Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Tis The Season To Pukul Habis?

Tis The Season To Pukul Habis? PDF Print
Sunday, 05 July 2009 01:23

By Syed Akbar Ali

Someone said that the Premiership of Dato Najib could also turn out to be a 'zaman pukul habis’. I will explain this at the end of this article. First here is something from Tun Dr Mahathir.

Tun Dr Mahathir is stirring up a real can of worms over at his Blog. Please read it here. I will reproduce the first part of what he has written.

Where has the money gone to?

"I reproduce here the payments made by Petronas to the Federal Government since 1976. That year the Government received RM300 million. The amount increased to RM2 billion in 1981. By 2003 it paid RM15.6 billion to the Federal Government.

The total from 1981 to 2003 is RM168.8 billion in 22 years.

From then onwards it increased from RM19 billion in 2004 to RM67.8 billion in 2009. The total for six years is RM253.6 billion.

I am sure the Government had spent the money wisely. It would be interesting to know what the RM253.6 billion was spent on."

written by Oscar Winner, July 05, 2009 02:47:06
Hi Tuan Syed,

Yes, they make hay while the sun shines. Even at night when the sun doesn't shine, or when the moon is eclipsed.

TDM is sore because he didn't get enough. He's saying it's only RM168.8 billion in his 22 years, but you guys pocketed much more out of RM253.6 billion in 6 years. Pls do not be so naive as to think that TDM didn't do anything to benefit his sons. They all do for their children, which they think is their duty, according their religion. So they think it's ok, they still get to go to heaven. Basically TDM regrets he didn't pocket enough
written by educationist, July 05, 2009 06:37:35
I'm no fan of Pak Lah but I recall one action of his admin that benefited the civil servants, at least.
The pay rise due to them which that ex dictator had consistently denied them.
Yes, without doubt the leakages have been horrendous from both administration.
That dictator & his proponent here conveniently discounted the difference of purchasing power of the RM168.8billion from 1981 till 2003 with the RM253.6 billion from 2004 till 2009.
Yes, there should be a proper accounting.
Will we get one/
No!!
written by NSTPravda, July 05, 2009 09:21:26
We want the GLCs especially Khazanah Nasional Berhad to make their accounts public.

Wah! You can dream on...

Our banksters, Umnosters, PDRMsters, AGangsters, Judi-sters, will only allow over dead bodies... and the bodies will not be theirs. Mongolians have been killed for much less....
Rasuah sayang eh!
written by arazak, July 05, 2009 09:25:49
Dear Rohani Hitam,

Only a Mafia boss knew the minds of other mafia bosses. That is why Joe Valachi* and Sammy ‘The Bull’ Gravano spilled the beans about the activities of the other mafia bosses to the Fed. Meaning only a thief knew the minds of other thieves. And, only a crook knew the minds of other crooks!

Absolutely. . ., this is also the season of “pukul habis” for the UMNO Mafia bosses! They knew their time is running out.

I need not say more!

(Note* the word "Balachi" now a street Malay word meaning "tali barut" or henchman came from the name Joseph Valachi, an undeboss in the Mafia network in New York in the 60s and 70s!)
written by Jan, July 05, 2009 10:29:27
A big portion of the money goes to pay for the fuel subsidy. But a lot has gone to pay for leakages like RM50 screw drivers or RM5000 jacks. Corruption in the civil service is so widespread I sometimes wonder what our MACC is doing. Why is the auditor-general's annual report not acted upon?
written by Rock, July 05, 2009 11:05:46
Just wonder, how these people become very rich: vincent tan, ananda, daim etc etc. Why all the mega projects were planned and implemented whilst the welfare of the rakyat was negelected? Remember, who withdrew scholarship, and turned it into PTPTN instead. Look at those poor farmers and rubber tappers, who care about their earnings and social insurance. Those poor people, only very handful got mere RM150 to 450 p.m from JKM, whereas the 'others' ripped million of RMs through 'handout projects' from the biggest nation' coffer ; PETRONAS. Just a thought, what malaysia would be without the black gold?
written by Jan, July 05, 2009 11:34:30
Vincent Tan and Francis Yeoh are people who made it because they were given a chance. If more people were given their chances imagine how rich our country could have been. Instead all the chances were given to privileged putras who squandered it.
written by penangboi, July 05, 2009 12:26:52
No use arguing over insignificant matters like how much, who took how much and how it's taken.

