Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Free uniforms and bags for students in constituency

Free uniforms and bags for students in constituency PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 10:11

(Bernama) KUALA KRAI: The Education Ministry is providing free school uniforms and bags to 6,142 primary, secondary and religious school students in Manek Urai.

Kelantan Umno liaison chief Datuk Mustapa Mohamed said he was informed of the aid allocation for the students by Deputy Prime Minister and Education Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin several days ago.

“This gesture by the ministry is to lighten the burden of the people here,” he told a news conference at the Manek Urai Barisan Nasional operations centre yesterday.

While 300 students received the free school uniforms and bags yesterday, Mustapa said the rest would be handed out in stages.

He had earlier presented the uniforms and bags to the pupils of Sekolah Kebangsaan Manek Urai Baru on behalf of Muhyiddin.

There are 10 primary and 12 secondary schools as well as an Arabic-medium school in the town.

Meanwhile, Mustapa has urged employers in the public and private sectors to allow their employees to return home to vote on July 14.

“Do not deny them their rights as voters; it is an offence,” he said in reference to the statement by Kelantan PAS elections director Abdul Fatah Harun yesterday about receiving reports of some employers not allowing their workers to return to Manek Urai to cast their vote.

Today, Muhyiddin is expected to lead a procession of more than 10,000 Barisan supporters to the nomination centre at Sekolah Menengah Sultan Yahya Petra 1.

Barisan has named Kuala Krai Umno Youth head Tuan Aziz Tuan Mat, 39, as its candidate while PAS will field its Kuala Krai division treasurer Fauzi Abdullah, 50, to defend the seat.

The by-election is being held following the death of assemblyman Ismail Yaakob on May 22 from a heart attack.

In the last general election, Ismail defeated Barisan candidate Mohamed Zulkepli Omar by a 1,352-vote majority.

written by Trueandfair, July 06, 2009 10:27:10
BN They are still young and innocent
written by Kuku Burung, July 06, 2009 10:37:41
Here it goes again. Not even the young are spared of the corrupt practices. How thick the skins these UMNO crooks are, I don't know.
written by Ken Liew, July 06, 2009 10:38:44
6,142 bags and uniform.... Please show us the BILL... then we will talk later...

As the car-jack costed RM 5000..... I wonder the bags will go up to RM500.

Stuff is over quoted... so are the million project which consume Billion.... This is Malaysia Boleh kah??

ps: If the bag printed BN/UMNO, please written TAK NAK behind it.
written by Mark C, July 06, 2009 11:41:49
This is a bribe, plain and simple. Reckon gestures like this kill 2 bird with "1" stone, buying votes and siphoning money...

Malaysia Boleh! smilies/grin.gif
written by Garend, July 06, 2009 12:14:41
Wow.. this is Funny.. why only give them school aid when the voting day draws near.. if you want to give.. should have given beginning of the year.. when School starts..

Now if you tell me this is not misuse of government fund to promote BN... then I really donno what is this.. and why only Marek Urai.. you mean other place's children don't need aids?
Sick of this.. (but I am happy for the ppl in Marek Urai.. Please take the bags.. take the aids.. then vote PKR.

written by temenggong, July 06, 2009 12:31:31
Yes, teach (corruption) them young!
written by concernedinmalaysia, July 06, 2009 12:31:43
why only there? why not all school chilgren throughout the the entire country???

To BN, MP = Money Politics

To PR, MP = Member of Parliament
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 13:09:10
"Muhyiddin is expected to lead a procession of more than 10,000 Barisan supporters."

From reports received, 10,000 had gone over to PAS side.
UMNO could only managed 2,000.

By the way, take whatever "Maggie Mee" the government is offering you but vote according to your conscience.

*How I wish I live in a constituency whereby we can have a by election.*
written by SamSan, July 06, 2009 13:16:21
We all need to put up photos of the simple life style of our noble ulama Tok Guru Nik Aziz side by side with those plush and pompous life style of the evil, greedy, rapacious, sodomite and power crazy AMENO / BN leaders. Then the rakyat can decide whether they want to follow our noble PAS ulamas who abhor aggrandizing wealth bountifully bestowed by Allah Allmighty for the meek rakyat or continue suffering under the evil syaitan BN / AMENO regime that belongs to the dark forces. The voters in Manek Urai need to send a strong message of support for PAS under our eminent, pure hearted and noble Tok Guru Nik Aziz as he is one of the few leaders who is truly treading on the exact footsteps of our noble Prophet Nabi Muhammad (p.b.u.h) by abstaining from all evil influences of massive wealth aggrandizement, greed, lust and unfettered power. Long live PAS and may Allah Allmighty continue giving strength and blessings to our Tok Guru to lead Pakatan Rakyat and the majority peace loving and compassionate people of Malaysia to the true path of Islam which is ever compassionate and exists only on the platform of undivided love.
written by Kacang Tanah, July 06, 2009 13:21:02
Kerismudin,

I am from Sungai Petani, Kedah. When are you going to give free school uniform and school bags to my children?

You are using people's money to bribe in order to stay in power.
written by Jan, July 06, 2009 14:42:33
This is clearly a bribe. If not a bribe why distribute only to this area which is having a by-election? What is the election commission going to do about this?
written by Sutha, July 06, 2009 16:14:00
Take, take, take. Ask for more goodies.

But vote for Bulan for a non-corrupt government in Kelantan.

But if one takes the goodies and vote for BN, that's corruption.

So vote for Bulan!
written by densemy, July 06, 2009 18:41:13
The answer to every parent's problem

Murder your MP and when there is a by-election expect a handout from BN

Did someone say this country was sick sick sick??

written by arazak, July 06, 2009 18:59:31
They are so desprate to the point of bribing school children. . .!

Anyway adik-adik, take the schoolbags and uniforms but go tell your parents to vote for PAS!!!
written by Sabahfan, July 06, 2009 20:56:27
Heyyy u fukking UMNO regime leaders..... USE YOUR OWN money to buy votes, Not my taxes..

HOIIIIIII... CORRUPTE UMNO REGIME, I SAID, GIVE ME BACK MY TAXES
written by Dr.bern, July 06, 2009 22:45:50
This is totally misuse of rakyat's money.Why manik urai not those rural settlements in sabah and sarawak shcools. Where is the MACC, come on MACC please take your action.If you really want to give to school children of manik urai, then it is better for you to use the money from your own pocket.
written by bugisman, July 06, 2009 23:52:27
this is bribery, plain right & simple. using tax payers' money for political gain.

i've no problem giving out for the needy. but it seems like a OLD BN strategy, always "generous" & "apathetic" before election... btw are you not paving the roads too??

so if they lose, will More-hidding complain that the malays are ungrateful like what he said about the chinese??

well, i guess not, in umno's eyes malays done no wrong and have their free-choice. unlike chinese & indians that must always "ampun tuanku" just because govt is doing what it should be doing as a govt...

real ballocks...
written by ManOnTheStreet, July 07, 2009 06:25:58
Very kind of the Education Ministry to lighten the burden of the people. It's always nice to see the goodies start pouring in whenever a by-election draws nearer. Accept the school bags and school uniforms, make sure your kids study hard in school, but let not your vote be swayed. There is a bigger picture here.
written by sandokan, July 07, 2009 07:42:10
If this is not money politic, then what the fcuk is this? Fcuk you umno, pfui