Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow DAP under extreme pressure

DAP under extreme pressure PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 10:25

By Baradan Kuppusamy (The Star)

The controversy in Kampung Buah Pala has given DAP’s enemies – and its allies – the chance to attack the party for failing to live up to the ideals it had championed before it seized power.

PERCEPTION is everything in politics and the DAP, which has a sound record on this score, should know this.

But with the Kampung Buah Pala controversy dragging on, the party is taking a big hit on the perception front.

The DAP is facing concerted opposition for “failing” to save the village from demolition.

Even its own political allies in Pakatan Rakyat – PAS and PKR – are lined up with the 200 residents of the village along with Hindraf, NGOs like Suaram and Aliran, and not to mention the BN – especially the MIC – and three Tamil newspapers that are giving front-page treatment to the issue.

The same type of anguish was seen during the demolition of the Mariamman Temple in Shah Alam a week before Deepavali in 2007, an inconsiderate act that sparked the Makkal Sakthi movement that eventually toppled the BN Selangor government.

Within the DAP too, a debate is raging between the top leadership and its Indian leaders who are taking the heat from their community for failing to speedily resolve the controversy.

They are discussing several solutions but nothing firm has emerged as yet except that residents should accept compensation and vacate the 2.6ha land.

Party sources said even veteran DAP veterans like life adviser Dr Chen Man Hin and DAP chairman Karpal Singh are worried the party would be seen as “cold and heartless” if a humane solution is not found.

The 200-odd villagers have been issued with eviction notices and face forced expulsion if they don’t vacate the land they and their forefathers have lived on for over a century.

The developer has given a lifeline – a one-month extension - before demolition takes place.

Among the general public, Indians especially, there is rising clamour for DAP secretary-general and Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and his deputy Dr P. Ramasamy to come out of their comfort zones and grapple with the real issues of unequal and lopsided development.

NGO critics ask whether Penang needs another massive development that would alienate the people and turn this resort island into a concrete jungle.

They say the state can use its inherent powers to enforce just, fair and humane solutions instead of blaming the eviction order, previous government and the developer.

What is at stake is a traditional way of life which cash cannot buy – arguments made famous by the DAP at numerous forums pre-March 8.

Part of the reason that DAP is not sticking its head out to “save” Kampung Buah Pala is Guan Eng himself.

He goes strictly by the book and is famously adamant in demanding his way on any given issue, believing it is the fit, proper and right way.

Most of the time, he is right and the party defers to him because he goes by the book – he’s tough but fair.

In the Buah Pala case, he has rejected acquisition as a solution because the court has already ruled for an eviction and acquisition would cost a bomb.

He is wrong in taking such a narrow view.

The issues in Buah Pala – repossession, dispossession and alienation of helpless people – are all issues familiar to Guan Eng and his deputy, Dr Ramasamy.

A former academician who devoted much time trying to give voice to the voiceless, Dr Ramasamy was elected to high office with the expectations that the poor would also get the attention and protection like the rich and powerful.

Likewise, Guan Eng had championed the voiceless, promoted holistic development and protection of the marginalised.

Both are under attack now from various quarters for failing to live up to the ideals they had preached. The MIC and the Tamil media are lambasting Dr Ramasamy for “doing nothing” to save Buah Pala, accusations that he himself had levelled against the MIC pre-March 8 over numerous issues.

The Buah Pala controversy offers an opportunity to the Pakatan Rakyat generally and the DAP especially to show compassion to people caught on the wrong end of development.

Previously when people and capital clashed, most of the time the people lost.

They were either evicted or offered cash as compensation. They were uprooted and their traditional way of life destroyed and they ended up thoroughly alienated.

These are the same people who had backed Pakatan Rakyat, expecting better treatment and protection from eviction, desperation and alienation.

Lim’s competency, accountability and transparency principles are truly admirable and is bringing great benefits to the state but it is missing another element – compassion.

Cold efficiency in politics and administration is just not enough to win the hearts and minds of the people.

People need a caring and sharing government that is humane and compassionate in its policies and that protects the helpless from the powerful and rapacious.

In Buah Pala village, the DAP has an opportunity to show compassion before it is too late.

After all, politics is all about perception and the DAP should know.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by *********, July 06, 2009 10:34:06
The BN through the MIC are using the poor Villagers of Kampung Buah Pala to damage the PR Government so that it can come back to power in Penang. The media which is pro-BN have been spinning a lot of lies and half truths. What MIC is saying to the Villagers is that even Hindraf is now championing their plight because they are victims of a racist and corrupt DAP government in Penang. I don't understand why Hindraf is attacking DAP because this is certainly making MIC and BN look good in the eyes of not only the Villagers but also among Penangites in General. However, the question no one seems to be asking is why was Kampung Buah Pala turned into TOL land? Who were the beneficiaries of the trust? All these took place under the BN /Gerakan government of Tan Sri Dr. Koh Tsu Koon. Why is Hindraf or the Villagers not demanding answers from him? Dr. Koh must also explain why and how the land was sold to the Penang State Government Officers Cooperative for RM3.2 million and who were the key players in the state government, the cooperative and the developer responsible for the deal...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by hiro, July 06, 2009 10:45:07
Hmm. The article seems to be fair. But hang on. It's totally excluded historical reference to how the problem cropped up in the first place! Any professional and decent journalist would have included that in, and press for immediate answers. Koh Tsu Khoon - why did you sell the land cheap to the developer??

