Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP’s Su says he has proof temples will be demolished

DAP’s Su says he has proof temples will be demolished PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 10:23

(The Star) IPOH: The rift between Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak and the DAP is widening with state DAP chief Thomas Su claiming he has proof that illegal Hindu and Chinese temples would be demolished.

Expressing regret that Azizan had accused him of stirring up racial issues, Su said the Mentri Besar should have checked his facts first.

In black and white: Su showing a copy of the MBAS letter ordering the demolition of a Hindu temple.

“If the Mentri Besar wants to know, he just needs to call the Alor Setar Datuk Bandar or the exco member in charge,” he said at his service centre in Pasir Pinji, here, yesterday.

Showing a letter, purportedly from the Alor Setar Municipal Council (MBAS), ordering a Hindu temple to move, Su said Azizan should give his undertaking that the temple would not be demolished.

“The DAP never plays race politics,” he said. “We defend issues of people’s interest regardless of race.”

On Saturday, Azizan accused the DAP of stirring up racial issues with allegations that the state would demolish illegal temples.

Azizan claimed that neither the state government nor the MBAS had discussed this.

Su said issues affecting illegal places of worship should be handled sensitively.

“They are not illegal by choice. The authorities have refused to legalise them,” he said.

He also pointed out that the illegal pig slaughterhouse that was demolished recently was built in the 1970s.

Su also claimed that the party had the support of the people in Alor Setar.

When asked if the Kedah DAP would reconsider its decision to pull out from the Kedah Pakatan Rakyat government, Su said: “There is no turning back.”

written by asguard, July 06, 2009 10:30:52
Can someone looking into temples issues...asap!
written by PAKRAK, July 06, 2009 10:45:10
To be fair why doesn't the Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak do the same by demolishing mosques and suraus in Kedah to make way for development for his cronies?
disagree 16
written by beijing, July 06, 2009 11:23:19
The way Malays thinking and Muslime mind. No deference no matter UMNO or PAS. At the end is they fight for Islamnot for the people.
written by honeylemon, July 06, 2009 11:46:16
does this guy understand the word "ILLEGAL" ?

Is DAP above the law ?
written by nana tanjung, July 06, 2009 12:04:57
When the MB says no demolition, no demolition lah. There is an undertaking already. he is not going to demolish any temples or suraus or masjids.

The abattoir case is different. It was clearly an environmental case. It was demolished due to the environmental and health hazards. Only DAP is dumb enough to look from the myopic racist view.

Whereas temples or suraus warrant different consideration. PAS and the MB are not stupid to demolish house of worships.

Btw, no wonder we have such poor management of kedah DAP. This Thomas Su rupa-rupanya is an ADUN of pasir pinji in Ipoh. Can I safely say that this is a case of remote control management? decision made based on remote reports?
written by MalaysianUnited, July 06, 2009 12:49:17
Apa yang Thomas Su ini nak cakap ialah..'kita boleh bina rumah, kedai, masjid, kuil, tokong atas sesiapa pun punya tanah.' Lepas ini kita boleh tuntut jangan roboh!!

Careful with ur property bro..as i can built building in ur land..then u cant touch me, Thomas Su will be with me!!

Aiyo..even Kampung Cina in Kedah didnt want pig market near to their property and homes..so, build it near to Thomas Su house lah??
written by macakmy, July 06, 2009 13:01:01
How come when illegal suraus and madrasah were demolished DAP didn't make any noise?? The Malays themselves did not make noise because eventhough they do not totally agree, they not that illegal means exactly NOT LEGAL. So stupid ar..? Simple word also cannot understand. Now you want to fight for illegal abattoirs, temples, toa pek kongs? Why stop there? Why don't you include illegal brothels, gambling dens and what not? These also have their own "faithful" followers. They also voters mah... You're just a f**king racist hypocrite!!!
written by macakmy, July 06, 2009 13:02:15
correction.
"they not that illegal" should read "they know that illegal"
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 13:21:05
Places of worship were deliberately kept illegal by previous BN governments all over the country.
If people can have a legal way to build places of worship, do you think they would build illegal churches, temples etc ?

Do you honestly know what is the worshiper density ratio for a mosque and a temple in a housing project in the peninsular ?
written by temenggong, July 06, 2009 13:39:06
Why care about density? In the past, people build temples and mosques all over the place as they like. That's why in Georgtown we see 6 chinese temples, 7 mosques occupying shophouses all on one street, and 3 churches next to each other - like an emporium! In Waterfall Hill Road there are 3 Hindu temples on one street.

In PJ Old town there are 14 chinese temples in Section One. I know because I visited them all.

Those days were harmonius days - where we were spoilt for choices when we want to worship.
written by born2reign, July 06, 2009 16:45:34
We all know that there are many "illegal" churches in Malaysia too. Why? Coz the govt takes their own sweet time to approve their permits. Anyway why do I need to get govt permission to pray in a location that I am paying lease for? Well, in Malaysia if govt says your God is not Islam, then not important.

Why not our govt publish the turn around time for approving worship location permits? Chicken shit that's why.

But of course our govt is very speedy to legalise "illegal Indonesian maids" as legal bumiputeras holding myKad. Very speedy in legalising expensive mosques at every 500m (as if people cannot travel more than half a KM to the nearest mosque), while the non-Muslims have to travel to another suburb or town to worship.

Maybe govt's KPI is not the turn around time to approve/reject worship permits. It is the highest number of temples and churches being demolished annually, that's the KPI for BN.

Well done!