Fact is it happens. Fact also is it's almost next to impossible to prove. Fact is there is no instrumentation and procedural means in place to ensure that there is accountability.

Fact is: it boils down to a total complete overhaul and change in government to solve this massive problem. It's silly to determine who should shoulder more blame be it TDM or Pak Lah. Don't be naive. They all come from the same boat, ie UMNO. When TDM was at the helm, Pak Lah was one of them. When Pak Lah was at the top, Najis was his lieutenant.

They are all part of the lanun collectively responsible in pillaging our country's wealth. And may I add that it's not just the politician.

In BolehLand it is also an unwritten law that lumps all the civil servants as an extension of the government legislative. So in an environment like this there is zero responsibility, no transparency, no fair judiciary, no fair implementation of the law... it permeates every level of the country's administrative institution.

When the cancer has spread so much, no amount of chemotherapy can help. Not even excising the tumour can save us. We have to practise euthanasia and exterminate the entire body, to be replaced by a totally new healthy body.

So, let's not despair yet although the facts are cause enough for abject despair. For there is a new dawn. Let's wait for the next GE13 where the rakyat can exercise their rights and do the right thing.
written by Oscar Winner, July 05, 2009 12:44:33
Hi Rohani Hitam,

I noticed you are new here as your name started to appear recently. Have you been reading my comments, you will not have come to the conclusion about me being member of the present ruling party. I suggest you dig into the archive and go thru all my comments so far.

Pls see your above comments, you got more readers disagreeing with you. I'm sure they know me well. While those agreeing with you must be like you, too -- raw and new. No, I am not from BN.

Let's help bring change. Take care

written by C360, July 05, 2009 16:14:36
Oscar Winner ... no, Rohani is NOT new here ... I will vouch for that ...

By the same token we all have expressed our sentiments about events happening in our country past present and foreseeable future ... and we may yet agree or disagree with each other here ...

Where the money has gone ... not important anymore ... the horse has bolted ...

Can we stop the other horses from bolting ?

Lets work on that.
written by Oscar Winner, July 05, 2009 16:45:41
Ok guys, agreed. Let's work on that
written by Loh, July 05, 2009 17:02:03
1. The comparison of RM 168 billion from 1981 over 22 years and RM 253 billion from 2003 over 6 years can only be meaningful if they were converted both to present values; the purchasing power has changed over time.

2. What has been built are always there for people to see. The question should be whether the buildings do produce economic benefits. When there were 168 billion to pay for all sorts of building and construction, why do the citizens have to pay toll on the North South highway which took only RM 8 billion to build. That was only 5% of the 168 billion.

3. The money that Petronas paid to the government is no different from those collected through taxes. The question should not centre only on how Petronas’ contribution to the government coffers has been used it should be how government funds as a total have been used. Is the Malaysian parliament doing enough supervision of government spending tax payers’ money, and other income belonging to the country?

4. The real issue should be on the running of Petronas. What had been transferred by Petronas was income less expenditure. The expenditure side is what we want to know, and they contains fund used for bailing out cronies. Petronas used RM 2 billion to buy out the company belonging to a son of TDM during the 1997 crisis; the deal that caused Anwar Ibrahim to be sacked. That RM 2 billion certainly did not come out from what have been transferred to the government. They were from the operating funds of Petronas, which only the Petronas’ chief controls. Petronas’ chief has to act as the PM pleases, because there is no other body else who can look at the account.

5. It is not complete to talk only about the funds transferred to the Governemnt from Petronas. The talk should be on what happened before the transfer at Petronas, and what happen to all funds available to the government
written by asguard, July 06, 2009 09:54:14
Each and everyone of UMNO cronies is chasing for share of Petronas money!