Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Is Malaysia Today turning to be an escapism without any real result?

Is Malaysia Today turning to be an escapism without any real result? PDF Print
Saturday, 04 July 2009 12:46

I applaud the efforts of the caliphs, crusaders and sadhus of Malaysia Today. But what actually does all this achieve besides providing juicy tales when we, the public, continue to drool on all this without taking any action. Typical Malaysian Mah!!! All talk, no action - or hoping someone will do it for you.

Sure, many have come forward with their noteworthy comments amongst the typical morons for their own frustration. Yet RPK has to go into hiding and all we can do is cry and wallow hoping this and hoping that. What can you hope in life when RPK can’t even muster over 200 people in action to support his causes. The man has the credibility to challenge the system. We, the people, have the capacity to comment and state all our frustration for the platform that he had provided. That’s all. Your action stops there.        

Yes, you people must be thinking, who the **** am I to say all this, what the **** have this guy had done that makes him better than us. This is the problem. It is not who does it better, but are you doing it, does anybody needs to recognize it or an attempt to seek an audience what is only good for you.

Phew! I came so far. I feel sad and disappointed that RPK tried his best to educate us and enlighten us of the direction of the country. But he can’t do it all by himself unless and until we ourselves seek what is good for the community for the truth lies very transparent before us. RPK tries to cajole us, indicate to us, motivate us, yet we can only think that it is fear by association.

The public’s personal fear can never be erased but I am like you yearning to act and make the change with the knowledge and efforts dissipated by people like RPK and others. You and me have a choice but not the masses, and our ability to hide behind the skirt of fear allows the enemy at the gate to ride against the tide of humanity.

I am sure we all met Malaysian all over the world, and one thing hold close to us is being a Malaysian irrespective of race, religion, color or creed. It is a pride by itself being a Malaysian, but why do we fail see beyond this is a sad affair for our own individual need.   

We don’t want to be the superpower of the world nor imitate Singapore, the mini America to dwelve in everything for the sake of $$$$. No there is more to it if humanity that we seek a GOD gifted rational mind to see what is wrong and right for other not for yourself.

I am not preaching, but fail to understand why every action that we do or embark in is for ourselves rather that for the community that we live in. I guess it is your action and efforts to march a Machiavellian theory or an Orwellian theory. What ever the theory it can be, nothing happens if you can only think of yourself.   

Go look it up because being the coconut in the shell, you know it all.     

R. Shan (Humn Being)

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, July 04, 2009 13:02:29
Shan,

That's because ignorance is the real devil, and the real ignorants in Malaysia do not live in cyber space. They live in the kampungs.

If we want to change Malaysia we must be brave enough to talk openly with those people in the kampungs and help enlighten them. They may not dare to talk too much but they will listen and learn.

The battle is not against those thieves, liars and murderers that rule (they would kill without batting an eye if challenged directly).

The battle can only be won by fighting against ignorance in the hinterlands.

Enlightenment is the only proven solution to man's problems throughout history.

written by Wisdom above, July 04, 2009 13:48:08
With MT, there is a WIND of CHANGE sweeping through the Nation of MALAYSIA.
Mandate from Heaven This Nation Awaits has manifested itself.

MSM Media SPIN has taken us as a FOOL for far too long ?

If U know U have been shortchanged, U will gradually wised up and will VOTE
extremely wisely come next 13thGE !

Last time we were BLIND & ignorant but now we can SEE & help create a BETTER color blind MALAYSIA.

You said it accurately!
..one thing hold close to us is being a Malaysian irrespective of race, religion, color or creed.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, revelation, Peace and Tranquilty to prevail.
written by 1six5, July 04, 2009 14:07:11
frens...i surely do not think that its an escapism or any kinda place to lament behind the computer...me n frens who read MT altho seldom comments on it take the information and pass it to many other ppl who doesn't have access to computers and/or internet. Have a good debate with frens under the tree, smoking area in offices/industrial provinces, while drinking tea, whatever the situation might be. Cross referencing what MSM n MT puts up for us to read n table it with frens who don't possess the luxury of the internet.

