Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow A write up on Kg Buah Pala

A write up on Kg Buah Pala PDF Print
Sunday, 05 July 2009 01:13

By SV Singam

The opinions and conclusions are entirely mine. Feel free to correct me if you think I am in error.

The land now called Kg Buah Pala was occupied by settlers more than 200 years. Some 150 years ago, David Brown, who then owned the coconut plantation there, gave the land to the settlers for them to continue their farming activity. A written document exists to prove this. After Brown returned to Britain, the State Government took over the land and proceeded to collect annual TOL rent from the villagers.

In 1999, the villagers applied for the land to be gazetted as Heritage Land. But the then government dragged its feet over the matter and failed (or refused) to take concrete action.

I have no idea how many people were privy to the fact that a developer called Nusmetro Ventures had a plan to develop condominiums on the land occupied by Kg Buah Pala. I also have no idea when the project was launched. But I do know that, as early as December 2007, even before any land transfer had taken place, prospective buyers were already discussing the launching price and putting down deposits.

In retrospect, it appears that the BN government had no intention of gazetting Kg Buah Pala as Heritage land. Instead, the land was to be sold to a developer to build the condominium project. In the process, BN cronies, including senior state government servants, were to make fat profits.

At the time of campaigning for the 12th General Elections, residents of Kg Buah Pala claim that they highlighted their problem to the PR candidate who promised that, if they won the elections, they would solve the problem. I have not seen any recorded evidence of the PR candidates making that promise. But I find it quite believable simply because, at that time, the DAP did not expect to win outright.

After the PR took over the State Government, the plotters behind the scheme had a problem. People within the government would lose the lucrative profit they were expecting to make. The crony developer would lose a lot of money already spent on launching the project. Buyers of the condo units would only get partial refunds because lawyers fees and so on would not be returned. They would stand to lose lots of money. It was a real mess that the plotters had to clear up, which they did.

3 weeks after the PR took control of Penang, the Kg Buah Pala land was quietly transferred to the Senior Government Servants Cooperative for them to sell to Nusmetro Ventures (and enjoy the promised profit). Right under Lim Guan Eng’s nose!

written by minds, July 05, 2009 03:29:07
Lim Guan Eng is BETTER than every minister in BN,if 20years ago we have him,singapore dollar and malaysia ringgit are same,not like now 1dol == 2.4rm.
written by temenggong, July 05, 2009 06:30:58
..the State Government took over the land and proceeded to collect annual TOL rent from the villagers.

correction:

As per the villagers themselves on video, they paid quit rent and assessment based on sq. footage. the records and receipts are there.

That is definitely NOT TOL rent, meaning they are NOT squatters.
written by educationist, July 05, 2009 07:01:02
Only if the transfer to the cooperative is illegal, LGE may have the leeway to institute legal action.
I know our judiciary is suspect, but at this moment in time once you file a case in the courts you must abide by its rulings , however unsavoury it is.
For all intents and purposes the developer is the rightful owner of the land now.
Yes, the pressure is for LGE to use his executive powers to acquire the land.
I have not read an accurate report as to why he's unwilling to do so.
For transparency, perhaps, he can pay the Kg Buah Pala villagers a visit and tell them face to face why the state government is not in a position to do so!
Change is inevitable at this time and age.
We may cling to the peaceful times and lifestyle of an age past.
But you'll have to go to the country side to continue this lifestyle not in the middle of a bustling developing metropolitan.
written by bluesky, July 05, 2009 08:18:51
Lim Guan Eng...file a case against the Government cooperative!!! it is illegal...I too am a govt staff and i dont this illegality to go through......Come ON...stand up...and fight for the rights of the people!!!! if ucan quote Umar bin Abdul Aziz one of the great caliphs of the Muslims...u should apply his principles of justice...dont worry about the courts....Use ur guts man!!!! i live just above Kg Lrg Buah Pala.....help us!!!
written by Ulan Benson, July 05, 2009 08:44:26
"3 weeks after the PR took control of Penang, the Kg Buah Pala land was quietly transferred to the Senior Government Servants Cooperative for them to sell to Nusmetro Ventures (and enjoy the promised profit). Right under Lim Guan Eng’s nose!" by SV Singam
.................................................................................
Have you forgotten that when LGE took office after the election, the State Office was cleared of all files and documents? The newly elected LGE and his team have to trace all documents and it takes months!!!!!.

