Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Kg Buah Pala - Seeking understanding and solutions

Kg Buah Pala - Seeking understanding and solutions PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 21:40

Vijay Kumar Murugavel's Facebook Note on this subject has attracted more than 200 comments and, as a result, a lot of good information is now hard to find. Allow me to restate the problem by summarising what I have read, here and elsewhere. I cannot authenticate many of these facts so anyone who knows otherwise, do clarify as necessary.

By SV Singam

The opinions and conclusions are entirely mine. Feel free to correct me if you think I am in error.

The land now called Kg Buah Pala was occupied by settlers more than 200 years. Some 150 years ago, David Brown, who then owned the coconut plantation there, gave the land to the settlers for them to continue their farming activity. A written document exists to prove this. After Brown returned to Britain, the State Government took over the land and proceeded to collect annual TOL rent from the villagers.

In 1999, the villagers applied for the land to be gazetted as Heritage Land. But the then government dragged its feet over the matter and failed (or refused) to take concrete action.

I have no idea how many people were privy to the fact that a developer called Nusmetro Ventures had a plan to develop condominiums on the land occupied by Kg Buah Pala. I also have no idea when the project was launched. But I do know that, as early as December 2007, even before any land transfer had taken place, prospective buyers were already discussing the launching price and putting down deposits.

In retrospect, it appears that the BN government had no intention of gazetting Kg Buah Pala as Heritage land. Instead, the land was to be sold to a developer to build the condominium project. In the process, BN cronies, including senior state government servants, were to make fat profits.

At the time of campaigning for the 12th General Elections, residents of Kg Buah Pala claim that they highlighted their problem to the PR candidate who promised that, if they won the elections, they would solve the problem. I have not seen any recorded evidence of the PR candidates making that promise. But I find it quite believable simply because, at that time, the DAP did not expect to win outright.

After the PR took over the State Government, the plotters behind the scheme had a problem. People within the government would lose the lucrative profit they were expecting to make. The crony developer would lose a lot of money already spent on launching the project. Buyers of the condo units would only get partial refunds because lawyers fees and so on would not be returned. They would stand to lose lots of money. It was a real mess that the plotters had to clear up, which they did.

3 weeks after the PR took control of Penang, the Kg Buah Pala land was quietly transferred to the Senior Government Servants Cooperative for them to sell to Nusmetro Ventures (and enjoy the promised profit). Right under Lim Guan Eng's nose!

The initial transfer of the land and the subsequent sale of it took place after the PR government had come into power. They could have stopped it if they had wanted to. But had it been stopped, they would have to face the wrath of the buyers of the condos. If the project went through, only the Kg Buah Pala residents would be affected. I suspect this is why the Lim Guan Eng government closed its eyes until it was too late.

Lim Guan Eng is now claiming that the developer had offered a compensation of RM200,000 per residence which the settlers rejected. The truth is, the compensation offered was only RM90,000 and this was accepted by only 6 of the 41 families living there. The others rejected the offer not because the money was not enough but because they only wanted to stay on the land that had been settled on by their ancestors. They needed the land so that they could continue with their livelihood - rearing cows and goats.

The Chief Minister has the power to acquire the land. Of course he has to compensate the buyer. But his claim that he had to pay RM200 per sq ft is ridiculous. The land acquisition was done under suspect circumstances. The buyer only has to be paid a nominal sum above the purchase price. The CM's personal assistant estimated that the compensation may cost up to RM30 million but LGE exaggerated that figure in his press statement. No one really seems to know what the actual payout would amount to.

What I can see is an unwillingness on the part of the Penang State Government to stop the project. I can understand why LGE fears to do that. The buyers of that project together with their relatives and friends would constitute a huge voter block. He cannot afford to antagonise them. He may not be corrupt, but he is a politician. He is in power on the votes of his supporters. He is surely beholden to them.

Everyone is lambasting Hindraf for their confrontational attitude. Well, don't forget that the reasonable negotiating attitude that had been adopted for some 10 years, all the way until that point had resulted in utter failure. If Hindraf had not acted as they did, Kg Buah Pala would be reduced to rubble by now.

