Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M spills the beans on Petronas money paid to the gov’t

Dr M spills the beans on Petronas money paid to the gov’t PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 21:20

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

Former premier Mahathir Mohamad, who is the adviser to national oil firm Petronas, has asked how the Umno-BN spent the RM253.6 billion paid out to the government in taxes, royalty, dividends and export duty.

“In 1976 the Government received RM300 million. The amount increased to RM2 billion in 1981. By 2003 it paid RM15.6 billion to the Federal Government. The total from 1981 to 2003 is RM168.8 billion in 22 years,” said Mahathir in his blog.

“From then onwards it increased from RM19 billion in 2004 to RM67.8 billion in 2009. The total for six years is RM253.6 billion. I am sure the Government had spent the money wisely. It would be interesting to know what the RM253.6 billion was spent on.”

Mahathir has made no bones about his unhappiness with the performance of Abdullah Badawi, his chosen successor turned foe.

Now that Abdullah has retired, Mahathir has been resisting efforts by current Prime Minister Najib Razak to put in his own men to helm the national oil firm.

Clarify rumours and make Petronas answerable to Parliament

Petronas is Malaysia’s only company whose revenue is large enough to make it to the Forbes list of the world’s top 500 firms. It is also the owner of the Petronas Twin Towers, until recently the tallest building in the world.

Of late, there has been intense speculation that Najib is trying to replace chief executive Hassan Merican with and also to place his close aide Omar Mustapha into the Petronas board of directors.

Last week, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang called on Najib to come clean on the rumors.

“Earlier, the name of former Home Minister, Syed Hamid Albar had been bruited as the likely new Petronas CEO. In the last few days, another name has emerged: Mohd Bakke Salleh, the Felda Holdings group managing director, and that he is to understudy Hassan until the present Petronas CEO’s retirement next February,” said Kit Siang, who is also the Ipoh Timur MP.

“Najib should also explain to Parliament why he is insisting on appointing a Petronas loan defaulter as a director of Petronas, as the widespread objections to Omar Mustapha’s appointment to the Petronas, now taken up by the Board, is fully justified and valid.”

Like Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim, Kit Siang too has been calling for Petronas to make public its financial accounts and to be responsible to Parliament.

Currently, the oil firm is answerable only to the Prime Minister – a grave Achilles heel for the nation especially in light of the huge number just revealed by Mahathir.

Commented Matthias Chang, ex-political secretary to Mahathir, in his blog: “Adding fuel to the fire, there have been rumours that Najib is putting his cronies in charge of Petronas – our country’s cash cow! I suppose, if one is going to be a one term prime minister, there is only so much time to loot the dwindling coffers!”

written by alpha100, July 03, 2009 21:31:14
TDM, they are times when we just have to LOVE you! smilies/grin.gif
written by InEffective, July 03, 2009 21:42:58

The culture of filth and evil is about to engulf Petronas.
(then no point asking what happened to the money)

Where is my Oil Money ???
written by DreamLady, July 03, 2009 22:09:54
It looks like our Mahathir is having second thought about his blue-eyed boy being the PM, or else he will have accomodated Najib's wish to take in Omar, The Defaulter!!!
written by arazak, July 03, 2009 22:28:19
"Dah gerahu chendana pula
Dah tahu tanya pula"

As if he does not know where the money went? It is now lining in the pocket of UMNO leaders. . ., where else!
written by cheemengwong, July 03, 2009 22:29:05
Dear Dr. M...

Do the right thing now that you are already 80 years. It is still not too late to repent and correct the mistakes now that you can see them.

Treat all Malaysian equally
Spent the country's wealth with care just like our own money!
Think universally, not kampongly!
Use English as a universal language and Bahasa malaysia as a local language. Difficult but most Chinese can speak BM, English, Mandarin plus few other local dialects easily. Just practice and it will make perfect lah. Malays, Indians and others can do the same lah!
written by Oscar Winner, July 03, 2009 22:39:37
May I just repeat what Fat mama heard in her dream: Petronas = Pet of Rosnmah , Najis and sons.

TDM, it's fated. They will get it somehow.
written by alarcarte, July 03, 2009 23:10:56
TDM, you also dug into Petronas kitty to build KLIA, Penang Bridge, KLCC etc,. though some of these projects are a waste of money but some are quite useful.

Since you left the scene, we believe your successors also turned to Petronas to feast themselves and not much has filtered down to the commoners, this means at least you are slightly better than these jokers!

One thing is for sure, they will not reveal anything about how Petronas spend their money to you by using OSA (Official Secret Act) as an excuse, pandan muka lu!!

written by KotaDamansara73, July 03, 2009 23:14:18
Mahathir,

How about the money you take from Petronas to save your children?
written by hellboykl, July 03, 2009 23:18:11
Mahathir,

Its time for the others to eat the easy coming money.
you and your son eat it so long and now its other peoples turn.
Anyway you are the Guru who taught them this what?
written by KotaDamansara73, July 03, 2009 23:18:14
Is Mahathir trying to cleanse his sin? Recently, he has been talking about the good of the country. This is very odd. DId he knows his time is coming?
written by raven1958, July 03, 2009 23:33:47
Is TDM joking? It's a case of the thief himself pointing out another thief....