Trust in urself that if u are a working class person irrespective of profession, u wudda have made a difference during last GE my fren SHAN, did u not? I have frens working in even printing industry that have managed to swing em dang votes against BN in Penang irrespective of race n religion. U be surprised how many ppl berkebudayaan Melayu changed their vote to PAS from a fren berkebudayaan Cina in that industry in Monday MEETING ROOM!!! Cop that!!!

Yah...who never laments n provoke...who cares...its a place where u get information to the fullest n convey to ppl in a hearty discussion...thats what matters my frens...keep up the good work in spreading truths n half-truths from BN. Bless BN?? Oh no...this generation of ppl wont be so dumb to bless them anymore...Even Australia n Pakistan are changing...2 of the most different polarisation in governance n other aspects can do it...why cant we?

Now everyone has a chance to boost their interpersonal skills n communication skills with information from all kinda blogging sites...do ur job n IT WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE
written by Krazee, July 04, 2009 14:13:23
Like the writer said, we are Malaysians mah!.
No fast results from us Malaysians but change is felt and typical of Malaysians, slow to anger.... ie: slowly but surely the change is there. The last GE showed more than anyone would dare to imagine. No! dear friends, don't expect drastic changes... after all we are Malaysians.
written by temanmu, July 04, 2009 14:33:47
The "real result" was partially seen in the last GE. I gained lots of insights from MT and introduced this website to many family & friends.

They voted PKR & PAS ... I would have never dreamed some of them would vote for PAS!

Word-of-mouth is as effective as mass advertisement... sometimes better!
written by lskong, July 04, 2009 14:40:16
sabar lah, kawan. it's just a matter of time... as surely as the dictatorship of the kims in n.korea will not survive the 3rd generation, umno's reign will also not survive the 3rd generation... time and history is always on the side of the righteous. of course i too hope that i can see malaysia and malaysians achieving our full potential within my lifetime. but i'm resigned to the fact that i'm but a tiny puny man in the course of history and time, just let thing runs its course... all we can do now is to keep pushing on the wall, even if it doesn't seem to move a bit... just keep pushing... sooner or later we will get the critical mass enough to push the damn thing over... and crush all those pigs on the other side!!
written by densemy, July 04, 2009 18:50:50
What Malaysia Today does is:

...allows Malaysians to voice their opinions with minimal controls
...allows Malaysians to voice their opinions with minimal chance of repercussions
...allows Malaysians to reveal information which might otherwise not be available
...allows Malaysians to think for themselves knowing the facts and other contributor's opinions
...allows Malaysians to discuss otherwise 'sensitive issues'

... and you are correct. "Rome wasnt built in a day" and "this is just the tip of the iceberg". But Malaysians have to begin somewhere in their fight to regain control of THEIR nation... MT is as good a place as any to start

Like you, I too worry about the level of selfishness in this country. Its true that most humans and instinctively selfish but not obsessively selfish as are Malaysians

My answer to the problem is that it stems from early childhood dominance and repression which occurs across all races. Children are never allowed to develop any individuality nor few interests, so they fall back on the only thing they can show an interest in and not be criticised... themselves. Later in life the Malaysian ego expands to fill the void left by lack of individualism.

Its ego and selfishness that are the root causes of Malaysia's problems
written by gorshan, July 04, 2009 18:51:37
majority of the MT readers are gagah,perkasa,berani when they types on the keyboard but suffers serious inability to control the stomach muscles when police comes knocking on the door. it takes frequent knocks on the door plus knocks from the police baton to built up the stomach's muscles. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by arazak, July 04, 2009 19:04:40
Bro Shan,

Contrary to what you are thinking, if I want some sort of escapism, I would watch a Bollywood movie, read a good book or listen to classical music from my old turntable. But when I am reading a provocative article in Malaysia Today and typing my opinion on this keyboard, I am dead serious.