I believe DAP will try to come up with a solution. But the problem is Uthaya and others are pressing for blood really. For them, alternative site is not even a solution. It's their way, or it's the highway. Who's being unreasonable?? You can't expect a state government that's been treating you fairly to bow down at your every demands. They're not even asking for you to appreciate what they've done so far. I believe Hindraf has simply gone too far.
written by billykbk, July 06, 2009 10:47:36
I believed the villagers in Kampung Buah Pala should try rearing pig rather than cattle. Do that and I am not surprised if not only LGE but Thomas Su and the whole DAP from Kedah will also come to support them against the eviction notice

It's extremely mischievious and irresponsible to write such comments. If you have nothing to positive to post, just remain quiet and nobody will say you are dumb. This has racial connotations and meant to stoke the fire. Real racist!
disagree 26
written by billykbk, July 06, 2009 11:00:35
billykbk,

Where on earth in my article did I mention anything about race? Auch... I guess the truth really hurt isn't it?

I can't pretend to know what a fool doesn't. Period.
disagree 16
written by Ulan Benson, July 06, 2009 11:01:52
KukuSamy,Stop writing things you don't know. You wrote a lot of rubbish about Pas & Dap lately. Your writing is of poor grade and I have to call you KukuSamy.write when MCA is pulling out of BNs since 75% of MCA wanted to leave. Write about SemiValue's son court case.Write these 2 articles. Don't write stuff you have no knowledge. readers will stop voting BNs.Your article will make BNs lose badly as many readers are disgusted by your fork tongue.
written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 11:09:45
Temenggong,

Yes. You are right. Dog does not have a value here in Malaysia unlike pigs. Look at how folks in Pulau Ketam treat their old and aging pet. I think I better stop here before some Billy the Kids start to see my article via his racial spectacle. You know lah, if you touch anything involving them regardless whether it is legal (or illegal for the past 30 years is) they will come screaming at you as racist. It is even OK for them to threaten the existence of PR government out of it.
disagree 20
written by billykbk, July 06, 2009 11:18:15
If you have nothing positive to write, just remain quiet. Nobody will say you are dumb....May all be guided accordingly.
disagree 16
written by beijing, July 06, 2009 11:31:21
Well, well, well, Dr. Koh just simply said it is not his problem. I believe DAP can find the best way to solve this problem. What will happen if today Penang still under Dr. Koh? Pala already long gone…. They (Dr. Koh) wont give you chance to talk. You send him lembu kambing, he send you KRU..
written by Wisdom above, July 06, 2009 11:33:06
...the problem is Uthaya and others are pressing for blood really.
For them, alternative site given by Penang state Govt is not even a solution. It's their way, ?
Now developer have withdrawn the Rm200,000= goodwill compensation offer.
Did Hindraf legal team promised 20 times better value to the squatters? Now zero cents value ?

...Who's being unreasonable?? You can't expect a state government that's been treating you fairly to bow down at your every demands.

The squatters must accept alternative site allocated by the Penang Govt.

...I believe Hindraf has simply gone too far.
written by truthbespoken, July 06, 2009 11:43:08
Baradan,

You're a fool! DAP together with its partners did not SEIZE power in Penang! They were voted into power! This shows your inherent bias as a journalist unfit for the noble profession! UMNO is the one who had seized power in Perak! YOU GOT IT?
written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 11:43:12
Billy the kid,

That pretty much some up your thinking of how democracy supposed to function. Suppress all the dissenting voice isn't it? But if it comes to Malay or Muslim bashing than all hell break lose. I bet you are also the type of people who is going to uphold ISA or OSA if PR comes into power in federal right?

What happened to the saying "I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it". Or is it the rule only apply if involves your race, is it?
written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 11:48:59
Wisdom above,

I agree with you. HINDRAF has simply gone too far but LGE should have also handle the issue using different approach. Such as going down to the ground to show some sympathy to the villagers affected and also try to get a win-win solution for everyone involved.

written by honeylemon, July 06, 2009 12:02:47
Attn: Kampung Committee Chairman

Dear Sir

To help Kg Buah Pala residents, these are some actions which will surely be very beneficial to the residents whose forefathers lived there since hundreds of years:

1.REAR PIG
Try rearing PIG rather than CATTLE. Do that and I am not surprised if not only LGE but Thomas Su and the whole DAP fellas from Kedah will also come to support them against the eviction notice. Long live BABI !!

2. USE CHINESE NAME TO THE KAMPUNGS
Change the name of the village to Kg. Bukit Cina Buah Pala, and walla, a solution will be found. DAP is actually a Chinese racist party, camouflaged in its "democratic action" name. It should change name to "Chinese Immigrant People Action Party" or CIPAP.

