score points and at the end may end up getting nothing?
written by parsona, July 06, 2009 13:51:19
Kampung Buah Pala Indian residents, you only have yourselves to blame for voting BN for 50 years. Do not try to shift the blame to the new state govt. If DAP was the state govt 20 years ago, you would not have had this fate. The nature of people to find the blame in everything else but themselves is simply annoying.
written by Mirage, July 06, 2009 15:28:11
I think Pesona has a point there, being that Malaysian politics never look beyond sentiments. We should vote for the party that has most cosistency. In this I would say that we ourselves have encourage the corrupted BN to always come out and preach only during election previously and we buy that rather than a solid fundamental policy, stand and practices that we support. Instead we support BN knowing their track record of corruption.

Now we have DAP, PAS and PKR. I see no wrong in DAP in Penang except that the BN goverment is trying to find faults. Give them the due credit for the changes I have seen so far. And As for PAS, Kelantan Chinese would give their Thumbs up as they are not as radical as what they preach or what we believe.
written by jason, July 06, 2009 16:55:00
Is it so difficult to believe those poor villagers were conned off their land by BN/Gerakan?. Their modus operandi is to use some government cooperative to transfer the land or whatever, make it looks like it will benefit the government servant and later sell it to some cronies. It happen to PKFZ and its now in Kg Buah Pala. The simple truth is the villagers have been CONNED. The thing is their committee should know about this all along. Why blame the current PR government for this con job by the previous BN/Gerakan government?. You don't want compensation and you want to stay put. Who is going to pay for this luxury? The Penang tax payer? The last we heard it cost RM30-150mil. And after this, if the PR government paid, who will own the land?. Are the villagers going to live there forever in perpetuity free of charge. Come on, be reasonable. Take the compensation of 200K and hope the PR
government can dig up some juicy details to expose those bastards. But with the Fed BN government behind them, I doubt we can do anything about them.
And stop blaming the PR government, it gives me the impression that the committee has been bought over by the BN.
written by Prem, July 06, 2009 22:58:29
The people of Kg B.Pala need support and not abuses from us. The MESS was created by BN/GERAKAN without doubt,though Koh makes a joke of the sufferings of the Kg. folks and our 1Malaysia PM,washes his hands off the problem,as it belongs to the minority.QUESTION now is WHO IS GOING TO PUT OUT his hand to help the 'drowning'folks of Kg.B.Pala?????? The new CM,Ex-CM or our 1Malaysia PM?It sickens me to see an Indonesian ex-MB[Toyol]building an Indonesian Istana worth 24 millions on our tax-payers 'stolen'money and yet we begrudge the kampong folks who only want to continue their simple life.What sort of human race is the 1Malaysian race? The only 'savior'for this mess is LGE,buuutttttt,is he willing to do so,without giving excuses.THERE IS NOTHING LIKE TRYING.
written by Kirdash, July 06, 2009 23:32:16
What would ever happen if the Purtuguese settlement in Malacca being taken away for development??? You call this 1Malaysia? the men there clearly stated that they are not interested in compensation..Its is their village...You people want to buy everything with money? How about Kampung Bharu in KL..Why don't we develop it with luxurious condos and high fly shopping malls and so on..Don't further push the minority community...Leave them alone lah...
written by Dharmal, July 07, 2009 00:53:54
Political parties are here to serve the people, not the other way around, and till we put the pressure on them to perform, they will think that they are more important.

The villagers were cheated of their trust land by the state government. The state government must put that right. It doesn't matter who is running the state government. Whoever is in power must take responsibility for the past actions of the government and act accordingly.

What I see now is the slippery habit of politicians trying to pass the buck instead of dealing with the real problem of the people they are supposed to serve.

DAP should stop focusing on who to blame for the problem instead of dealing with the problem. That is the way it can show that it is ready to lead the nation.

Look at Obama in the US. When the economic crisis hit, did he start asking people to ask Bush why he got the country into a mess? No, he dealt with the problem at hand.

DAP better show us that it can be a leader when leadership has been given to it. People will remember how it handles Kampong Buah Pala in the future.

written by wood, July 07, 2009 01:13:44
I want this , I want that! What else do you all want?
Somebody made a mess earlier and you blame LGE for not doing a single thing ! Always blaming others ! "Seek first to understand then to be understood!" Next time if you do graduate and cannot find something to do quickly , who do you want to blame then?
Though I understand the plight of the residents there, please give those people whom you want them to act for you time ! If you want a baby you need an average of 9 months ! Rome was not built in a day ! There is no short cut in life . Even instant Maggi mee needs 2 minutes.!
written by Dharmal, July 07, 2009 01:59:33
I don't the issue is about the villagers wanting LGE to act quickly and giving him more time. The issue is whether he is willing to deal with the problem - so far, all the signals the DAP is giving suggests that they don't want to tackle the problem at all, best symbolised by his refusal to meet the villagers. The fact is, whatever DAP does, they are going to be unpopular - either with the villagers or with the developer and his condo owners. The issue is - will DAP do what is right and just instead of merely trying to not get their hands dirty.