Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno says nothing special about Nik Aziz

Umno says nothing special about Nik Aziz PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 01:15

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Umno’s election heads have scoffed at Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat’s influence in the state, stating that Umno leaders are far more capable than the influential cleric.

Coming on the eve of nominations for the Manek Urai by-election, the show of confidence appears designed to break the psychological grip that the PAS spiritual leader has on the mostly Malay Muslim state.

“Nik Aziz is only influential in Kelantan whereas Tok Pa has, among other things, been a minister,” said Umno information chief Ahmad Maslan, referring to Umno Kelantan chief Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, who is the party’s election director for the July 14 vote. Both Umno leaders rejected the idea that Nik Aziz’s iconic status among Muslims would be the defining factor for the Malay electorate who make up over 99 per cent of the 12,300 voters.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Oscar Winner, July 06, 2009 01:45:02
Hello Mus, I think you are rather a decent guy compared to your other colleagues in UMNO, but you are definitely not anywhere near Tok Guru. You make yourself a laughing stock by saying that you feel you are also an icon. Najis also an icon, you said? How can shit be an icon? I flush it as soon as I'm done. Just can't stand the stench

Since you said Tok Guru is nothing special, pls try harder to get your other icons who are special, for eg. Hadi, Nash and gang to join UMNO lah.
written by SamSan, July 06, 2009 02:20:08
We all need to put up photos of the simple life style of our noble ulama Tok Guru Nik Aziz side by side with those plush and pompous life style of the evil, greedy and power crazy AMENO / BN leaders. Then the rakyat can decide whether they want to follow our noble PAS ulamas who abhor aggrandizing wealth bountifully bestowed by Allah Allmighty for the meek rakyat or continue suffering under the evil syaitan BN / AMENO regime that belongs to the dark forces. The voters in Manek Urai need to send a strong message of support for PAS under our eminent, pure hearted and noble Tok Guru Nik Aziz as he is one of the few leaders who is truly treading on the exact footsteps of our noble Prophet Nabi Muhammad (p.b.u.h) by abstaining from the evil influences of massive wealth aggrandizement and unfettered power. Long live PAS and may Allah Allmighty continue giving strength and blessings to our Tok Guru to lead Pakatan Rakyat and the majority peace loving and compassionate people of Malaysia to the true path of Islam which is ever compassionate and exists only on undivided love.
written by mikewang, July 06, 2009 05:17:03
My observation is that if you move to other states in the peninsular, TGNA and DS Nizar has more influence and draw on non-Malay votes than Ong TK, KTK and S Vellu.
written by OilMan, July 06, 2009 06:09:31
If only the oil royalty and federal budget was extended to Kelantan state government, then Tok Guru have been able to do more for the Rakyat. Let PR win and we will have sweeping change all over Malaysia.
written by Liberian, July 06, 2009 06:44:03
Mus, you or your UMNO cronies are worried to chellange Tok Guru because you will eat dust. Whether you or UMNO chellange, Manik Urai is PAS. Where is the famous Mamak Anwar Musa. He will not come to areas that are covered by KESDAR projects because he swindle 500 Million from KESDAR, when he was Chairman of KeSDAR He was appointed by Mahathir.
written by chiongguo, July 06, 2009 09:22:07

Umno’s election heads have scoffed at Kelantan Mentri Besar Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat’s influence in the state, stating that Umno leaders are far more capable than the influential cleric.
“Nik Aziz is only influential in Kelantan whereas Tok Pa has, among other things, been a minister,” said Umno information chief Ahmad Maslan, referring to Umno Kelantan chief Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, who is the party’s election director for the July 14 vote

A good leader is not a person who is capable but is able to influence those capable of doing the job. He himself may not be capable to do the job but his influence gets the job done. This is Wu-Way - the art of not-doing and yet all is done. And this is the hallmark of a great leader.

A capable guy by his very nature can never be a great leader.

So in manik urai we know who NOT to vote.

written by ladasiber, July 06, 2009 09:43:00
Yes, the UMNOBumi is right. Nothing special about Tok Guru Nik Aziz. But try to put them together in an independent poll, even against Najib for that matter. Let the rakyat decide. Tok guru, you are the only person I am willing to bet with my life.