Hindraf has won a month of time for all parties to come out with a fair solution. Let us see if the Penang Pakatan Rakyat government led by Lim Guan Eng has what it takes to address this really difficult issue and fix it.

The PR government may not be guilty of any corruption or illegal action. But they are guilty of inaction, which has brought grief to the settlers. It is morally wrong to make it seem like the settlers are greedy and are demanding more compensation. All the settlers are asking for is to be left alone to do what they have been doing for more than 200 years.

The right and proper thing to do is to confiscate all profits made from this nefarious project and use that to compensate the affected parties equitably. If the Penang government is unable to do that for whatever reason, they have to do the next best thing.

Identify a suitable alternative location that is acceptable to the Kg. Buah Pala settlers and help them to rebuild their settlement. The settlers are not asking for fancy urban homes or money. They just want to be able to continue with their lives and livelihood. Is that too much to ask?

What I recommend is not impossible to do. It only requires a willingness on the part of Lim Guan Eng's government to prove that they are truly a People's Government and not merely a Taxpayer's Government.

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by *********, July 03, 2009 22:10:30
The Scribe calls upon the Malaysian Anti Corruption Commission (MACC) to act without delay on the Kampung Buah Pala villagers' report with regards to the circumstances surrounding the questionable sale and land transfers under the BN/Gerakan administration of Koh Tsu Koon. This is more so with the Developer Nusmetro Ventures (P) Sdn Bhd allegedly having links with Umno Warlords. The following is a Statement by Penang Chief Minister YAB Lim Guan Eng on the Kampung Buah Pala issue...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by cheemengwong, July 03, 2009 22:33:10
Did the developer offer 30 % of the total built up value of the proposed condo? Be fair lah.

Lets say the total built up value of the condos is 400 units @ RM 300k each. The total built up value would be RM 120 million. The land owners should be given at least RM 36 million i.e about 870k for the 41 land owners on average. The bigger land owners would get more obviously.

Developer and prepetrators from former BN are tamak haloba lah!
written by searchforjustice, July 03, 2009 22:42:12
I am a Penangite who is not a member of or aligned to any political party. I would like to ask Mr. Murugavelu whether he is suggesting that the Penang State Government should use the money contributed by the State's taxpayers to solve the Kg Buah Pala problem?
The State has limited financial resources, particularly now that the Federal Government is not inclined to help the State. Are there no other priority for the use of the State's money other than to solve the problem left by the previous State Government?
I suggest that instead of asking the present State Government to use the Penang people's money to solve the problem, it would be more effective for Mr. Murugavelu to ask Gerakan to persuade the federal government , of which it is a member, to provide the financing for this purpose. After all, it was the BN coalition that created this mess and the people who voted in the present State government should not be made to suffer the consequences.
I sympathise with the people of Kg Buah Pala but I wonder why they, including Hindraf, are pressurising DAP and not the Gerakan which created the problem and which, as a member of the ruling coalition at federal level, could also solve the problem with the stroke of a pen. Are the people of Kg Buah Pala being used for a hidden agenda?
written by ceong2000, July 03, 2009 22:50:00
What you said is easy so you should understand that the PR government is only 1 year plus so this problem has been in many years as the BN is still in power and pretend not to know.They should ask the BN KTK to settle this problem for them as what is said that they sell the land and not the PR.Find another place is another problem as you know who want to move out as what they feel.Are this Kg Buah Pala people from the BN group? maybe they are as the vote for the BN and suprising that the other area vote for PR so find out first before spark of your fire.
written by Prem, July 03, 2009 23:11:16
The real crook in this 'mess'is Gerakan i.e.KTK but is he man enough to admit his corruption status?The gross injustice done to the people of Kg.B.P. by the BN government should be rectified by them.It is a well known fact that BN is well-versed in these land scams for the last 30 years.LGE is caught in this mess due to his inexperience in dealing with the corrupted,BUT he has the power to put a stop to this 'daylight robbery' if he can use some 'crooked'legal eagles to look for loop-holes!!!!!LGE,you need only to set your mind on doing this job.
written by joeawk, July 03, 2009 23:27:52
IF THE LAND TRANSACTION IS ILLEGAL, THE STATE CAN CONFISTICATE THE LAND AND JAIL THE PROPAGATORS. THE QUESTION OF COMPENSATION DOES NOT ARISE OUT OF AN ILLEGAL TRANSACTION. tO APPEASE THE LOSING BUYERS, THE STATE CAN DEVELOP THE LAND AND THE SETTLERS WELL COMPENSATED. THE STATE SHOULD STILL BE ABLE TO KEEP A LUCRATIVE PROFIT.

