Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar urges speedy resolution to Kg Buah Pala issue

Anwar urges speedy resolution to Kg Buah Pala issue PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 01:18

(Bernama) - Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has ordered Deputy Chief Minister I Mansor Othman to complete his report on the Kampung Buah Pala issue in a few days’ time.

“I hope Mansor will not take longer than necessary. He should hand in the report to the state executive council and Chief Minister in two or three days’ time,” he told reporters after meeting Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak here today.

Defending Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng over the issue, Anwar said it was unfair to accuse Lim of not being concerned with the villagers simply because he (Lim) did not meet them.

“What is more important, the chief minister had given his assurance that the problem will be resolved,” said Anwar, who is also Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) advisor.

On the sacking of a Seberang Perai Municipal Council councillor, Johari Kassim, Anwar said the PKR would discuss the matter with the state government.

Johari was removed for leading a group of councillors in boycotting the swearing in of MPSP president Mokhtar Mohd Jait recently.

To a question, Anwar denied that there was a rift in the opposition alliance in Penang and Kedah.

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by macakmy, July 06, 2009 02:04:15
Johari Kassim still carries his UMNO mentality and does not belong in PR. Just let it go. To all the others who shares this mentality, go join BN.
written by nana tanjung, July 06, 2009 08:58:38
Macakmy,

I agree with you. Let send Thomas Su and Guan Aik to MCA or Gerakan as well.
written by lamakawan, July 06, 2009 10:44:36
I agree with macakmy. Let Johari go and forget about the whole episode. After all the executive council has to be seen to work. No one is indispensable. The Pakatan gomen of Penang must move on. Get rid of pot stirrers we must. We have only 3 more years to prove to the people of Penang that Pakatan can work together and is capable of governance, both at state level and at national level.
written by hellboykl, July 06, 2009 18:30:00
Good job Dato Seri,