Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Nusmetro Ventures: The Balik Pulau connection

Nusmetro Ventures: The Balik Pulau connection PDF Print
Sunday, 05 July 2009 14:24

Anil Netto

Who exactly owns Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd, the developer of the Oasis luxury condominium project?

According to the latest records for the developer filed with the Companies Commission of Malaysia, Asia Link-up Sdn Bhd holds 96 per cent of the RM250,000 issued share capital of Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd.

That makes Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd almost a wholly owned subsidiary of Asia Link-up.

But who owns Asia Link-up then? It’s now time to lift its corporate veil as well.

According to the Companies Commmission, Asia Link-up documents registered as at 24 April 2009 show that Mohamad Faridz Karim of Balik Pulau owns 80 per cent of the company’s RM500,000 issued share capital. Faridz has also been director of Asia Link-up since October 2004 and director of its subsidiary, Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd, since April 2005.

So that makes Faridz one of the key men on the developer’s side.

written by johanssm, July 05, 2009 16:34:14
Are the hindraf sores just because no “Indians” in that company?
Get the facts right before kicking up a fuss about Lim GE.
As the land was “sold” by the previous govt. It was officially sold years ago and none made a noise then. Go ask "your" caring bn previous govt or koh tsukoon.
Some PR members are also making a fuss over this issue just to score some publicity without getting the facts from the current Penang State Government.
From what i read, Lim did nego for some compensation.
200,000 is not a small sum as with that money can always buy a brand new house .
written by billykbk, July 05, 2009 17:14:12
Lim GE has no balls to face the villagers......

As a Penangite, to say things like that, I thing you are real sick. No balls but, the person had been incarcerated just because of others. Try put yourself in gaol first, then we decide who got balls. Do you have common sense?
disagree 17
written by 1six5, July 05, 2009 17:54:24
everyone pls understand that the UMNO/BN regime has been exercising genocide for many decades. Now, since everything is about to change.ppl of berkebudayaan India has found a launch pad.as of berkebudayaan Cina.and ppl of berkebudayaan Melayu has facts in their hands.the atmosphere is platonic now, very energetic indeed. Everyone has got some say now, everyone is feeling it. If not, there wont be so much tension about issues that cant be solved amicably.

Johanssm n Liberian, we are not in the same office as those up there.instead of u both ranting each others thoughts, why not sit n wait.u already know there are more than 3 informative and postings per day by ppl here pertaining to the issues and more are surfacing.u have to credit anilnetto here for bringing more info on this issue. There will be more information for many days to come. WHY most ppl just wanna post their rants like crazy ppl for others to read? Everyday doses of foul mouthed poisons by stupid rants will kill a whole community very soon indeed.

Consider this.we are moving in a new direction for PR states, and take Perak fiasco to view.BN aint winning as we know it, yet u fellas just wanna argue n froth outta ya mouths. WE have our launch pads now.now everyone wanna get cramped on it n have another Discovery tragedy? Get urselves together n stay cool brothers n sisters.Let those ppl do their jobs.u think connecting the dots are easy? why does it take anilnetto here to post his findings after a week? Let more info come in la pls.hold ur horses n dont instigate anymore.
written by KKchan, July 05, 2009 18:55:03
Who is Mohd Faridz Karim. And how can a company with a paid up capital of RM250,000 buy such a big plot of land at such a hefty price? Is the purchase of this plot of land reflected in the books of the company? How was the purchase financed? Questions and more questions.
written by *********, July 05, 2009 18:59:58
This is an Umno linked company...More http://*********.********.com
written by temanmu, July 05, 2009 19:10:33
Do you think DAP will want to lose Indian votes if they could do anything about it?

In this case, their hands are tied by the actions of the previous BN govt, backed by the court ruling.

If anyone has any ideas to solve this, please give viable solutions, workable & practical ones!
written by lamakawan, July 05, 2009 19:49:03
Liberian is very unreasonable and irrational in his comments. The way he writes seems like he is a racist, an INdian racist if I am not wrong. It so happens that there are 2 chief ministers in succession who are of Chinese origin. The very fact you raised that they are Chinese reflects on your low mentality as a rational and right thinking Malaysian.
You must understand the money Penang has in its coffers belong to all Penangites, and not just the people of High chaperral. You cannot ask the state to buy up the land you are squatting on just because you had voted PR. Penang has many more other people in similar circumstances dealing with developers and acquisitions. You must understand the bigger picture faced by the state gomen of today.
It has to solve new problems as well as all old problems created by the BN previously. If you think you are that capable, please take part in the next elections and see whether you have that potential to lead Penang!!!!
written by Commonsenses, July 05, 2009 20:10:16
It seemed that the guys in Hindraf thinks that they are high and mighty just because they fought the BN and landed in Kamunting. Now they are gunning for the opposition in Penang. Why are they not fighting for the Indian and others in Kepong during the recent forced eviction exercise by DBKL? If the developers are willing to compensate them at such a high price they should take it. Penang state government do not have the funds to pay for the acquisition of land when they are still facing legal action over several land scam of the previous BN governments.
written by temenggong, July 05, 2009 20:31:38
Why are they not fighting for the Indian and others in Kepong during the recent forced eviction exercise by DBKL?