THOSE SCUMBAGS WHO TRIED TO CHEATR THE GOVT MUST BE DEALT WITH ACCORDING. THEY ARE A BUNCH OF UMNO CROOKS, WHO ELSE.
written by justice6, July 04, 2009 00:32:12
50 years of problem, and ppl expect 1 year to solve all... BN ppl can go to hell...
written by AhSeng, July 04, 2009 00:58:47
Seeking understanding and solutions??? More like a Hindraf statement to me.
written by AhSeng, July 04, 2009 01:05:16
The initial transfer of the land and the subsequent sale of it took place after the PR government had come into power. They could have stopped it if they had wanted to. But had it been stopped, they would have to face the wrath of the buyers of the condos. If the project went through, only the Kg Buah Pala residents would be affected. I suspect this is why the Lim Guan Eng government closed its eyes until it was too late. - SV Singam

Like in bollywood movie lah you expect people to settle your problems. Dei macha! Please lah! If you want us to believe you please provide more concrete evident, like RPK, then we salute you lah!
written by magickriver, July 04, 2009 01:05:44
Thank you for the excellent summary, Singam. Clarifies the complex issues involved, that's for sure. The root cause of the present imbroglio is, once again,
the moral degradation that has completely taken over the country after 50 years of Umno/BN misrule (so what else is new?) Greedy developers in cahoots with equally greedy and corrupt bureaucrats were able to get away with all sorts of hideous scams - because there are only two or three investigative journalists in Malaysia who actually earn their keep. The rest are overpaid copy hacks that serve Umno, MCA, MIC and Gerakan as propagandists. Until the digital age gave us access to a much broader spectrum of UNCENSORED information, we were all in the dark about these unsavory goings-on. The endless series of shocking scandals suddenly coming to light after GE12 - starting with submarine and jetfighter deals, gargantuan screwups over the commissioning of navy vessels, PKFZ, Monsoon Cup, Crystal Mosque, and so on ad infinitum, ad nauseum - is only to be expected. When you finally enter a long-unvisited attic where skeletal remains have been hidden for generations, you have to be psychologically prepared to encounter horrors beyond a few cobwebs and a couple inches of dust. Nobody in their right mind expects anything noble or heroic of the MACC under that musclebrained Ahmad Said Hamdan; neither do we place any great hope in the courts, the police, and Suhakam. Nobody in the Pakatan Rakyat has the legal or political clout to go after and whack the perpetrators - at least not yet! Do you honestly expect Koh Tsu Koon, the spineless creep who faithfully served his Umno bullyboy bosses for so long, to suddenly suffer an attack of conscience and confess all his past misdeeds while he was CM of Penang? Why do you think Pink Lips rewarded KTK with a backdoor ministerial post? When so much money is involved, it's every man for himself. The only way out is to focus on naming the culprits responsible for the land transfer scam and name them publicly. Those who have placed orders for condos or whatever ought to be reimbursed, minus legal and administrative fees and write it off as bad luck. Next time don't buy from developers with BN links! Nusmetro Sdn Bhd can go bust as it deserves and not even a skink will blink an eyelid in sympathy. I bid all greedy businessmen and their political allies a speedy extinction. So be it.
written by SiHangChai, July 04, 2009 01:24:31
The John Wyne of Hindraf and residents of Kg Buah Pala have been twisting cock stories all these while. If you all are staying in a land that legally doesn't belong to you, pls get the ass out from the land. Don't act like samseng and try to distort facts. You all might as well seek your Semi Value if you see LGE is bias. Like see how this Semi Value can over-rule court decision.
written by Victory or Death, July 04, 2009 01:27:39
Say....now,I voted for Pakatan.Pakatan then formed the state government.

