Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A flashback on the Azim Zabidi affair

A flashback on the Azim Zabidi affair PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 02:08

Abdul Azim Zabidi also said the issue had nothing to do with his legal battle with Raja Petra Kamarudin over two articles the blogger wrote last year and with him being named as Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd chairman in the ongoing Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal.

On 20 October 2003, Azim was appointed a Director of Transquay Ventures Sdn Bhd. The purpose of appointing him a Director of that company is so that he can help the company with its listing exercise on the Kuala Lumpur Stock Exchange.

However, the company would first have to be a Bumiputera company to qualify, said Azim, so half the shares had to be transferred into his name and the balance into the name of another Malay. With the shareholding reflecting 100% Bumiputera equity it would now qualify.

Azim 'paid' Lu Leong Seng for the shares on 5 April 2004 through three RHB Bank cheques. The sale was not a genuine sale of course but just a 'paper' transaction to show that Azim really owned the shares and had paid for them. Lu was supposed to refund the money, but not to Azim, as he did not want the money trail to lead to his door. Instead, Lu was asked to pay the money to Tan Boon Keong, the infamous BK Tan. This was done through four cheques issued through Public Bank Berhad on 8 April 2004.

The listing never happened so Lu called off the deal and asked for the return of his shares. But Azim refused to return the shares or refund the RM1,318,000 that was paid to his nominee, BK Tan. On 31 November 2007, Lu made a police report at the Kajang Police Station. To date, of course, and as expected, no action has been taken by the police. In the meantime, Azim and his partner, BK Tan, own the company plus RM1,318,000 in cash. Not bad for one of the members of the Zulhasnan Rafique inner circle. And this, basically, is what the New Economic Policy is all about.

READ MORE HERE:

1. A scam, by any other name, smells just as foul (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/2535/40/)

The listing never happened so Lu Leong Seng called off the deal and asked for the return of his shares. But Datuk Seri Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi refused to return the shares or refund the RM1,318,000 that was paid to his nominee, BK Tan. On 31 November 2007, Lu made a police report at the Kajang Police Station.

2. The new Member of Parliament for Putrajaya, Azim Zabidi (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/3028/84/)

The evidence is clear. Azim Zabidi works for a Chinaman. Azim Zabidi is just an Ali Baba front. And Azim Zabidi is going to be the next Member of Parliament for Putrajaya while the god-fearing, squeaky-clean opposition candidate is not only going to lose, but will probably lose his deposit as well.

3. Zul Rafique and Azim Zabidi, PLEASE go to hell! (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/3272/84/)

4. Umno, AG and PDRM checkmated (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/8276/84/)

The police has to prove that Raja Petra has control over Malaysia Today. Raja Petra does not have to prove anything. But Malaysia Today is not registered in his name plus he does not have access to Malaysia Today. So they can’t prove he has control over Malaysia Today. In fact, it appears like others have control over Malaysia Today.

5. 'Sultan' Zulhasnan, the RM700 million man (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/2386/46/)

Zulhasnan has manipulated RM700 million worth of government contracts in Kuala Lumpur and has given them to his friends and cronies. The Umno division leaders of Segambut, Seputeh, Bukit Bintang (Azim Zabidi) and Kepong have all benefited from Zulhasnan's patronage. Ali Baba had his 40 thieves. Zulhasnan has his four.

written by ChiangKT, July 06, 2009 04:49:26
Unless the malays start to stand on their own two feet, and wake up to the realisation that NEP is not really doing much good for them, we will continue to see such corruptions or scams keep happening. When money gets into these people's hand, they will only be spend away from the country, to buy imported goods like flashy cars, rather than being used to really help other Malays, in the form of more jobs being created, increasing competitiveness etc. For chinese, this is like another form of tax, but I think they can live with it, and may be able to use it to their advantage too, sometimes. But is it what the Malays really want?
agree 139
written by OilMan, July 06, 2009 05:44:37
The well connected and elite UMNO Malays gets richer and richer while the majority of Malays remains at the 'makan gaji' level.
agree 200
written by Liberian, July 06, 2009 06:06:17
NEP started with a good intention when the Malays were really needed help. But corrupted leaders such as Mahathir, Abdullah Badawi and now Roshmah najib is making use of it to create corrupted cronies. If Najib is thinking of his famous 1Malaysia, than he should scrap this NEP and come up with a plan to help all Malaysian irrespective of race and religion but who are really needed help. If BN is serious of putting an end to corruption please close down the NEP which is the mother of corruption in Malaysia.
agree 118
written by DamnPekcek, July 06, 2009 07:48:13
Another reason to abort the NEP, nothing more than fulfulling their own pockets. Ssshhh, please do not talk that you want to serve the People!!
written by freerpk, July 06, 2009 08:04:35
May be this will help teach Lu a lesson in life, it's called show me the money. If I don't see the money in your hands you can forget it. That is how all scams work. They say if you give me some money to do the paper work you will get 10 million in exchange. I would say you give me the 10 million first then i pay you for the paperwork
written by *********, July 06, 2009 08:53:31
The NEP is the Opium that UMNO is feeding the Malays with in return for their support. Like all drugs, the NEP will bring about a pitiful end as well...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by onnetline, July 06, 2009 09:23:23
Helping the needy and poor the UMNO cronies way
written by hellosunshine, July 06, 2009 09:30:49
I don't care what my friends claimed, that I am spamming some of them but I'll still continue to highlight, copy and paste all interesting articles in MT that exposes the abuse of power, plundering and looting by the umnoputras, BN and even PR to all my friends and relatives in my email list and I'll also remind those who had not registered to vote to do it asap. I shall keep doing this until GE13 and that is how I can contribute in a small way to raise awareness among the rakyat. Hope everyone can do this small assignment for the sake of the nation. smilies/wink.gif
written by malgal, July 06, 2009 10:11:12
crooks strut in full view of polis but polis want to nab the whistleblowers. who do we really have on our side?
written by sydput, July 06, 2009 10:25:03
This 30% bumi requirement for listing actually destroys and inhibits businesses. It is due to this, people like mahathir's son, rafidah's daughter etc got their wealth.
Thank God it has been abolished. It is justice for the genuine businessemen. I wonder if Tony fernandes actually requires his malay partners if this requirement had not been created. I heard his malay partner , as usual, married a young second wife. Typical.
written by madfive, July 06, 2009 10:38:18
bila kompeni disenaraikan, pembahagian 30% saham ( bumi ) saperti berikut:
anak raja/ cucu raja/ suku sakat raja - RM 30m each
sdn bhd ( umno related ) - antara RM 50k - RM 1m
certain individu ( sudah kaya raya ) - same as above
kalau mau tolong melayu, pembahagian berikut patut di ikut
bekas tentera / polis - RM5k to RM10k each
bekas pegawai dan anggota kerajaan - same as above
sesiapa yang pernah atau sedang berjasa pada masyarakat (bukan umno) - serupa diatas
melayu yang berkeluarga ( low income ) - RM5k each