3. BUILD TOA PEK KONG
All Indian and Malay villages (including Kg Berembang, KL and tanah2 adat in Rembau and etc - many actually but no noise) must build a Tua Pek Kong Temple for instant brand recognition by the power that be. Keep a pig in the yard too for added security. Worship the pig. Forget the dogs for the moment

Confirm all DAP racist socialist youth/uncle/ahso will defend you till their last babi. Err... i mean.. blood.
disagree 29
written by fendyoasis, July 06, 2009 12:31:05
ooo...now they ask us to shut up eih shamadz72,

Billy
I dont see any racial tone on shamadz72, it was straight to the point.

When bash Islam and PAS, its party time for U guys. Now let us see how u take it.
written by honeylemon, July 06, 2009 12:45:12
fendyoasis,

never mind the few hundred houses/shops surrounding the ILLEGAL abbatoir whose residents cannot tahan after 30 years living in environmentally substandard condition with the stench and bad smell. Nose polution.

babi is more important than human
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 13:01:05
Dear all,

Rear pigs instead of cows and let them wander to the nearby Malay kampung like those cows often do ?
Some of you would love another Kampung Medan incident here, don't you ?
written by The Prophessor, July 06, 2009 14:35:09
Right on shamadz, fendyoasis and gang!

Its high time right-minded people take over the comments sections of this blog. Chauvinists, supremacists, blind-party-supporting-party-apologists have been festering in here for too long. Bashing others at every given chance, they fail to reflect on their blatant shortcomings!
written by maisur, July 06, 2009 16:03:03
guys guys guys... why so harsh on DAP and LGE? not nice wooo....bad boys!

don't you guys know that DAP fights for all malaysians?

don't you guys know that LGE practices CAT?

oh ya, by the way... in case if you guys don't know, the indians in kampung buah pala are not malaysians and the person who moved from seri teratai into a "banglo mewah" just because of anai-anai problem in seri teratai is not LGE. he is like umar abdul aziz, he lives moderately and the rakyat is always close to his heart (no matter whether they are chinese, malays or the indians from kampung buah pala. if you are a babi, you will get a more special treatment).
written by hellboykl, July 06, 2009 17:46:36
Both the Lim's only have time for press conference,
I haven't seen them visit the Kg. Buah Pala yet?
Where are you DAP leaders?
written by hellboykl, July 06, 2009 17:49:20
The next business I am going to do is a pig farm.
That way DAP will back me all the way.
All the businessman in Penang should should join me as well.
written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 20:43:32
The Prophessor,

It is high time for DAP members to reprimand their leader whenever they have cross the line, just like the PAS members is not afraid to tell our leader when they have cross the line such as the case of TG Haji Hadi & Ustaz Nasha & its unity government issue. But the problem is most of them are pretty much drown in its racial cocoon to notice this.

Some of them even have a cheek to said that my comment is stroke a racist tone when I don't even mentioned any race in my comment at all. I just said "if the villager start rearing pig instead of cattle, not just LGE but also Thomas Su and the whole DAP Kedah will come and support them". So which part is racist Billy the kid? Are you trying to imply to me DAP Kedah = Chinese? So where is your DAP multi-racial slogan here?

BTW, I believed my comment is a fair comment and the DAP dude will need to learn more about tolerating dissenting view and need to learn a few thing from the west. A racist comment or what can be constituted as promoting hate crime is for example if I said something like "I will personally kill Thomas Su if I see him" or "I will soak my keris with Chinese blood" than that is a racial comment and you guys can even made a police report out of it and you certainly have a case there.

I believed RPK has mentioned this in one of his sermon before. Unfortunately some of us choose only to listen and follow when it suits them.

As it is I am pretty disappointed with LGE and the other DAP top leader, such as Karpal Singh or LKS for not reprimand the budak nakal within DAP's Kedah for threatening the existance of PR coalition. Just like the PKR & DAP chaps in Selangor who threaten to quit PR out of issue of Klang Central Bus station. I would say to them all, grow up and stop be like a spoil spouse who sikit-sikit threaten for a divorce which no different with 'Muqaballah' lah, 'Unity government' lah, 'quit from PR lah' etc.

written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 20:45:34
Mikewang,

Even the Kg Cina in Pendang also doesn't want to have a pig abattoir in their area. So why blame other races?

written by elmo world, July 06, 2009 21:05:29
wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww..............

everybody is not thinking straight here......... this area has became a Kampung racist........... please respect each other, if not later BN take over, then u all know .......... later no more English in the country not even Manglish
written by shamadz72, July 06, 2009 21:21:41
Elmo,

I am not the one calling others who I disagree with his his opinion as fools. Go ask Billy instead smilies/smiley.gif
written by ibnuwalid, July 06, 2009 22:04:46
Everybody must learn from Nik Aziz how to manage a state and the people...
written by mikewang, July 07, 2009 11:45:26
Dear shamadz72,

Have I blamed any race ?

I blame Hindraf for misleading the villagers and the public.
Unless you are telling me Hindraf constitutionally equals all Indians.
written by RBJ, July 07, 2009 16:32:00
dap has to be human & not robots like decepticons..
hear the people & do the best possible
(cannot make everybody happy but work out something)
As for Ramasamy move your but you were voted to be a politician not an academician!
People are watching!