I have been living on a piece of land without title or official authorisation for a long time..If i had authorisation ,it is only on a temporary basis.In reality, I am only a squatter or licencee if on TOL.

Now, a developer who owns the land wants to evict me to develop the land.
I have been living on the land practically free of charge for umpteen years.

I curse the Pakatan government and expect them to grant me continuos use of the land or better still grant me the land perpetually with official issuance of title because I voted for Pakatan at the last GE.

Guess how many people are or will be in the same situation as me???????????

So the Pakatan government is at fault for not letting me to continue staying on the land???????????????????

Guess how many more times the Pakatan government will have to intervene in future if they set a precedent????????

Seems to me like holding the Pakatan Govt to ransom!!!!!
written by Wisdom above, July 04, 2009 02:09:22
...Some 150 years ago, David Brown,....."gave the land" to the settlers for them to continue their farming activity. A written document exists to prove this.

Please post the 'written document' for all to read.

Was this document 'registered' under the British Land Torren System ?
Was this 'registered document' procured as evidence in High Court and Federal Court appeal ?

Who 'signed '...The initial transfer of the land and the subsequent sale ?

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by mamakstail, July 04, 2009 02:19:28
You people including the writers, bloggers, politician know nothing but tell grandfather stories, talking legal matters, politic, racist etc etc etc. I see none you people offers solution. I would like to share my experience something similar to this case. I’ve successfully developed and completed a project on a piece of alienated land about 5 acres back in the year 2001. We have about the same 50 odds squatters residing on the land. What we did is we sign agreement with the squatters people that they have to evict with condition that; no.1 we pay them a small sum for shifting out cost. No. 2 we rented flats to house those squatterers during the construction period and lastly we offer them either cash of Rm 25k or a medium cost apartment with a built up area of 750 sq ft at a discounted price of Rm 25k only per unit for each family. Although ours is a condominium but we integrate these smaller units with the expensive one. What the government help us is to give discounted on land premium charges, fast approval and most importantly higher units/density to cover back the loses on these units for squatters. It was a win, win & win for all, the squatterers, developer and government.
written by nocrid, July 04, 2009 02:57:41
I suppose the happiest person now is Mr. Koh. Lost the election, it's ok cause for the people who slams LGE and might not vote for him in futures, it's YOU LOSE WHETHER BN WINS OR NOT.

Mamakstail,

I wish the crony developer in the present situation is as generous as you are without any hidden political agenda. And of I definitely bet my last ringgit that LGE didn't think of that way you are suggesting. Stupid Lim Guan Eng...Brilliant Mamakstail
written by maisur, July 04, 2009 04:37:50
shocking...really shocking!

these father and son chauvinists are willing to go all the way to Alor star to meet the illegal, filthy, law-breaker abbatoir operators BUT would not care to step outside their door to meet the poor indian villagers at kampung buah pala

shocking!

only god knows what will happen to the malays, indians, orang asal, iban, kadazan etc if these bunch of racists rule the country. GOD FORBID!!!
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 05:21:08
written by mamakstail, July 04, 2009 02:19:28

========

BN politicians like Koh Tsu Koon made the villagers "squatter" through fishy transaction.

Now you robber pretends you are samaritan to the poor rakyat.
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 05:23:38
written by Wisdom above, July 04, 2009 02:09:22
...Some 150 years ago, David Brown,....."gave the land" to the settlers for them to continue their farming activity. A written document exists to prove this.

Please post the 'written document' for all to read.

Was this document 'registered' under the British Land Torren System ?
Was this 'registered document' procured as evidence in High Court and Federal Court appeal ?

Who 'signed '...The initial transfer of the land and the subsequent sale ?

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

===

Penang legal team (let forget old legal team inherited from BN government) shall do these homeworks 15 months ago.
written by singam, July 04, 2009 06:46:58
I posted some major revelations late last night but my comment is still being moderated. Let me share one fact with all of you.

It was the developer who took the villagers to court to get then declared illegal squatters and to get a court order to evict them. Each time, the villagers only defended themselves. They never filed any lawsuit.