Please get it right. Don't write with emotion. Check your facts!! smilies/cool.gif
written by Proarte, July 05, 2009 09:11:18
This piece of land is a living reminder of the connection and contribution of the Indian community with Penang since its foundation as a British colonial trading outpost over 200 years ago. These people were poor and according to the write up above, Mr Brown gave them in writing the right to continue living and farming there. If such generosity of spirit can be exhibited by a colonial trader, it seems inexplicable that the Pakatan government of which DAP is the backbone cannot come up with a permanent solution to safeguard the land for the Indians who have a 2 century association with the land.

At a time when Indians are blatantly marginalised by BN, Pakatan cannot been seen to selling the Indians down the river over this issue. No price can be put on preserving this piece of land with its historical associations, being a symbol of Indian and Hindu presence on the Island. It is also ultimately a moral issue and one of good governance which DAP has been banging on about all these years whilst in the political wilderness. Now that is it in power, it should not allow abuse and exploitation by capitalists to win the order of the day over this issue.

In the same way DAP fought for Bukit China because of its historical importance and as a symbol of Chinese presence and legitimacy, DAP should regard this issue with equal importance. If it does not, the I am afraid DAP will be undermined and will be seen as a 'chauvinist' Chinaman party giving more weight to illegal 30 year old pig abbatoirs than to the livelihood of poor Indians who want to live on land which they have a 200 year connection with.

written by Fusilad, July 05, 2009 09:42:44
Well i guess many of you guy reading and commenting here will be in the management line of some company. I believe a good 'new' CEO of a company should not /can not get away by pointing finger to previous CEO when there is problem in the company (eventhough the previous CEO screwed up the company business). The new CEO is appointed by the group of directors to resolve the company problems. If the 'not so new' CEO cannot solve problems with smart decision, then board of directors need to change the CEO again.

Thats my view not only for this case but all the issues observed in all new pakatan states.in this case i believe Tan Sri Khadlids'(selangor MB) experience as CEO of a company helps him
written by krising1, July 05, 2009 10:06:32
If there is proof that the transfer of the land took place after the PR government took office, it should be shown her Why was a caveat not filed to stop the transfer since it is trustee land and the Then the people will know the truth has no right to sell it? . What was the court case about? Was the fact this was trust land given by Brown challenged in court? Who are the trustees and what did they do about it? I am not a lawyer but it appears to be that the case was not properly handled from the beginning!
written by freerpk, July 05, 2009 11:03:33
If this story is true then it is time to find out who is behind senior govt cooperatives making profit from selling the land and who are Nusmetro ventures.....That is the real story....the settlers on the land are just collateral damage ( the pelanduk that mati did tengah-tengah ). Why wasn't the land transferred to the settlers in the first case....instead of transferring to the Senior Govt Cooperative which has no real interest on the land????Very very suspicious circumstances....smells like s***, sounds like *h** but not ***t???
written by Wisdom above, July 05, 2009 14:34:18
Every one knows that Hindraf had instigated the Kg Buah Pala SQUATTERs to bash the Penang State Government to 'launch his new race-based Party' ?

The Kg Buah Pala " Land " was never registered under the British Land Torren System. The LA Act cannot be used as it did not fulfilled the 'Public Use' requirements. It will be an abuse of power to do so.

Many Penangnites may rally against the wastage of fund to acquire the Land .
Federal BN may instruct PAC to find fault the the State Government thereafter.

Now the developer has decided to withdraw the Rm200,000= compensation offer to the squatters since they won the Federal Court case.

So now the squatters became more desperate as they will not get any money $$$ as a result of their stubborn attitude , listening to wrong legal advice ?

written by Urangsabah, July 05, 2009 18:33:07
Hindraf,u started the fight, so I guess u finished it......, might as well be UMNOed and MICed............