Malaysia Today have trained and schooled me to be a cyber-foot soldier fighting in the trenches against a tyrant regime! Malaysia Today have taught me anybody could make a difference if they want to.

I am sure most of the MT commenter felt the same!
written by asguard, July 04, 2009 20:42:52
MT...has shows the right and wrong of Malaysian political systems... and it also shows we... have the will to push further outside of the box... we can do it!
written by apasalahku, July 04, 2009 20:52:43
Who wants to go drag Najib, Nazri, Musa Hassan our from their beds in their gold plated mansions, parade them through the streets and bring them to the guillotine in Stadium Medeka and mete out the Justice of the People?
written by uxzee, July 04, 2009 21:44:58
MT is a source of alternative news for people who desire a New Malaysia. It is also a platform for such people to digest these news, give their two cents worth and more importantly react according to each person's ability. MT readers also play a role to spread this news.

MT is an important tool and has proven to effective in the last PR12 and also the many by elections. It is already a fact that the police, and BN government is reacting to news in MT and they are going all out to destroy MT.
written by aplus, July 04, 2009 22:37:45
After reading his article I'm not really sure what is/are that Shan wants.

But this much I can tell Shan what MT has achieved, and definitely it's not NATO.

If Shan can refresh his memory to recap what has happened at the last GE, MT was one of the contributing factors that led to the 2/3 denial of UMNO/BN's voice in Parliament. Before Shan forgets, the 3 states also fell to PR in the last GE.

Does Shan still want to harbour the notion that the rants and rage of MT were futile?

No, you don't question us on that. We already know our worth. Seriously, go get the answers from BN/UMNO themselves if you still don't believe us. Even some bigwigs in UMNO have taken cognisance of MT's role in the last GE.

We definitely know that we've done is something which was really big. The achievements were devoid of bluriness, and no one is incapable of seeing that.

Of course my points are moot if Shan is from the stables of BN.
written by Jit Dharma, July 05, 2009 13:59:35
Brother Shan, MT rules, dig it!!
written by C360, July 05, 2009 16:36:33
R Shan, I really do not know whats your point. That there has been no effect by MT or that MT supporters do nothing better than comment. Understandable reaction from MT supporters.

But let me say this .. MT has had a significant impact.

Digital divide to the kampong people ? .. not according to my friends who come from the kampongs. The digital divide was bridged by the children and young of the kampong families .. printing out documents/comments .. taking it back to the kampong .. explaining to their parents .. who then came out to vote.

MT and its commentators have done a GREAT JOB ! .. and yes at some point i also wish we all could do more than our fingers typing away at a keyboard .. but this is just as important ..

The pen is mightier than the sword as the saying goes .. but equally the sword of physical activities for change needs attention .. and that burden is being carried by the opposition political parties ..

Where the pen and sword becomes mutually supportive is when we roll back history and change happens ..
written by batsman, July 05, 2009 20:41:02
Human Being - Why are you so obsessed by results? The effort and money that is needed to maintain MT is peanuts compared to the billions that are required to maintain UMNO in power. In this respect it is not even a David and Goliath struggle, but an ant against a human being. Expecting results is like offering a few cakes and fruits in prayer in return for a bountiful harvest. This is a little opportunistic isn't it, although in terms of faith it is not all that bad?
written by freerpk, July 07, 2009 08:47:42
I can see some truth in what was written. We all need escapism from things we cannot change. I can see the come the next GE the coalition Barisan N will still be coontrolling the Federal Govt......because of knowing what Malaysians are like. Most Malaysians don't like change, they are scared of change they may know the person is corrupt but they will still want him to be the leader because over the years they know how he works. That they can cope with.
written by batsman, July 07, 2009 11:29:30
Escapism is one thing. Voting for the BN is another.