In all the lower courts, the case got thrown out as lacking merit. Finally, in the correct, correct, correct High Court, the developer managed to get the eviction order.

Doesn't that tell us something?

I hope my comment of last night gets approved soon so that you can read the rest of the revelations.
written by Fusilad, July 04, 2009 09:53:04
I am wondering why people down here getting so emotional when talking about PR leader but applaud happily when asking or saying about BN leaders.

Publics enemy are corrupted leaders. That goes to all the leaders whether they from PR or BN.
Who dare to say that all PR (PKR, DAP, PAS )leaders attitude like angels from heaven? Well same goes to BN leaders.....not all are from hell.

So my point of view is always keeping an eye on any leaders from any party as long they are in power is the best approach.
written by eagle22, July 04, 2009 12:12:50
if its true that the villagers staying at that place for more than 150 years,

YES ... the land must be given to villagers. How? ... I Dont know !!!!..

Thats why .. public voted for PR to rule to solve problems... Not easy mah to

be politician !!!

PR think people simply buta buta vote for them ahhh.... people want their

problem to be solved ...

Catch that PR ADUN if he promised anything during election.

written by chiongguo, July 04, 2009 12:19:53
Lim Guan Eng is now claiming that the developer had offered a compensation of RM200,000 per residence which the settlers rejected. The truth is, the compensation offered was only RM90,000

If you had wanted to reveal the truth at least be accurate or truthful. I was wondering where LGE had made that remark and I found it here :

http://*********.********.com/2009/07/kampung-buah-pala-macc-where-art-thou.html

LGE's statement was printed in full and LGE said :

"Nusmetro claimed to have offered the highest compensation in the state from RM140,000 to RM260,000 to the temporary occupation of land (TOL) holders as well as their immediate and extended families. And even offered one of the two cattle ranchers there RM330,000 including a five-year rent-free deal for land in Balik Pulau which was rejected."

There are certain individuals stoking the fire of discontent by twisting facts, figures and events. It is not difficult to know who they are.

written by fearless, July 04, 2009 13:06:45
written by singam, July 04, 2009 06:46:58
I posted some major revelations late last night but my comment is still being moderated. Let me share one fact with all of you.

It was the developer who took the villagers to court to get then declared illegal squatters and to get a court order to evict them. Each time, the villagers only defended themselves. They never filed any lawsuit.

In all the lower courts, the case got thrown out as lacking merit. Finally, in the correct, correct, correct High Court, the developer managed to get the eviction order.

Doesn't that tell us something?

I hope my comment of last night gets approved soon so that you can read the rest of the revelations.

===

You shall do better homework for the history for this scandal.

Villagers won their cases in the high court, only "correct, correct..." higher courts chaired by people like Augustine Paul, etc. overtured the high court decision.
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 13:12:19
written by Fusilad, July 04, 2009 09:53:04
I am wondering why people down here getting so emotional when talking about PR leader but applaud happily when asking or saying about BN leaders.

====

You think voters are stupid and no brain? Any wrongdoings from PR will be condemned equally as they did againt BN.

Stop using BN as your scrape goat.
written by bluesky, July 05, 2009 08:12:04
everything is in the hands of the state government...they can stop the project cos it is illegal...it doesnt matter as we all know the courts are all corrupted...and the dont follow universal humanistic values....i live in bukit gelugor and i know how its like to face the destruction of a green area....Please stop all destruction in penang
written by Urangsabah, July 05, 2009 18:41:06
Wonder where in the world......everyone of the citizen can get 100% of the needs.....Maybe on in MICed & UMNOed Hindraf.
written by Tom n Jerry, July 07, 2009 08:13:08
In todays materialistic world;and the fully interconnected cyber space no one can be spared from the prying eyes of the general public;especially when there are millions of malaysians living in poverty and earning below rm1,000 per month;the rich will never know what is poverty until they can feel the struggle to survive on a subsistence level rice& ubi kayu;the main staple of more than half the population in Sabah;there are still people drawing a salary of rm450 per month and having a family of five children;when I explained that there is something called family planning,they wer fast to explain that it is God*s will they are blessed with so many children;Alhamdulilah!