Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pro-Huan Gerakan leaders threaten boycott

Pro-Huan Gerakan leaders threaten boycott PDF Print
Saturday, 04 July 2009 10:15

(The Star) - Several Gerakan division leaders, who attended a big gathering in support of suspended vice-president Huan Cheng Guan, will boycott all party activities if his three-year suspension is not revoked.

The leaders, who spoke at the gathering attended by about 2,000 supporters of Huan at a multi-purpose hall in Machang Bubok here on Thursday night, said they would stay away from all party activities during the three-year period.

Among those who spoke was Kepala Batas division chairman Jeffrey Beh, who said the gathering was held to send a strong message to the Central Working Committee (CWC) that they were solidly behind Huan.

Others present were Gerakan Bukit Mertajam division chairman Datuk Tan Kim Seah, Permatang Pauh division chairman Tan Tee Pin and Tasek Gelugor division chairman Datuk Ooi Bee Huat.

More than 1,000 people also signed a signature campaign to ask the CWC to revoke the suspension immediately.

Batu Kawan division Youth vice-chairman Ung Teow Hong called upon the CWC to shorten the suspension period.

Also present were Gerakan national deputy Youth chairman On Tong Keong, who is also the state Youth chief and Tasek Glugor division chairman Datuk Ooi Bee Huat.

Speaking to reporters later, Huan said he would send a letter to party president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon and all CWC members to clarify the circumstances that led to his suspension.

“Gerakan has always said it advocates transparency and democracy but the leadership do not practise what they preach as they did not give me the opportunity to tell my side of the story.

“When other leaders speak up to tell the truth in the party, nothing happens to them but when I open my mouth, they suspend me.”

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by *********, July 04, 2009 10:24:09
MCA with its Band of Thugs led by Ong Tee Keat have beem working behind the scenes to be BN's flag bearer in Penang. Huan is just another Chinese chauvanist pig proxy of racist MCA...More http://*********.********.com
written by billykbk, July 04, 2009 10:31:00
Yes, go ahead with all the negative actions. Instead of rebuilding and revitalising the party, they are sending the party on express ticket to the death knell. This is a clear sign that weak leaders are helming the party.
written by Wisdom above, July 04, 2009 12:35:51
Gerakan & BeEnd will slowly fade away like an Old Soldier.
written by penangboi, July 04, 2009 22:01:10
I won't comment on all the back-stabbing within Gerakan. Let them kill themselves. They deserve it.

But what I want to say, or rather ask, is with 2,000 people gathering at Machang Bubok, how the hell did they manage to get a police permit, and why were the police not turning up with full-force FRU personnel and water cannon.

You all got my message?????????????