Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Stop comparing Bumiputera policy to apartheid, Hisham warns

Stop comparing Bumiputera policy to apartheid, Hisham warns PDF Print
Monday, 06 July 2009 01:13

(Bernama) - Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein today warned of tough action against Skudai (Johor) state assemblyman Dr Boo Cheng Hau of the DAP if he continues to liken the Malay and Bumiputera affirmative policies to apartheid policies.

“Stop it. I will take stern action if the issue of apartheid is raised again. The statement is intended to instigate and cannot be tolerated,” he said.

Boo first made such a statement on Feb 26 this year in the Johor state assembly and then repeated it in his speech at a declamation of the Batu Pahat Chinese Association, which was reported by a Chinese newspaper on June 30.

Hishammuddin spoke to reporters after attending a briefing on security arrangements for the Manek Urai state by-election, nomination for which is tomorrow. Polling is on July 14.

He said such a statement should not have been uttered because it did not reflect the country’s achievements and harmony of the last 50 years or so after attaining independence.

He said Malaysia had become popular as a multi-racial country where the people lived in peace and worked together to develop the nation. The statement made by Boo could destroy the inter-racial unity built up over the years and undermine national harmony, he said.

“We are investigating, and the immunity (in the state assembly) should have its limits. What is the aim of democratic freedom if anyone can utter words which can destroy racial harmony and peace and lead to chaos?” he said.

Meanwhile, Hishammuddin said 1,588 policemen have been deployed under a first phase to ensure an incident-free nomination tomorrow.

Commenting on claims by residents of Manek Urai and Kampung Laloh that frequent electricity disruption recently was due to a temporary police command post in the constituency, Hishammuddin said this was not true as the police command post used its own generator and did not depend on power supply from Tenaga Nasional Berhad.

written by Kathy, July 06, 2009 01:37:33
“Stop it. I will take stern action if the issue of apartheid is raised again. The statement is intended to instigate and cannot be tolerated,” he said.

Suppression of criticism is not a good thing.
written by RumahPanjai, July 06, 2009 02:10:54
Hishammuddin doesn't understand the fact that "black is black" and "white is just white". Issuing threats and telling malaysians what not to say coming from a minister is sheer childishness. Maybe instead of "apartheid" Dr Boo should instead use the words "race discrimination" or "race preference" policy?
written by fearless, July 06, 2009 03:35:37
I give one example, rich Malays can get 5% discount for buying property under BN race-based policy.

Can someone tell me IF this is not apartheid, then what is apartheid?
written by truthbespoken, July 06, 2009 04:29:31
UMNO cannot distinguish what is fact and is showing its arrogance again!
written by jalong, July 06, 2009 04:35:30
Kris waving Hishammuddin to the delirious applause of UMNO delegates you said '“Stop it. I will take stern action if the issue of apartheid is raised again. The statement is intended to instigate and cannot be tolerated,” are you really that dense or you have been believing a lie for so long that you now believe it to be true, which we Malays are so weak and intellectually inferior that we can only survive by living off the hard work of the non Malays. Malaysia is a constitutional racists apartheid state, here is Article 153 of the Constitution of Malaysia 'grants the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King of Malaysia) responsibility for safeguarding the special position of the Malay..' isn't this the basis of apartheid and Ketuanan Melayu? It is even illegal to discuss the repeal of Article 153. Why do you think Singapore separated from Malaysia, let me tell you, it is because of attitudes such as yours that you will imprison anyone who can think critically and independently. Son of a former prime minister you should really first acknowledge what we are and find solutions to address them. Might and sweeping issues under the mat are no longer hip.
written by StevenO, July 06, 2009 06:40:38
Hello Bapok Minister,

Brave enough threaten your own country man with your little wavy keris shouting ketuanan Melayu untill foaming at the mouth but have no balls to admit that Umno practice Apartheid?? You mean you know how to differentiate between right and wrong, good and evil?

Then, how come you have no shame exploiting the ordinary Malays under the guise of NEP? Tell us how much the general population of the Malays earn and how much Umno politicians earn, will ya?

Don't bullshit to us how the money fall down from heaven, okay?! All of you minister in Umno, Big Shots in the Police, certain Judges are all living way above your means. Living in Palaces, Villa, Bungalow, Imported German cars, Cuban Cigars, Patek Philippe watches, constant oversea holiday, mistresses.........

No way any minister can make that kind of money without meddling in hanky panky business! And who really suffer?? Ordinary Bumiputra!!
written by FFT, July 06, 2009 07:51:18
written by Trueandfair, July 06, 2009 08:47:50
Hisham is right - you cannot call the bumiputra policy apartheird - it should be called UMNOHEID - it is the 3-million UMNO members (more like the 50 members of Majlis Tertinggi) oppressing the other 25 million Malaysians (bumiputra and non-bumiputra alike) - and threatning people like, "umnothugs" smilies/grin.gif SO, not fair on bumiputras like Malay-PAS, Ibans, Kadazans etc ... they are suffering like non-Bumis also, so DAP, please do your homework CORRECTLY - don't mislabel people smilies/grin.gif
written by sydput, July 06, 2009 08:56:32
Hishamuddin wasted his time when he studied in overseas.
Maybe he was too busy bonking white women to notice the beauty of free speech.
Wake up! Differing views should be tolerated and not threatened.
written by talk2stop, July 06, 2009 09:09:01
Apartheid is good but helding it for too long is has ramification. I can't see how Malaysia able to remove NEP when bumis come to depend to it so much. NEP have evolved from an encouragement to crutches and now it is more a wheel chair. Sooner it will become a death bed. While the non bumis are getting stronger and smarter. Look around you and think about it whether you want to remove NEP. So be it.
written by BennyG, July 06, 2009 09:25:26
By continuously denying that there is a problem, you could never solve the problem.

written by Fairminded, July 06, 2009 09:34:28
The definition and origin of the word "Apartheid" is - Separate development according to racial groups. Sounds familiar isnt it?
written by HamChak, July 06, 2009 11:08:53
Let me correct you, Krisimuddin,
The person who DESTROY the inter-racial unity is no
others than YOURSELF. I say here clearly, MALAYSIA always
practise APARTHEID. Please look at the DICTIONARY.
Go ahead and ISA all of us.
written by devious17, July 06, 2009 11:15:31
better be carefull, symptoms of the umno/bn fellars are going to run amok with the tendency of exhibiting arsonist behaviour is showing. smilies/grin.gif

umno/bn is apatheid, apartheid is umno/bn.
written by allmenarebrothers, July 06, 2009 11:32:20
I always thought that people trained in law is supposed to use logic & friendly dialogue & civilised discourse not threats & intimidation to argue out their views & opinion?
Isn't a rose by any other name is still a rose?
I rest my case!
written by Sutha, July 06, 2009 16:40:35
No need to compare...... JUST EQUATE THEM
written by hellboykl, July 06, 2009 18:32:51
kerismuddin,

Where is your keris? Can you wave it now?
written by Fat Zorro, July 06, 2009 23:56:06
If cannot refer as "apartheid", pls suggest another word. Thank you Din
written by jaz, July 08, 2009 15:52:47
Where is Martin Luther King Jr. when we needed him?