just imagine many many of us could benefit from nep
written by bikerzon, July 06, 2009 10:43:49
There are so many corruption in Malaysia, I don't know whether I want to go back to Malaysia... but again I don't like to stay in China... dilemma dilemma...

Anak Penanti in Shanghai.
written by jalapeno, July 06, 2009 12:14:07
Many non-bumi contractors have been tricked the same way when lobbying for government projects. Unfortunately, some never learn. But some are so fed up that they rather do private projects. Make less money but at least they are happy they stop feeding the dogs that bite their hands.
written by Super Admin, July 06, 2009 13:39:16
Conan Chung, Azim's statement was made TWO DAYS AGO.
written by arazak, July 06, 2009 14:27:53
It seems nobody could touch people BK Tan and those people associated with him. He is untouchable a la Don Vito Corleone!

By the way, Conan Chung, what Pete did was correct. Sometimes we do need flasback to recall something or to check something we have missed before. It happens to you too. . ., you see, you even missed Azim's statement 2 days ago! Perhaps you should stick to your Jap Anime and leave MT to serious readers!
written by chiongguo, July 06, 2009 15:14:49
Many corruption could not be proven mainly because there is no paper trail. The Kg.pala incident is a good example. Kohtk halved the land price and awarded it to a umno warlord. On the surface it looked strange as kohtk didn't seemed to be upholding the trust placed on him and i.e. to serve the interests of the people and not the umno warlord. He probably could give viable reasons for his action. Afterall he is a reasonable person. But how do you link this rather strange action with personal gain ? He was given the discretionary power to do it and so he did.

In like manner how do lu leong sing proved what he had said ? If he could proved it wouldn't he be culpable in an attempt to defraud the government ? The problem with corruption is that both are culpable and it is in their interests to support each other. There was a computer model created by a canadian student on how people could get away with corruption and the best strategy was to continue to support each other even when they hated each other guts and no longer could cooperate.

To break a corrupt culture is not easy.

Would kohtk get his reward after he had retired ? And how would you link his decisions when he was the CM with this new found wealth upon retirement ? Something to think about.
written by Malaysiaputra, July 06, 2009 16:15:56
No wonder the Umnoputras are ready to "die" defending the NEP, one can see that it is their passport to mine "gold" from the Malaysian treasury of the rakyat. Once they get onboard, the mountain of gold is in front of them to take as they like.

No wonder the bumiputra shares can never ever reach the 30%. To say it has done so would mean the loss of not a meal ticket, but a ticket to the gold mine.

So, in the name of NEP, the rakyat are being robbed.
written by KotaDamansara73, July 06, 2009 16:47:04
The Malays are getting poorer and poorer day by day because of UMNO
written by SamBall, July 06, 2009 22:23:01
Melayu senang jadi kaya; thanks to the dear old coocoo kaka..
written by Awaken64, July 07, 2009 00:08:40
A fool and his money is soon departed.... All you.. future Lu Leong Seng's please note greed and ignorance cause suffering.

No police report will help here await judgment day Mr BK Tan and co..
written by Aria, July 07, 2009 11:10:39
Wow! This is something to think about – Why do the rakyat of Malaysia elect a corrupt person to represent them in parliament? Don’t the rakyat know that corrupted members of parliament like Zulhasnan and Abdul Azim Zabidi will suck the country dry and leaving nothing for the development of Malaysia? With all this information in the web why can’t the people see the problem? Only when these questions a really understood will a real solution be found - ‘Why a corrupt good-for-nothing government can remain in power’.

The British parliament, the Indian government and all the other commonwealth countries have corrupt governments. It clearly shows that the British parliamentary system has a problem of attracting or changing people to become corrupt. The capitalist, communist or socialist system also does not address this issue of corruption well.

Only the rakyat of Malaysia can now stop this plundering of our beloved country. The internet informs and educates perhaps 30%, SMS and mobile phones perhaps another 30%, but what about the other 40% of the rakyat. The main stream newspapers, television and radio still misinform the other 40% of the rakyat. If we can find a solution how to inform the other 40% of the rakyat the government is finished. The UMNO parliamentary seats are mostly won in areas outside of major cities; where people are generally not so technology savvy and rely on television, radio and main stream newspapers for information about their government.
written by johnT, July 08, 2009 22:54:45
That is what we call AliBaba. Baba kena makan dengan Ali