Could it be because they looked into the question of legitimacy and justice for the people on a case by case basis! Could it just be? What you think!

Or could it be too legit to quit?
written by vox populi, July 05, 2009 20:40:43

[ Looks like when we comment about DAP or Lim Guan Eng,
The pro DAP online users backs him up!
That really sucks!
Helo people are trying to comment here!
Damn it! Dont just protect DAP!]

DAP and its supporters are only good to defend pig farms!!

Hey hellboykl.......
Do you mean to deny others' their right to comment? Why can't others comment, DAP supporters included? It would do you some good if others point out to you other relevant facts which you have missed or deliberately ignored.

CM LGE has issued a press statement saying, among other things, his hands were tied in the Buah Pala problem because to compensate the purchaser of the land involved would bankrupt Penang. I think he was exercising good judgment and responsibility in not agreeing to compensation which would jeopardize the interests of the people of Penang. Moreover, the matter is still being adjudicated in the Federal Court. For a change, ask what happened during the tenure of the previous BN government that had produced today's state of affairs.

CM LGE has more balls than any of you who inferred he was a coward. He alone stood by the Malay grandmother and her granddaughter against the might of the BN government and sacrificed his freedom and many years of his youth in detention.

Liberian, if the grandmother and granddaughter had been Indian, he would have made the same sacrifice.

Nana tanjung....... you should be ashamed of yourself to dismiss a man's sacrifice with some shallow remarks. Don't you have a heart at all for the poor victims? That episode should be remembered foreover to remind people of the cruel injustice. Because of people like you, Malaysia is in such a deplorable state where good governance is unheard of, crime is rampant, corruption is endemic and the common folks are blighted by the incessant problems.
written by nero287, July 05, 2009 21:16:33
I think this case involves legality rather than racism. Hindraf should be lauded for trying to help their Indian brethren. However, the CM acts for the whole of Penang. Should he be spending tax payers money for a few people? The money that he is being asked to spends does not belong to him, but rather to the rakyat. Has anyone done a poll to see if the man in the street support the use of money in such a way? Hindraf is presenting its argument in a typical M'sian way. Emotional rather than factual. The one question that begs answering is why didn't HIndraf fight the previous govt.
written by rocky, July 05, 2009 22:08:19
does anyone notice the silence from BN and Gerakan in particular. The culprits have washed their hands. poor PR left with a mess. The only chance is to look for illegal actions during the land transfer
written by Msian Idol3, July 05, 2009 23:24:15
LGE has done more than any CM's have done for Penang. Not that I am LGE's lankey but this case was so well blown up by the govt linked media to put the CM in bad light. I wonder why the affected people & Media had not shown such attitudes or interest when it was first known who had stolen the land. Really smack of someone stirring the pot.
written by apa jadi, July 06, 2009 00:06:38
I am not DAP apologist nor LGE supporters. I critise DAP, PR, PAS when they are wrong.

However, I read that there are more racial sentiments with some of you than getting to the root of the issue. Write like what Anil have written if you have the facts right. Otherwise, just sit back and see what they can do. Critising from your cosy armchair will not help.
written by apa jadi, July 06, 2009 00:08:57
written by rocky, July 05, 2009 22:08:19
does anyone notice the silence from BN and Gerakan in particular.

Yes, the culprits are sitting back laughing at PR fighting each other.
written by freerpk, July 06, 2009 08:29:38
I think many of these comments are totally wrong. It doesn't matter what the race is. In this case it just happens to be an Indian village, it could be a Chinese new village or a Malay village like Kampung Baru in KL. The point is that this land has been given by the previous government to some cooperatives who later sold it. If these Hindraf people wants to protest I would say it is their right but go & protest at the Gerakan Hq since they run the previous Penang govt that started this problem.