Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow No 30% stake for bumiputra but are you taking the bait?

No 30% stake for bumiputra but are you taking the bait? PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 01:44

I’ve just returned from a short trip to Singapore. As usual the hotels will be jacking up their rates come the Formula-1 again. Staying at 5-star (that was what my friend claimed) InterContinental Singapore at S$200 a night was a steal considering the cleaniness and spaciousness of the room.

Broadband was provided complimentary although I still can’t figure out why the hotel management could not provide a single bottle of mineral or distilled water as part of the service. Maybe they thought I can just walk to the Cold Storage which was a walking distance to get it. But I’m sure any travelers would prefer at least a bottle of distilled water that costs S$0.60 at the Cold Storage than a hand-written welcome note from the hotel management.

Anyway I found out the food in Singapore is getting better thanks to many Malaysians who travel daily (I bet many of them have actually become citizens) to work on the island. My friend took us to try some of the Singapore foods which turn out to have similar taste compared to Malaysia. After some conversations it seems many restaurant owners or their workers are Malaysians so it seemed they have taken the advice from some of Malaysian politicians (current government) to go back to China, India and wherever their father or grandfather came from, if they are not happy with the racism policy the BN government is practicing. But instead of going back to China or India as threaten by these politicians, the Malaysian Chinese have migrated to Singapore instead.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by storm62, July 06, 2009 04:01:05
common admin, you guys are being too humble.i paid double for my room come F1.i thought we should be paying cheaper to promote F1?
written by Loh, July 06, 2009 04:16:20
The government should make an assessment of what the gaps are in achieving the NEP targets and the area of over achievements. In December 2006, PM AAB and DPM Najib said EPU would prove ASLI wrong within a month on ASLI's reporting stating that 30% equity target had been achieved. This has not yet been done. It is unfair to say that the 30% policy gets a low priority, and come back for it again.

The government reports only the statistics of Malays equity figure and nothing else, and keep saying that NEP has not been achieved. So, it should imply that NEP had achieved the objective in all other areas except the issue of equity. That statistics now become the deciding factor. ASLI and EPU should engage in public debate, or work together on the actual statistics. Petronas have submitted RM 250 billion to government over the past 6 years. Petronas should be made to buy the gaps and hold it for Malays, and decide on a distribution plan in due course. We can declare NEP over, and dismantle all those race-based regulations arising from NEP in government administration.

Najib may then be able to begin talking about 1Malaysia without the NEP ghost haunting him.
written by krising1, July 06, 2009 06:42:21
Brudder, it is safe to drink from any tap in Singapore. It consists of cheap Johore water and re-cycled Singapore water but much much safer than drinking Malaysian water directly from the tap.
written by ylcc, July 06, 2009 08:21:22
Singaporeans would prefer Malaysians to come to their shores anytime rather than those from India & China (frankly, they drive me up the wall with their arrogance and crude mannerisms). Malaysians too prefer to be nearer home. I have yet to come across any Singaporean who dislike Malaysians. We have too much in common and share similar cultures. If Singapore keeps up the low birth rate, the Singaporeans might soon be a minority to those from India & China. So to the Singaporeans, might as well give up their place to the Malaysians.
written by PRman, July 06, 2009 10:31:28
People, we always can vote out the current ruling government, if they fail to perform their job that Malaysians entrusted to them. We want policy based government, not race based. We want to eradicate poverty, improve school system, improve public transportation system, lower crime rate, pull in foreign investment, stop the police abuses, improve the judicial system and etc etc.

If they don't think they can do all this, and give us full of crab excuses. Please resign, and relinguish the power for others to do so.

Thanks,
Malaysian
written by born2reign, July 06, 2009 16:29:10
No 30% bumi equity for how long? For as long as NEP has been in place? Why not just declare for the next 50 years govt won't insist of 30% bumi equity.

Anyway Thailand is better since a company can be 100% foreign owned. Camry there also cheaper only RM50k isn't it? Can't get a bodoh Proton Perdana for that price.
written by johnT, July 07, 2009 01:11:23
Arwah Fadzil Noor pernah berjanji Jikalau PAS menang keistimewaan melayu akan di hapuskan. Respek betul saya kat Arwah kerana prinsil keadilan , Arwah tidak takut PAS kalah teruk dalam pilihanraya.

Tok Guru Niz Aziz pernah berkata.. Darah melayu merah, Darah Cina pun merah, Apa salahnya?

Yang UMNO berjaya lahirkan ialah usahawan melayu yang tak berdaya saing. Kalau Melayu, Cina Dan India sama sama lembik hancurlah ekonomi Malaysia.

Kalau Pemerintah sayangkan melayu apa kata di ujudkan pengecualian khas cukai untuk syarikat perkongsian melayu cina ataupun India?