Mahathir robbed and lynched PETRONAS to save his dumb sons who have an accumulated wealth in excess of US5 billion...almost anything they touched turned to stone. In fact almost anything Mahathir touched turned to dust except for the 10 or 20 % he pocketed.

Oil is indeed Malaysia's curse. It brought out the worst in these pirates including one half breed Keralite....

Malaysians mujst wake up and kick out this crooked government who have robbed this country dry....even the abbatoir story out in Alor Star is not going to stop me voting for the PR....at least these buggers dont steal money....
written by Fat Zorro, July 03, 2009 23:34:20
The total from 1981 to 2003 is RM168.8 billion in 22 years,” said Mahathir in his blog.
_______________________________________________________ ___________________________

mahathir, you never explained how you spent the RM168.8 billion in 22 years. To set an example, maybe you should first explain to us Malaysians how you spent our money before asking Badawi and Najib. Come on as an elder, you should set an example instead of barking and barking. Jangan biar orang kata, kuman diseberang laut nampak, gajah depan mata tak nampaklah pulak!
written by Prem, July 03, 2009 23:35:06
What is M complaining about? Our present leaders are following what their 'Che gu'i.e.TDM taught them to swindle Petronas kitty and they are following to dot.Mamakthir should give an account of all he swindled from Petronas for the last 20years,may be he should look at his FDs in Iran etc.We,the unfortunate public are being 'preyed'by the BN.Soon when the BN has emptied the coffers,they will turn to the Rakyat, to sell their organs,in the name of "Health Tourism',so beware!
written by Milo, July 03, 2009 23:43:58
TDM: It would be interesting to know what the RM253.6 billion was spent on.
-----------------------------

Perak?
written by cheekhiaw, July 04, 2009 00:02:57
That M fella may not know how the money was spent but he sure knows where/what the money was spent on.Spent on a bunch of thieves and sons of thieves (thiefputras) that were supporting the likes of him.
written by yy88, July 04, 2009 00:26:58
Tun M should ask how we the Ali Baba and the Forty thieves including yourself, Bodohwi, Najis and the Umnoo clan spent and siphoned of over 450 billions over the last twenty five years.
What you have stolen should be enough to line your grave with pure gold and diamonds.
written by SamBall, July 04, 2009 02:38:21
The kaka has been plundering Msia's oil money all these years; forget the Malay dilemma BS; it’s all about the money, folks, 0.5 T MYR of it; peanuts compared with everything else the kaka has done.

Where do you think this greedy man comes up with his silly grandiose plans? From the oil wealth which he and his cronies have been plundering all the years; HuMNOO is just the tool.

Melayu bukan sahaja senang lupa, kaka; mereka senang bodoh !
written by Fairminded, July 04, 2009 08:26:35
Dr. Marmite is not fighting to make Petronas accountable. He and Najeeb is now fighting who can milk the cow, Petronas, more. He loves the revenue not Petronas. He and Najeeb is the same. Each is looking after his own cronies and families. That is why the old man cannot let go. He he wanted transparency and where the money had gone to he can do it during his watch. What a hypocrite.
written by onnetline, July 04, 2009 09:26:33
Petronas is being hijacked by corrupted UMNO
written by arazak, July 04, 2009 09:27:11
TRACKING THE BILLIONS STOLEN FROM THE PEOPLE.

Money obtained illegally is usually laundered or just being kept safe somewhere and overtime it will accumulate interest. There are several ways in which this ill-gotten money are being stashed;

1. Use the traditional safe-heaven banking system countries where secrecy of clients’ wealth are utmost important; Switzerland, Cayman Island, Bahamas, Panama, etc.

2. Open up their very own banks in 3rd world countries or new markets; Albania, Mauritius, Ghana, Hungary, etc. These banks usually do not make profit the traditional way, that is, through lending and obtaining interest. The main purpose is just to keep money away from Malaysia.

3. Many said it could be in our very own backyard, that is, Labuan. In April, the OECD singled out three countries, including Malaysia, as “uncooperative tax havens”.

What it means here is that Labuan Banks are probably being used by unscrupulous people to stash their money; politicians who stole peoples’ money, drug dealers, gangsters, etc. They do so to evade tax too, of course!

4. Launder the money in genuine business. Meaning, the money are being used as capital for legitimate businesses. Ever wonder why some of these UMNO goons and their cronies have business everywhere in the world and have many companies in many industries! From London to Dubai to Shanghai.

5. In some banks you can also stash your money in them and than take them out again as a loan and dump it into businesses. But actually, it is your very own money that you have borrowed. On record it is “clean money”! The banks will not even bother to chase you if you don’t pay up as you are their client who will constantly replenish the banks with fresh deposits either stolen or ill-gotten from somewhere.

Do you think our MACC will track those stolen peoples’ money? No way!

Do you think our PDRM through the Interpol (like what the FBI did to track drug dealers’ money in the Caribbean) will track all our stolen money? Again, no way!
written by ajip, July 04, 2009 10:05:13
mahathir ni betul betul perangai macam penyamun.....cakap orang lain tibai duit, padahal dia lah penyamun yang terbesar kat malaysia ni
written by Vivarium, July 04, 2009 13:57:27
Dear Mahathir,
They are doing exactly what you did for the past 22 years. The only difference is the magnitude of the stake. You envy the new players.
Petronas is always the piggy bank of the BN.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 04, 2009 16:26:35
It takes a thief to catch a thief.